Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. In the instant case, the abstract includes the phrase “are provided”.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, it is suggested that claim 1 be amended to recite “wherein each of the polymer/pouch cells of the plurality of polymer/pouch cells defines a region of preferential failure”.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, it is suggested that claims 6 and 8 be amended to recite “gas released from one of the polymer/pouch cells”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 8, claims 1, 6, and 8 recite “polymer/pouch cell” or “polymer/pouch cells”. It is unclear what structure is required by this limitation. For example, are the cells required to contain polymeric material, are they required to be pouch cells, or must they be pouch cells that contain polymeric material. For the purpose of examination, these claims are interpreted as requiring pouch cells, pending further clarification from applicant.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 8, claims 1, 5, and 8 recite “desired direction”. It is unclear what is meant by the gas being directed in a “desired direction” and what is structurally required by this limitation. The term “desired” is not defined in the claim or in the instant specification and is a subjective term. For the purpose of examination, the gas being directed in a “desired direction” is interpreted as meaning the gas is directed in a direction, pending further clarification from applicant.
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9-10 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fails to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the limitation "internal space" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “internal space” is interpretated as “interior space”, as recited in claim 1, pending further clarification from applicant.
Claim 8 is indefinite as it depends from an indefinite base and fails to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaben (US 2009/0253026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gaben teaches a battery system (Gaben abstract) comprising:
an enclosure defining an interior space (vessel 17)
a plurality of pouch cells positions within the interior space (flexible sealed envelope 3, Gaben [34])
a support structure that defines regions for introduction of the pouch cells in a spaced orientation (structural body 9)
wherein each of the pouch cells define a region of preferential failure such that gas released from one of the pouch cells is directed in a direction (rupture zone 29, Gaben [73])
Regarding claim 2, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches the region of preferential failure including one or more venting scores (Gaben [75]).
Regarding claim 3, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches the region of preferential failure including at least one weakened seal area (Gaben [73-75]).
Regarding claim 4, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches the enclosure being sealed (Gaben [44]).
Regarding claim 5, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches a vent associated with a face of the enclosure (30, Gaben Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Gaben teaches all features of claims 1 and 5, as described above. Gaben further teaches gas released from one of the pouch cells being directed towards the vent (Gaben [73]).
Regarding claim 7, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches the interior space of the enclosure defining a shared atmosphere region (Gaben [44]).
Regarding claim 8, Gaben teaches all features of claims 1 and 7, as described above. Gaben further teaches the gas released from one of the pouch cells being toward the shared atmosphere region (when gas is released from rupture zone 29 it travels through the share atmosphere region until it reaches the valve 30, Gaben Fig. 10, [73]).
Regarding claim 9, Gaben teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Gaben further teaches the support structure being defined in part by a plurality of interleaved barrier structures (cross-members 12, Gaben Fi. 11, [41]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaben, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, in view of Doyle (Doyle Shamrock Industries. Battery Flame Arrestor Vent Caps. Webpage available August 19, 2019).
Regarding claim 10, Gaben teaches all features of claims 1 and 5, as described above. Gaben does not teach the vent being equipped with a flame arrestor.
However, Doyle teaches that it is known to include a flame arrestor in vent caps in order to prevent flames from entering a battery, thus improving safety and preventing ignition of released gas from a battery due to contact with flames (Doyle paragraphs 1-2).
Since Gaben teaches the release of gas from pouch cells and a vent in the battery system for releasing this gas and Doyle teaches that it is suitable to add a flame arrestor to a vent cap in order to prevent the entrance of flames into a battery, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a flame arrestor to the vent of Gaben in order to prevent ignition of gas released from the pouch cells due to contact with flames.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hashimoto (US 2017/0331089 A1): appears to disclose a battery system comprising pouch cells including gas discharge portions, housing, and an exhaust port (abstract, Fig. 7).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789