Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that claim 1 is amended based on the previous claim 6 and that “in rejecting previous claim 6 (which originally recited the two screws and threaded sleeve), the Office Action asserts that the combination of JP'599 and Hoyt discloses the use of a threaded sleeve and two screws to secure two fastening components together” and “in JP '599, the two halves 5, 6 of the housing 4 are held together by screws that each extend between the first and second housing halves 5, 6. This differs from the combination of amended claim 1, which requires that a threaded sleeve (not the screws) extends between the two fastening components, and that each screw extends though one of the fastening components to engage opposite ends of the threaded sleeve.” The examiner respectfully disagrees because previous claim 6 was rejected based on JPS’599 and Hoyt and Nakasuji, however applicant seems to have ignored the teachings of Nakasuji. In particular, Nakasuji teaches the use of the threaded sleeve and screws as was recited in the previous claim 6 and in the amended claim 1 as presented now. Regarding new claim 21, applicant argues that modifying JPS’599 with Hoyt, “would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.” The examiner disagrees that modifying JPS’599 with Hoyt would render the JPS’599 unsatisfactory for its intended purpose because there is nothing in JPS’599 to teach away from the combination. Applicant’s arguments in this regard are applicant’s own opinion which do not have any support in JPS’599 or Hoyt. Moreover, arguendo, it is also noted that even if a disadvantage may be introduced by the modification, that does not negate the obvious modification, as stated in MPEP 2143: “"[a]lthough modification of the movable blades may impede the quick change functionality disclosed by Caterpillar, ‘[a] given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine’" (quoting Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165, 77 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed Cir. 2006) (citation omitted)).”
Claim interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fastening component”, “damping element”, and “guiding device”, first introduced in claim 1. Based on the specification, the “fastening component” is element 603, which is a plate, the “damping element” is element 605, which is an elastic ring, and the “guiding device” is element 604, which is a groove, as depicted in Fig. 17-20 (see also [0151]-[0161]), and their equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS63190599U, referred to hereafter as JPS’599 in view of Nakasuji et al. (US 2020/0182252), referred to hereafter as Nakasuji.
With regard to claim 1:
JPS’599 discloses a fan for generating a cooling air flow (Fig. 1-11), the fan comprising: a fan wheel (Fig. 2, 5, 6) which is held rotatably on a support body (2); a first fastening component and a second fastening component (3) which each have fastening openings (11, 17, 45, 33, see Fig. 1, 3, 4, 6-11) for fastening the fan, wherein the first fastening component is connected to a first end face of the support body and the second fastening component is connected to a second end face of the support body that is opposite the first end face (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7-11. Note that “connected is interpreted to be in the assembled state of the fan); and at least one elastic damping element (29, 44) configured for damping a transmission of vibrations which are or can be generated during a rotation of the fan wheel; and fasteners and sleeve (10, 16,11, 17, 33, 42) that hold the first fastening component, the second fastening component, and the support body together (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); wherein the sleeve extends from a first end at the first fastening component to an opposite second end at the second fastening component (in the assembled state); wherein the elastic damping element is guided along a guiding device (13, 14, 19, 20, 39, 44, see Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11) which is formed between the support body and at least one of the first fastening component and the second fastening component (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Note that as shown in Fig. 17 of applicant, the guiding device is a groove/recess inside the support body, which after the installation, will be positioned somewhere between the support body and the fastening element. In JPS’599 also the guiding device is a groove/recess inside the support body (Fig. 1, 3, 4), and after the installation, will be positioned somewhere between the support body and the fastening element (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11). See also applicant’s claim 2 for clarity); and wherein the elastic damping element and the guiding device are formed circumferentially (Fig. 1, 2).
JPS’599 does not appear to explicitly disclose that the fasteners and sleeve are two screws and a threaded sleeve, wherein a first one of the two screws extends through the first fastening component to engage the first end of the threaded sleeve and a second one of the two screws extends through the second fastening component to engage the second end of the threaded sleeve.
