CTNF 18/701,840 CTNF 81709 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA CLAIM INTERPRETATION 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (FP 7.30.03) (f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non- structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. (FP 7.30.05) This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for receiving, from a transmission/reception point, a quasi co-location indication, means for receiving, from the transmission/reception point, the first signal and the second signal, means for measuring the first signal, means for waking up the user equipment from an idle mode or an inactive mode, means for measuring a receive power of the first signal, means for receiving, from the transmission/reception point, an indication of a first transmit power of the first signal, means for transmitting, to the transmission/reception point, an uplink positioning reference signal with a second transmit power, means for measuring a time of arrival of the first signal, means for receiving indications of an expected reference signal time difference and an expected reference signal time difference uncertainty, means for selecting one of a plurality of candidate times of arrival, means for measuring a plurality of times of arrival, and means for selecting, as an actual time of arrival, which of the plurality of times of arrival corresponds to a shortest travel time from the transmission/reception point to the user equipment as mentioned throughout claims 19-26. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. (FP 7.30.06) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9-11, 16, 18-20, 25, 27-28, 33, 35-40, 44-54, 58-68, 72-82 and 86-90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Chen), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0092141 . Regarding Claims 1, 10, 19 and 27, Chen discloses a user equipment (i.e., the apparatus 400 can be used to implement functions of the UE 120; see paragraph [0090]) comprising: a transceiver (i.e., radio frequency (RF) module 430; see figure 4) ; a memory (i.e., memory 420; see figure 4) ; and a processor (i.e., processing circuitry 410; see figure 4) , communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver, configured to: receive, via the transceiver from a transmission/reception point, a quasi co-location indication that indicates that a first signal, from the transmission/reception point and corresponding to a first radio access technology, is quasi co-located with a second signal from the transmission/reception point and corresponding to a second radio access technology that is different from the first radio access technology (i.e., the QCL configuration 140 may include information indicating which LTE cells are QCLed or co-located with which NR cells; see paragraphs [0043]-[0045]) ; receive, via the transceiver from the transmission/reception point, the first signal and the second signal (i.e., reference signal configurations 142 and 144; see paragraph [0053]) ; and measure the first signal based on the quasi co-location indication indicating that the first signal is quasi co-located with the second signal (i.e., the UE 120 may proceed to perform the RRM measurement 122 and/or channel estimation 124 by combining the LTE and NR reference signals 132 and 134; see paragraphs [0058]-[0060]) . Regarding Claims 2, 11, 20 and 28, Chen discloses wherein the processor is configured to measure the first signal based further on a first periodicity of the first signal being shorter than a second periodicity of the second signal (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 7, 16, 25 and 33, Chen discloses wherein the second signal is a synchronization signal block, and wherein the processor is configured to measure the first signal based further on a downlink positioning reference signal of the transmission/reception point being quasi co-located with the synchronization signal block (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Chen discloses wherein the first signal is a first OFDM signal (first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing signal) and the second signal is a second OFDM signal (see paragraphs [0066] and [0070]) . Regarding Claims 35, 49, 63 and 77, Chen discloses a network entity (i.e., the apparatus 400 can be used to implement functions of the UE 120, the LTE BS 112, or the NR BS 114; see paragraph [0090]) comprising: a transceiver (i.e., radio frequency (RF) module 430; see figure 4) ; a memory (i.e., memory 420; see figure 4) ; and a processor (i.e., processing circuitry 410; see figure 4) communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver, configured to: schedule transmission of a first signal, from a transmission/reception point and corresponding to a first radio access technology, and a second signal from the transmission/reception point and corresponding to a second radio access technology that is different from the first radio access technology (i.e., LTE reference signals 132 of the LTE cell 101 and NR reference signals 134 of the NR cell 102; see paragraph [0042] and figure 1) ; and transmit, via the transceiver to a user equipment, a quasi co-location indication that indicates that the first signal is quasi co-located with the second signal (i.e., the QCL configuration 140 may include information indicating which LTE cells are QCLed or co-located with which NR cells; see paragraphs [0043]-[0045]) . Regarding Claims 36, 50, 64 and 78, Chen discloses wherein the first signal is a first OFDM signal (first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing signal) that is a long-term evolution channel reference signal or a long-term evolution positioning reference signal, and wherein the second signal is a second OFDM signal that is a new radio positioning reference signal or a new radio synchronization signal block (see paragraph [0070]) . Regarding Claims 37, 51, 65 and 79, Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a transmit power indication indicating a transmit power of the first OFDM signal by the transmission/reception point (see paragraph [0050]) Regarding Claims 38, 52, 66 and 80, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal, the processor is configured to schedule a channel reference signal based on the channel reference signal being quasi co-located with the second signal (see paragraph [0071] and figure 2) . Regarding Claims 39, 53, 67 and 81, Chen discloses wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a pattern indication indicating a transmission pattern of the channel reference signal (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 40, 54, 68 and 82, Chen discloses wherein the second signal is a positioning reference signal, and wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal and the second signal, the processor is configured to schedule transmission of the second signal in no symbol in which the first signal is scheduled for transmission (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 44, 58, 72 and 86, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal and the second signal, the processor is configured to schedule the first signal and the second signal with a shared spectrum (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 45, 59, 73 and 87, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal and the second signal, the processor is configured to schedule, for the user equipment in standalone mode, a downlink positioning reference signal in no symbols in which a channel reference signal or physical downlink control channel is scheduled in an MBSFN (multi-media broadcast over a single frequency network) subframe (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 46, 60, 74 and 88, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal and the second signal, the processor is configured to schedule, for the user equipment in standalone mode, a downlink positioning reference signal in no symbols in which a channel reference signal, a physical downlink control channel, a physical hybrid automatic repeat request indicator channel, or physical control format indicator channel is scheduled in a non-MBSFN (non-multi-media broadcast over a single frequency network) subframe (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 47, 61, 75 and 89, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal, the processor is configured to schedule a long-term evolution positioning reference signal (see figure 2) . Regarding Claims 48, 62, 76 and 90, Chen discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal, the processor is configured to schedule the long-term evolution positioning reference signal instead of a new radio positioning reference signal (see figure 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-6, 8, 12-15, 17, 21-24, 26, 29-32, 34, 41-43, 55-57, 69-71 and 83-85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Keating et al. (Keating), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0011396 . Regarding Claims 3, 12, 21 and 29, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein the processor is configured to wake up from an idle mode or an inactive mode to measure the first signal instead of the second signal based on the first periodicity of the first signal being shorter than the second periodicity of the second signal. Keating discloses wherein the processor is configured to wake up from an idle mode or an inactive mode to measure the first signal instead of the second signal based on the first periodicity of the first signal being shorter than the second periodicity of the second signal (see paragraphs [0081]-[0083]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 4, 13, 22 and 30, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a receive power of the first signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a first transmit power of the first signal; and transmit, via the transceiver, an uplink positioning reference signal with a second transmit power based on the receive power of the first signal and the first transmit power of the first signal. Keating discloses wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a receive power of the first signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an indication of a first transmit power of the first signal; and transmit, via the transceiver, an uplink positioning reference signal with a second transmit power based on the receive power of the first signal and the first transmit power of the first signal (see paragraphs [0047]-[0048], [0057] and [0080]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 5, 14, 23 and 31, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a time of arrival of the first signal in response to receiving, via the transceiver, a request to measure the time of arrival of the first signal. Keating discloses wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a time of arrival of the first signal in response to receiving, via the transceiver, a request to measure the time of arrival of the first signal (see figure 5) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 6, 15, 24 and 32, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein the first signal occupies fewer than all subcarriers across a bandwidth of the first signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indications of an expected reference signal time difference and an expected reference signal time difference uncertainty; and select one of a plurality of candidate times of arrival, from measurement of the first signal, based on the expected reference signal time difference and the expected reference signal time difference uncertainty. Keating discloses wherein the first signal occupies fewer than all subcarriers across a bandwidth of the first signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indications of an expected reference signal time difference and an expected reference signal time difference uncertainty; and select one of a plurality of candidate times of arrival, from measurement of the first signal, based on the expected reference signal time difference and the expected reference signal time difference uncertainty (see paragraphs [0080]-[0085]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 8, 17, 26 and 34, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein the first signal comprises a plurality of first signals each corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of antenna ports of the transmission/reception point, and wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a plurality of times of arrival each corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of first signals, and wherein the processor is further configured to select, as an actual time of arrival, which of the plurality of times of arrival corresponds to a shortest travel time from the transmission/reception point to the user equipment. Keating discloses wherein the first signal comprises a plurality of first signals each corresponding to a respective one of a plurality of antenna ports of the transmission/reception point, and wherein to measure the first signal the processor is configured to measure a plurality of times of arrival each corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of first signals, and wherein the processor is further configured to select, as an actual time of arrival, which of the plurality of times of arrival corresponds to a shortest travel time from the transmission/reception point to the user equipment (see figures 1 & 3) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 41, 55, 69 and 83, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein the first signal is a channel reference signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a request for the user equipment to measure the channel reference signal while the user equipment is in a radio resource control inactive mode or a radio resource control idle mode. Keating discloses wherein the first signal is a channel reference signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a request for the user equipment to measure the channel reference signal while the user equipment is in a radio resource control inactive mode or a radio resource control idle mode (see paragraphs [0081]-[0083] and figure 5) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 42, 56, 70 and 84, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein the transmission/reception point is a first transmission/reception point, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, an expected reference signal time difference between the first signal and a third signal corresponding to a second transmission/reception point that is separate from the first transmission/reception point. Keating discloses wherein the transmission/reception point is a first transmission/reception point, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, an expected reference signal time difference between the first signal and a third signal corresponding to a second transmission/reception point that is separate from the first transmission/reception point (see paragraph [0048]) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Regarding Claims 43, 57, 71 and 85, Chen discloses the user equipment, the reference signal measurement method and the non-transitory, processor-readable storage medium as described above. Chen fails to disclose wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal, the processor is configured to schedule a multi-antenna-port channel reference signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a request for the user equipment to report a measurement of the first signal for each antenna port of the multi-antenna-port channel reference signal. Keating discloses wherein to schedule transmission of the first signal, the processor is configured to schedule a multi-antenna-port channel reference signal, and wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to the user equipment, a request for the user equipment to report a measurement of the first signal for each antenna port of the multi-antenna-port channel reference signal (see figure 5) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Keating’s invention with Chen’s invention for providing efficiency as described throughout Keating. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHANTELL LAKETA HEIBER whose telephone number is (571)272-0886. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9am to 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Addy, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-7795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form. /SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 March 24, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 2 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 3 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 4 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 5 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 6 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 7 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 8 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 9 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 10 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 11 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 12 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 13 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/701,840 Page 14 Art Unit: 2645