DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11-23 and 27-35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Lines 8-9 of the claim, it appears the limitation “at least one non-zero angle” should be –the non-zero angle-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 27: Lines 7-8 of the claim, it appears the limitation “each pedestal top plate” should be --each top plate-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 35: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “which tabs” should be –which said tabs-- for clarity and consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a locking mechanism in claim 1; and a locking element in claims 14 and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 22-23, 27-29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 19: It’s unclear as to how the fastener engages the locking mechanism when the fastener is part of the locking mechanism as recited in claim 18 (emphasis added). For the purpose of examination, the fastener engages --the locking element--.
With regard to claim 22: It’s improper to recite a stop member as a separate element from the locking mechanism of claim 1. As presented, the stop member found in claim 22 does not have to be part of the structure corresponding to the locking mechanism, which renders the claim indefinite. Note that par. [0027] of the instant specification recites the stop member is the fastener of the locking mechanism.
With regard to claim 27: Line 8 of the claim, the limitation “the head” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --the respective head--. Line 9 of the claim, the limitation “the locking mechanism” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --the respective locking mechanism--.
With regard to claim 28: The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. The claim recites a spherical joint, but it’s unclear if the spherical joint is being defined with respect to each self-leveling pedestal. Accordingly, the limitations “the head”, “the top plate” and “the locking mechanism” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It’s unclear if he limitation “at least two flooring members” found in line 9 of the claim is referencing the previously recited plurality of flooring members found in claim 27. Further, it’s unclear if the limitation “adjacent flooring members” found in line 11 of the claim is referencing the previously recited at least two floor members found line 9 of the claim and/or the plurality of flooring members of claim 27.
With regard to claim 29: Line 2 of claim, it’s unclear if the limitation “at least two flooring members” is referencing the previously recited flooring member of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to –the flooring member and an adjacent flooring member--.
With regard to regard 35: The scope of the claim is unclear. It’s not readily clear if the phrase “can be formed” is claiming a deformation of the top plate or not.
Claims 19, 22-23, 27-29 and 35 are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-23, 30-31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muhlethaler (EP 0 309 399 A1).
With regard to claim 1: Muhlethaler discloses a self-levelling pedestal capable of supporting a flooring member (fig. 2), the self-levelling pedestal comprising:
a base (20, 21) having a support surface (top surface of 20) (fig. 2);
a head (23, 24), distal to the base (20, 21) (fig. 2);
a top plate (29) coupled to the head (23, 24) to be pivotable relative thereto such that the top plate (29) capable of being oriented at a non-zero (i.e. non-parallel) angle to the support surface (top surface of 20) of the base (20, 21) (fig. 2); and
a locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) configured to inhibit said pivoting of the top plate (29) relative to the head (23, 24), the locking mechanism being configured to lock (via clamping) a position of the top plate (29) in the non-zero angle to the support surface (top surface of 20) of the base (20, 21) (fig. 2; abstract).
With regard to claim 11: Muhlethaler discloses a spherical joint (at contacting surfaces) is provided between the head (23, 24) and the top plate (29), and wherein the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) is configured to lock the spherical joint (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 12: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) is configured to lock the spherical joint by friction (through clamping) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 13: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) comprises a resiliently compressible element (spherical annular pressure plate 27) configured to maintain a frictional force on the spherical joint to lock it (fig. 2). Examiner notes that the compressible element (27) would inherently exhibit some degree of elastic deformation before being subject to plastic deformation when under increasing load.