However, Nakasuji teaches a fan having first and second fastening components (see 19 and 20 in Fig. 2), and two screws (see 61 in Fig. 2) and a threaded sleeve that hold the first fastening component and the second fastening component together, the screws projecting into respective fastening openings of the two fastening components (Fig. 2) and being supported therein in the axial direction (see D2 in Fig. 2), wherein the screws project at the end face into a passage opening of the threaded sleeve (Fig. 2) and respective external threads of the screws engage with an internal thread of the threaded sleeve (Fig. 2), wherein the threaded sleeve extends from a first end at the first fastening component to an opposite second end at the second fastening component, and wherein a first one of the two screws extends through the first fastening component to engage the first end of the threaded sleeve and a second one of the two screws extends through the second fastening component to engage the second end of the threaded sleeve (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and have the sleeve of JPS’599 with internal threads and the fasteners being two screws at each corner engaging with the internal threads of the sleeves such that the two screws and the threaded sleeve hold the first fastening component, the second fastening component, and the support body together, wherein the threaded sleeve extends from a first end at the first fastening component to an opposite second end at the second fastening component, and wherein a first one of the two screws extends through the first fastening component to engage the first end of the threaded sleeve and a second one of the two screws extends through the second fastening component to engage the second end of the threaded sleeve.
With regard to claim 2, the combination of JPS’599 and Nakasuji further discloses that the guiding device is formed in the support body (JPS’599, Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 3, 4, 6, 9, 11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS63190599U, referred to hereafter as JPS’599 in view of Nakasuji et al. (US 2020/0182252), referred to hereafter as Nakasuji, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hoyt (US 2009/0110573).
With regard to claims 3 and 20:
the combination of JPS’599 and Nakasuji discloses the fan of claim 2, as set forth above, and further discloses that the support body forms a circularly circumferential wall with an outer side and an inner side, the wall extending axially between the first end face and the second end face (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Note that claim 3 doesn’t specify any plane of reference for “outer side” and “inner side”), wherein the guiding device is formed at a face of the wall (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11) and the elastic damping element is guided along the guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
the combination of JPS’599 and Nakasuji shows the end face of the wall being partially covered by the least one fastening component (see the embodiments in Fig. 7 and 9), but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the guiding device is formed in at least one of the first end face and the second end face, the first end face being covered by the first fastening component and the second end face being covered by the second fastening component.
However, Hoyt teaches a fan with a support body (60) having a circularly circumferential wall and damping elements (70) placed on its axial ends (Fig. 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application use a known technique, namely having a one-piece support body with damping elements placed at its axial ends, to improve similar devices in the same way. After the above modification and making the support body of JPS’599 as a one-piece element with damping elements, and consequently the guiding devices, at its axial ends (as also shown in Fig. 7 and 9 of JPS’599), the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt discloses that the guiding device is formed in at least one of the first end face and the second end face, the first end face being covered by the first fastening component and the second end face being covered by the second fastening component.
With regard to claim 20, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt discloses that the guiding device is a circumferential groove formed in at least one of the first end face and the second end face (JPS’599, Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Also see Fig. 4A/4B of Hoyt).
With regard to claim 4, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the first fastening component and the second fastening component are of flat design (JPS’599, Fig. 1) and each have a central passage opening (JPS’599, Fig. 1) which is surrounded by the fastening openings (11, 17).
With regard to claim 6, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the first fastening component and the second fastening component are each held together at corner regions thereof via the two screws and the threaded sleeve (JPS’599, Fig. 1, and Hoyt, Fig. 2), the two screws projecting into respective fastening openings of the first fastening component and the second fastening component and being supported therein in the axial direction by the support body (JPS’599, Fig. 1, and Hoyt, Fig. 2); and wherein the two screws each project through the respective fastening openings into a passage extending axially between the first and second ends of the threaded sleeve (JPS’599, Fig. 1, and Hoyt, Fig. 2), and wherein respective external threads of the two screws engage with an internal thread of the threaded sleeve (JPS’599, Fig. 1, and Hoyt, Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 9, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the first fastening component and the second fastening component are held together by a detachable connection (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
With regard to claim 11, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the first fastening component and the second fastening component each have a flange at each end face of the circularly circumferential wall (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11), wherein the flange extends in the radial direction of the fan and the fastening openings are arranged I the flange (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
With regard to claim 16, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that a minimum distance in the passage between the screws is defined in the axial direction by internal shoulders of the threaded sleeve, a first internal shoulder being positioned in the passage proximate the first end of the threaded sleeve and a second internal shoulder being positioned in the passage proximate the second end of the threaded sleeve (see Fig. 2 of Nakasuji).
