DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 3, 10- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (WO 2023/055519 A1) (IDS filed on 1/6/2025 page 1), hereafter Khos.
Regarding claim 1, Khos teaches A method of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the method performed by a terminal (see abstract; wireless communication system and UE as a terminal here) comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
transmitting, to the base station, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
receiving, from the base station, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Regarding claim 2, Khos teaches as per claim 1, wherein when the first PDCCH is detected by the terminal in only one SS set among the plurality of SS sets, the PRACH is transmitted based only on the QCL RS related to the one SS set among the plurality of QCL RSs; see [0075]…. for example, the UE 115-a may use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH order 225 as a basis for the QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of the one or more downlink random access messages (e.g., the UE 115-a may assume that the downlink random access messages are quasi-collocated with the PDCCH order 225); now see [0076] The UE 115-a may be configured with one or more CORESETs (e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell) for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 (e.g., or for other downlink control messages). A quantity of time and frequency resources (e.g., resource blocks in a frequency domain and OFDM symbols in a time domain) within each CORESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured; now refer to [0077-0078]; further see [104- 0106]… . The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively. Transmitting the uplink random access message in either the first PRACH occasion 410-b or the second PRACH occasion 410-c indicates, to the base station 105, which TCI state to use for the one or more downlink random access message(s). In some examples, the SSB index indicated in the PDCCH order (e.g., indicated by 6 bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order) may be ignored or may be enforced to equal one of the first SSB that is quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second SSB that is quasi-colocated with the second PDCCH candidate 405-e (e.g., the SSB index indicated in the 6 bits in the DCI of the PDCCH order may not be used to directly determine the PRACH occasion); see [0106]
Regarding claim 3, Khos teaches as per claim 1, wherein when the first PDCCH is detected by the terminal in all of the plurality of SS sets, the PRACH is transmitted based on the plurality of QCL RSs; see [0075]… For example, the UE 115-a may use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH order 225 as a basis for the QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of the one or more downlink random access messages (e.g., the UE 115-a may assume that the downlink random access messages are quasi-collocated with the PDCCH order 225); further see [0076] The UE 115-a may be configured with one or more CORESETs (e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell) for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 (e.g., or for other downlink control messages). A quantity of time and frequency resources (e.g., resource blocks in a frequency domain and OFDM symbols in a time domain) within each CORESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may be associated with one active TCI state. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier), and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates (e.g., according to a given aggregation level). For example, a PDCCH candidate with a given aggregation level and a given candidate index may be defined in a given search space set. The UE 115-a may perform blind decoding of the PDCCH candidates within each search space set to receive DCI. That is, the UE 115-a may monitor each PDCCH candidate in a search space set for DCI. The UE 115-a may successfully decode one or more of the PDCCH candidates (e.g., a CRC may pass) to obtain the DCI. In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI, which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition. Additional aspects of the configurations for search space sets and PDCCH candidates may be further described elsewhere herein, including with reference to FIGs. 3A and 3B; further see [0077- 0078 and [0104- 0106].
