DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 5/18/2026, claims 17- 28 and 30 are withdrawn and claims 31- 43 are added. Claims 1- 16, 29 and 31- 43 are pending for examinations.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement/s filed on 4/16/2024 is/are under compliance and has/have been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 10, 13- 15, 29, 37, 40- 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2018/222491 A1) (see IDS filed on 4/16/2024 page 1) in view of Lee et al. (KR102261004B1), see machine translated document.
Regarding claim 1, Kuo teaches a wireless communication device configured for wireless communication, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory, the processor and the memory being configured to (WTRU as a device here see [0004- 0005]):
receive a message comprising a power boosting parameter indicating a power boosting amount for energy harvesting of a transmission via the transceiver (see [0004- 0005].. The WTRU may receive a power transfer signal via the receiver chain that includes the power rectifier and the power booster. The power signal may include embedded information; see [0004]; further refer to [0005] The WTRU may operate the receiver chain that includes the power rectifier and the power booster in an information transfer mode or a power transfer mode. In the power transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to harvest power. In the information transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to determine the information embedded in the power transfer signal. The information embedded in the power transfer signal may be related to the information transfer signal. The WTRU may operate in the power transfer mode.);
receive a first portion of the transmission at a first power via the transceiver; receive a second portion of the transmission at a second power higher than the first power via the transceiver (see [0083]… SWIPT receivers may include a time switching receiver and a power splitting receiver. FIG. 2 illustrates examples of different receiver types for simultaneous wireless information and power transfer (SWIPT). For example, FIG. 2(a) illustrates a time-switching receiver, and FIG. 2(b) illustrates a power-splitting receiver….The power-splitting receiver for SWIPT (e.g., shown in FIG. 2(b)) may divide the received signals into multiple (e.g., two) portions, for example, one for the information and one for power reception tunnels based on a pre-defined ratio. The power-splitting receiver may result in potential degradation in bit/packet error performance due to signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) reduction; now refer to [0084] a trade -off between data performance and power transfer efficiency (In the power transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to harvest power..; see [0005]) may exist for the SWIPT receivers shown in FIG. 2. For multi-antenna schemes, power transfer efficiency may be maximized (i.e. second power is higher compare to first state (i.e. non-maximized state i.e. first power) of power) if some or all available power is allocated to the highest spatial link (e.g., rank-1 beamforming). Information capacity may be optimized if water-filling-based power allocation occurs (e.g., appropriate power allocation among spatial links). Channel state information (CSI) may be acquired to realize beamforming for a wireless power transfer.)….; and
concurrently decode and harvest energy from the second portion of the transmission using a power splitting factor applied to the second power, the power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter; see [0089].. , a user terminal may be able to receive power and/or information services (e.g., concurrently) from one or more nodes.. a WTRU/user device receiving information and power from different RATs. As shown in FIG. 3, multiple (e.g., two) RATs may be respectively designated as an information node and a power node; see [0109].. The WTRU may operate one or more receiver chains in multiple modes (e.g., in both the power transfer mode and the information transfer mode). For example, the WTRU may receive a first signal comprising a first information via the first receiver chain and/or a second signal comprising a second information via the second receiver chain. The WTRU may operate the second receiver chain in the power transfer mode and/or the information transfer mode. For example, in the power transfer mode, the WTRU may process the second signal received via the second receiver chain to harvest power from the second signal. The second signal may include a power signal with embedded information signal (e.g., power signal with RV embedded 628). In the information transfer mode, the WTRU may process the second signal received via the second receiver chain to determine the second information.
Here Kuo fails to explicitly state about power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter.
