DETAILED ACTION
Claims 20-39 are pending in the case. Claims 20, 34, and 36 are independent claims. Claims 1-19 have been canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim of foreign priority of Chinese application CN202111649832.2 filed 12/29/2021. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/137998 filed 12/09/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-25, 32, and 34-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ketsuka et al. (US 2018/0364952 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Ketsuka teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program, wherein the computer program is stored in the memory, and when the computer program is executed by the processor (FIG. 1 and [0029-0041]: image forming device/electronic device comprises a processor/controller 10, a memory 11, and program 110 executed by the processor), the electronic device is enabled to:
display a first icon (FIG. 4A and [0054-0056], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: first icon 121A for QUICK FAX is displayed);
receive a first operation for triggering to splice the first icon (FIG. 4B and [0057-0059], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: as seen in FIGS. 9A-B, user drags icon QUICK FAX upward for triggering splicing of the first icon);
display a second icon in response to the first operation (FIG. 4B and [0057-0059], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: in response to the first operation of dragging icon QUICK FAX upward, the second icon for SCANNER remains displayed);
receive a second operation of selecting the second icon and the first icon for splicing (FIG. 4B and [0057-0059], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: as seen in FIGS. 9A-B, the user drags icon for SCANNER so that it gets close to, superimposes, or touches icon for QUICK FAX, thereby selecting both these icons for splicing/synthesizing);
display options of a plurality of functions corresponding to the second icon in response to the second operation (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S1-3 and S6-7 of FIG. 7 and [0087-0104]: functions corresponding to the second icon are displayed as seen in menu screen 120);
receive an operation of selecting an option of a second function, wherein the second function comprises one or more of the plurality of functions corresponding to the second icon (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S7-8 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104]: selection operation is received of selecting an option of a second function corresponding to the second icon. For example, A4 is selected, the particular document size being an option of a second function/scanning of the first icon); and
display a spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon in response to the operation of selecting the option of the second function, wherein the spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a first function and the second function, and the first function comprises one or more of a plurality of functions corresponding to the first icon (S7-9 and S4 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104], FIG. 9B and [0110], FIG. 5A and [0071], FIGS. 8A-B and [0105-0107]: for example, a spliced icon is seen in FIG. 9B. Note that the spliced icon may be displayed as icon 121C in conjunction with the original icons as seen in FIG. 5A. Note also that the spliced icon may also incorporate designs of the original icons as seen in FIG. 8B. The spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a first function corresponding to the first icon and the second function corresponding to the second icon; FIG. 2 and [0042-0043]: for example, the resulting spliced icon from the example of FIGS. 9A-B has functionality for “fax”, for the first function, and “scan” for the second function).
Regarding claim 21, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic according to claim 20, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is further enabled to:
display options of the plurality of functions corresponding to the first icon in response to the second operation (FIG. 4B and [0057-0059], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: as seen in FIGS. 9A-B, the user drags icon for SCANNER so that it gets close to, superimposes, or touches icon for QUICK FAX, thereby selecting both these icons for splicing/synthesizing; FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S1-3 and S6-7 of FIG. 7 and [0087-0104]: functions corresponding to the first icon are displayed as seen in menu screen 120); and
receive an operation of selecting an option of the first function (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S7-8 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104]: selection operation is received of selecting an option of a second function corresponding to the second icon. For example, MONOCHROME is selected, the particular color mode being an option of a first function/faxing of the first icon); wherein
the display the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon in response to the operation of selecting the option of the second function comprises:
display the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon in response to the operation of selecting the option of the first function and the operation of selecting the option of the second function (S7-9 and S4 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104], FIG. 9B and [0110], FIG. 5A and [0071], FIGS. 8A-B and [0105-0107]: for example, a spliced icon is seen in FIG. 9B. Note that the spliced icon may be displayed as icon 121C in conjunction with the original icons as seen in FIG. 5A. Note also that the spliced icon may also incorporate designs of the original icons as seen in FIG. 8B. The spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a first function corresponding to the first icon and the second function corresponding to the second icon; FIG. 2 and [0042-0043]: for example, the resulting spliced icon from the example of FIGS. 9A-B has functionality for “fax”, for the first function, and “scan” for the second function).
Regarding claim 22, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic device according to claim 20, wherein the first function is a default splicing function corresponding to the first icon (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S7-8 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104]: selection operation is received of selecting an option of a second function corresponding to the second icon. For example, MONOCHROME is selected, the particular color mode being an option of a first function/faxing of the first icon. Note that MONOCHROM is a default splicing function since COLOR is disabled).