With regard to claim 17, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the two screws are each hollow screws having a passage opening extending therethrough in the axial direction (see Fig. 2 of Nakasuji in which the screws 61 have a passage opening extending therethrough in the axial direction D2), wherein the passage opening of each screw is configured to receive a further fastening means that is configured to attach the fan to a wall (the claim doesn’t require the passage opening of the screws to be threaded or have any other specific feature and doesn’t specify what the “further fastening means” should be, hence it can be any fastening means that could fasten in the passage of 61, for example a press fit fastener or rivet or welded rod).
With regard to claim 18:
the combination of JPS’599 and Nakasuji discloses the fan of claim 2, as set forth above, and further discloses that the guiding device is a first guiding device and the fan further comprises a second guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); wherein the at least one elastic damping element comprises a first elastic damping element and a second elastic damping element (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); and wherein the support body forms a circularly circumferential wall with an outer side and an inner side, the wall extending axially between the first end face and the second end face (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11), wherein the first guiding device is formed at a face and the second guiding device is formed at a face (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11), wherein the first elastic damping element is guided in the first guiding device and the second elastic damping element is guided in the second guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
JPS’599 shows the end face of the wall being partially covered by the least one fastening component (see the embodiments in Fig. 7 and 9), but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the first end face is covered by the first fastening component and the second end face is covered by the second fastening component, and also doesn’t explicitly discloses that the first guiding device is formed at the first end face and the second guiding device is formed at the second end face.
However, Hoyt teaches a fan with a support body (60) having a circularly circumferential wall and damping elements (70) placed on its axial ends (Fig. 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application use a known technique, namely having one-piece support body with damping elements at its axial ends, to improve similar devices in the same way. After the above modification and making the support body of JPS’599 as a one-piece element with damping elements, and consequently the guiding devices, at its axial ends (as also shown in Fig. 7 and 9 of JPS’599), the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt discloses that the first end face is covered by the first fastening component and the second end face is covered by the second fastening component, the first guiding device is formed at the first end face and the second guiding device is formed at the second end face.
With regard to claim 19, the combination of JPS’599, Nakasuji, and Hoyt further discloses that the first and second guiding devices are circumferential grooves formed in the respective first and second end faces of the support body (JPS’599, Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Also see Fig. 4A/4B of Hoyt).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 21 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS63190599U, referred to hereafter as JPS’599 in view of Hoyt (US 2009/0110573).
With regard to claim 21:
JPS’599 discloses a fan for generating a cooling air flow, the fan comprising: a fan wheel (Fig. 2, 5, 6) which is held rotatably on a support body (2), wherein the support body forms a circularly circumferential wall with an outer side and an inner side (Fig. 1); at least one fastening component (3) which has fastening openings (11, 17, 45, 33, see Fig. 1, 3, 4, 6-11) for fastening the fan and which is connected to the support body (Fig. 1-11); and at least one elastic damping element (29, 44) configured for damping a transmission of vibrations which are or can be generated during a rotation of the fan wheel; wherein the at least one elastic damping element is guided along a guiding device (13, 14, 19, 20, 39, 44, see Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11) which is formed between the support body and the at least one fastening component (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Note that as shown in Fig. 17 of applicant, the guiding device is a groove/recess inside the support body, which after the installation, will be positioned somewhere between the support body and the fastening element. In JPS’599 also the guiding device is a groove/recess inside the support body (Fig. 1, 3, 4), and after the installation, will be positioned somewhere between the support body and the fastening element (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11). See also applicant’s claim 2 for clarity); wherein the guiding device is formed at an end face of the wall of the support body (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Note that claim 3 doesn’t specify any plane of reference for “end face”), wherein the at least one elastic damping element is guided along the guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); wherein the at least one elastic damping element and the guiding device are formed circumferentially (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); and wherein the at least one fastening component comprises two fastening components (Fig. 1), each of the two fastening components being of flat design and having a central passage opening which is surrounded by the fastening openings (11, 17, Fig. 1).
JPS’599 shows the end face of the wall being partially covered by the at least one fastening component (see the embodiments in Fig. 7 and 9), but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the end face of the wall being covered by the least one fastening component.
