DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP H03-200255 A to Oie et al. (hereinafter Oie).
Regarding claim 1, Oie teaches a compound having the formula (49)
(page 10), which meets the polyphenol compound having resorcinol and an ortho-xylylene skeleton center.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2006/0119018 A1 to Watanabe et al. (hereinafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a binder composition comprising a phenolic resin and a crosslinking agent (See abstract), wherein the phenolic resin is obtained from resorcinol and formalin (Example 1, para 109). The phenolic resin of example 1 is crosslinked by a mixture of para-xylene glycol and formalin (Example 11, para 119). Watanabe further teaches that suitable crosslinking agents include ortho-xylene glycol (para 39 and claim 3), which can react with a carbon atom at an ortho- and/or para-position of a phenolic hydroxy group to undergo polymer crosslinking (para 39). The above crosslinked product of the resorcinol, formalin, and ortho-xylene glycol meets the claimed reaction product of resorcinol and orthoxylylene skeleton compounds.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use ortho-xylene glycol for the crosslinking agent of Example 11 in Watanabe because Watanabe further teaches that the ortho-xylene glycol is a suitable crosslinking agents (para 39 and claim 3), which can react with a carbon atom at an ortho- and/or para-position of a phenolic hydroxy group to undergo polymer crosslinking (para 39).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art listed above do not teach the claimed formula (1) of claim 2.
The next closest prior art is JP H09-095522 A to Mogi. (hereinafter Mogi). Mogi teaches the phenol resin having the formula (3)
(para 15).
Mogi does not each the ortho-xylylene skeleton and does not teach the claimed formula (1) of claim 2.
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766