Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 17, “…receive the output thereof…” should read “…receive an output thereof…” so that there is a sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
In claim 1 line 19, “…to control operation…” should read “…to control the operation…” as positively recited in line 18.
In claim 4 line 2, “…the stored targe pressure profile…” should read “…the at least one target pressure profile…” for the purpose of consistency in the use of term in the claim.
In claim 5 lines 1-2, “…the stored targe pressure profile…” should read “…the at least one target pressure profile…” for the purpose of consistency in the use of term in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merati et al. (US 2020/0270114) in view of Dees (US 2019/0059638) and White et al. (US 2018/0084940).
Regarding claim 1, Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) a milk module/milk supply circuit (1) for preparing hot or cold, frothed or non-frothed milk-based beverages from liquid milk, the milk module comprising:
a milk line/milk suction duct (5) and milk supply duct (10) extending from a milk container/tank (3) to a milk dispensing nozzle/duct (13) (Para 0020-0021);
an air line/air supply duct (6) extending from an air source and communicating with the milk line/milk suction duct (5) and milk supply duct (10) (Para 0020);
a milk pump (4) to draw the liquid milk from the milk container/tank (3) (Para 0020);
a milk heater (9) (Para 0021);
a proportional air solenoid valve (7) arranged along the air line/air supply duct (6) (Para 0020, 0025-0030);
an electronic control unit/electronic milk control unit (15) in communication with the milk pump (4) and the proportional air solenoid valve (7) (Para 0023)
but it is silent about the milk module comprising:
a flow restriction arranged on a delivery side of the milk pump.
Dees ‘638 teaches (figure 1) a frothing unit comprising a fluid restriction (44) positioned downstream of the pump (30) (Para 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Merati et al. ‘114 to incorporate the teachings of Dees ‘638 to configure the milk module comprising:
a flow restriction arranged on a delivery side of the milk pump.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to produce high quality frothed milk (Para 0045).
Merati et al. ‘114 further teaches the electronic milk control unit (15) programmed to determine and control the operation of the milk pump (4) and of the air solenoid valve (7) based on milk related quantities (Para 0056-0061).
but it is silent about the milk module comprising:
a pressure sensor to measure and output an output indicative of a pressure of a milk-air mixture in the milk line downstream of the milk pump; and
an electronic control unit in communication with the pressure sensor to receive an output thereof and the proportional air solenoid valve to control operation thereof;
wherein, in order to control the operation of the proportional air solenoid valve, the electronic control unit is configured to:
store data representative of at least one target pressure profile indicative of a time development of a target pressure of the milk-air mixture that is desired to be obtained in the milk line, downstream of the milk pump; and
control by closed-loop the proportional air solenoid valve based on the pressure of the milk-air mixture measured by the pressure sensor and the target pressure profile.
White et al. 940 teaches (figures 1-6B) an espresso making machine (100) comprising an air injector module (144) injecting steam to a steam wand (142) wherein the air injector module (144) comprises a primary steam flow path (145), an air injection path (146) and an outflow (147) wherein the air injection flow path (146) receives pressured air delivered by an air pump (150), wherein a pressure sensor (154) coupled to the air flow path (146) provides pressure measurements to the processor module/electronic control unit (130) based on which the air pump (150) is controlled (Para 0110-0112)
wherein, in order to control the air pump (150), the processor module/electronic control unit (130) is configured to:
store data representative of at least one target pressure profile indicative of a time development of a target pressure/sampled air pressure of the air that is desired to be obtained in the air flow path (146), downstream of the air pump (150) (Para 0176); and
control by closed-loop the air pump (50) based on the pressure of the air measured by the pressure sensor and the target pressure profile (Para 0165).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Merati et al. ‘114 to incorporate the teachings of White et al. ‘940 to configure the milk module comprising:
a pressure sensor to measure and output an output indicative of a pressure of a milk-air mixture in the milk line downstream of the milk pump; and
an electronic control unit in communication with the pressure sensor to receive an output thereof and the proportional air solenoid valve to control operation thereof (controlling proportional air solenoid valve controls the pressure of milk-air mixture through the pump);
wherein, in order to control the operation of the proportional air solenoid valve, the electronic control unit is configured to:
store data representative of at least one target pressure profile indicative of a time development of a target pressure of the milk-air mixture that is desired to be obtained in the mil line, downstream of the milk pump; and
control by closed-loop the proportional air solenoid valve based on the pressure of the milk-air mixture measured by the pressure sensor and the target pressure profile.
(milk-air mixture of Merati et al. ‘114 is analogous to air in the air flow path (146) of White et al. ‘940, as pressures applied to milk-air mixture and air in the air flow path determines the quality of frothing).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance quality of the frothing.
Regarding claim 2, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module wherein the pressure sensor is a physical sensor arranged along the milk line on the delivery side of the milk pump (as modified by White et al. ‘940).
Regarding claim 4, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module wherein the at least one target pressure profile causes the proportional air solenoid valve to be controlled to cause the pressure of the milk-air mixture in the milk line, downstream of the milk pump, to have a variable development over time (as modified by White et al. ‘940; clearly seen in figure 4)
but it is silent about the milk module wherein the at least one target pressure profile to have a substantially constant development over time.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to design a target pressure profile, as needed, to achieve desired pressure development over time. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Merati et al. ‘114 to configure the milk module wherein the at least one target pressure profile to have a substantially constant development over time.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure milk-air mixture has constant output pressure.
Regarding claim 5, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module wherein the at least one target pressure profile causes the proportional air solenoid valve to be controlled to cause the pressure of the milk-air mixture in the milk line, downstream of the milk pump, to have a variable development over time (as modified by White et al. ‘940; clearly seen in figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module wherein the electronic control unit/electronic milk control unit (15) is further configured to store different pressure profiles, each of which is associated with a respective milk-based beverage that can be produced by the milk module (Para 0056-0061; electronic control unit/electronic milk control unit (15) processes various milk-related quantities e.g., whole milk, semi-skimmed milk etc. and each have different pressure profiles).
Regarding claim 7, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module wherein the electronic control unit/electronic milk control unit (15) is further configured to control proportional air solenoid valve by implementing a Proportional-Derivative (PD) controller (as modified by White et al. ‘940; Para 0155).
Regarding claim 8, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) an automatic beverage preparation machine/automatic beverage vending machine comprising the milk module of claim 1 (Para 0010).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merati et al. (US 2020/0270114), Dees (US 2019/0059638) and White et al. (US 2018/0084940) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crozier et al. (US 2021/0127892).
Regarding claim 3, modified Merati et al. ‘114 teaches (figures 1-4) the milk module of claim 1 but it is silent about the milk module wherein the pressure sensor is a virtual sensor designed to measure and output an output indicative of the pressure of the milk-air mixture in the milk line downstream of the milk pump based on an electric current absorbed by the milk pump.
Crozier et al. ‘892 teaches (figures 1-2) a pressure of liquid in the fluid circuit in beverage preparation apparatus is determined by the absorbed electrical current measured at the pump (Para 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Merati et al. ‘114 to incorporate the teachings of Crozier et al. ‘892 to configure the milk module wherein the pressure sensor is a virtual sensor designed to measure and output an output indicative of the pressure of the milk-air mixture in the milk line downstream of the milk pump based on an electric current absorbed by the milk pump.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to measure two variables i.e., absorbed current and pressure using a single sensor.
Conclusion
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642