DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to 7/8/2024.
Claims 1-18 and 31-42 are pending.
Claims 1, 10, 31, and 40 are rejected.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, 32-39, and 41-42 are objected to.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2024 and 6/5/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“UE” in Claim 1, line 1 should be written as user equipment (UE) as it is the first instance of the acronym being used in the claims. Claims 2-9 are objected to by the virtue of its dependency on claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The originally filed specification provides the description necessary to support the limitations of claims 40-42. The corresponding structure, material, or acts is described in the specification itself in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure will perform the recited function. Each “means for” feature shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 31, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al. US 20220052813 A1, hereinafter Si, in view of ZTE, “Discussion on potential NR positioning enhancements”, R1-2007755 (as cited in IDS), hereinafter ZTE.
Regarding Claim 1, Si discloses a UE (Si Fig. 1: Terminal 11; Fig. 22: Terminal 2200) comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Si Fig. 22: Terminal 2200), configured to:
receive, via the transceiver from a network entity, an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing positioning reference signal (OFDM PRS) comprising a first set of first OFDM symbols that are consecutive and include a first center symbol and at least one pair of first side symbols disposed symmetrically about the first center symbol and having identical resource element sounding patterns (Si [0079] SRS resource on an orthogonal frequency division multiplex (OFDM) symbol; [0125] It should be noted that an uplink resource used for positioning may not be limited to the SRS, and may also be other uplink positioning reference signals or uplink positioning resources; Figs. 7-8: discloses at least one pair of PRS symbols symmetrically disposed around a PRS symbol in the middle).
Si fails to explicitly disclose the UE configured to: combine the first side symbols in each of the at least one pair of first side symbols to produce at least one first combined symbol; and determine a measurement of the received OFDM PRS based on the at least one first combined symbol and the first center symbol.
However, in the same field of endeavor, ZTE more specifically discloses the UE configured to:
combine the first side symbols in each of the at least one pair of first side symbols to produce at least one first combined symbol; and determine a measurement of the received OFDM PRS based on the at least one first combined symbol and the first center symbol (ZTE section 3.1: comb-2 4-symbol pattern where the last two symbols are the repetition of first two symbols; combination gain of different repetitions; see also Figure 2 and Proposal 2: discloses a comparison of two patterns and the UE determines a measurement based on the PRS pattern; sections 4 and 5: also discloses measurements related to positioning a terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Si with the teachings of ZTE for enhancements to NR positioning for accuracy and latency.
Claims 10, 31, and 40 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Claims 10, 31, and 40 recite similar features as in claim 1 for a method, NCRM, and an apparatus of a UE, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9, 11-18, 32-39, and 41-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu et al. US 20250088328 A1
Si US 20220231816 A1
Stare et al. US 20220116169 A1
Ernstrom et al. US 20220086787 A1
/Y.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465