DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application, claims 13-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Amendments to the claims 13, 14, and 16, filed on 5 August 2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5 August 2026.
Applicants' election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that in view of the amendments to the claims the common inventive feature now includes --a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group, the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion--. This is found persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new basis for the restriction requirement is presented below in further view of Hatch et al. (US 2020/0367358 A1).
The common feature --an electronic device protection structure, comprising: a substrate, a component group on a side of the substrate, and a first protective adhesive tape on a side of the component group away from the substrate, and a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group; wherein the first protective adhesive tape comprises: a covering portion covering the component group, and a lapping portion extending from at least one side of the covering portion until the lapping portion comes into contact with the substrate; and the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion-- cannot qualify as a special technical feature as it does not provide a contribution over the prior art because it is disclosed by Li (CN 101765289 A) in view of Hatch et al. (US 2020/0367358 A1) (see the international search report).
Li discloses a display device (ref. #300') including a display panel (ref. #310), at least one circuit board (ref. #320; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "component group"), a grounding member (ref. #330), and an electrostatic discharge protection structure (ref. #200'), wherein the electrostatic discharge protection structure comprises a conductive tape (ref. #202) comprising an insulating adhesive layer (ref. #204) and a conductive layer (ref. #206) disposed on the insulating adhesive layer away from the display panel, and wherein a portion of the electrostatic discharge protection structure extends beyond the circuit board and connects to a frame (ref. #360) (figures 2 to 5, [0072]-[0073], [0077], and [0081]-[0083] of Li). Li further discloses that the electrostatic discharge protection section includes an adhesive portion (ref. #210; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "covering portion") and a grounding portion (ref. #220'; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "lapping portion") that is folded over and contacts the frame (ref. #360; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "substrate") for support of the display panel (figures 2 to 5 and [0079]-[0081] of LI). Li also discloses that the display panel includes a first substrate (ref. #314) and a second substrate (ref. #316), and the display panel positioned away from the electrostatic discharge protection structure (figure 5 and [0077]-[0083] of Li). Specifically, Li provides for --an electronic device protection structure, comprising: a substrate, a component group on a side of the substrate, and a first protective adhesive tape on a side of the component group away from the substrate; wherein the first protective adhesive tape comprises: a covering portion covering the component group, and a lapping portion extending from at least one side of the covering portion until the lapping portion comes into contact with the substrate--.
Li fails to disclose --a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group, the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion--.
Hatch disclose a conductive trace interconnect tape (ref. #10) broadly comprising a top insulating layer (ref. #12), a top adhesive layer (ref. #14), an electrically conductive layer (ref. #16), a middle adhesive layer (ref. #18), a bottom insulating layer (ref. #20), and a bottom adhesive layer (ref. #22) (figures 1 to 10 and [0023] of Hatch). Hatch further discloses that each of the adhesive layers can separately include adhesives or other bonding materials ([0025], [0027], and [0029] of Hatch). It is further disclosed by Hatch that the top insulating layer and top adhesive layer and/or the bottom insulating layer and bottom adhesive layer can independently have a plurality of spaced-apart lines of perforations (ref. #26) by which portions thereof can be selectively removed to expose at least the electrically conductive layer (figures 4 to 6, 9 to 10, and [0033] of Hatch). Hatch also discloses that the electrically conductive layer can be signal traces, electrical power and ground lines, full or partial electrical power and ground planes, through-hole and surface-mount package pads, circuit interconnect geometry, and the like ([0026] of Hatch). It is also disclosed by Hatch that the conductive trace interconnect tape can be stacked on top of another conductive trace interconnect tape, and that the stacked conductive trace interconnect tapes can have selective portions of their respective electrically conductive layers be exposed when stacked ([0023], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the by having two adjacent and overlapping conductive trace interconnect tape, with portions of their top insulating layer, top adhesive layer, bottom insulating layer, and bottom adhesive layer removed the electrically conductive layers of the two adjacent conductive trace interconnect tapes can be electrically connected to one another at any desired locations.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated and combined the conductive trace interconnect tape of Hatch with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in order to have --a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group, the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated and combined the conductive trace interconnect tape of Hatch with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li, from the stand-point of providing traces when traces are missing due to error, design change, or upgrades. and/or effectively create a multi-layered printed circuit board without the cost and fabrication time required via traditional processes ([0034] and [0035] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the electrostatic discharge protection structure of Li is modified to comprise two overlapping conductive trace interconnect tapes of Hatch modified such that the electrically conductive layers are connected in the lapping portion.)