Regarding claim 23, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic device according to claim 20, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is further enabled to:
receive an operation of tapping the spliced icon; and
enable the first function and the second function in response to the operation of tapping the spliced icon (FIGS. 8A-B and [0105]: “As illustrated in FIG. 8A, for example, a sign FIG. 122 having the shape of a thumb which allows a user to image a single action (one-touch operation, that is, a quick operation) may be used for the icon 121 generated by synthesizing an icon for issuing an instruction to execute scanning and an icon for issuing an instruction to execute quick fax. The icon 121C (see FIG. 5) generated by the generation unit 101 may include a design corresponding to a process obtained by synthesis.”).
Regarding claim 24, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic device according to claim 20, wherein the display the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon comprises:
obtain a current screen form of the terminal device;
determine a layout of the first icon and the second icon in the spliced icon based on the current screen form; and
display the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon based on the layout of the first icon and the second icon in the spliced icon (S7-9 and S4 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104], FIG. 9B and [0110], FIG. 5A and [0071], FIGS. 8A-B and [0105-0107]: for example, based on a current screen form, a spliced icon with a layout of icons, is displayed in FIG. 9B. Note that the spliced icon may be displayed as icon 121C in conjunction with the original icons as seen in FIG. 5A. Note also that the spliced icon may also incorporate designs of the original icons as seen in FIG. 8B. The spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a first function corresponding to the first icon and the second function corresponding to the second icon; FIG. 2 and [0042-0043]: for example, the resulting spliced icon from the example of FIGS. 9A-B has functionality for “fax”, for the first function, and “scan” for the second function).
Regarding claim 25, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic device according to claim 24, wherein the determine the layout of the first icon and the second icon in the spliced icon based on the current screen form comprises:
when the current screen form is in a landscape state, determine that the layout of the first icon and the second icon in the spliced icon is a left-right layout (S7-9 and S4 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104], FIG. 9B and [0110], FIG. 5A and [0071], FIGS. 8A-B and [0105-0107]: for example, based on a current screen form of a landscape layout, a spliced icon with a left-right layout of icons, is displayed in FIG. 9B. Note that the spliced icon may be displayed as icon 121C in conjunction with the original icons as seen in FIG. 5A. Note also that the spliced icon may also incorporate designs of the original icons as seen in FIG. 8B. The spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a first function corresponding to the first icon and the second function corresponding to the second icon; FIG. 2 and [0042-0043]: for example, the resulting spliced icon from the example of FIGS. 9A-B has functionality for “fax”, for the first function, and “scan” for the second function); or
when the current screen form is in a portrait state, determine that the layout of the first icon and the second icon in the spliced icon is a top-down layout.
Regarding claim 32, Ketsuka further teaches the electronic device according to claim 20, wherein the first icon is a spliced icon of a third icon and a fourth icon (FIGS. 12A-C and [0118-0120]: first icon may be spliced icon, while second icon may be SCANNER (PC STORAGE)).
Regarding claim 34, Ketsuka teaches an electronic device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program, wherein the computer program is stored in the memory, and when the computer program is executed by the processor (FIG. 1 and [0029-0041]: image forming device/electronic device comprises a processor/controller 10, a memory 11, and program 110 executed by the processor), the electronic device is further enabled to:
display a first icon (FIG. 4A and [0054-0056], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: first icon 121A for QUICK FAX is displayed);
receive a first operation of triggering to splice of the first icon (FIG. 4B and [0057-0059], FIGS. 9A-B and [0108-0110]: as seen in FIGS. 9A-B, user drags icon QUICK FAX upward for triggering splicing of the first icon);
display identifier information of one or more system capabilities supported by the terminal device in response to the first operation (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S1-3 and S6-7 of FIG. 7 and [0087-0104]: identifier information of one or more system capabilities displayed in menu screen 120 in response to the first operation);
receive a second operation of selecting identifier information of a first system capability, wherein the first system capability comprises at least one system capability supported by the terminal device (FIG. 6 and [0085-0086], S7-8 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104]: For example, A4 is selected, the particular document size being identifier information); and
display a spliced icon of the first icon and the first system capability in response to the second operation, wherein the spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between an application or a feature ability (FA) card corresponding to the first icon and the first system capability (S7-9 and S4 of FIG. 7 and [0092-0104], FIG. 9B and [0110], FIG. 5A and [0071], FIGS. 8A-B and [0105-0107]: for example, a spliced icon is seen in FIG. 9B. Note that the spliced icon may be displayed as icon 121C in conjunction with the original icons as seen in FIG. 5A. Note also that the spliced icon may also incorporate designs of the original icons as seen in FIG. 8B. The spliced icon has a function of supporting linkage between a FA card for faxing corresponding to the first icon QUICK FAX and the first system capability of faxing A4 documents; FIG. 2 and [0042-0043]: for example, the resulting spliced icon from the example of FIGS. 9A-B has at least functionality for “fax”).
