DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed November 26, 2025. Claims 19-23 remain withdrawn from consideration. Applicant has amended claim 1. New claim 25 has been added. Currently, claims 1-9, 11-14, 17-23 and 25 remain pending in the application.
The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office actions, Paper Nos. 20241218, 20250128, 20250408, and 20250701.
The rejection of claims 1-9, 11-14 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Allen et al, WO 2010/062703, is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “or a mixture of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide”. This limitation renders the claim vague and indefinite, since currently amended claim 1 requires that Re1’, Re2’, Re3’, and Re4’ must all be hydrogen. Accordingly, the examiner asserts that the polyether block must only be ethylene oxide. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Allen et al, WO 2010/062703.
Allen et al, WO 2010/062703, discloses polycarbonate block copolymers having the formulae:
and
wherein Rz is R10, and R10 is an optionally substituted C1-20 alkyl group, (see pages 21, line 10-page 22, line 5, and pages 33-34), wherein the polycarbonate block copolymers have a solubility in supercritical carbon dioxide of at least 0.1% by weight (see page 79, line 25-page 80, line 30), which meets the instant claim limitations when Z1 is R-O, R is a C1-11 alkyl group, Re1, Re2, Re3, and Re4 are all hydrogen, Re1’, Re2’, Re3’, and Re4’ are all hydrogen, and Z2 is hydrogen. Specifically, note Examples 1-9. Although Allen et al is silent with respect to the water solubility value of their polycarbonate block copolymers, the examiner asserts that the polycarbonate block copolymers disclosed in Allen would inherently meet the water solubility requirements of the instant invention, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Therefore, instant claim 25 is anticipated by Allen et al, WO 2010/062703.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed polycarbonate block copolymers, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 17-18 and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-13, 17, 19-20, 22 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/701,951. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/701,951 claims a similar composition comprising a polycarbonate block polyether of formula I:
(see claims 1-7, 10-13, 17, 19-20, 22 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/701,951), as required in the instant claims. The examiner notes that it appears that the “R” groups have been labelled “O” groups by mistake. Therefore, claims 1-9, 11-14, 17-18 and 25 are an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-7, 10-13, 17, 19-20, 22 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/701,951.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Allen et al, WO 2010/062703, does not teach or suggest in general a structure of claimed formula I, wherein Re1’, Re2’, Re3’, and Re4’ must all be hydrogen, as required by applicant in the newly amended claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, the examiner respectfully maintains that Allen et al clearly discloses polycarbonate block copolymers having the formulae:
wherein Rz is R10, and R10 is an optionally substituted C1-20 alkyl group, (see pages 21, line 10-page 22, line 5, and page 39), and wherein the number of polyether blocks is more than the number of polycarbonate blocks, per the requirements of the instant invention. Accordingly, the examiner respectfully maintains that the instant claim limitations are clearly met when Z1 is R-O, R is a C1-11 alkyl group, Re1, Re2, Re3, and Re4 are all hydrogen, Re1’, Re2’, Re3’, and Re4’ are all hydrogen, and Z2 is hydrogen. Furthermore, the examiner asserts that the polycarbonate block copolymers disclosed in Allen would inherently meet the water solubility requirements of the instant invention, since products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blackburn et al, US 2025/0230383, discloses a composition comprising a polycarbonate block polyether of formula (I).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
December 10, 2025