Therefore, the reference(s) specifically suggest(s) using the common elements as claimed.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 101765289 A) in view of Hatch et al. (US 2020/0367358 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Li discloses a display device (ref. #300') including a display panel (ref. #310), at least one circuit board (ref. #320; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "component group"), a grounding member (ref. #330), and an electrostatic discharge protection structure (ref. #200'), wherein the electrostatic discharge protection structure comprises a conductive tape (ref. #202) comprising an insulating adhesive layer (ref. #204) and a conductive layer (ref. #206) disposed on the insulating adhesive layer away from the display panel, and wherein a portion of the electrostatic discharge protection structure extends beyond the circuit board and connects to a frame (ref. #360) (figures 2 to 5, [0072]-[0073], [0077], and [0081]-[0083] of Li). Li further discloses that the electrostatic discharge protection section includes an adhesive portion (ref. #210; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "covering portion") and a grounding portion (ref. #220'; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "lapping portion") that is folded over and contacts the frame (ref. #360; which is considered equivalent to the claimed "substrate") for support of the display panel (figures 2 to 5 and [0079]-[0081] of Li). Li also discloses that the display panel includes a first substrate (ref. #314) and a second substrate (ref. #316), and the display panel positioned away from the electrostatic discharge protection structure (figure 5 and [0077]-[0083] of Li). Specifically, Li provides for --an electronic device protection structure, comprising: a substrate, a component group on a side of the substrate, and a first protective adhesive tape on a side of the component group away from the substrate; wherein the first protective adhesive tape comprises: a covering portion covering the component group, and a lapping portion extending from at least one side of the covering portion until the lapping portion comes into contact with the substrate--.
Li fails to disclose --a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group, the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion--.
Hatch disclose a conductive trace interconnect tape (ref. #10) broadly comprising a top insulating layer (ref. #12), a top adhesive layer (ref. #14), an electrically conductive layer (ref. #16), a middle adhesive layer (ref. #18), a bottom insulating layer (ref. #20), and a bottom adhesive layer (ref. #22) (figures 1 to 10 and [0023] of Hatch). Hatch further discloses that each of the adhesive layers can separately include adhesives or other bonding materials ([0025], [0027], and [0029] of Hatch). It is further disclosed by Hatch that the top insulating layer and top adhesive layer and/or the bottom insulating layer and bottom adhesive layer can independently have a plurality of spaced-apart lines of perforations (ref. #26) by which portions thereof can be selectively removed to expose at least the electrically conductive layer (figures 4 to 6, 9 to 10, and [0033] of Hatch). Hatch also discloses that the electrically conductive layer can be signal traces, electrical power and ground lines, full or partial electrical power and ground planes, through-hole and surface-mount package pads, circuit interconnect geometry, and the like ([0026] of Hatch). It is also disclosed by Hatch that the conductive trace interconnect tape can be stacked on top of another conductive trace interconnect tape, and that the stacked conductive trace interconnect tapes can have selective portions of their respective electrically conductive layers be exposed when stacked ([0023], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the by having two adjacent and overlapping conductive trace interconnect tape, with portions of their top insulating layer, top adhesive layer, bottom insulating layer, and bottom adhesive layer removed the electrically conductive layers of the two adjacent conductive trace interconnect tapes can be electrically connected to one another at any desired locations.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated and combined the conductive trace interconnect tape of Hatch with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in order to have --a second protective adhesive tape on a side of the first protective adhesive tape away from the component group, the second protective adhesive tape is attached to a periphery of the component group, and is electrically connected to the lapping portion--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated and combined the conductive trace interconnect tape of Hatch with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li, from the stand-point of providing traces when traces are missing due to error, design change, or upgrades. and/or effectively create a multi-layered printed circuit board without the cost and fabrication time required via traditional processes ([0034] and [0035] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the electrostatic discharge protection structure of Li is modified to comprise two overlapping conductive trace interconnect tapes of Hatch modified such that the electrically conductive layers are connected in the lapping portion.)
Regarding Claim 2: Li in view of Hatch discloses a gap is provided between the second protective adhesive tape and the component group (figure 5 of Li).
