DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2024, 04/22/2025, and 09/05/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the electrode assembly of claim 1 and the electrode tab and one electrode of claim 4 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: cap assembly 200 and vent 110. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 6, line 28, a vent is referred to by the reference number 110, while page 6, line 25 denotes the vent as “vent 210”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20190131794 A) in view of Kim et al. (KR 100865405 B1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Jung discloses a secondary battery (Annotated Jung Fig. 2, cylindrical secondary battery 2), comprising:
an electrode assembly (Annotated Jung Fig. 2, electrode assembly 13);
a can that accommodates the electrode assembly (Annotated Jung Fig. 2, cylindrical battery can 12);
a cap assembly that includes a vent, a current interrupt device (CID) filter positioned under the vent, and a CID gasket positioned at one end of the current interrupt device filter to close an open upper portion of the can (Annotated Jung Fig. 2 depicts a cap assembly (21) which includes a vent (safety vent 213), a CID filter (115) positioned under the vent, and a CID gasket (114) positioned at one end of the current interrupt device filter to close an open upper portion of the can.); and
a gasket that is compressed while interposed between the cap assembly and the upper portion of the can to maintain insulation and sealing between the cap assembly and the can (Annotated Jung Fig. 2 illustrates and para. [0054] describes a gasket (crimping gasket 116) that is compressed while interposed between cap assembly 21 and the upper portion of the cylindrical battery can 12 and is used to seal the outer surface of said cap assembly.),
wherein an outer surface and upper and lower surfaces of an edge portion of the vent of the cap assembly are in close contact with inner and upper surfaces of the gasket, respectively (Annotated Jung Fig. 2 depicts an outer surface and upper and lower surfaces of an edge portion of safety vent 213 of the cap assembly 21 are in close contact with inner and upper surfaces of the crimping gasket 116.).
Jung fails to disclose wherein a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.3 mm or less of instant claim 1 and, furthermore, wherein a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.1 to 0.3 mm of instant claim 2.
However, Kim teaches wherein a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.3 mm or less and, furthermore, wherein a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.1 to 0.3 mm (Claim 12 states that a radius of curvature of the area where the outer surface and lower surface of the edge portion of a vent 110a meet is 0.1 mm or less.) One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be obvious to form a radius of curvature of 0.1 mm or less of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion meet rather than forming a radius of curvature of 0.1 mm or less of a portion where the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion meet because both structures prevent battery shirt-circuiting, electrolyte leakage and external impurities from entering the interior by insulating the vent from the battery can (para. [0052]).
Annotated Jung Fig. 2: A secondary battery (2) comprising of an electrode assembly (13), a can (12), a cap assembly (21), wherein the cap assembly includes a vent (213), a current interrupt device (CID) filter (115), a CID gasket (114), and a gasket (116).
Jung and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing secondary batteries with structures that prevent battery short-circuiting, electrolyte leakage, and improved sealing properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Jung to include a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.3 mm or less and, furthermore, include a radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent meet is 0.1 to 0.3 mm because Kim teaches that crimping gasket is made of an insulator and surrounds an outer portion of a safety vent to insulate it from a battery can wherein the battery can is electrically connected to a negative electrode tab and the safety vent is electrically connected to a positive electrode lead. The insulation of the safety vent from the battery can prevents short-circuiting of the secondary battery. It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04. IV.
Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Jung, as modified by Kim, discloses the secondary battery as discussed in claim 1 above.
Jung fails to disclose wherein an adhesive layer is formed on at least a part of the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent or a double-sided adhesive tape is attached to the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent
However, Kim teaches wherein an adhesive layer is formed on at least a part of the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent or a double-sided adhesive tape is attached to the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent (Claim 13 of Kim states that the secondary battery comprises of an adhesive layer formed on at least part of a portion of the outer surface and lower surface of the edge portion of the safety vent, or a double-sided adhesive tape is attached to the aforementioned sides.) One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would be obvious to form an adhesive layer or attach double-sided adhesive tape on at least a part of the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent rather than forming an adhesive layer or attaching double-sided adhesive tape on at least a part of the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent because both structures further improve adhesion between the vent and the gasket (page 11, lines 17-19).
Jung and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing secondary batteries with structures that prevent battery short-circuiting, electrolyte leakage, and improved sealing properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Jung to include an adhesive layer is formed on at least a part of the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent or a double-sided adhesive tape is attached to the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the vent because Kim teaches that an adhesive layer formed on at least a portion of the outer surface and the lower surface of the edge portion of the vent, or a double-sided adhesive tape may be attached to further improve the adhesion between the vent and the gasket (page 11, lines 17-19). It has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04. IV.
Regarding claim 5, Jung further discloses wherein a metal plate at the edge portion of the vent is overlapped in two stages by being bent upward by 180° (Annotated Jung Fig. 2A illustrates a metal plate at the edge portion of the vent overlapped in two stages by being upward by 180°.).
Annotated Jung Fig. 2A: A metal plate at an edge portion of a vent (213) is overlapped in two stages (first stage is a gasket and second stage is a can) by being upward by 180°.
Regarding claim 6, Jung further discloses wherein the can has a cylindrical shape, and the vent has a flat disk shape (Para. [0046] explains that the battery can 12 is cylindrical and that safety vent 113 includes a peripheral portion 1131 that has a disc shape.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, as modified by Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Park et al. (US 2022/0359962 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Jung, as modified by Kim, discloses the secondary battery as discussed in claim 1.
Jung, as modified by Kim, fails to disclose wherein the current interrupt device (CID) filter is bonded to an electrode tab drawn out upward from one electrode of the electrode assembly.
However, Park teaches wherein the current interrupt device (CID) filter is bonded to an electrode tab drawn out upward from one electrode of the electrode assembly (Fig. 1b depicts and para. [0035] discusses a positive electrode tab 125 which passes through a second hole 127b and is welded to current interrupt device 130.).
Jung, Kim, and Park are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of developing secondary batteries with structures that prevent battery short-circuiting, electrolyte leakage, and improved sealing properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of Jung, as modified by Kim, to include wherein the current interrupt device (CID) filter is bonded to an electrode tab drawn out upward from one electrode of the electrode assembly because Park teaches that connecting an electrode tab from an electrode assembly to a current interrupt device and insulating it from the battery can, which acts as a terminal with opposing polarity to the current interrupt device, prevent the secondary battery from short-circuiting (paras. [0054], [0062]) and use of known techniques to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious. See MPEP 2141. III. (C).
Annotated Park Fig. 1B: A current interrupt device (CID) filter (130) is bonded to a positive electrode tab (125) drawn out upward from one positive electrode plate (122) of the electrode assembly (120).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2010/0119935 A1) discloses a cylindrical secondary battery which has a crimping region wherein the outer and upper surface of the crimping region is in contact with the lower and inner surface of the gasket. The radius of curvature of a portion where the outer surface and the upper surface of the edge portion of the crimping region is 0.3 mm to 2.0 mm.
Contact Information
/SANTINO MICHALE SERVAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713