However Lee states in [0003] regarding power splitting-based Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer (SWIPT) FD relay, the receiver utilizes a certain percentage of the power of the received signal for data decoding and harvests energy from the remaining percentage of the signal…now see [0007].. a signal transmitted from a base station through a first hop channel, splits the power of the received signal to decode and re-encode the signal while harvesting energy, and beamforms the re-encoded signal to transmit it to a terminal through a second hop channel, in a relay of a power division-based wireless information and power simultaneous transmission (hereinafter, SWIPT) full-duplex (hereinafter, FD) decode-and-forward (hereinafter, DF) relay system, wherein the end-to-end relationship between the base station and the terminal is obtained from a relationship between a power division ratio (ρ) representing a ratio of power to be used for decoding from the received signal and energy to be harvested,…; now refer to [0014].. The above relay determines the maximum energy harvest amount among the energy harvest amounts obtained corresponding to each of K+1 representative power split ratios (ρ<sub>k< /sub>), and selects the representative power split ratio (ρ<sub>k</sub>) and SI channel transmission weight (ω<sub>k,j</sub>) corresponding to the determined maximum energy harvest amount as the power split ratio (ρ) and SI channel transmission weight (ω) of the relay (i.e. power split ratio is ρ) ; further see [0029] in the SWIPT system, the DF relay (RS) uses a ratio (ρ) of the power (or energy) of the received signal transmitted from the base station (AP) according to a predetermined power splitting ratio (ρ, 0≤ρ≤1) for data decoding and harvests the remaining ratio (1-ρ) of energy for its own operation; now refer to [0071] regarding .. different power split ratios (ρ = 0.3, 0.4, 0.6, 1) is represented by a number of different curves.. (i.e. ρ = 0.3, 0.4 is a case where percentage of the power for energy harvesting (i.e. second part/signal/portion) is higher compare to first part/signal/portion and if 0.5 then it is balanced means both power values is same). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Kuo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter; greater way more control on energy harvest as well as information decoding tasks can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, wherein the message comprises downlink control information, a radio resource control message, or a medium access control-control element; see Kuo [0008] RRC message; further see [0085] for DCI downlink control information.
Regarding claim 10, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a configuration of the first portion of the transmission and the second portion of the transmission via a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, a sidelink radio resource control message, a sidelink medium access control-control element, or control information; see Kuo [0008] RRC message; further see [0085] for DCI downlink control information.
Regarding claim 13, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, wherein the message comprises control information scheduling a plurality of transmissions including the transmission; Kuo see [0008] scheduling plurality transmission through RRC; also refer to [0085].
Regarding claim 14, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 13, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: select a respective power splitting factor for at least two of the plurality of transmissions based on the power boosting parameter; Lee already describes above in claim 1 see [0029, 0071, 0096].
Regarding claim 15, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 13, wherein the control information further comprises a respective power boosting parameter for at least two of the plurality of transmissions, and wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: select a respective power splitting factor for the at least two of the plurality of transmissions based on the respective power boosting parameter for each of the at least two of the plurality of transmissions; already describes above in claim 1 see [0029, 0071, 0096].
Regarding claim 29, Kuo teaches a method for wireless communication at a wireless communication device, the method comprising (WTRU as a device here see [0004- 0005]):
receiving a message comprising a power boosting parameter indicating a power boosting amount for energy harvesting of a transmission via the transceiver (see [0004- 0005].. The WTRU may receive a power transfer signal via the receiver chain that includes the power rectifier and the power booster. The power signal may include embedded information; see [0004]; further refer to [0005] The WTRU may operate the receiver chain that includes the power rectifier and the power booster in an information transfer mode or a power transfer mode. In the power transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to harvest power. In the information transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to determine the information embedded in the power transfer signal. The information embedded in the power transfer signal may be related to the information transfer signal. The WTRU may operate in the power transfer mode.);
