DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19-20 have been canceled. Claims 7, 16, 21, and 22 have been amended. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 1, “in a case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 5, line 1, “in a case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 13, line 1, “in a case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Claim 14, line 1, “in a case” should be changed to “in response to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-15, 18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220386272 A1 to Omer et al. (hereinafter “Omer”)
As per claim 1, Omer discloses a communication method for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement (Omer [0004,0048-0049]), the communication method being performed by a WLAN-sensing initiator (Omer [0007] Systems and methods are provided for Wi-Fi sensing. In an example embodiment, a method configured for Wi-Fi sensing is described. The method is carried out by a sensing initiator device including at least one transmitting antenna, and at least one receiving antenna. The method comprises transmitting, via the at least one transmitting antenna, a sensing measurement setup request message, the sensing measurement setup request message including a requested sensing measurement parameters element, and receiving, via the at least one receiving antenna, a sensing measurement setup response message. In an embodiment the sensing measurement setup response message includes one or more of a transmission capability indication associated with a sensing responder device, and a delivered sensing measurement parameters element.) and comprising: determining at least one message frame for setup of a sensing measurement procedure, wherein the at least one message frame respectively corresponds to at least one sensing measurement procedure, each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises at least one sensing measurement event (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0173-0174]), and the message frame corresponding to each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event of the corresponding sensing measurement procedure (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0007,0173-0174]); and transmitting the at least one message frame (Omer Fig. 10 and [0007]).
As per claim 2, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one message frame further comprises a sensing measurement procedure identifier for identifying a sensing measurement procedure corresponding to the message frame (Omer Table 1 and [0105,0187]).
As per claim 3, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one of: a sensing measurement event identifier for identifying the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer Table 1, Table 7, and [0175]); a first identifier for identifying a transmitter of the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer [0105]); a second identifier for identifying a receiver of the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer [0149-0151]); or a third identifier for identifying a sensing measurement method used by the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer Table 1 and [0081,0149-0152]).
As per claim 4, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 3, wherein in a case where the WLAN-sensing initiator is not used as a transmitter or a receiver of each of the at least one sensing measurement event, the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one first identifier and at least one second identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement event.
With regards to claims 4, per MPEP 2111.04 (II) (“The broadest reasonable
interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only
those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be
performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”), the claim comprises
contingent limitations and therefore not required to be performed. Therefore, a rejection is
not provided.
As per claim 5, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 3, wherein in a case where the WLAN-sensing initiator is used as a transmitter of each of the at least one sensing measurement event, the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one second identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement event.
With regards to claims 5, per MPEP 2111.04 (II) (“The broadest reasonable
interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only
those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be
performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”), the claim comprises
contingent limitations and therefore not required to be performed. Therefore, a rejection is
not provided.
As per claim 6, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 3, wherein in response to that the third identifier is set to a first value, the sensing measurement method is identified as performing sensing measurement in a first sounding mode (Omer Table 1, Table 8, and [0081,0149-0152]); in response to that the third identifier is set to a second value, the sensing measurement method is identified as performing sensing measurement in a second sounding mode (Omer Table 1, Table 8, and [0081,0149-0152]).
As per claim 9, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the communication method further comprises: setting, for each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure, a sensing measurement clock corresponding to the sensing measurement procedure, wherein in response to that a corresponding sensing measurement clock expires, the corresponding sensing measurement procedure is deactivated (Omer [0041,0072,0175]).
As per claim 10, Omer discloses a communication method for wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing measurement (Omer [0004,0048-0049]), the communication method being performed by a WLAN-sensing responder (Omer [0007] Systems and methods are provided for Wi-Fi sensing. In an example embodiment, a method configured for Wi-Fi sensing is described. The method is carried out by a sensing initiator device including at least one transmitting antenna, and at least one receiving antenna. The method comprises transmitting, via the at least one transmitting antenna, a sensing measurement setup request message, the sensing measurement setup request message including a requested sensing measurement parameters element, and receiving, via the at least one receiving antenna, a sensing measurement setup response message. In an embodiment the sensing measurement setup response message includes one or more of a transmission capability indication associated with a sensing responder device, and a delivered sensing measurement parameters element. [0008] In some implementations, the requested sensing measurement parameters element includes a plurality of requested transmission parameters to be used for one or more sensing transmissions from the sensing responder device.) and comprising: receiving at least one message frame for setup of a sensing measurement procedure from a WLAN-sensing initiator, wherein the at least one message frame respectively corresponds to at least one sensing measurement procedure, each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises at least one sensing measurement event (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0173-0174]), and the message frame corresponding to each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event of the corresponding sensing measurement procedure (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0007,0173-0174]); and performing WLAN sensing measurement based on the at least one message frame (Omer Fig. 10 and [0007]).