Regarding Claim 3: Li in view of Hatch discloses that the lapping portion comprises: a first lapping portion, and a second lapping portion connecting the first lapping portion to the covering portion; wherein the first lapping portion is in contact with the substrate, and the lapping portion is electrically connected to the second protective adhesive tape at the first lapping portion (figures 2 to 5 and [0079]-[0081] of Li; figures 8, 10, [0034], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch). (In the instant case, because Hatch discloses the ends of the tape as having the exposed electrically conductive layer (figures 8 and 10 of Hatch), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ends of the first protective adhesive tape and the second protective adhesive tape be electrically connected at the grounding portion (ref. #220') disclosed by Li.)
Regarding Claim 4: Li in view of Hatch discloses that the first protective adhesive tape comprises a first insulating layer, a first conductive layer, and a second insulating layer stacked sequentially away from the substrate; the second protective adhesive tape comprises a third insulating layer, a second conductive layer, and a fourth insulating layer stacked sequentially away from the substrate; and the first conductive layer is exposed to one face of the first protective adhesive tape facing the second protective adhesive tape and a region corresponding to the first lapping portion, and the second conductive layer is exposed to one face of the second protective adhesive tape facing the first protective adhesive tape and a region corresponding to the first lapping portion, so that the first conductive layer of the first protective adhesive tape is electrically connected to the second conductive layer of the second protective adhesive tape (figures 2 to 5 and [0079]-[0081] of Li; figures 8, 10, [0034], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch).
Regarding Claim 10: Li in view of Hatch discloses that the width of the lapping portion (ref. #220') is wider that the width of the lapping portion (ref. 210; "grounding portion") (figure 3 of Li). (In the instant case, the lapping portion is considered to extend from the adhesive portion in the width direction.) However, Li in view of Hatch does not explicitly recite that --a width of a projection of the first lapping portion on the substrate is greater than a width of a projection of the covering portion on the substrate; and the width of the projection of the covering portion on the substrate is greater than a width of a projection of the second lapping portion on the substrate--. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the width of the second lapping portion to be as small as possible so as to have the width of the first lapping portion be greater than the width of the covering portion and the width of the second lapping portion be less than the width of the covering portion, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the width of the second lapping portion. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding Claim 11: Li in view of Hatch discloses that a length of a projection of the first lapping portion on the substrate is smaller than a length of a projection of the covering portion on the substrate; and the length of the projection of the first lapping portion on the substrate is same as a length of a projection of the second lapping portion on the substrate (figure 3, [0072], and [0073] of Li). (In the instant case, the adhesive portion (ref. #210) is shown to have a length greater than the grounding portion (ref. #220) (see annotated figure 3 of Li below), wherein the grounding portion represents both the first lapping portion and the second lapping portion, which have the same length.)
Figure 3 of Li, annotated to indicate length direction.
Regarding Claim 12: Li in view of Hatch discloses that a projection of the component group on the substrate falls within a projection of the covering portion on the substrate (figures 4 and 5 of Li). (In the instant case, because the covering portion overlaps the component group on the substrate, there would be a projection of the component group that falls within the projection of the covering portion.)
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 101765289 A) in view of Hatch et al. (US 2020/0367358 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3, and 4 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0206631 A1).
Li in view of Hatch is relied upon as described above.
Regarding Claim 5: Li in view of Hatch discloses the electronic device protection structure, but fails to disclose --the substrate comprises a third conductive layer, the third conductive layer comprises a wire, and the wire is grounded; and the second protective adhesive tape is further electrically connected to a part of the wire--.
Kang discloses a display device comprising a flexible circuit film (ref. "FCB") including a base film (ref. "BF"), ground wires (ref. "GNL1" and "GNL2") disposed on the base film, a first conductive layer (ref. "FCL"), and cover tapes (ref. "CT1" and "CT2") disposed on the FCL and electrically connected to GNL1 and GNL2 (figure 6A, [0034], [0073], [0075], [0077], [0080], and [0082] of Kang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the display device of Kang with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch in order to have --the substrate comprises a third conductive layer, the third conductive layer comprises a wire, and the wire is grounded; and the second protective adhesive tape is further electrically connected to a part of the wire--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the display device of Kang with the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch, from the stand-point of electrically connecting cover taps to ground wires so as to maintain parasitic capacitance ([0084] and [0085] of Kang).
