DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on July 8, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presently pending with claims 1, 9, 13, and 16 being independent. Claims 3-4, 6-7, and 18-19 are original claims. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-17, and 20 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed July 8, 2026, with respect to the claims 2, 5, 17, and 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to 2, 5, 17, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed July 8, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, 13, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §102 & §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-10, 12-14, and 16-20 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 nd 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 116233959 A; hereinafter Yu) in view of Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 16.6.0 Release 16; hereinafter 3GPP).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Yu teaches a user equipment (UE) (¶ [n0304] The first communication device is a UE.),
comprising:
at least one memory (¶ [n0292] The first communication device includes a memory.); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (¶ [n0299] The first communication device includes: a memory storing a computer-readable instruction program that generates actions when executed by at least one processor.):
receive a first configuration message (read as first configuration signaling) from a first radio access network (RAN) associated with a first subscriber identity module (SIM), wherein the first configuration message indicates a first value of a timer for leaving a connected state without a network response (¶ [n0326] For the first node U01, a first configuration signaling is received.; ¶ [n0327] For the second node N02, a first configuration signaling is sent.; ¶ [n0334] The second node N02 is a base station.; ¶ [n0338] The second node N02 is the serving cell of the first node U01.; ¶ [n0354] The first SIM card is the SIM card of the second node N02 or the network of the second node N02.; ¶ [n0375] The MUSIM-LeaveWithoutResponseTimer included in the first configuration signaling indicates the expiration value of the first timer.);
determine (read as the first message indicates) to switch from the first RAN to a second RAN associated with a second SIM and leave the connected state in the first RAN (read as UE needs to leave the RRC connection state)(¶ [n0010] When a UE needs to leave its current network to communicate with another network for a longer period of time, it needs to request to leave the RRC connection state.; ¶ [n0163] The first message indicates that the first node needs to leave the RRC connection state.; ¶ [n0354] The first SIM card is the SIM card of the second node N02 or the network of the second node N02; the second SIM card is the SIM card of a node other than the second node N02 or a network other than the network of the second node N02.; ¶ [n0355] There is an RRC link between the first node U01 and the N02.);
transmit a UE assistant information message (read as multi-SIM card assistance information) to the first RAN (read as a second node) (¶ [n013] A first node of wireless communication.; ¶ [n0014] Send a first message.; ¶ [n0020] The first message includes multi-SIM card assistance information.; ¶ [n0038] A second node for wireless communication.; ¶ [0039] Receive a first message.);
start the timer according to the first value in response to the transmission of the UE assistant information message (¶ [n0328] The first node U01 starts a first timer.; ¶ [n0371] The first message is the UEAssistanceInformation message.; ¶ [n0375] The MUSIM-LeaveWithoutResponseTimer included in the first configuration signaling indicates the expiration value of the first timer.);
Yu does not explicitly teach receive a second configuration message from the first RAN when the timer is running; and in response to the second configuration message not indicating a value of the timer, stop the timer.