As per claim 11, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 10, wherein each of the at least one message frame further comprises a sensing measurement procedure identifier for identifying a sensing measurement procedure corresponding to the message frame (Omer Table 1 and [0105,0187]).
As per claim 12, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 11, wherein the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one of: a sensing measurement event identifier for identifying the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer Table 1, Table 7, and [0175]); a first identifier for identifying a transmitter of the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer [0105]); a second identifier for identifying a receiver of the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer [0149-0151]); or a third identifier for identifying a sensing measurement method used by the corresponding sensing measurement event (Omer Table 1 and [0081,0149-0152]).
As per claim 13, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 12, wherein in a case where the WLAN-sensing initiator is not used as a transmitter or a receiver of each of the at least one sensing measurement event, the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one first identifier and at least one second identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement event.
With regards to claims 13, per MPEP 2111.04 (II) (“The broadest reasonable
interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only
those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be
performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”), the claim comprises
contingent limitations and therefore not required to be performed. Therefore, a rejection is
not provided.
As per claim 14, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 12, wherein in a case where the WLAN-sensing initiator is used as a transmitter of each of the at least one sensing measurement event, the information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event comprises, for each of the at least one sensing measurement event, at least one second identifier corresponding to the sensing measurement event.
With regards to claims 14, per MPEP 2111.04 (II) (“The broadest reasonable
interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only
those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be
performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.”), the claim comprises
contingent limitations and therefore not required to be performed. Therefore, a rejection is
not provided.
As per claim 15, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 12, wherein in response to that the third identifier is set to a first value, the sensing measurement method is identified as performing sensing measurement in a first sounding mode (Omer Table 1, Table 8, and [0081,0149-0152]); in response to that the third identifier is set to a second value, the sensing measurement method is identified as performing sensing measurement in a second sounding mode (Omer Table 1, Table 8, and [0081,0149-0152]).
As per claim 18, Omer discloses the communication method according to claim 10, wherein each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure corresponds to a sensing measurement clock, wherein in response to that a corresponding sensing measurement clock expires, the corresponding sensing measurement procedure is deactivated (Omer [0041,0072,0175]).
As per claim 21, Omer discloses an electronic device (Omer Fig. 5), comprising: a processor (Omer Fig. 5); and a memory storing computer programs executable by the processor (Omer Fig. 5 and [0151-0152]), wherein the processor is configured to: determine at least one message frame for setup of a sensing measurement procedure, wherein the at least one message frame respectively corresponds to at least one sensing measurement procedure, each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises at least one sensing measurement event (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0173-0174]), and the message frame corresponding to each of the at least one sensing measurement procedure comprises information associated with the at least one sensing measurement event of the corresponding sensing measurement procedure (Omer [0048] As disclosed in embodiments herein, a wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing procedure allows a station (STA) to perform WLAN sensing. WLAN sensing may include a WLAN sensing session. In examples, WLAN sensing procedure, WLAN sensing, and WLAN sensing session may be referred to as wireless sensing procedure, wireless sensing, and wireless sensing session, Wi-Fi sensing procedure, Wi-Fi sensing, and Wi-Fi sensing session, or sensing procedure, sensing, and sensing session. [0049] WLAN sensing is a service that enables a STA to obtain sensing measurements of the channel(s) between two or more STAs and/or the channel between a receive antenna and a transmit antenna of a STA or an access point (AP). A WLAN sensing procedure may be composed of one or more of the following: sensing session setup, sensing measurement setup, sensing measurement instances, sensing measurement setup termination, and sensing session termination. [0050] In examples disclosed herein, sensing session setup and sensing measurement setup may be referred to as sensing configuration and may be achieved by a sensing configuration message and may be confirmed by a sensing configuration response message. A sensing measurement instance may be an individual sensing measurement and may be derived from a sensing transmission. In examples, the sensing configuration message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup request, and the sensing configuration response message may be referred to as a sensing measurement setup response. [0080] A term “sensing trigger message” may refer to a message sent from the sensing device to the remote device to trigger one or more sensing transmissions that may be used for performing sensing measurements. In an example, the term sensing trigger message may be referred to as sensing sounding trigger message or sensing sounding trigger frame. [0007,0173-0174]); and transmit the at least one message frame (Omer Fig. 10 and [0007]).
As per claim 22, Omer discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer programs that, when executed by a processor (Omer Fig. 5 and [0151-0152]), cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476