Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30-32, 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Afanasewiez (US Patent No 20130023749).
Regarding claim 30, Afanasewiez teaches a system for electrical stimulation of a body tissue (medical device configured to be applied to a subject, [0016]) comprising: (a) an array of microneedles, said microneedles formed from an electrically conductive material and configured for puncturing a surface of the tissue (the device may contain tines 11 which may be microneedles and are used as conductive contact portions to penetrate the skin, [0024]-[0025]); (b) a power unit (there is a connected cable which connects the device to a power source, [0065], or the equivalent power unit); (c) one or more surface electrodes configured for delivering electrical stimulation to the body tissue from said power unit (there is an intermediate contact portion 53 which may take the form of an active electrode to deliver treatment via a power source, [0032]); (h) a processing unit configured for determining if said microneedles are in a predetermined position in a tissue; and/or if said tissue surrounding one or more of said microneedles has been ablated (there may be a processing device located within the device which controls an electronic indicator to communicate with the rest of the system to notify if the device applicator was applied in the predetermined position or not, [0070]).
Regarding claim 31, Afanasewiez teaches the system according to claim 30, further comprising one or more force detectors configured to detect application of a pressure exerted by the tissue on one or more of said microneedles in said array (see the force regulator 30, which detects when a predetermined amount of pressure has occurred on the device to actuate the tines or microneedles, [0075]) and to generate an electrical signal indicative of said pressure (see in which a piezoelectric electronic indicator may be attached to the force regulators as to generate an electric signal to deliver to the system, [0071]).
Regarding claim 32, Afanasewiez teaches the system according to claim 31, wherein said processing unit is configured to monitor said electrical signal over time so as to determine when said pressure exerted by said tissue on said microneedles is above a predetermined threshold (see the force regulator 30, which detects when a predetermined amount of pressure has surpassed the threshold value on the device to actuate the tines or microneedles, [0075]).
Regarding claim 42, Afanasewiez teaches the system according to claim 30, wherein said predetermined position of said microneedles is through a stratum corneum layer of a skin (microneedle tines 11 are configured to penetrate a patient’s stratum corneum, [0024]).
Regarding claim 43, Afanasewiez teaches the system according to claim 30, wherein said one or more surface electrodes is a wettable electrode (wherein conductive device layer may be formed of various hydrogel embodiments, [0066], which is a known form of wettable electrode structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-41, 44-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afanasewiez (US Patent No 20130023749) in view of Solomon (US Patent No 10688301).
Regarding claim 33, Afanasewiez teaches the system according to claim 30.
Afanasewiez does not teach the system further comprising a switching circuit configured for intermittently connecting one or more subsets of said microneedles from said array to said power unit and for intermittently connecting one or more of said surface electrodes to said power unit.
However, the analogous electrical stimulation device taught by Solomon does teach a system further comprising a switching circuit configured for intermittently connecting one or more subsets of said microneedles from said array to said power unit (see from Solomon [0028], in which there are multiple clusters of microneedles which may be activated individually from the power source, therefore containing switching circuitry) and for intermittently connecting one or more of said surface electrodes to said power unit (see from Solomon, [0044], in which there are multiple contact electrodes which may be individually activated with the power source, therefore containing switching circuitry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device system taught by Afanasewiez, with that of the switching circuitry and individually activate-able microneedle clusters and contact electrodes taught by Solomon in order to achieve customizable ablation techniques to allow for different energy delivery methods dependent on what the type of treatment may be, as disclosed by Solomon, [0044].
Regarding claim 34, the combination teaches the system according to claim 33, further comprising a signal generator activatable by said processing unit to deliver an electrical signal between a selectable first subset of microneedles and a selectable second subset of microneedles or between a selectable first set of microneedles and at least one of the surface electrodes (see from Solomon, in which electric signals may be generated and supplied through one or more of the clusters of microneedles for treatment, [0034]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination teaches the system according to claim 34, wherein said processing unit is further configured to activate said signal generator to deliver an ablation signal to at least said subset of said microneedles of said array (from Solomon, see in which the electrical circuitry component 136 is in electric communication with the microneedle clusters 154 which leads to ablation around the microneedle, [0027]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination teaches the system according to claim 35, wherein said processing unit is further configured to activate the signal generator to deliver said ablation signal only after said processing unit has determined that said microneedle array is in the predetermined position (view Solomon fig 3, in which the flowchart shows that the stimulator device is positioned first and then activated to deliver treatment signal in step 36).