With regard to claim 14: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) comprises a locking element (27) configured to exert a compressive force (clamping force) on the spherical joint (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 15: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking element (27) engages an upper surface of the top plate (29) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 16: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking element (29) is part-spherical in shape (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 17: Muhlethaler discloses that the top plate (29) is constructed from a part-spherical sheet material (fig. 2), wherein the an underside of the top plate (29) forms a spherical joint against the head (23, 24), and where the upper side surface of the top plate (29) is engaged by the locking element (27) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 18: Muhlethaler discloses that the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) comprises a fastener (26) engaging the locking element (27) at a first end, and engaging the head (29) at a second end to selectively apply a clamping force on the top plate (29) between the head (23, 24) and the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 19: Muhlethaler discloses that the fastener (26) is threaded to the head (23, 24) to engage the locking element (27) by rotation thereof (fig. 2; par. [0012], lines 4-7 of translation).
With regard to claim 20: Muhlethaler discloses that the spherical joint is oriented with its origin on a base side of the top plate (29) such that the spherical joint is upwardly convex in use (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 21: Muhlethaler discloses that the spherical joint comprises a motion stop (opening in the top plate 29) limiting the degree of movement of the spherical joint (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 22: Muhlethaler discloses that the motion stop is formed by an opening in the top plate (29) through in which a stop member (26) of the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) is located, the motion stop (opening in the top plate 29) being provided by abutment between the a periphery of the opening and the stop member (26) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 23: Muhlethaler discloses that the stop member is the fastener (26) of the locking mechanism (spherical annular pressure plate 27 and screw 26 engaging top surface of 29) (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 30: Muhlethaler discloses that the head (23, 24) and the base (20, 21) are adjustable relative to each other to vary the distance between the support surface (top surface of 20) and the top plate (29) to thereby alter the height of the pedestal (fig. 2; par. [0012] and [0014]).
With regard to claim 31: Muhlethaler discloses that the head (23, 24) and the base (20, 21) are connected by a threaded connection (22, 25) to alter the height (fig. 2; par. [0012] and [0014]).
With regard to claim 33: The head (23, 24) Muhlethaler defines a formation capable of being engaged by a tool to facilitate rotation thereof (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1, 11-15, 18, 27-31, 33-34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1).
With regard to claim 1: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses a self-levelling pedestal (20) for supporting a flooring member (figs. 1-5B; abstract), the self-levelling pedestal (20) comprising:
a base (5) having a support surface (A) (figs. 1-3);
a head (1, 2 and 4), distal to the base (5) (figs. 1-3);
a top plate (10) coupled to the head (1, 2 and 4) to be pivotable relative thereto such that the top plate (10) can be oriented at a non-zero (i.e. non-parallel) angle to the support surface (A) of the base (5) (figs. 1-3; abstract); and
a locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) configured to inhibit said pivoting of the top plate (10) relative to the head (1, 2 and 4), the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) being configured to lock the a position of the top plate (10) in the non-zero angle to the support surface (A) of the base (5) (figs. 1-3).
Fig. 1: Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1)
With regard to claim 11: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses a spherical joint is provided between the head (1, 2 and 4) and the top plate (10), and wherein the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) is configured to lock the spherical joint (fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 12: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) is configured to lock the spherical joint by friction (via clamping) (fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 13: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) comprises a resiliently compressible element (bushing 11) configured to maintain a frictional force on the spherical joint to lock it. Examiner notes that the compressible element (11) would inherently exhibit some degree of elastic deformation before being subject to plastic deformation under increasing load.
With regard to claim 14: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) comprises a locking element (bushing element 11) configured to exert a compressive force on the spherical joint (figs. 1, 3 and 4B).
With regard to claim 15: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the locking element (11) engages an upper surface of the top plate (10) (fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 18: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) comprises a fastener (6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 15) engaging the locking element (11) at a first end, and engaging the head (1, 2 and 4) at a second end to selectively apply a clamping force on the top plate (10) between the head (1, 2 and 4) and the locking mechanism (fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 27: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses a method of installing a raised floor comprising:
providing a plurality of self-levelling pedestals (20) according to claim 1 (figs. 5A-5B);
positioning the plurality of self-levelling pedestals (20) in a spaced-apart arrangement (figs. 5A-5B);
providing a plurality of flooring members (deck-tile panels B wherein each deck-tile panel B accepts approximately one-quarter of the hold-down washer 13) (fig. 5B; par. [0093], lines 22-26);
supporting each of the plurality of flooring members (B) on the plurality of self-levelling pedestals (20), and allowing each top plate (10) to reach a desired inclination by movement relative to the respective head (1, 2 and 4) (figs. 1, 4B, 5A and 5B; abstract; par. [0004]); and
locking each top plate (10) in position with the respective locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15).