Regarding claim 10, Khos teaches a terminal of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to (see abstract; wireless communication system and UE as a terminal here):
receive, from a base station, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
transmit, to the base station, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Regarding claim 11, Khos teaches at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing at least one instruction, wherein the at least one instruction executable by at least one processor controls a device of performing a random access procedure to (see abstract; wireless communication system and UE as a terminal here):
receive, from a base station, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
transmit, to the base station, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
receive, from the base station, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Regarding claim 12, Khos teaches a processing apparatus configured to control a terminal of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the processing apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising (see abstract; wireless communication system and UE as a terminal here):
receiving, from a base station, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
transmitting, to the base station, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
receiving, from the base station, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Regarding claim 13, Khos teaches a method of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the method performed by a base station comprising (see abstract; wireless communication system and network device as a base station here):
transmitting, to a terminal,, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
receiving, from the terminal, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
transmitting, to the terminal, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Regarding claim 14, Khos teaches a base station of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to (see abstract; wireless communication system and network device as a base station here):
transmit, to a terminal,, a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a PDCCH order for triggering a random access procedure, wherein the first PDCCH is transmitted in a plurality of search space (SS) sets, each of the plurality of SS sets are related to a plurality of control resource sets (CORESET), and a plurality of different quasi co-location (QCL) reference signals (RS) are configured in a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for the plurality of CORESETs (see [0076- 0078] The UE 115-a maybe configured with one or more CORESETs, e.g., three, four, five, or some other quantity of CORESETs in a BWP of a serving cell, for monitoring a PDCCH for the PDCCH order 225 ... A quantity of time and frequency resources ... within each CO RESET and an active TCI state associated with each CORESET may be RRC configured. Each CORESET may include one or more search space sets (e.g., up to 10 search space sets in a BWP of a component carrier) and each search space set may include one or more PDCCH candidates ... In some examples, one or more search space sets and corresponding PDCCH candidates may be linked for repetition of DCI. which may be referred to as PDCCH repetition or downlink control channel repetition; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] ... the base station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 via two or more PDCCH candidates that are linked for PDCCH repetition ... The UE 115-a may receive the PDCCH order 225 via linked PDCCH candidates ...; now refer to [0078] ….the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may include one or more reserved bits. The one or more reserved bits may indicate a TCI state to use as a basis for a QCL assumption to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages from the base station 105-a. For example, bits in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order 225 may indicate whether to use the TCI state associated with the PDCCH candidate having a lower or higher CORESET ID. search space ID. or TCI state ID; now refer to [0095] To reduce the impacts of PDCCH repetition on the random access procedure, in some examples, as described herein the TCI state to use as a basis for which QCL assumption to use for receipt of downlink random access messages may be indicated in the DCI conveying the PDCCH order, which may improve a reliability of the random access procedure ... The UE 115 may transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion that is associated with an SSB index that is quasi- colocated with the TCI state associated with one of the PDCCH candidates…);
receive, from the terminal, physical random access channel (PRACH) for the random access procedure in response to the PDCCH order (see [0071].. the base
station 105-a may transmit a PDCCH order 225 to the UE 115-a to request the UE 115-a to participate in the random access procedure. The UE 115-a may transmit the random access request message 230 in response to the PDCCH order 225….); and
transmit, to the terminal, a second PDCCH including downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carrying a random access response for the random access procedure, in response to the PRACH (see [0075].. base station 105-a may receive the random access request message 230 during the PRACH occasion, and the base station 105-a may transmit one or more other random access messages as part of the random access procedure. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit a control message (e.g., DCI) via a PDCCH, a downlink random access response (RAR) message via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), or both),
wherein, based on the PDCCH order including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) indices, the PRACH is transmitted on a plurality of PRACH occasions related to the plurality of SSB indexes (see [0072] The PDCCH order 225 may indicate one or more parameters associated with the random access procedure. For example, the PDCCH order 225 may include a random access preamble index (e.g., a six bit field) indicating a type of random access procedure.…. If the random access preamble is not zero, the PDCCH order may trigger CFRA. If CFRA is triggered, the UE 115-a may decode one or more remaining fields to identify a PRACH occasion and other parameters associated with the random access procedure; further refer to [0073] The one or more remaining fields may include an uplink or supplementary uplink (SUL) indication field, an SSB index field, a PRACH mask index field, one or more other reserved fields, or any combination thereof… The SSB index field may include a quantity of bits (e.g., six bits) to indicate an SSB index associated with the CFRA… The UE 115-a may determine a PRACH occasion for transmitting the random access request message 230 based on the SSB index and the PRACH mask index...), and
