DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 have been cancelled. New claims 15-29 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that XUE fails to disclose or suggest “a plurality of S-SSBs that are transmitted based on a the number of the plurality of S-SSBs and frequency domain off set value between the neighboring S-SSBs in the frequency domain.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because XUE discloses the transmission of S-SSBs to other UEs, frequency offset value associated with S-SSB and each S-SSB occupies 11 resource blocks (Section 0073, 0084, 0100, 0102,109, 0153).
Moreover, the Examiner has made a new ground of rejection. The new ground of rejection does not mean acquiescing with the Applicant’s stated arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al (US 2023/0421235 A1, Foreign Priority: November 3, 2020) in view of 2023/0354311 A1).
Regarding claim 15 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses a method by a first terminal (see, the transmitting UE, transmits a number of S-SSBs to a receiving UE within one S-SSB transmission duration, section 0115, 0116-0117, fig. 11, UE 1 coupled to UE 2 in sidelink configuration) in a communication system (fig. 1, the UE and the gNB in the 5G wireless system, section 0051, noted: fig. 11 to fig. 13, SL communication system in which a UE communicated with neighboring UEs, section 0133, 0135-0140, 0146), the method (see ,the receiving UE receives S-SSBs from a transmitting UE, section 0115-0116, 0117) comprising: identifying a number of plurality of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S- SSBs) (see, the receiving UE searches from the transmitted signals (i.e., discovery signals relating SL-SSBs, section 0166) , section 0144-0148), identifying a offset value in frequency domain (see, offset value form a slot, section 0172, 0206).
HWANG ‘235 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: identifying a offset value in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs, transmitting the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain.
XUE ‘311 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: identifying a offset value (see, offset from a lowest frequency, section 0153, noted: S-SSB which occupies 11 RBs with an offset of 4.5 from the low frequency edge, 0084, 0100) in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073), transmitting the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the SL method and system where the receiving UE or UEs communicate with other UEs based S-SSBs of XUE ‘311 into the SL communication method and apparatus where the transmitting UE/receiving UE each communicates with each other using the best transmission beam/reception beam (section 150) of HWANG ‘235. The motivation would have been to provide resource efficiency and a reduction in latency.
Regarding claim 16 (New), HWANG et al (US 2023/0421235 A1, Foreign Priority: November 3, 2020) discloses method of claim 15, wherein a number of resource blocks for an S-SSB among the plurality of S- SSBs is 11 (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB my be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166).
Regarding claim 17 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the plurality of S-SSBs (see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-01160 are transmitted in the same slot (see, the S-SSB may have the same numerology, section 0114, 0142, 0172-same beam in slot).
Regarding claim 18 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the method of claim 15, wherein information of master information block (MIB) included in the plurality of S-SSBs are same (section 0089, MIB, see, broadcast of S-SSBs, section 0113-0114, 0122, 0133, 0146).
Regarding claim 19 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses a method (see ,the receiving UE receives S-SSBs from a transmitting UE, section 0115-0116, 0117) by a second terminal (see, the transmitting UE, transmits a number of S-SSBs to a receiving UE within one S-SSB transmission duration, section 0115, 0116-0117) in a communication system (fig. 1, the UE and the gNB in the 5G wireless system, section 0051, noted: fig. 11 to fig. 13, SL communication system in which a UE communicated with neighboring UEs, section 0133, 0135-0140, 0146), the method (see ,the receiving UE receives S-SSBs from a transmitting UE, section 0115-0116, 0117) comprising: identifying a number of plurality of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S- SSBs) (see, the receiving UE searches from the transmitted signals (i.e., discovery signals relating SL-SSBs, section 0166) , section 0144-0148), identifying a offset value in frequency domain (see, offset value form a slot, section 0172, 0206) [[between neighboring S-SSBs, receiving the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain]].
HWANG ‘235 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: identifying a offset value in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs, transmitting the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain.
XUE ‘311 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: identifying a offset value (see, offset from a lowest frequency, section 0153, noted: S-SSB which occupies 11 RBs with an offset of 4.5 from the low frequency edge, 0084, 0100) in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073), transmitting the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the SL method and system where the receiving UE or UEs communicate with other UEs based S-SSBs of XUE ‘311 into the SL communication method and apparatus where the transmitting UE/receiving UE each communicates with each other using the best transmission beam/reception beam (section 150) of HWANG ‘235. The motivation would have been to provide resource efficiency and a reduction in latency.
Regarding claim 20 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein a number of resource blocks for an S-SSB among the plurality of S-SSBs is 11 (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166).
Regarding claim 21 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the plurality of S-SSBs (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166) are received in the same slot (see, the S-SSB may have the same numerology, section 0114, 0142, 0172-same beam in slot).
Regarding claim 22 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the method of claim 19, wherein information of master information block (MIB) included in the plurality of S-SSBs are same (section 0089, MIB, see, broadcast of S-SSBs, section 0113-0114, 0122, 0133, 0146).