In analogous art, 3GPP teaches receive a second configuration message (read as RRCReconfiguration comprising otherconfig that includes releasePreferenceConfig) from the first RAN when the timer is running (§5.3.5.9; page 88, If the received otherconfig includes the releasePreferenceConfig, if the releasePreferenceConfig is set to setup: else: consider itself not to be configured to provide assistance information to transition out of RRC_Connected and stop timer T346f.; §6.2.2, page 272, The RRCReconfiguration message is the command to modify an RRC connection. Direction: Network to UE.); and
in response to the second configuration message not indicating a value of the timer, stop the timer (§6.1.2, page 243, Need R – Meaning – Release – Upon receiving a message with the field absent, the UE releases the current value.; §6.3.2, pages 608-612, ServingCellConfig information element includes bwp-InactivityTimer, Need R, when the network releases the timer configuration, the UE stops the timer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine stopping a timer if the timer value is not configured as taught by 3GPP with multi-SIM communication as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent an unintended departure from the connected state and maintain the network’s current configuration by stopping the timer when omission of its value in a subsequent configuration message releases the timer configuration (3GPP: pages 30-31).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Yu teaches receive, from the first RAN, a conditional handover (CHO) configuration associated with at least one execution condition for at least one candidate node (¶ [n0228] The first signaling is used to instruct conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching (CHO).; ¶ [n0234] “stop evaluating conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching” includes: no longer evaluating whether the conditions for conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching are met.; ¶ [n0347] The second node N02 is the source cell or target cell of the first node U01.);
in response to the timer running when an execution condition for a target node is met, initiate a CHO procedure with the target node (¶ [n0015] Receive the first signaling, and determine whether to execute the first signaling based on whether at least the first time is running.) and
perform one of the following:
in response to the CHO configuration associated with the target node indicating a second value of the timer, restarting the timer according to the second value; in response to the CHO configuration associated with the target node not indicating a value of the timer, stopping the timer; or continuing the timer (¶ [n0375] The MUSIM-LeaveWithoutResponseTimer included in the first configuration signaling indicates the expiration value of the first timer.; ¶ [n0544] Determining whether to stop the first timer based on whether at least the first signaling includes stopping the first timer when the first signaling does not include ‘MUSIM-AssistanceConfig’. Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 3 and 18, Yu teaches receive, from the first RAN, a conditional handover (CHO) configuration associated with at least one execution condition for at least one candidate node (¶ [n0228] The first signaling is used to instruct conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching (CHO).; ¶ [n0231] The first node is configured with conditional reconfiguration.; ¶ [n0234] Evaluating whether the conditions for conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching are met.; ¶ [n0328] The first node U01 starts a first timer, whether to execute the first signaling is determined based on whether at least the first timer is running.; ¶ [0334] The second node N02 is a base station.; ¶ [0338] The second node N02 is the serving cell of the first node U01.); and
in response to the timer running when an execution condition for a target node is met (read as the first timer is running and the expiration value of the first timer is finite), not initiate (read as not executing) a CHO procedure with the target node (¶ [n0170] Not executing the first signaling includes: not applying any configuration indicated by the first signaling.; ¶ [n0178] The behavior of determining whether to execute the first signaling based on whether at least the first timer is running includes: not executing the first signaling only when the first timer is running and the expiration value of the first timer is finite.; ¶ [n0228] The first signaling is used to instruct conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching (CHO).; ¶ [n0234] Stop evaluating conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching” includes: no longer evaluating whether the conditions for conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching are met.).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Yu teaches receive, from the first RAN, a conditional handover (CHO) configuration associated with at least one execution condition for at least one candidate node (¶ [n0228] The first signaling is used to instruct conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching (CHO).; ¶ [n0231] The first node is configured with conditional reconfiguration.; ¶ [n0234] Evaluating whether the conditions for conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching are met.; ¶ [n0328] The first node U01 starts a first timer, whether to execute the first signaling is determined based on whether at least the first timer is running.; ¶ [0334] The second node N02 is a base station.; ¶ [0338] The second node N02 is the serving cell of the first node U01.); and
in response to the start of the timer, stop evaluating the at least one execution condition (¶ [n0226] During the operation of the first timer, the evaluation of conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching is stopped.; ¶ [n0234] “Stop evaluating conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching” includes: no longer evaluating whether the conditions for conditional reconfiguration for conditional switching are met.).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Yu teaches receive a handover (HO) command to switch to a target node (read as indicate cell handover) (¶ [n0216] In response to the first signaling including the second field, the system enters the RRC idle state.; ¶ [n0217] The second field is reconfigurationWithSync.; ¶ [n0221] The first signaling is used to indicate cell handover.);
in response to the timer running when receiving the HO command, initiate a HO procedure (¶ [n0015] Receive the first signaling, and determine whether to execute the first signaling based on whether at least the first time is running.) and perform one of the following:
in response to the UE being configured with a second value of the timer by the target node, restarting the timer according to the second value; in response to the UE being not configured with a value of the timer by the target node, stopping the timer; or continuing the timer (¶ [n0375] The MUSIM-LeaveWithoutResponseTimer included in the first configuration signaling indicates the expiration value of the first timer.; ¶ [n0544] Determining whether to stop the first timer based on whether at least the first signaling includes stopping the first timer when the first signaling does not include ‘MUSIM-AssistanceConfig’. Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches receive a handover (HO) command (read as indicate cell handover) to switch to a target node (¶ [n0216] In response to the first signaling including the second field, the system enters the RRC idle state.; ¶ [n0217] The second field is reconfigurationWithSync.; ¶ [n0221] The first signaling is used to indicate cell handover.); and
in response to the timer running when receiving the HO command, ignore the HO command (¶ [n0015] Determine whether to execute the first signaling based on whether at least the first timer is running.; ¶ [n0016] Executing the first signaling only when the first timer is not running.).
Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches wherein in response to a successful CHO or HO, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to continue (read as running continuously for more than the first threshold time) the timer when the timer is running (¶ [n0479] When the first timer has been running continuously for at least or more than the first threshold time since it started, the first signaling triggers the first node to enter the RRC connected state. ¶ [n0544] Not stopping the first timer when the first signaling includes both ‘reconfigurationWithSync’ and ‘MUSIM-AssistanceConfig’ and the value of ‘musim-AssistanceConfig’ included in the first signaling is ‘setup’.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of 3GPP further in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0236945 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Yu and 3GPP do not explicitly teach in response to the second configuration message indicating a second value of the timer, restart the timer according to the second value.
In analogous art, Kim teaches in response to the second configuration message indicating a second value of the timer, restart the timer according to the second value (¶ [0162] The musim-LeaveAssistanceConfig may comprise a musimLeaveWithoutResponseTimer; ¶ [0192] If configured to provide MUSIM assistance information for leaving RRC_Connected:; ¶ [0193] If the UE needs to leave RRC_CONNECTED state and the timer T346g is not running; ¶ [0194] Initiate transmission of the UEAssistanceInformation message to provide MUSIM assistance information for leaving RRC_CONNECTED.; ¶ [0195] Start the timer with the timer value set to the musim-LeaveWithoutResponse Timer.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim with stopping a timer if the timer value is not configured as taught by 3GPP and MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce service interruption, lower switching latency, and improve reliability by using Kim’s UE assistance based MUSIM state transition together with Yu’s timer based control of signaling execution and suspension of conditional reconfiguration and/or conditional handover evaluation while the UE is leaving the connected state (Kim: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Claims 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim further in view of Shrivastava et al. (US 2023/0396984 A1; hereinafter Shrivastava).
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches a user equipment (UE) (¶ [n0304] The first communication device is a UE.),
comprising:
at least one memory (¶ [n0292] The first communication device includes a memory.); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (¶ [n0299] The first communication device includes: a memory storing a computer-readable instruction program that generates actions when executed by at least one processor.):
Yu does not explicitly teach receive, from a first radio access network (RAN) associated with a first subscriber identity module (SIM), a reconfiguration message including a gap configuration, wherein the gap configuration indicates a time duration that the UE is maintained in a connected state in the first RAN while temporarily switching to a second RAN associated with a second SIM; and determine to release all gap configurations configured by the first RAN.