Fig. 5B: Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1)
With regard to claim 28: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses a spherical joint is provided between the head (1, 2 and 4) and the top plate (10) of each self-levelling pedestal (20), and wherein each locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) is configured to lock the respective spherical joint, wherein each locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) is configured to lock the respective spherical joint by friction, wherein each locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) comprises a locking element (11) configured to exert a compressive force on the respective spherical joint, wherein each locking element (11) engages an upper surface of the respective top plate (10), wherein each locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) comprises a fastener (6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 15) engaging the respective locking element (11) at a first end, and engaging the respective head (1, 2 and 4) at a second end to selectively apply a clamping force on the respective top plate (10) between the respective head (1, 2 and 4) and the respective locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15), wherein each fastener (6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 15) is accessible between at least two flooring members of the plurality of flooring members (B) supported on the upper surface of the respective top plates (10), and wherein the locking comprises the step of passing part of a tool (tightening tool) between adjacent flooring members of the plurality of floor members (B) to thereby engage the locking mechanism (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 15) (figs. 3, 4B and 5A-5B; par. [0093]).
With regard to claim 29: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the fastener (6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 15) is accessible between the flooring member (B) and another floor member (B) supported on the upper surface of the top plate (10) (fig. 4B).
With regard to claim 30: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the head (1, 2 and 4) and the base (5) are adjustable relative to each other to vary the distance between the support surface (A) and the top plate (10) to thereby alter the height of the pedestal (20) (figs. 3 and 4B; par. [0092]).
With regard to claim 31: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the head (1, 2 and 4) and the base (5) are connected by a threaded connection to alter the height (figs. 3 and 4B; par. [0092]).
With regard to claim 33: The head (1, 2, and 4) of Pelc, JR. et al. defines a formation capable of being engaged by a tool to facilitate rotation thereof.
With regard to claim 34: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the head (1, 2 and 4) defines a pair of diametrically opposed flats (M) (fig. 5B).
Fig. 5B: Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1)
With regard to claim 35: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the top plate (10) comprises a plurality of tabs (12) (fig. 2; par. [0096]), which tabs are capable of being formed by deforming part of the top plate (10) out-of-plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 7,866,096 B2).
With regard to claim 32: Pelc, JR. et al. discloses that the threaded connection comprises a male threaded part (X) engaged with a female threaded part (Y) (fig. 3).
Pelc, JR. et al. does not disclose a locking member is provided, the locking member having a further female threaded part engaged with the male threaded part, such that rotation of the locking member into abutment with the female threaded part locks the female threaded part into position on the male threaded part.
However, Lee et al. discloses a pedestal comprising a locking member (21), the locking member (21) having a further female threaded part engaged with a male threaded part (of first spacer element 20), such that rotation of the locking member (21) into abutment with a female threaded part (of base element 12) locks the female threaded part into position on the male threaded part for stability (figs. 1 and 2a; col. 5, lines 42-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pedestal of Pelc, JR. et al. to include a locking member having a further female threaded part engaged with the male threaded part such as taught by Lee et al. in order to provide a means of increased stability, in particular when the height of the pedestal is extended, where abutment with the female threaded part locks the female threaded part into position on the male threaded part. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the pedestal of Pelc, JR. et al. to include a locking member for increased stability such as taught by Lee et al.. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Fig. 3: Pelc, JR. et al. (US 2017/0152665 A1)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to flooring pedestals.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633