receiving a first portion of the transmission at a first power via the transceiver; receiving a second portion of the transmission at a second power higher than the first power via the transceiver (see [0083]… SWIPT receivers may include a time switching receiver and a power splitting receiver. FIG. 2 illustrates examples of different receiver types for simultaneous wireless information and power transfer (SWIPT). For example, FIG. 2(a) illustrates a time-switching receiver, and FIG. 2(b) illustrates a power-splitting receiver….The power-splitting receiver for SWIPT (e.g., shown in FIG. 2(b)) may divide the received signals into multiple (e.g., two) portions, for example, one for the information and one for power reception tunnels based on a pre-defined ratio. The power-splitting receiver may result in potential degradation in bit/packet error performance due to signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) reduction; now refer to [0084] a trade -off between data performance and power transfer efficiency (In the power transfer mode, the WTRU is configured to process the power transfer signal to harvest power..; see [0005]) may exist for the SWIPT receivers shown in FIG. 2. For multi-antenna schemes, power transfer efficiency may be maximized (i.e. second power is higher compare to first state (i.e. non-maximized state i.e. first power) of power) if some or all available power is allocated to the highest spatial link (e.g., rank-1 beamforming). Information capacity may be optimized if water-filling-based power allocation occurs (e.g., appropriate power allocation among spatial links). Channel state information (CSI) may be acquired to realize beamforming for a wireless power transfer.)….; and
concurrently decode and harvest energy from the second portion of the transmission using a power splitting factor applied to the second power, the power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter; see [0089].. , a user terminal may be able to receive power and/or information services (e.g., concurrently) from one or more nodes.. a WTRU/user device receiving information and power from different RATs. As shown in FIG. 3, multiple (e.g., two) RATs may be respectively designated as an information node and a power node; see [0109].. The WTRU may operate one or more receiver chains in multiple modes (e.g., in both the power transfer mode and the information transfer mode). For example, the WTRU may receive a first signal comprising a first information via the first receiver chain and/or a second signal comprising a second information via the second receiver chain. The WTRU may operate the second receiver chain in the power transfer mode and/or the information transfer mode. For example, in the power transfer mode, the WTRU may process the second signal received via the second receiver chain to harvest power from the second signal. The second signal may include a power signal with embedded information signal (e.g., power signal with RV embedded 628). In the information transfer mode, the WTRU may process the second signal received via the second receiver chain to determine the second information.
Here Kuo fails to explicitly state about power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter.
However Lee states in [0003] regarding power splitting-based Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer (SWIPT) FD relay, the receiver utilizes a certain percentage of the power of the received signal for data decoding and harvests energy from the remaining percentage of the signal…now see [0007].. a signal transmitted from a base station through a first hop channel, splits the power of the received signal to decode and re-encode the signal while harvesting energy, and beamforms the re-encoded signal to transmit it to a terminal through a second hop channel, in a relay of a power division-based wireless information and power simultaneous transmission (hereinafter, SWIPT) full-duplex (hereinafter, FD) decode-and-forward (hereinafter, DF) relay system, wherein the end-to-end relationship between the base station and the terminal is obtained from a relationship between a power division ratio (ρ) representing a ratio of power to be used for decoding from the received signal and energy to be harvested,…; now refer to [0014].. The above relay determines the maximum energy harvest amount among the energy harvest amounts obtained corresponding to each of K+1 representative power split ratios (ρ<sub>k< /sub>), and selects the representative power split ratio (ρ<sub>k</sub>) and SI channel transmission weight (ω<sub>k,j</sub>) corresponding to the determined maximum energy harvest amount as the power split ratio (ρ) and SI channel transmission weight (ω) of the relay (i.e. power split ratio is ρ) ; further see [0029] in the SWIPT system, the DF relay (RS) uses a ratio (ρ) of the power (or energy) of the received signal transmitted from the base station (AP) according to a predetermined power splitting ratio (ρ, 0≤ρ≤1) for data decoding and harvests the remaining ratio (1-ρ) of energy for its own operation; now refer to [0071] regarding .. different power split ratios (ρ = 0.3, 0.4, 0.6, 1) is represented by a number of different curves.. (i.e. ρ = 0.3, 0.4 is a case where percentage of the power for energy harvesting (i.e. second part/signal/portion) is higher compare to first part/signal/portion and if 0.5 then it is balanced means both power values is same). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Kuo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein power splitting factor being based on the power boosting parameter; greater way more control on energy harvest as well as information decoding tasks can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 37, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 29, further comprising:
Receiving a configuration of the first portion of the transmission and the second portion of the transmission via a radio resource control message, a medium access control-control element, a sidelink radio resource control message, a sidelink medium access control-control element, or control information; see Kuo [0008] RRC message; further see [0085] for DCI downlink control information.