In analogous art, Kim teaches receive, from a first radio access network (RAN) associated with a first subscriber identity module (SIM), a reconfiguration message including a gap configuration (¶ [0151] USIM_A may negotiate the “scheduling gap” with the served RAN node. The served RAN node may transmit a response message for the request message to the USIM_A. The response message may comprise a scheduling gap.; ¶ [0154] The UE may receive an RRC reconfiguration message from a network. The RRC reconfiguration message may comprise at least one of musim-GapConfig.),
wherein the gap configuration indicates a time duration that the UE is maintained in a connected state in the first RAN while temporarily switching to a second RAN associated with a second SIM (¶ [0149] Maintain RRC connection in USIM_A but may also be required to tune to USIM_B periodically to listen to paging.; ¶ [0155] The musim-GapConfig may comprise at least one of the information elements (IE) shown in Table 5. Musim-GapLenth-r17 defines gap length.; ¶ [0157] musim-GapRepetitionAndOffset may indicate the gap repetition period in ms and gap offset in number of subframes for the periodic MUSIM gap without leaving RRC_CONNECTED state.); and
determine to release all gap configurations configured by the first RAN (¶ [0160] musim-GapToReleaseList may be a list of MUSIM period gap pattern identities to release.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim with MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce service interruption, lower switching latency, and improve reliability by using Kim’s UE assistance based MUSIM state transition together with Yu’s timer based control of signaling execution and suspension of conditional reconfiguration and/or conditional handover evaluation while the UE is leaving the connected state (Kim: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Yu and Kim do not explicitly teach, transmit a UE assistant information message to the first RAN to release the gap configuration, wherein the UE assistant information message includes a gap related indicator set as a predefined value for releasing all gap configurations configured by the first RAN.
In analogous art, Shrivastava teaches transmit a UE assistant information message to the first RAN to release the gap configuration (Fig. 4B, S418; At S418, the method includes sending the gap release request to the first network operator device to release the gap on the first SIM (e.g. through RRC signaling like UE assistance information message).),
wherein the UE assistant information message includes a gap related indicator (read as musim-GapIndex-Id entries in musim-GapRequestToReleaseList) set as a predefined value for releasing all gap configurations configured by the first RAN (¶ [0103] When UE does not want to maintain all gap configurations, it sends gap release request through RRC signaling e.g. UE assistance information message.; ¶ [0152] For each gap to release, include an entry musimGapIndex-Id in musim-GapRequestToReleaseList, according to: set musim-GapIndex-Id to the desired MUSTIM gap index. MUSIM-GapIndex-ID-r17 ::= INTEGER (0..2).; [0177] Wherein the gap release request comprises a gap configuration identity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine gap configuration as taught by Shrivastava with method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim and MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce service interruption and improve reliability by coordinating configured gaps for operation on another SIM with conditional handover processing, thereby avoiding conflicting network signaling while the UE switches between networks (Shrivastava: ¶¶ [0001-0003]).
Regarding claims 10 and 14, Yu does not explicitly teach wherein the UE assistant information message includes a preferred state indicator indicating a connected state and does not include a gap request list.
In analogous art, Kim teaches wherein the UE assistant information message includes a preferred state indicator indicating a connected state and does not include a gap request list (¶ [0216] The UE assistance information may comprise preferredRRC-State. The preferredRRC-State may indicate the UE’s preferred RRC state. The value connected is indicated.; ¶ [0213] Do not include musim-GapPreferenceList.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim with MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce service interruption, lower switching latency, and improve reliability by using Kim’s UE assistance based MUSIM state transition together with Yu’s timer based control of signaling execution and suspension of conditional reconfiguration and/or conditional handover evaluation while the UE is leaving the connected state (Kim: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches a base station (BS) (¶ [n0309] The second communication device is a base station.),
comprising:
at least one memory (¶ [n0300] The second communication device includes at least one memory.); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to (¶ [n0300] The at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to be used with the at least one processor.; ¶ [n0301] A memory storing a computer-readable instruction program that, when executed by at least one processor, produces actions.):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a UE assistant information message to release a gap configuration configured for the UE by a first RAN (read as NG-RAN) associated with the BS (¶ [n0264] NG-RAN includes NR node B (gNB).; ¶ [n0267] The radio link from UE to NR node B is an uplink.; ¶ [n0268] The radio link from NR node B to UE is a downlink.; ¶ [n0300] Receiving a first message.; ¶ [n0304] The first communication device is a UE.; ¶ [n0309] The second communication device is a base station.; ¶ [n0370] The first message includes UEAssistanceInformation.; ¶ [n0485] The first message is used to implicitly indicate the cancellation of the first time window.; ¶ [n0494] The first time window is one of the gaps indicated by the MUSIM-GapRequestList.; ¶ [n504] The first message indicating a request to leave the RRC connection state is used to implicitly indicate the cancellation of the first time window.),
wherein the gap configuration indicates a time duration that the UE is maintained in a connected state in the first RAN while temporarily switching to a second RAN (¶ [0010] UE needs to leave its current network to communicate with another network, during which the UE maintains an RRC connection with the original network.; ¶ [n0494] The first time window is one of the gaps indicated by the MUSIM-GapRequestList.; ¶ [n0504] The first message indicating a request to leave the RRC connection state is used to implicitly indicate the cancellation of the first time window.);
Yu and Kim do not explicitly teach wherein the UE assistant information message includes a gap-related indicator set as a predefined value for releasing all gap configurations configured by the first RAN; and
transmit, to the UE, a reconfiguration message in response to the UE assistant information message to release all gap configurations.
