DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants amendment filed 07/01/2026 which has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-15, 19 and 20 have been amended. Claims 6, 9 and 16-18 have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-15, 19 and 20 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1 and 12 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10-15, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHURTLEFF et al (2016/0285974 A1) in view of Salkintzis et al (2024/0137416 A1).
As per Claims 1 and 12, Shurtleff teaches a method and network entity configured as a personal internet of things (IoT) network (PIN) element with management capability (PEMC) for a PIN (Figures 1 and 2 – Reference 160; Page 1, Paragraph [0015] – Page 2, Paragraph [0017]), the network entity comprising: at least one processor configured to support management capabilities for the PIN (Figure 2 – References 162; Page 3, Paragraph [0027]).
(Note: In paragraph [0015], Shurtleff describes a personal internet of things [IoT] network where a plurality of electronic devices having sensors monitor attributes and report the measured values to respective servers. Shurtleff indicates device attributes may include among other things: cooling/heating function, environmental monitoring, hear monitoring, blood pressure monitoring, etc.)
(Note: In paragraph [0016], Shurtleff describes a server operable to communicate with a first set of devices [i.e. sensors] and a second set of devices [i.e. devices equipped with a display screen]. In paragraph [0017], Shurtleff indicates the server may be a standalone device or embedded in some other device [e.g. wireless access point, gateway, PC, laptop, etc.]; or as an alternative present in a cloud computing environment. Shurtleff also indicates the home network may be configured as an IoT network)
Shurtleff also teaches at least one interface supporting interaction between the PEMC, and at least one PIN element configured with PIN clients which communicate within the PIN (Figure 2 – References 161; Page 2, Paragraph [0019]), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from a first PIN client of the PIN clients, a first message including information on the first PIN client (Page 1, Paragraph [0015]; Page 2, Paragraph [0017]).
(Note: In paragraph [0017], Shurtleff describes sensors/devices configured to communicate with the IoT server via the Internet. The server receives data corresponding to parameters monitored by client sensors [e.g. dust levels, carbon dioxide levels, heart rate, blood pressure, etc.])
Shurtleff does not teach authorizing the first PIN client upon receiving the first message; transmit, to the first PIN client, a first response message, wherein the first PIN client is added into the PIN; and transmit, to a second PIN client of the PIN clients, a second message including the information on the first PIN client.
However, Salkintzis teaches authorizing the first PIN client upon receiving the first message; transmit, to the first PIN client, a first response message, wherein the first PIN client is added into the PIN; and transmit, to a second PIN client of the PIN clients, a second message including the information on the first PIN client (Figure 4A – References 415 and 427; Page 3, Paragraph [0036], [0040] and [0041]; Page 8, Paragraph [0098] – Page 9, Paragraph [0109]).
(Note: In paragraph [0036], Salkintzis describes automatically detecting a personal IoT device after it connects to a personal IoT network and automatically onboarding the detected personal IoT device. In paragraph [0049], Salkintzis indicates PIN clients may include wearable devices [e.g. smartwatches, wearable devices, smartphones, smart appliances, etc.] In paragraphs [0098] – [0109], Salkintzis describes the installation of a personal IoT device within the user’s personal IoT network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method taught by Shurtleff with the apparatus and method taught by Salkintzis to provide centralized control, enhanced security and streamlines maintenance for all connected smart devices in a personal environment.
As per Claim 13, the combination of Shurtleff and Salkintzis teaches wherein the PEMC supports management capabilities of a PIN, and wherein a PIN gateway included in the PIN is configured to provide gateway functionality within the PIN as described in Claim 1. (Note: In paragraphs [0017] and [0044], Shurtleff indicates that the management server [i.e. network entity] may be embedded within a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method taught by Shurtleff with the apparatus and method taught by Salkintzis to provide centralized control, enhanced security and streamlines maintenance for all connected smart devices in a personal environment.
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHURTLEFF et al (2016/0285974 A1) in view of Salkintzis et al (2024/0137416 A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Purkayastha et al (WO 2023/192133 A1).
As per Claim 2, the combination of Shurtleff and Salkintzis teaches the network entity of Claim 1; but does not teach wherein the at least one PIN element is further configured to provide at least one functionality of: registration of an available service and capabilities, service discovery of other PIN elements, communication with the PIN clients, selection of a relay for direct communication, or support to discover the PIN element.
However, Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one PIN element is further configured to provide at least one functionality of: registration of an available service and capabilities, service discovery of other PIN elements, communication with the PIN clients, selection of a relay for direct communication, or support to discover the PIN element (Figures 12-14; Proximity Services Discovery Mode: Figure 5; Page 19, Paragraphs [0090] and [0091]; Page 25, Paragraphs [0103] – [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claim 3, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one interface is configured to support interaction between the network entity, the at least one PIN element, and a PIN gateway. and wherein the PIN gateway is further configured to provide connectivity to the PIN clients of the PIN element to another PIN element acting as a relay (Shurtleff: Page 2, Paragraph [0017]; Page 4, Paragraph [0044]; Purkayastha – Group Discovery: Page 20, Paragraphs [0093] and [0094]). (Note: In paragraphs [0017] and [0044], Shurtleff indicates that the management server [i.e. network entity] may be embedded within a gateway)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claim 4, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: authorize the at least one PIN element to access the PIN, and enable the authorized PIN element to configure policies in the PIN. (Note: In paragraph [0082], Purkayastha describes PIN elements with management capability [PIN Mgmt] providing means for authorized administrators to configure and manage a PIN [i.e. an interface]. In order to configure polices within the PIN the PIN element has to be authorized)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claim 5, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to authorize the PIN gateway as described in Claims 1 and 3. (Note: In paragraphs [0017] and [0044], Shurtleff indicates that the management server [i.e. network entity] may be embedded within a gateway. It is found to be obvious that the gateway in which the network entity is embedded would be authorized)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claim 7, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to enable service discovery of other PIN elements as described in Claims 2 and 3 above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claim 8, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to maintain a registration of the at least one PIN element including the at least one PIN element's available services (Purkayastha – Local/Global Registry: Page 7, Paragraph [0038]; Page 18, Paragraph [0085]; Page 19, Paragraph [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus as taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claims 10 and 14, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the information on the first PIN client includes an access type supported for a communication (Purkayastha: Page 2, Paragraph [0005]; Page 6, Paragraph [0033] – Page 7, Paragraph [0038]; Page 18, Paragraph [0085]). (Note: In paragraph [0002], Purkayastha indicates a WTRU may receive a message from a local client in a PIN network)
(Note: In paragraph [0002], Purkayastha also indicates the message [i.e. registration request] may include PIN application server name [PAS], PIN element identifier [PE-ID], uniform resource locator [URL], capability information, provider information, location information. In paragraphs [0033] – [0038], Purkayastha describes the use of multiple radio access technologies supported by clients including among other things: long term evolution [LTE], new radio [NR], Wi-Fi, Wi-Max, Bluetooth)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus and method taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claims 11 and 15, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the information on the first PIN client further includes at least one of capabilities of the first PIN client, visibility discoverable by other PIN elements within the PIN or discoverable by other UEs outside the PIN, a user readable name, manufacturer details, a list of application identities on the first PIN client, or a layer-2 address of the first PIN client (Purkayastha: Page 2, Paragraph [0005]; Page 20, Paragraph [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus and method taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
As per Claims 19 and 20, the combination of Shurtleff, Salkintzis and Purkayastha teaches wherein the first response message includes a lifetime of the PIN, and wherein the first response message further includes at least one of an identity of the first PIN client, an identity of a PIN gateway, or an address of the PIN gateway (Figure 10; Figure 14; Page 2, Paragraph [0005]; Page 20, Paragraph [0093] – Page 21, Paragraph [0097]).
(Note: In paragraph [0002], Purkayastha also indicates the message [i.e. registration request] may include PIN application server name [PAS], PIN element identifier [PE-ID], uniform resource locator [URL], capability information, provider information, location information. As shown in Figure 14 the registration and subsequent response associated with a PIN client is shown)
(Note: In paragraphs [0093] – [0097], Purkayastha describes a group discovery process and indicates that a PIN network may be managed to support Application service [e.g. remote health] enabling various application services to run on various application clients [i.e send a second message including information on the first PIN client to a second PIN client of the PIN clients])
(Note: With respect to the recitation of a lifetime of the PIN. The Specification mentions the lifetime but does not provide any additional information describing what it consists of leaving the recitation open to interpretation. In paragraph [0038], Purkayastha describes quality of service requirements including latency and error tolerance. In paragraph [0097], Purkayastha indicates determining when a PIN is to start and choosing to make the PIN operation at a certain time and/or for a certain duration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method taught by Shurtleff and Salkintzis with the apparatus and method taught by Purkayastha to enable automatic discovery of clients by a personal IoT network management entity which removes the need for manual configuration allowing the network to dynamically adapt as devices connect or disconnect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nicholson et al (2021/0099340 A1), Cronin et al (2018/0059716 A1), Siwal et al (2017/0353462 A1), Newell et al (2020/0213193 A1), Manithara et al (WO 2023/147051 A1), Shi et al (2024/0314534 A1) and Ly et al (WO 2023/245038 A1). Each of these describes implementing Personal Internet of Things [IoT] networks in residential environments.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693