Regarding claim 40, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 29, wherein the message comprises control information scheduling a plurality of transmissions including the transmission; Kuo see [0008] scheduling plurality transmission through RRC; also refer to [0085].
Regarding claim 41, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 40, further comprising: selecting a respective power splitting factor for at least two of the plurality of transmissions based on the power boosting parameter; Lee already describes above in claim 29 Kuo see [0029, 0071, 0096].
Regarding claim 42, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 40, wherein the control information further comprises a respective power boosting parameter for at least two of the plurality of transmissions, and further comprising: select a respective power splitting factor for the at least two of the plurality of transmissions based on the respective power boosting parameter for each of the at least two of the plurality of transmissions; already describes above in claim 29 Kuo see [0029, 0071, 0096].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2018/222491 A1) (see IDS filed on 4/16/2024 page 1) in view of Lee et al. (KR102261004B1), see machine translated document and in further view of Jang et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0253713 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, but Kuo is silent about wherein the message comprises sidelink control information, a sidelink radio resource control message, or a sidelink medium access control-control element; however Jang teaches in Fig. 25 regarding .. mobility coordinator device may receive a synchronization signal from the demander device or the supplier device and perform a synchronization procedure based on the received synchronization signal. Here, the synchronization signal may be a sidelink synchronization signal (S-SS), and the synchronization procedure may be a sidelink synchronization procedure based on an S-SS/physical synchronization broadcast channel (PSBCH) block.; see [0181]; further see [0103, 0124]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Jang with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the message comprises sidelink control information, a sidelink radio resource control message, or a sidelink medium access control-control element; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 4, 8- 9, 31, 35- 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2018/222491 A1) (see IDS filed on 4/16/2024 page 1) in view of Lee et al. (KR102261004B1), see machine translated document and in further view of Haghighat et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0059867 A1), hereafter Haghi.
Regarding claim 4, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, but Kuo is silent about wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) within a set of one or more DMRS symbols of the first portion of the transmission; measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the DMRS; and select the power splitting factor based on the RSRP of the DMRS and the power boosting parameter; however Haghi teaches in [0004] regarding WTRU… determining common parameters which are common to the multiple beams and beam-specific parameters which are determined for each beam. The common parameters may comprise a target receive power, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) specific offset, or a transmit power control (TPC) command. The beam-specific parameters may comprise estimated path loss, a configurable fractional power compensation factor or a configurable maximum transmit power level…now refer to [0175] regarding Path Loss=referenceSignalPower−higher layer filtered RSRP, where referenceSignalPower is cell-specific and provided by higher layer signaling, and RSRP is always averaged with L3 filtering..; now refer to [0116]; now refer to [0342] A set of power split ratios may be defined and indexed, such that a WTRU is directed to the desired power setting by decoding the received index. The new power split ratio may also be indicated implicitly using a sequence parameter (e.g., a DMRS pattern); further see [0319]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Haghi with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) within a set of one or more DMRS symbols of the first portion of the transmission; measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the DMRS; and select the power splitting factor based on the RSRP of the DMRS and the power boosting parameter; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 8, Kuo in view of Lee and Haghi teaches as per claim 4, wherein the set of one or more DMRS symbols is within a downlink control information (DCI) transmission or a first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) transmission; see Haghi [0320- 0321]… One or more DM-RS densities may be configured via a higher layer signaling or indicated in the associated DCI for an uplink grant.
Regarding claim 9, Kuo in view of Lee and Haghi teaches as per claim 4, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to:
receive a power boosting mode indicating whether the set of one or more DMRS symbols is within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission, a downlink control information (DCI) transmission, a first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) transmission, or a second stage SCI (SCI-2) transmission; see Haghi [0320- 0321]… One or more DM-RS densities may be configured via a higher layer signaling or indicated in the associated DCI for an uplink grant.