wherein the PRACH is transmitted based on one or more QCL RSs among the plurality of QCL RSs in consideration of detection of the first PDCCH by the terminal (see [0104] The UE 115 may receive an indication that a first PDCCH candidate 405-d and a second PDCCH candidate 405-e are linked for PDCCH repetition, and the UE 115 may receive a PDCCH order via the first PDCCH candidate 405-d, the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, or both; now refer to [0105] the first PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a first TCI state and the second PDCCH candidate 405-d may be associated with a second TCI state that is different from the first TCI state (e.g., the PDCCH candidates 405 may correspond to different CORESETs associated with different TCI states and the PDCCH order may be received via different beams in each PDCCH candidate 405-d and 405-e; now refer to [0106] The UE 115 may select a TCI state associated with either the first PDCCH candidate 405-d or the second PDCCH candidate 405-e to use a basis for a QCL assumption 425-b to be applied to receipt of one or more downlink random access messages. The UE may transmit an uplink random access message (e.g., a PRACH) in one of a first PRACH occasion 410-b or a second PRACH occasion 410-c which are associated with a first SSB and a second SSB, respectively, which are quasi-colocated with the first PDCCH candidate 405-d and the second PDCCH candidate 405-e, respectively).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (WO 2023/055519 A1) (IDS filed on 1/6/2025 page 1), hereafter Khos in view of Nam et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0008188 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Khos teaches as per claim 3, but fails to state about wherein even when the first PDCCH- is detected by the terminal in all of the plurality of SS sets, if reception quality of the plurality of QCL RSs differs by more than a specific value, the PRACH is transmitted based only on a QCL RS with high reception quality among the plurality of QCL RSs; however Nam states in [0148] about . the UE may transmit a single PRACH transmission using a single spatial beam based on the spatial beam having a link quality greater than or equal to a link quality threshold. In certain aspects, the single spatial beam includes a SSB or CSI-RS whose RSRP is greater than or equal to the link quality threshold. In certain other aspects, the single spatial beam includes a SSB or channel state information CSI-RS when other spatial beams whose RSRP are less than or equal to the link quality threshold. For example, referring to FIG. 5D, the UE 550 may beamform a single antenna subarray 502a in order to transmit a single PRACH transmission using beam 504a. The beam 504a that is selected for the single PRACH transmission may be the beam with the highest link quality and/or a suitable beam. The beam 504a with the highest link quality may be determined by measuring DL RS for each beam. A suitable beam may refer to an SSB and/or CSI-RS (i.e. QCL RSs) whose corresponding RSRP is greater than a network configured threshold. Additionally and/or alternatively, a suitable beam may refer to a beam corresponding to any SSB and/or CSI-RS when the corresponding RSRP of all SSB and/or CSI-RS are below the network configured threshold. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Nam with the teachings of Khos to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein even when the first PDCCH- is detected by the terminal in all of the plurality of SS sets, if reception quality of the plurality of QCL RSs differs by more than a specific value, the PRACH is transmitted based only on a QCL RS with high reception quality among the plurality of QCL RSs; more reliable communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5- 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (WO 2023/055519 A1) (IDS filed on 1/6/2025 page 1), hereafter Khos in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US Pub. No. 11310836 B2), hereafter Mola.
Regarding claim 5, Khos teaches as per claim 3, but fails to state about wherein transmission operation of the second PDCCH is determined depending on whether the PRACH is transmitted based on all of the plurality of QCL RSs or based on only one of the plurality of QCL RSs; however Mola states in claim 1 about ... wherein the SIB includes an indication for (i) a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties; and transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state.; now refer to claim 5 receiving: at least one of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the first TCI state and a second PDCCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the first PDCCH schedules a reception of a first PDSCH and the second PDCCH schedules a reception of a second PDSCH; and the first PDSCH according to the first TCI state or the second PDSCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the received first PDSCH or second PDSCH includes a random access response (RAR) message in response to the first PRACH transmission or the second PRACH transmission. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Mola with the teachings of Khos to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein transmission operation of the second PDCCH is determined depending on whether the PRACH is transmitted based on all of the plurality of QCL RSs or based on only one of the plurality of QCL RSs; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Khos in view of Mola teaches as per claim 5, wherein when the PRACH is transmitted based on all of the plurality of QCL RSs, the second PDCCH is transmitted within a plurality of SS sets based on all of the plurality of QCL RSs; Mola states in claim 1 about ... wherein the SIB includes an indication for (i) a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties; and transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state.; now refer to claim 5 receiving: at least one of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the first TCI state and a second PDCCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the first PDCCH schedules a reception of a first PDSCH and the second PDCCH schedules a reception of a second PDSCH; and the first PDSCH according to the first TCI state or the second PDSCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the received first PDSCH or second PDSCH includes a random access response (RAR) message in response to the first PRACH transmission or the second PRACH transmission; further see claim 7.