Regarding claim 35, Ketsuka teaches electronic device according to claim 34, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is further enabled to:
start the application or the FA card corresponding to the first icon in response to detecting a trigger of the first system capability (FIGS. 8A-B and [0105]: “As illustrated in FIG. 8A, for example, a sign FIG. 122 having the shape of a thumb which allows a user to image a single action (one-touch operation, that is, a quick operation) may be used for the icon 121 generated by synthesizing an icon for issuing an instruction to execute scanning and an icon for issuing an instruction to execute quick fax. The icon 121C (see FIG. 5) generated by the generation unit 101 may include a design corresponding to a process obtained by synthesis.”).
Regarding claims 36-39, the claims recite an icon splicing method, wherein the method is applied to a terminal device, and the method comprises steps corresponding to the electronic device of claims 20-23, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketsuka et al. (US 2018/0364952 A1), in view of Kontsov et al. (US 10534637 B1).
Regarding claim 26, Ketsuka teaches the electronic device according to claim 20.
Ketsuka does not explicitly teach wherein an area occupied by the first icon in the spliced icon is greater than an area occupied by the second icon in the spliced icon.
Kontsov teaches wherein an area occupied by the first icon in the spliced icon is greater than an area occupied by the second icon in the spliced icon (FIG. 4 and Col. 10, lines 11-65: see how a first icon occupies greater area than second icon in the spliced icon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ketsuka by incorporating the teachings of Kontsov so as to include wherein an area occupied by the first icon in the spliced icon is greater than an area occupied by the second icon in the spliced icon. Doing so would allow a spliced icon to show both icons yet emphasize one icon over the other, which may be useful if the emphasized icon’s design is more distinguishable or conveys more unique meaning to the user based on the functionality of the spliced icon. For example, one icon may be commonly be incorporated in other spliced icons. Having one icon, like the less commonly incorporated icon, occupy more area allows the user to more quickly recognize its specific, unique functionality.
Claim 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketsuka et al. (US 2018/0364952 A1), in view of Kang et al. (US 2019/0065031 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Ketsuka teaches the electronic device according to claim 20.
Ketsuka does not explicitly teach wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is further enabled to: receive an operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon; and display a preview screen in response to the operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon, wherein the preview screen comprises the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon.
Kang teaches receive an operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon; and
display a preview screen in response to the operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon, wherein the preview screen comprises the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon (FIG. 4 and [0076-0081], FIG. 6 and [0087-0089], FIG. 7A and [0090-0092]: see preview of spliced icon)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ketsuka by incorporating the teachings of Kang so as to include receive an operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon; and display a preview screen in response to the operation of previewing the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon, wherein the preview screen comprises the spliced icon of the first icon and the second icon. Doing so would allow the user an opportunity to make any adjustments to create a visually appealing and/or effective icon before the spliced icon is finalized and put into use.
Claim 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ketsuka et al. (US 2018/0364952 A1), in view of Terwedo (US 2014/0229898 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Ketsuka teaches the electronic device according to claim 20.
Ketsuka does not explicitly teach wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the electronic device is further enabled to: receive an operation of splitting the spliced icon; and delete the spliced icon in response to the operation of splitting the spliced icon.
Terwedo teaches receive an operation of splitting the spliced icon; and delete the spliced icon in response to the operation of splitting the spliced icon (FIG. 14R and [0092]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ketsuka by incorporating the teachings of Terwedo so as to include receive an operation of splitting the spliced icon; and delete the spliced icon in response to the operation of splitting the spliced icon. Doing so would allow the user to reverse splicing of an icon in case the spliced icon is no longer relevant or was incorrectly configured. This would reduce clutter of the UI and reduce the chance of accidental triggering of a spliced icon deemed irrelevant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 2013/0219341 A1: creating a new shortcut menu or icon with a combined function
US 2017/0255357 A1: combining a plurality of icons to create a combined icon
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171