However, Hoyt teaches a fan with a support body (60) having a circularly circumferential wall and damping elements (70) placed on its axial ends (Fig. 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application use a known technique, namely having a one-piece support body with damping elements placed at its axial ends, to improve similar devices in the same way. After the above modification and making the support body of JPS’599 as a one-piece element with damping elements, and consequently the guiding devices, at its axial ends (as also shown in Fig. 7 and 9 of JPS’599), the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt discloses that the end face of the wall of the support body is covered by the least one fastening component.
With regard to claim 24, the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt further discloses that the fastening component forms a flange at each end face of the circularly circumferential wall (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11), wherein the flange extends in the radial direction of the fan and the fastening openings are arranged in the flange. (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
With regard to claim 25:
the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt further discloses that the two fastening components comprise a first fastening component and a second fastening component (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); wherein the guiding device is a first guiding device and the fan further comprises a second guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); wherein the at least one elastic damping element comprises a first elastic damping element and a second elastic damping element (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11); and wherein the first guiding device is formed at the end face of the wall and the second guiding device is formed at an opposite end face of the wall (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Note that claim 3 doesn’t specify any plane of reference for “end face”), wherein the first elastic damping element is guided in the first guiding device and the second elastic damping element is guided in the second guiding device (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11).
JPS’599 shows the end face of the wall being partially covered by the least one fastening component (see the embodiments in Fig. 7 and 9), but does not appear to explicitly disclose that the end face of the wall is covered by the first fastening component and the opposite end face of the wall is covered by the second fastening component.
However, Hoyt teaches a fan with a support body (60) having a circularly circumferential wall and damping elements (70) placed on its axial ends (Fig. 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application use a known technique, namely having one-piece support body with damping elements at its axial ends, to improve similar devices in the same way. After the above modification and making the support body of JPS’599 as a one-piece element with damping elements, and consequently the guiding devices, at its axial ends (as also shown in Fig. 7 and 9 of JPS’599), the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt discloses that the end face of the wall is covered by the first fastening component and the opposite end face of the wall is covered by the second fastening component.
With regard to claim 26, the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt further discloses that the guiding device is a circumferential groove formed in the end face of the wall (JPS’599, Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11. Also see Fig. 4A/4B of Hoyt).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS63190599U, referred to hereafter as JPS’599 in view of Hoyt (US 2009/0110573), as applied to claim 21, and further in view of Nakasuji et al. (US 2020/0182252), referred to hereafter as Nakasuji.
With regard to claim 22:
The combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt discloses the fan of claim 21, as set forth above, and further disclose that the two fastening components are each held together at corner regions thereof via fasteners and sleeves (10, 16,11, 17, 33, 42), the fasteners projecting into respective fastening openings of the two fastening components and being supported therein in the axial direction (Fig. 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11), wherein the fasteners project at the end face into a passage opening of the sleeve and respective fasteners engage with the sleeves.
The combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt is silent about the details of the fastening arrangement and hence does not appear to explicitly disclose that the sleeve has internal threads and the fasteners are two screws at each corner engaging with the internal threads of the sleeves.
However, Nakasuji teaches a fan having two fastening components (see 19 and 20 in Fig. 2) the two fastening components are held together via two screws (see 61 in Fig. 2) and a threaded sleeve (see 6 in Fig. 2), the screws projecting into respective fastening openings of the two fastening components (Fig. 2) and being supported therein in the axial direction (see D2 in Fig. 2), wherein the screws project at the end face into a passage opening of the threaded sleeve (Fig. 2) and respective external threads of the screws engage with an internal thread of the threaded sleeve (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way and have the sleeve of the combination of JPS’599 and Hoyt with internal threads and the fasteners being two screws at each corner engaging with the internal threads of the sleeves.
With regard to claim 23, the combination of JPS’599, Hoyt, and Nakasuji further discloses that the two screws are each hollow screws having a passage opening extending therethrough in the axial direction (see Fig. 2 of Nakasuji in which the screws 61 have a passage opening extending therethrough in the axial direction D2), wherein the passage opening of each screw is configured to receive a further fastening means that is configured to attach the fan to a wall (the claim doesn’t require the passage opening of the screws to be threaded or have any other specific feature and doesn’t specify what the “further fastening means” should be, hence it can be any fastening means that could fasten in the passage of 61, for example a press fit fastener or rivet or welded rod).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar fans.
US 5,297,932 discloses a screw (52) with internal threads on one end and external threads of the opposite end (see Fig. 2, 3).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745