Regarding claim 23 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses a first terminal (fig. 1, first deice /UE 100 which comprises processor coupled to a transceiver 106 and memory 104, section 0216-022, see, the transmitting UE, transmits a number of S-SSBs to a receiving UE, section 0115-0117, fig. 11, UE 1 coupled to UE 2 in sidelink configuration)) in a communication system, the first terminal comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1, first deice /UE 100 which comprises processor coupled to a transceiver 106 and memory 104, section 0216-022); and a controller configured (fig. 23, processor 102 which controls the memory and the transceiver, section 0216-0222) to: identify a number of plurality of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs) (see, see, the transmitting UE, transmits a number of S-SSBs to a receiving UE, section 0115-0117, noted: the transmitting UE implicitly identifying the S-SSB by virtue improve the S-SSB reception performance of the receiving UE, section 0126, moreover, the act of transmitting a discovery signal in relation to a number of S-SSBs, section 0165-0166), identify a offset value in frequency domain (see, offset value form a slot, section 0172, 0206) [[between neighboring S- SSBs, transmit the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S-SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain]].
HWANG ‘235 fails to explicitly disclose: identify a offset value in frequency domain between neighboring S- SSBs, transmit the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S-SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain.
XUE ‘311 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: identify a offset value (see, offset from a lowest frequency, section 0153, noted: S-SSB which occupies 11 RBs with an offset of 4.5 from the low frequency edge, 0084, 0100, see, the BS configures sidelink UE, the sidelink sync UE may broadcast S-SSBs to other UEs, section 0073) in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073), transmit the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs (section 0073-based on signal received from the station, the sidelink sync broadcasts S-SSBs to pother UEs) and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073, noted: S-SSB which occupies 11 RBs with an offset of 4.5 from the low frequency edge implies transmitting and reception based on the said offset, 0084 ).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the SL method and system where the receiving UE or UEs communicate with other UEs based S-SSBs of XUE ‘311 into the SL communication method and apparatus where the transmitting UE/receiving UE each communicates with each other using the best transmission beam/reception beam (section 150) of HWANG ‘235. The motivation would have been to provide resource efficiency and a reduction in latency.
Regarding claim 24 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the first terminal of claim 23, wherein a number of resource blocks for an S-SSB among the plurality of S- SSBs is 11 (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166).
Regarding claim 25 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the first terminal of claim 23, wherein the plurality of S-SSBs (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166) are transmitted in the same slot (see, the S-SSB may have the same numerology, section 0114, 0142, 0172-same beam in slot).
Regarding claim 26 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the first terminal of claim 23, wherein information of master information block (MIB) included in the plurality of S-SSBs are same (section 0089, MIB, see, broadcast of S-SSBs, section 0113-0114, 0122, 0133, 0146).
Regarding claim 27 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses a second terminal (see ,the receiving UE receives S-SSBs from a transmitting UE, section 0115-0116, 0117, fig. 11, UE 2 coupled to UE 1 in sidelink configuration, section 0129-0131) ) in a communication system (fig. 1, the UE and the gNB in the 5G wireless system, section 0051, noted: fig. 11 to fig. 13, SL communication system in which a UE communicated with neighboring UEs, section 0133, 0135-0140, 0146), the second terminal (fig. 11, UE 2 coupled to UE 2 in sidelink configuration, the receiving UE which receives from the transmitting UE,s section 0144-0146) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 23, transceiver 106 coupled to processor 102 and memory 102 which can be component of other UEs or neighboring UEs, section 0217-0222); and a controller (fig. 23, the processor controls the operation of the memory and the transceiver, section 0217-0222) configured to: identify a number of plurality of sidelink synchronization signal blocks (S-SSBs) (see, the receiving UE searches from the transmitted signals (i.e., discovery signals relating SL-SSBs, section 0166) , section 0144-0148, noted: the receives a number of S-SSBs from the transmitting UE, ection 0115-0116, 0166), identify a offset value in frequency domain (see, offset value form a slot, section 0172, 0206) [[between neighboring S- SSBs, receive the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S-SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain]].
HWANG ‘235 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: identify a offset value in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs, transmitting the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain.
XUE ‘311 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: identify a offset value (see, offset from a lowest frequency, section 0153, noted: S-SSB which occupies 11 RBs with an offset of 4.5 from the low frequency edge, 0084, 0100) in frequency domain between neighboring S-SSBs (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073), receive the plurality of S-SSBs based on the number of the plurality of S- SSBs and the offset value between neighboring S-SSBs in frequency domain (see, the receiving UE or UEs are aware of S-SSB transmission in a slots, section 0102, 0109, the receiving UE or UEs communicate with each other based on S-SSBs, section 0073).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the SL method and system where the receiving UE or UEs communicate with other UEs based S-SSBs of XUE ‘311 into the SL communication method and apparatus where the transmitting UE/receiving UE each communicates with each other using the best transmission beam/reception beam (section 150) of HWANG ‘235. The motivation would have been to provide resource efficiency and a reduction in latency.
Regarding claim 28 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the second terminal of claim 27, wherein a number of resource blocks for an S-SSB among the plurality of S-SSBs is 11 (see, the bandwidth of the S-SSB may be 11 resource blocks, section 0114, see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166).
Regarding claim 29 (New), HWANG ‘235 discloses the second terminal of claim 27, wherein the plurality of S- SSBs are received (see, number of S-SSBs that the transmitting UE transmits to a receiving UE, section 0115-0116, 0166 in the same slot ( see, the S-SSB may have the same numerology, section 0114, 0142, 0172-same beam in slot).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473