DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otsuka et al. (2011/0042120).
Otsuka et al. discloses a cable comprising: a pair of cores, each core including an insulator (12) covering a conductor (11), and twisted ([0028]) with each other; a shielding layer (14) covering the pair of cores and defining a first circular cross section; a bedding layer (13) filling an empty space between the shielding layer and the pair of cores; and an outer skin layer (15) formed on an exterior of the shielding layer and defining a second circular cross section. It is noted that the cable of Otsuka et al. is an Ethernet cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka et al. in view of Uegaki et al. (12136502).
Otsuka et al. discloses a cable comprising a pair of cores, each core including an insulator (12) covering a conductor (11), and twisted ([0028]) with each other; a shielding layer (14) covering the pair of cores; a bedding layer (13) filling an empty space between the shielding layer and the pair of cores and to which the shielding layer is conformal to an outer surface thereof; and an outer skin layer (15) formed on an exterior of the shielding layer and conformal to the shielding layer (re-claim 1).
Otsuka et al. does not disclose an average diameter the insulator and an average diameter of the bedding layer satisfy the claimed equation (re-claim 1).
Uegaki et al. discloses a cable comprising a pair of cores, each including an insulator (13) covering a conductor (12) and a bedding (20) surrounding the pair of cores, wherein an average diameter the insulator and an average diameter of the bedding layer satisfy the claimed equation. Specifically, Uegaki et al. discloses that the average diameter of the bedding layer is 4.0 mm (col. 6, lines 14-17), and the average diameter of the insulator is 0.9 mm (col. 5, lines 21-22), see applicant’s disclosure, paragraph [67], it is disclosed that the average diameter of the bedding layer is between 3.000329 mm and 6.005254, and the average diameter of the insulator is 0.9 mm.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to respectively provide the insulator and the bedding of Otsuka et al. with the diameters taught by Uegaki et al. to meet the specific use of the resulting cable. It is noted that the modified cable of Otsuka et al. is an Ethernet cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed.
Re-claim 2, Uegaki et al., Fig. 3, discloses a conductor comprised of six wires arranged around one central wire. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the conductor of Otsuka et al. to comprise six wires arranged around one central wire (i.e., stranded conductor) as taught by Uegaki et al. to improve the conductor flexibility.
Re-claim 3, Otsuka et al. discloses the twisted pairing pitch of the pair of cores being 7 mm or more and 10 mm or less ([0028]).
Re-claim 8, Otsuka et al. discloses the bedding layer being made of PVC ([0029]-[0030], material 13…the same as material 12 which is PVC).
Re-claim 12, Otsuka et al. discloses the bedding layer being made of a fluorocarbon resin, but does not disclose being made of FEP. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the bedding layer of Otsuka et al. to be made of FEP since this material is well-known in the art for being used as insulating material because of its low dielectric constant.
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uegaki et al. in view of Van Der Meer (2012/0000690).
Uegaki et al. discloses a cable (1) comprising a pair of cores (11), each core including an insulator (13) covering a conductor (12), and twisted with each other; and a bedding (20) surrounding the pair of cores, wherein an average diameter of the insulator and an average diameter of the bedding layer satisfy the claimed equation. Specifically, Uegaki et al. discloses that the average diameter of the bedding layer is 4.0 mm (col. 6, lines 14-17), and the average diameter of the insulator is 0.9 mm (col. 5, lines 21-22), see applicant’s disclosure, paragraph [67], it is disclosed that the average diameter of the bedding layer is between 3.000329 mm and 6.005254, and the average diameter of the insulator is 0.9 mm (re-claim 1).
Uegaki et al. does not disclose the cable comprising a shielding layer covering the pair of cores and an outer skin layer formed on an exterior of the shielding layer (re-claim 1).
Van Der Meer discloses a cable comprising a pair of cores; a bedding layer (108); a shielding layer (114/116) covering the pair of cores; and an outer skin layer (120) formed on an exterior of the shielding layer (re-claim 1). Van Der Meer also discloses that the shielding layer includes a first shielding layer (114) formed on the bedding layer ([0033]) and a second shielding layer (116) formed on and conformal to the first shielding layer, wherein the first shielding layer includes an Al-Mylar and the second shielding layer includes tin-plated copper braid ([0033]) (re-claims 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teaching of Van Der Meer in modifying the cable of Uegaki et al. by providing an Al-Mylar on the bedding layer (20), a tin-plated copper braid on the Al-Mylar, and an outer skin layer on the tin-plated copper braid, to providing a shielding means and protecting means for the cores. It is noted that the modified cable of Uegaki et al. is an Ethernet cable since it comprises structure and material as claimed; the shielding layer (of Van Der Meer) is conformal to an outer surface of the bedding layer (20); and the outer skin layer (of Van Der Meer) is conformal to the shielding layer (re-claim 1).
Re-claims 9-11, Uegaki et al. discloses the bedding layer being made of polyethylene or cross-linked polyethylene or polypropylene (col. 5 lines 47-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841