Regarding claim 31, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 29, but Kuo is silent about receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) within a set of one or more DMRS symbols of the first portion of the transmission; measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the DMRS; and selecting the power splitting factor based on the RSRP of the DMRS and the power boosting parameter; however Haghi teaches in [0004] regarding WTRU… determining common parameters which are common to the multiple beams and beam-specific parameters which are determined for each beam. The common parameters may comprise a target receive power, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) specific offset, or a transmit power control (TPC) command. The beam-specific parameters may comprise estimated path loss, a configurable fractional power compensation factor or a configurable maximum transmit power level…now refer to [0175] regarding Path Loss=referenceSignalPower−higher layer filtered RSRP, where referenceSignalPower is cell-specific and provided by higher layer signaling, and RSRP is always averaged with L3 filtering..; now refer to [0116]; now refer to [0342] A set of power split ratios may be defined and indexed, such that a WTRU is directed to the desired power setting by decoding the received index. The new power split ratio may also be indicated implicitly using a sequence parameter (e.g., a DMRS pattern); further see [0319]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Haghi with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) within a set of one or more DMRS symbols of the first portion of the transmission; measuring a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the DMRS; and selecting the power splitting factor based on the RSRP of the DMRS and the power boosting parameter; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 35, Kuo in view of Lee and Haghi teaches as per claim 31, wherein the set of one or more DMRS symbols is within a downlink control information (DCI) transmission or a first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) transmission; see Haghi [0320- 0321]… One or more DM-RS densities may be configured via a higher layer signaling or indicated in the associated DCI for an uplink grant.
Regarding claim 36, Kuo in view of Lee and Haghi teaches as per claim 31, further comprising:
receiving a power boosting mode indicating whether the set of one or more DMRS symbols is within a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission, a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission, a downlink control information (DCI) transmission, a first stage sidelink control information (SCI-1) transmission, or a second stage SCI (SCI-2) transmission; see Haghi [0320- 0321]… One or more DM-RS densities may be configured via a higher layer signaling or indicated in the associated DCI for an uplink grant.
Claim(s) 11- 12, 16, 38 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo et al. (WO 2018/222491 A1) (see IDS filed on 4/16/2024 page 1) in view of Lee et al. (KR102261004B1), see machine translated document and in further view of Balasubramanian et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0248432 A1), hereafter Bala.
Regarding claim 11, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, but Kuo is silent about, wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive control information associated with the transmission within a slot, the control information being at least one of scrambled with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) or located within a control resource set (CORESET) indicating the slot is an energy harvesting slot that further carries data associated with the transmission; however Bala states in [0100- 0101] … to maximize the energy harvesting efficiency (e.g., defined by energy harvested in time interval [0, T] as a ratio of energy spent in [0, T] by switching on its receiver circuitry), it is advantageous to harvest energy from closer, rather than farther, WTRUs. This necessitates knowing the Slot Format Indication (SFI) of nearby WTRUs, or, more generally, WTRUs in a defined (sub) geographical area. A cell may be divided into one or more (sub) geographical areas, each identified by a unique geographical RNTI (geo-RNTI). The EH WTRU uses one or more appropriate geo-RNTIs based on its location. The EH WTRU operation may be as follows; see [0100]; now refer to [0102].. the EH WTRU may determine its location and choose any of the following. a) A unique geo-RNTI corresponding to its location. For instance, referring to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU in (sub) geography-1 may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to only legacy WTRUs in the geo-RNTI corresponding to (sub) geography-1; and/or b) The geo-RNTI corresponding to its location plus the geo-RNTI(s) of one or more adjoining locations. Referring again to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU, which is at the edge of (sub) geography-1, may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to legacy WTRU's in the geo-RNTI corresponding to not only (sub) geography-1, but also (sub) geographies-2, 3 and 4 in order to know the slot schedule in adjoining geo-RNTIs to maximize energy harvesting; further see [0103]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bala with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive control information associated with the transmission within a slot, the control information being at least one of scrambled with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) or located within a control resource set (CORESET) indicating the slot is an energy harvesting slot that further carries data associated with the transmission; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Kuo in view of Lee and Bala teaches as per claim 11, wherein the control information comprises downlink control information or sidelink control information; Bala see [0147, 0151]; DCI.
