DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2024, 10/3/2024 and 11/6/2024 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2008/0141904 A1) to Barthel et al. (hereinafter Barthel).
Barthel is directed toward particles used for thickening. Barthel discloses at paragraph [0039] that the silica particles have a fractal dimension of less than 2.0, which reads on Applicants range of 1.0-2.3. Barthel discloses at paragraph [0022] that the particles have a diameter of 1 nm to 100 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 1 -30 microns. Barthel discloses at paragraph [0013] that the surface area reads on 0.1 -20. M2/g. Barthel discloses at paragraph [0073] that the silica is used for resin fillers, Barthel discloses at paragraph [0089] that the filler may be used for paints, which may be thermosetting. Barthel discloses each and every element of claims 1-7.
6. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2008/0139833 A1) to Schafer et al. (hereinafter Schafer).
Schafer is directed toward spherical silica particles. Schafer discloses at paragraph [0011] that the silica particle has a fractal dimension of about 2.4. Schafer discloses at paragraph [0010] that the silica is preferably surface modified. Schafer discloses at paragraph [0011] that the surface diameter is 1 to 500 microns. Schafer discloses at paragraph [0101] that the particle is used as a resin filler. Schafer discloses at paragraph [0101] that the resins may be thermoplastic or thermoset. Schafer discloses each and every element of claims 1-7.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766