In analogous art, Shrivastava teaches wherein the UE assistant information message includes a gap-related indicator (read as musim-GapIndex-Id entries in musim-GapRequestToReleaseList) set as a predefined value for releasing all gap configurations configured by the first RAN (¶ [0103] When UE does not want to maintain all gap configurations, it sends gap release request through RRC signaling e.g. UE assistance information message.; ¶ [0152] For each gap to release, include an entry musimGapIndex-Id in musim-GapRequestToReleaseList, according to: set musim-GapIndex-Id to the desired MUSTIM gap index. MUSIM-GapIndex-ID-r17 ::= INTEGER (0..2).; [0177] Wherein the gap release request comprises a gap configuration identity.); and
transmit, to the UE, a reconfiguration message (read as confirmation) in response to the UE assistant information message to release all gap configurations (¶ [0103] When UE does not want to maintain all gap configurations, it sends gap release request through RRC signaling e.g. UE assistance information message.; ¶ [0104] Based on the UE request to release gap, the network operator device provides a confirmation. The UE therefore updates its gap configuration information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine gap configuration as taught by Shrivastava with method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim and MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce service interruption and improve reliability by coordinating configured gaps for operation on another SIM with conditional handover processing, thereby avoiding conflicting network signaling while the UE switches between networks (Shrivastava: ¶¶ [0001-0003]).
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim further in view of Shrivastava and Yu et al. (CN 116264708A; hereinafter Yu ‘4708).
Regarding claim 12, Yu, Kim, and Shrivastava do not explicitly teach receive another reconfiguration message which indicates to release all gap configurations in response to the UE assistant information message; and release all gap configurations configured by the first RAN in response to the reception of the another reconfiguration message.
In analogous art, Yu ‘4708 teaches receive another reconfiguration message which indicates to release all gap configurations in response to the UE assistant information message; and release all gap configurations configured by the first RAN in response to the reception of the another reconfiguration message (¶ [n0471] The third message is the UEAssistanceInformation message.; (¶ [n0475] The reception of the second signaling is later than the transmission of the third message.; ¶ [n0477] The second signaling includes an RRCReconfiguration message.; ¶ [n0481] The MeasGapConfig included in the second signaling does not include any measurement gaps.; ¶ [n0483] The second signaling indicates the release of the first measurement gap set.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine utilization and configuration/re-configuration of gaps as taught by Yu ‘4708 with gap configuration as taught by Shrivastava, method and configuration for MUSIM operation as taught by Kim, and MUSIM operations and conditional handover as taught by Yu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve multi-SIM communication performance, reduce service interruption, and unnecessary signaling by using Yu ‘4708’s gap configuration and gap release mechanisms to provide controlled time opportunities for leaving or suspending activity on one network, while applying Yu’s timer based MUSIM and conditional handover control to avoid conflicting signaling and manage when reconfiguration or handover related actions should be executed (Yu ‘4708: ¶ [n0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagasaka et al. (US 2016/0316408 A1) discloses “Communication Control Method and User Terminal”
Purkayastha et al. (US 2024/0049078 A1) discloses “Conditional Handover (CHO) Deconfiguration and Failure Handling in Wireless Communications”
Xiao et al. (US 2025/0031120 A1) discloses “Method Performed by User Equipment, and User Equipment”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464