Regarding claim 16, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 13, but Kuo is silent about, wherein the control information indicates a respective slot type associated with each of the plurality of transmissions, the respective slot type comprising an energy harvesting slot type, an energy harvesting and data reception slot type, or a data reception slot type; however Bala states in [0100- 0101] … to maximize the energy harvesting efficiency (e.g., defined by energy harvested in time interval [0, T] as a ratio of energy spent in [0, T] by switching on its receiver circuitry), it is advantageous to harvest energy from closer, rather than farther, WTRUs. This necessitates knowing the Slot Format Indication (SFI) of nearby WTRUs, or, more generally, WTRUs in a defined (sub) geographical area. A cell may be divided into one or more (sub) geographical areas, each identified by a unique geographical RNTI (geo-RNTI). The EH WTRU uses one or more appropriate geo-RNTIs based on its location. The EH WTRU operation may be as follows; see [0100]; now refer to [0102].. the EH WTRU may determine its location and choose any of the following. a) A unique geo-RNTI corresponding to its location. For instance, referring to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU in (sub) geography-1 may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to only legacy WTRUs in the geo-RNTI corresponding to (sub) geography-1; and/or b) The geo-RNTI corresponding to its location plus the geo-RNTI(s) of one or more adjoining locations. Referring again to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU, which is at the edge of (sub) geography-1, may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to legacy WTRU's in the geo-RNTI corresponding to not only (sub) geography-1, but also (sub) geographies-2, 3 and 4 in order to know the slot schedule in adjoining geo-RNTIs to maximize energy harvesting; further see [0103]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bala with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the control information indicates a respective slot type associated with each of the plurality of transmissions, the respective slot type comprising an energy harvesting slot type, an energy harvesting and data reception slot type, or a data reception slot type; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 38, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 29, but Kuo is silent about, receiving control information associated with the transmission within a slot, the control information being at least one of scrambled with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) or located within a control resource set (CORESET) indicating the slot is an energy harvesting slot that further carries data associated with the transmission; however Bala states in [0100- 0101] … to maximize the energy harvesting efficiency (e.g., defined by energy harvested in time interval [0, T] as a ratio of energy spent in [0, T] by switching on its receiver circuitry), it is advantageous to harvest energy from closer, rather than farther, WTRUs. This necessitates knowing the Slot Format Indication (SFI) of nearby WTRUs, or, more generally, WTRUs in a defined (sub) geographical area. A cell may be divided into one or more (sub) geographical areas, each identified by a unique geographical RNTI (geo-RNTI). The EH WTRU uses one or more appropriate geo-RNTIs based on its location. The EH WTRU operation may be as follows; see [0100]; now refer to [0102].. the EH WTRU may determine its location and choose any of the following. a) A unique geo-RNTI corresponding to its location. For instance, referring to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU in (sub) geography-1 may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to only legacy WTRUs in the geo-RNTI corresponding to (sub) geography-1; and/or b) The geo-RNTI corresponding to its location plus the geo-RNTI(s) of one or more adjoining locations. Referring again to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU, which is at the edge of (sub) geography-1, may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to legacy WTRU's in the geo-RNTI corresponding to not only (sub) geography-1, but also (sub) geographies-2, 3 and 4 in order to know the slot schedule in adjoining geo-RNTIs to maximize energy harvesting; further see [0103]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bala with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the processor and the memory are further configured to: receive control information associated with the transmission within a slot, the control information being at least one of scrambled with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) or located within a control resource set (CORESET) indicating the slot is an energy harvesting slot that further carries data associated with the transmission; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 39, Kuo in view of Lee and Bala teaches as per claim 38, wherein the control information comprises downlink control information or sidelink control information; Bala see [0147, 0151]; DCI.