Regarding claim 37, the combination teaches the system according to claim 35, wherein said processing unit determines if tissue surrounding the microneedles has been ablated by analyzing a response of said tissue to a test signal (see from Solomon, [0034], in which electric signals may be applied through the microneedles, and the response may be measured as to adjust the energy delivery through the microneedles as needed, thereby resulting in a test signal).
Regarding claim 38, the combination teaches the system according to claim 30, wherein said processing unit is further configured for determining a number of said microneedles surrounded by ablated tissue (see from Solomon, [0040], in which the processor 140 controls the electrical circuit for individually energizing each electrode and microneedle as to maintain body and tissue control during treatment, therefore as the specific microneedles are known, the processor will also know which ones are next to ablated tissue).
Regarding claim 39, the combination teaches the system according to claim 35, wherein said ablation signal is a voltage signal (see in which the processor may adjust the voltage signal applied through the microneedles, from Solomon, [0031]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination teaches the system according to claim 39, wherein said ablation signal has an amplitude of 200 to 800 volts (from Solomon, see in which the voltage pulse delivery may reach up to 600 volts, [0041], thereby overlapping the claimed range).
Regarding claim 41, the combination teaches the system according to claim 39, wherein the ablation signal has a frequency of 1 KHz to 1,000 KHz (see from Solomon, in which the current energy pulses may have a stimulation frequency of up to 10 KHz, [0041], thereby overlapping the claimed range).
Regarding claim 44, Afanasewiez teaches a method for electrical stimulation of a body tissue (medical device configured to be applied to a subject, [0016]) comprising: (a) applying an array of microneedles to a surface of the body tissue, and puncturing the tissue surface to generate micropores in the tissue (the device may contain tines 11 which may be microneedles and are used as conductive contact portions to penetrate the skin, [0024]-[0025]); (b) determining if said microneedles in said microneedle array are in a predetermined position in the tissue (there may be a processing device located within the device which controls an electronic indicator to communicate with the rest of the system to notify if the device applicator was applied in the predetermined position or not, [0070]).
Afanasewiez does not explicitly teach ablating tissue surrounding at least a subset of said microneedles of said array; (d) removing said array of microneedles from said tissue; and (e) applying one or more surface electrodes to a surface of said tissue over micropores formed by said microneedles and delivering electrical stimulation via said one or more surface electrodes.
However, the analogous electrical stimulation device taught by Solomon does teach ablating tissue surrounding at least a subset of said microneedles of said array (see from Solomon, in which electric signals may be generated and supplied through one or more of the clusters of microneedles for treatment, [0034]); (d) removing said array of microneedles from said tissue (see from Solomon, the microneedle plate 318 may be removable, [0033]); and (e) applying one or more surface electrodes to a surface of said tissue over micropores formed by said microneedles and delivering electrical stimulation via said one or more surface electrodes (see from Solomon, [0040], in which the microneedles act as the puncturing device and then the electrodes 24 are used to apply direct electrical stimulation over the micropores).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the device system methodology taught by Afanasewiez, with that of the methodology to use microneedles and create microchannels in the skin for electrode treatment as taught by Solomon, in order to allow for more effective and prolonged microneedle treatment, as disclosed by Solomon, [0040].
Regarding claim 45, the combination teaches the method according to claim 44, further comprising determining if said tissue surrounding one or more of said microneedles of said array has been ablated prior to (d) (see from Solomon, [0034], in which electric signals may be applied through the microneedles, and the response may be measured as to adjust the energy delivery through the microneedles as needed, thereby resulting in a test signal to see if the tissue has been ablated).
Regarding claim 46, the combination teaches the method according to claim 44, wherein ablating said tissue is carried out with a voltage signal having an amplitude of 200 to 800 volts (from Solomon, see in which the voltage pulse delivery may reach up to 600 volts, [0041], thereby overlapping the claimed range) and a frequency of 1 KHz to 1,000 KHz (see from Solomon, in which the current energy pulses may have a stimulation frequency of up to 10 KHz, [0041], thereby overlapping the claimed range).
Conclusion
/Linda C.M. Dvorak/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/KYLE M. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794