Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1 and 5 are amended. Claims 8-20 are cancelled. New claims 21-26 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao (JP 2017137444 A) in view of Keller (US 9663959 B1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. below) a jib crane cart assembly, comprising: a platform (loading floor 9) having a proximal surface (top surface of floor 9) and a distal surface (lower surface of floor 9), (in jib crane cart assembly of Nagao, handrails extend between proximal and distal surfaces of the platform 9 which can be interpreted as reinforcement structure); a pair of masts (11) extending from said proximal surface of said platform, each of said masts having a jib arm (13) hingedly connected thereto;
a set of wheels (8) secured to said platform; at least one counterweight (weight of module blocks 4 on top of floor 9) secured to said proximal surface of said platform; said proximal surface of said platform includes at least one floor member arranged thereon (platform/floor 9 on which loads/blocks 4 are seated).
Keller teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a flooring with a reinforcement structure (502, 32); wherein said reinforcement structure further includes: a plurality of connected outer members (504, 504, 504, 504); and, a plurality of inner members (502, 32), some of said plurality of inner members (502) are connected to some of said plurality of outer members (504) and some of said plurality of inner members (32) are connected to some of said plurality of inner members (502); said proximal surface of said platform includes at least one floor member (top floor) arranged thereon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to used reinforcement structure for platform of Nagao as taught by Keller for proper load distribution on entire platform.
Regarding claim 2, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) said set of wheels are arranged for a cart track of a coke oven battery.
Regarding claim 3, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) each mast is supported by a supporting member extending from said platform.
Regarding claim 6, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) each jib arm includes a hoist (jib hoist 14) displaceably attached thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao In view of Keller and further in view of Mesic (DE 3927757 C1).
Regarding claim 5, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) said set of wheels comprises at least one complementary pair of wheels (8) arranged to engage a single rail of the cart track, Nagao does not show wheel flanges.
Mesic teaches wheel alternate flanges on single rail 8 for keeping to prevent disengagement from the rail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wheels with alternate flanges to prevent disengagement of jib crane cart from the rail.
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) a jib crane cart assembly for use on a cart track of a coke oven battery,
comprising: a platform (loading floor 9) having a proximal surface (top surface of floor 9) and a distal surface (lower surface of floor 9), (in jib crane cart assembly of Nagao, handrails extend between proximal and distal surfaces of the platform 9 which can be interpreted as reinforcement structure); a pair of masts (11) extending from said proximal surface of said platform, each of said masts having a jib arm (13) hingedly connected thereto;
and, a set of wheels (8) secured to said platform, wherein said set of wheels comprises at least one complementary pair of wheels arranged to engage a single rail of the cart track, Nagao does not show wheel flanges.
Keller teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a flooring with a reinforcement structure (502, 32); wherein said reinforcement structure further includes: a plurality of connected outer members (504, 504, 504, 504); and, a plurality of inner members (502, 32) connected to the outer members.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to used reinforcement structure for platform of Nagao as taught by Keller for proper load distribution on entire platform.
Mesic teaches wheel alternate flanges on single rail 8 for keeping to prevent disengagement from the rail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wheels with alternate flanges to prevent disengagement of jib crane cart from the rail.
Regarding claim 22, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) at least one counterweight (weight of module blocks 4 on top of floor 9) secured to said proximal surface of said platform (platform/floor 9 on which loads/blocks 4 are seated).
Regarding claim 23, Nagao teaches (reproduced and annotated Fig. above) each jib arm includes a hoist (jib hoist 14) displaceably attached thereto.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagao In view of Keller and Mesic and further in view of Helms (US 4508233 A).
Regarding claims 25-26, Nagao doesn’t show if the mast is height adjustable.
Helms teaches pivotable and height adjustable mast supported by a supporting member 17 on a platform 14.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to make mast of Nagao supported on a supporting member and height adjustable to reach different heights based on usage of the jib crane cart assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used in the current rejection as necessitate by amendments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723