Regarding claim 43, Kuo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 40, but Kuo is silent about, wherein the control information indicates a respective slot type associated with each of the plurality of transmissions, the respective slot type comprising an energy harvesting slot type, an energy harvesting and data reception slot type, or a data reception slot type; however Bala states in [0100- 0101] … to maximize the energy harvesting efficiency (e.g., defined by energy harvested in time interval [0, T] as a ratio of energy spent in [0, T] by switching on its receiver circuitry), it is advantageous to harvest energy from closer, rather than farther, WTRUs. This necessitates knowing the Slot Format Indication (SFI) of nearby WTRUs, or, more generally, WTRUs in a defined (sub) geographical area. A cell may be divided into one or more (sub) geographical areas, each identified by a unique geographical RNTI (geo-RNTI). The EH WTRU uses one or more appropriate geo-RNTIs based on its location. The EH WTRU operation may be as follows; see [0100]; now refer to [0102].. the EH WTRU may determine its location and choose any of the following. a) A unique geo-RNTI corresponding to its location. For instance, referring to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU in (sub) geography-1 may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to only legacy WTRUs in the geo-RNTI corresponding to (sub) geography-1; and/or b) The geo-RNTI corresponding to its location plus the geo-RNTI(s) of one or more adjoining locations. Referring again to FIG. 5, the EH WTRU, which is at the edge of (sub) geography-1, may elect to attempt energy harvesting with respect to legacy WTRU's in the geo-RNTI corresponding to not only (sub) geography-1, but also (sub) geographies-2, 3 and 4 in order to know the slot schedule in adjoining geo-RNTIs to maximize energy harvesting; further see [0103]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bala with the teachings of Kuo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the control information indicates a respective slot type associated with each of the plurality of transmissions, the respective slot type comprising an energy harvesting slot type, an energy harvesting and data reception slot type, or a data reception slot type; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5- 7 and 32- 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Kim et al. (US Pat. No. 11296819 B2) teaches method of performing adaptive mode switching in a transmitter of a dual mode simultaneous wireless information and power transmission (SWIPT) system, incudes receiving received power of a receiver in a channel; comparing the received power with a predetermined threshold value; selecting one of a single tone mode or a multi-tone mode as a single/multi-tone mode based on the comparison result; selecting a modulation index based on the selected single/multi-tone mode and the received power; and transmitting the selected single/multi-tone mode, the selected modulation index, and a duty cycle to the receiver…; see abstract.
Reference Greene et al. (US Pat. No. 11791912 B2) teaches receiving, by an antenna, a wireless signal including energy and data from a transmitter that is remote from the antenna, a first portion of the energy provided to a power harvester electrically coupled to the antenna and a second portion of the energy provided to a radio-frequency identification (RFID) chip via circuitry electrically coupled to the antenna and the RFID chip and not via the power harvester, the circuitry including a directional coupler, a balun, and an impedance matching network, the directional coupler having an input port coupled to the antenna, an output port coupled to the power harvester, and a coupled port coupled to the balun such that the impedance matching network is coupled to the coupled port via the balun; and transforming, using the circuitry, an input impedance of the RFID chip to an impedance that is closer to an impedance of the antenna than the input impedance of the RFID chip; see claim 6.
Reference Chen et al. (US Pat. No. 9985461 b2) teaches self-harvesting energy from a wireless device and supplementing the battery power of the wireless device using the self-harvested energy includes the steps of collecting at least a portion of radio frequency signals transmitted by the wireless device; converting the collected radio frequency signals from radio frequency signals to direct current energy; further converting the direct current energy to energy compatible with charging requirements for a battery electrically connected to the wireless device; and transferring the compatible energy to the battery of the wireless device through a wireless device interface in order to add the compatible energy to the battery; see abstract.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479