DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-35 are pending in the case. Claims 16, 29, and 33 are independent claims. Claims 1-15 have been canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim to foreign priority of Chinese application CN202111278479.1 filed 10/30/2021. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/128224 filed 10/28/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-24, 26, and 29-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miura et al. (US 2015/0229802 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Miura teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by an electronic device (smartphone 1 of FIG. 1; FIG. 2 and [0049]; For supplementary details regarding the smartphone 1, see [0019-0020], [0028-0031], [0036-0042], and [0045]), a first user operation, wherein the first user operation instructs to save a first media file (S12 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: user selects icon 50b to save a first media file);
displaying, by the electronic device, a first window for the first media file based on the first user operation, wherein the first window provides a manner of editing file information of the first media file (S13 of FIG. 2 and [0050]: a first window/group setting window 50c is displayed based on the first user operation. The first window allows a user to edit file information of the first media file);
obtaining, by the electronic device, edited file information of the first media file (S14-S17 of FIG. 2 and [0051-0053]: edited file information of the first media file is obtained. In this example, the file information is now tagged under “travel”); and
saving, by the electronic device, the first media file, the edited file information of the first media file, and a mapping relationship between the first media file and the edited file information of the first media file (image folder 9B of FIG. 1 and [0031], [0036], and [0040]; S17 of FIG. 2 and [0053]: “The smartphone 1 stores data of the image photographed by the camera 12 after Step S18 in the image folder 9B, in association with the selected group.” That is, the first media file, the edited file information, and a mapping relationship between the first media file and the edited file information, including the selected “travel” group, is saved).
Regarding claim 17, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein before receiving, by the electronic device, the first user operation, the method further comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, a preset condition, wherein the preset condition is configured for screening one or more media files saved by the electronic device (S13-S14 of FIG. 2 and [0050-0051]: a preset condition corresponds to whether a group setting is configured ON or OFF. Before the first user operation, it can be seen that the default configuration is OFF); and
wherein determining, by the electronic device, the preset condition comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, the preset condition based on a second operation of a user (S13-S14 of FIG. 2 and [0050-0051]: the preset condition is determined based on whether a second operation of a user swiping has occurred to switch the display of the operating part C1 from OFF to ON); or
determining, by the electronic device, the preset condition based on a status of the electronic device (S11-S12 of FIG. 2 and [0048-0050] and [0053]: in contrast to the current selected group seen at 50d at S18 of FIG. 2, S11-S12 do not have a current selected group. Thus, based on the status of the electronic device seen at S11-S12, the preset condition is determined to be OFF for the group setting, which is further evidenced in S13).
Regarding claim 18, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein outputting, by the electronic device, the first window for the first media file based on the first user operation comprises:
obtaining, by the electronic device, related information of the first media file based on the first user operation; and
determining, by the electronic device, that the related information of the first media file meets a preset condition, and outputting the first window for the first media file (S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: based on the first user operation of selecting icon 50b, related information, such as group setting, of the first media file is obtained. In this case, the related information meets a preset condition of being configured as OFF, so the first window 50c is displayed with an operating part C1 set to OFF).
Regarding claim 19, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the related information of the first media file comprises an application that saves the first media file ([0028-0031]), and determining, by the electronic device, that the related information of the first media file meets the preset condition comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the application that saves the first media file is a preset application ([0028-0031]: an application of storage 9 saves the first media file; S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: based on the first user operation of selecting icon 50b, related information of the first media file is obtained. In this case, the related information meets a preset condition of being configured as OFF, so the first window 50c is displayed with an operating part C1 set to OFF).
Regarding claim 20, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the related information of the first media file comprises a storage path of the first media file ([0028-0031]), and determining, by the electronic device, that the related information of the first media file meets the preset condition comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the storage path of the first media file is a preset path ([0028-0031]: an application of storage 9 saves the first media file at storage path corresponding to that application; S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: based on the first user operation of selecting icon 50b, related information of the first media file is obtained. In this case, the related information meets a preset condition of being configured as OFF, so the first window 50c is displayed with an operating part C1 set to OFF).
Regarding claim 21, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein the related information of the first media file comprises a media file type of the first media file (FIG. 4 and [0058-0059]: for example, a media file type of the first media file is an image file), and determining, by the electronic device, that the related information of the first media file meets the preset condition comprises:
determining, by the electronic device, that the media file type of the first media file is a preset file type (FIG. 4 and [0058-0059]; S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: based on the first user operation of selecting icon 50b, related information of the first media file is obtained. In this case, the related information meets a preset condition of being configured as OFF, so the first window 50c is displayed with an operating part C1 set to OFF).