Regarding Claim 6: Li in view of Hatch and Kang discloses an opening is provided in a region of one face of the second protective adhesive tape facing the substrate corresponding to the wire at a lapping position, for exposing the second conductive layer, so that the second conductive layer of the second protective adhesive tape is electrically connected to the wire (figure 5 of Li; figures 7-10 of Hatch; figure 6A of Kang).
Regarding Claim 7: Li in view of Hatch discloses that the first insulating layer comprises a first insulating sublayer, and a first insulating adhesive layer on a side of the first insulating sublayer away from the first conductive layer; the first conductive layer comprises a first conductive sublayer, and a first adhesive layer on a side of the first conductive sublayer facing the first insulating layer; and the second insulating layer comprises a second insulating sublayer, and a second insulating adhesive layer on a side of the second insulating sublayer facing the first conductive layer ([0072] of Li; [0023], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the insulating adhesive disclosed by Li is used as the adhesive material of the adhesive layer of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer.)
Li in view of Hatch fails to disclose that the first adhesive layer (middle adhesive layer) of the first conductive layer is --a first conductive adhesive layer--.
Kang discloses cover tapes (ref. "CT1" and "CT2") comprising a second conductive adhesive layer (ref. "CAL2") disposed between a cover insulating layer (ref. "CIL") and a second conducting layer (ref. "SCL") of the cover tapes ([0091] of Kang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the conductive adhesive layer of Kang as the first adhesive layer of the first conductive layer of the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch in order to have --a first conductive adhesive layer--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the conductive adhesive layer of Kang as the first adhesive layer of the first conductive layer of the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch, from the stand-point of providing an electrical connection ([0091] of Kang). (In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the conductive adhesive as the adhesive of the first conductive layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability of the intended use (i.e., forming an electrical connection). See MPEP §2144.07.)
Regarding Claim 8: Li in view of Hatch discloses that the third insulating layer comprises a third insulating sublayer, and a third insulating adhesive layer on a side of the third insulating sublayer away from the second conductive layer; the second conductive layer comprises a second conductive sublayer, and a second adhesive layer on a side of the second conductive sublayer facing the third insulating layer; and the fourth insulating layer comprises a fourth insulating sublayer, and a fourth insulating adhesive layer on a side of the fourth insulating sublayer facing the second conductive layer ([0072] of Li; [0023], [0035], and [0039] of Hatch). (In the instant case, the insulating adhesive disclosed by Li is used as the adhesive material of the adhesive layer of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer.)
Li in view of Hatch fails to disclose that the second adhesive layer (middle adhesive layer) of the second conductive layer is --a second conductive adhesive layer--.
Kang discloses cover tapes (ref. "CT1" and "CT2") comprising a second conductive adhesive layer (ref. "CAL2") disposed between a cover insulating layer (ref. "CIL") and a second conducting layer (ref. "SCL") of the cover tapes ([0091] of Kang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the conductive adhesive layer of Kang as the second adhesive layer of the second conductive layer of the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch in order to have --a second conductive adhesive layer--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the conductive adhesive layer of Kang as the second adhesive layer of the second conductive layer of the electronic device protection structure disclosed by Li in view of Hatch, from the stand-point of providing an electrical connection ([0091] of Kang). (In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the conductive adhesive as the adhesive of the second conductive layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability of the intended use (i.e., forming an electrical connection). See MPEP §2144.07.)
Regarding Claim 9: Li in view of Hatch and Kang discloses that the first insulating sublayer and the third insulating sublayer are made of a same material, and the first insulating adhesive layer and the third insulating adhesive layer are made of a same material; the first conductive sublayer and the second conductive sublayer are made of a same material, and the first conductive adhesive layer and the second conductive adhesive layer are made of a same material; and the second insulating sublayer and the fourth insulating sublayer are made of a same material, and the second insulating adhesive layer and the fourth insulating adhesive layer are made of a same material ([0072] of Li; [0023]-[0029] of Hatch; [0091] of Kang). (In the instant case, since Hatch discloses using the same tape as the first protective adhesive tape and the second protective adhesive tape, the materials of the layers would the same, as is claimed.)
Conclusion
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781