Regarding claim 7, Khos in view of Mola teaches as per claim 5, wherein when the PRACH is transmitted based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs, the second PDCCH is transmitted within a plurality 2 of SS sets based only on the one QCL RS; already described above in claim 6’s citations.. Mola states in claim 1 about ... wherein the SIB includes an indication for (i) a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties; and transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state.; now refer to claim 5 receiving: at least one of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the first TCI state and a second PDCCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the first PDCCH schedules a reception of a first PDSCH and the second PDCCH schedules a reception of a second PDSCH; and the first PDSCH according to the first TCI state or the second PDSCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the received first PDSCH or second PDSCH includes a random access response (RAR) message in response to the first PRACH transmission or the second PRACH transmission; further see claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Khos in view of Mola teaches as per claim 5, wherein regardless of whether a plurality of QCL RSs in a plurality of TCI states related to the second PDCCH are configured, the second PDCCH is transmitted based only on the one QCL RS; already described above in claim 6’s citations.. Mola states in claim 1 about ... wherein the SIB includes an indication for (i) a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties; and transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state.; now refer to claim 5 receiving: at least one of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the first TCI state and a second PDCCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the first PDCCH schedules a reception of a first PDSCH and the second PDCCH schedules a reception of a second PDSCH; and the first PDSCH according to the first TCI state or the second PDSCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the received first PDSCH or second PDSCH includes a random access response (RAR) message in response to the first PRACH transmission or the second PRACH transmission; further see claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Khos in view of Mola teaches as per claim 5, wherein when the PRACH is transmitted based on one QCL RS among the plurality of QCL RSs, the second PDCCH is transmitted within a single SS set based only on the one QCL RS; already described above in claim 6’s citations.. Mola states in claim 1 about ... wherein the SIB includes an indication for (i) a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that provides a first set of quasi-collocation (QCL) properties and (ii) for a second TCI state that provides a second set of QCL properties; and transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) according to the first TCI state and a second PRACH according to the second TCI state.; now refer to claim 5 receiving: at least one of a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the first TCI state and a second PDCCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the first PDCCH schedules a reception of a first PDSCH and the second PDCCH schedules a reception of a second PDSCH; and the first PDSCH according to the first TCI state or the second PDSCH according to the second TCI state, wherein the received first PDSCH or second PDSCH includes a random access response (RAR) message in response to the first PRACH transmission or the second PRACH transmission; further see claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Takahashi et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0295315 A1) teaches about For the link recovery via CFRA, after 28 symbols from the last symbol of the first PDCCH reception in the search space set configured by using the recoverySearchSpaceld where the terminal 20 detects the DCI format with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI or the MCS-C-RNTI, the terminal 20 may assume an antenna port quasi-collocation parameter that is the same as the antenna port quasi-collocation parameter associated with the index q.sub.new for PDCCH monitoring in the CORESET with index 0; see [0095]; further see [0099] in the following, a second example of a case of link recovery via CBRA is described. For link recovery via CBRA, after 28 symbols from the last symbol of a first PDCCH reception (in the direction of time) in a search space set configured by using the ra-SearchSpace where the terminal 20 detects a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by RA-RNTI, the terminal 20 may assume an antenna port quasi-collocation parameter that is the same as the antenna port quasi-collocation parameter associated with an index q,w for PDCCH monitoring in a CORESET with index 0 (i.e., the CORESET configured by using system information).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479