Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 15 April 2024 and 3 August 2026 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Response to Restriction
2. Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 3, and 5-10) in the reply filed on 3 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Application
3. The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/US22/46905 filed 17 October 2022. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-12, 14, 16-17, 19-21, 23-24, and 30-48 are currently pending. Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 13, 15, 18, 22, and 25-29 are cancelled. Claims 11-12, 14, 16-17, 19-21, 23-24, and 42-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3 August 2026. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, and 30-41 are examined on the merits within.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, 30-35, 37 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sirianni et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0054562).
Regarding instant claim 1, Sirianni et al. disclose a nanoparticle comprising an amphiphilic polymer and a water insoluble biologically active ingredient. See claim 1. The active ingredient comprises a histone deacetylase inhibitor. See claim 41.
Regarding instant claims 6 and 30, the polymer is a poly(lactic acid)-polyethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG) polymer or poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol). See claim 33.
Regarding instant claim 8, non-limiting examples of the amphiphilic polymer include poly(lactic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG), poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol) (PLGA-PEG), any salts of the foregoing, and any derivatives of the foregoing, etc. See paragraph [0057]. As used herein, the term “derivative” refers to a compound that is synthesized from a parent compound by replacement of one atom with another atom or group of atoms. Non-limiting examples of derivative include a salt, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, and chemical modifications with a group including but not limited to esters, fluorine, methoxy, ethyl, butyl, propyl, hexyl, or other organic moieties. See paragraph [0039].
Regarding instant claim 10, 5 mg quisinostat was combined with 50 mg PLA-PEG (1:10). See paragraph [0147-0149].
Regarding instant claims 31-34, Sirianni et al. disclose use of Poly(d,l-lactide)-b-methoxy poly(ethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG, Mw˜16 k:5 k Da or PLA-PEG, Mw˜20 k:5 k). See paragraph [0144].
Regarding instant claim 35, the weight average molecular weight of PLA is between 5000 and 35000 daltons. See paragraph [0062]. The weight average molecular weight of PEG is between 1000 and 10000 daltons. See paragraph [0063]. The ratio of PLA and PEG (PLA:PEG) is between 50:5 and 10:5, or any number range in between, e.g., about 40:5, about 35:5, about 30:5, about 20:5 or about 16:5. See paragraph [0064].
Regarding instant claim 37, the composition comprises a surfactant. See paragraph [0014]. Examples include poloxamers. See paragraph [0073].
Regarding instant claims 40-41, active ingredients include vorinostat and romidepsin. See paragraph [0018].
Thus the instant claims are anticipated by Sirianni et al.
6. Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 30-31, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohamed et al. (J. Pharm. Science, 2012).
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, 10, 30-31, and 40, Mohamed et al. disclose poly(ethylene glycol)-b-poly(DL-lactic acid) micelles of Vorinostat. The micelles had nanoscopic mean diameters of 75.67 and 87.33 nm for drug to carrier ratios of 1:10 and 1:15. See abstract.
Thus the instant claims are anticipated by Mohamed et al.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
8. Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 10, and 30-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirianni et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0054562) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0326078).
Regarding instant claim 1, Sirianni et al. teach a nanoparticle comprising an amphiphilic polymer and a water insoluble biologically active ingredient. See claim 1. The active ingredient comprises a histone deacetylase inhibitor. See claim 41.
Regarding instant claims 6 and 30, the polymer is a poly(lactic acid)-polyethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG) polymer or poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol). See claim 33.
Regarding instant claim 8, non-limiting examples of the amphiphilic polymer include poly(lactic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG), poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid)-poly(ethylene glycol) (PLGA-PEG), any salts of the foregoing, and any derivatives of the foregoing, etc. See paragraph [0057]. As used herein, the term “derivative” refers to a compound that is synthesized from a parent compound by replacement of one atom with another atom or group of atoms. Non-limiting examples of derivative include a salt, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, and chemical modifications with a group including but not limited to esters, fluorine, methoxy, ethyl, butyl, propyl, hexyl, or other organic moieties. See paragraph [0039].
Regarding instant claim 10, 5 mg quisinostat was combined with 50 mg PLA-PEG (1:10). See paragraph [0147-0149].
Regarding instant claims 31-34, Sirianni et al. teach use of Poly(d,l-lactide)-b-methoxy poly(ethylene glycol) (PLA-PEG, Mw˜16 k:5 k Da or PLA-PEG, Mw˜20 k:5 k). See paragraph [0144].
Regarding instant claim 35, the weight average molecular weight of PLA is between 5000 and 35000 daltons. See paragraph [0062]. The weight average molecular weight of PEG is between 1000 and 10000 daltons. See paragraph [0063]. The ratio of PLA and PEG (PLA:PEG) is between 50:5 and 10:5, or any number range in between, e.g., about 40:5, about 35:5, about 30:5, about 20:5 or about 16:5. See paragraph [0064].
Regarding instant claim 37, the composition comprises a surfactant. See paragraph [0014]. Examples include poloxamers. See paragraph [0073].
Regarding instant claims 40-41, active ingredients include vorinostat and romidepsin. See paragraph [0018].
Sirianni et al. do not teach Poloxamer 188 and active to surfactant ratio.
Yang et al. teach a process for preparing a suspension comprising a microparticle and a pharmaceutically active compound encapsulated in the microparticle and the resulting materials thereof; which process comprises: (a) preparing a solution or suspension (organic phase) comprising: (i) PLGA or PLA or PLA and PLGA, (ii) PLGA-PEG or PLA-PEG and (iii) a pharmaceutically active compound. See paragraphs [0041-0042]. Chemotherapeutic ingredients include vorinostat, romidepsin, etc. See paragraph [0501]. Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) polymer, poly(lactic-acid) (PLA) polymer, and diblock co-polymers of PLGA and polyethylene glycol (PLGA-PEG) were purchased from the Evonik Corporation (RESOMER Select 5050 DLG mPEG 5000 (10 wt percent PEG)). See paragraph [1343]. The microparticles include a surfactant such as poloxamer 188. See paragraph [0317].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one surfactant for another to yield predictable results. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the amount and ratio of active to surfactant to enhance mixing of the organic phase and aqueous phase by reducing surface tension. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to modify the ratio of active to polymer to modify the loading of the active ingredient to achieve the desired effect.
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, and 30-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 19/268929 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to nanoparticles comprising histone deacetylase inhibitors. The instant application further comprises a polymer while Application 19/268929 includes a detectable agent. However, the dependent claims additionally comprise the same type of polymer. Thus, the invention of Application 19/268929 is in effect a "species” of the "generic" invention of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus the two are not patentably distinct. The dependent claims are included as being directed to similar additional agents, such as surfactants, and further defining the polymers and amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615