Regarding claim 22, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein outputting, by the electronic device, the first window for the first media file based on the first user operation comprises:
outputting, by the electronic device, a first notification for the first media file based on the first user operation, wherein the first notification indicates to a user to edit the file information of the first media file (S13 of FIG. 2 and [0050]: a first notification at C1 indicates a user to edit the file information of the first media file); and
receiving, by the electronic device, a second user operation corresponding to the first notification, and outputting the first window (S14-S15 of FIG. 2 and [0051]: a second user operation switching the display of the operating part C1 from OFF to ON occurs. The first window is outputted as seen at S15, this time with the group setting set to ON).
Regarding claim 23, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein the file information of the first media file comprises one or more of the following: a virtual file name, one or more category names, or one or more label names (S13 of FIG. 2 and [0050]: the file information comprises at least one or more label names).
Regarding claim 24, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein after saving, by the electronic device, the first media file, the edited file information of the first media file, and the mapping relationship between the first media file and the edited file information of the first media file, the method further comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, the first media file based on the edited file information of the first media file ([0053], S36-S38 of FIG. 6 and [0076-0078]: the first media file is displayed within “travel” group based on the edited file information).
Regarding claim 26, Miura further teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein displaying, by the electronic device, the first window for the first media file based on the first user operation comprises:
detecting, by the electronic device through a first interface, a saving operation on the first media file, wherein the first interface is configured to be invoked to save at least one media file; and
outputting, by the electronic device, the first window for the first media file (S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0048-0050], and [0053]: through a first interface/screen 50, a saving operation occurs on the first media file. The first window 50c is outputted for the first media file based on the first user operation.).
Regarding claims 29-32, the claims recite an electronic device (smartphone 1 of FIG. 1; FIG. 2 and [0049]; For supplementary details regarding the smartphone 1, see [0019-0020], [0028-0031], [0036-0042], and [0045])), comprising: one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories are respectively coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the computer instructions are run on the processor (FIG. 1 and [0038-0040]), the electronic device is enabled to perform operations comprising those corresponding to the method of claims 16-19, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claims 33-34, the claims recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium, storing one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are configured to be executed by one or more processors (FIG. 1, [0028-0031], and [0038-0040]), the one or more programs comprise instructions, and the instructions enable an electronic device to perform operations comprising those corresponding to the method of claims 16 and 17, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Regarding claim 35, Miura further teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 34, wherein displaying the first window for the first media file based on the first user operation comprises:
obtaining related information of the first media file based on the first user operation; and
determining that the related information of the first media file meets the preset condition, and outputting the first window for the first media file (S11-S13 of FIG. 2 and [0049-0050]: based on the first user operation of selecting icon 50b, related information, such as group setting, of the first media file is obtained. In this case, the related information meets a preset condition of being configured as OFF, so the first window 50c is displayed with an operating part C1 set to OFF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 2015/0229802 A1), in view of Kutner et al. (US 20160012078 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Miura teaches the method according to claim 23, wherein the file information of the first media file comprises the one or more label names (S13 of FIG. 2 and [0050]), and the method further comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, one or more media files that have a mapping relationship with the first label name, wherein the one or more media files comprise the first media file ([0053], S36-S38 of FIG. 6 and [0076-0078]: the first media file is displayed within “travel” group based on the edited file information).
Miura does not explicitly teach receiving, by the electronic device, a search instruction, wherein the search instruction comprises a first label name; and performing, by the electronic device, indexing based on the first label name, wherein the first label name is one of the one or more label names.
Kutner teaches receiving, by the electronic device, a search instruction, wherein the search instruction comprises a first label name;
performing, by the electronic device, indexing based on the first label name, wherein the first label name is one of the one or more label names ([0041]: “The application 118 may then associate the following enhanced metadata with the ten pictures (or the like): 4th of July, raining (for example), at parent's house, and Seattle. The application 118 may also group the ten pictures together as being related and enable the user to subsequently search for these pictures by typing in queries such as “4th of July,” “raining,” and “parent's house,” or “Seattle.””)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miura by incorporating the teachings of Kutner so as to include receiving, by the electronic device, a search instruction, wherein the search instruction comprises a first label name; and performing, by the electronic device, indexing based on the first label name, wherein the first label name is one of the one or more label names. Doing so would allow the user to more quickly search and navigate to the desired images as the user may provide a search instruction rather than manually scanning through a list of images.
Claims 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 2015/0229802 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Miura teaches the method according to claim 16.
In another embodiment, Miura teaches wherein the first user operation further instructs to save a second media file, the first window further for provides a manner of editing file information of the second media file, and the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the electronic device, the file information of the second media file; and
saving, by the electronic device, the second media file, edited file information of the second media file, and a mapping relationship between the second media file and the edited file information of the second media file (FIG. 7 and [0083]: file information of a second media file is obtained. A second media file may be saved along with the edited file information and the mapping relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miura’s first embodiment by incorporating the teachings of Miura’s second embodiment so as to include wherein the first user operation further instructs to save a second media file, the first window further for provides a manner of editing file information of the second media file, and the method further comprises: obtaining, by the electronic device, the file information of the second media file; and saving, by the electronic device, the second media file, edited file information of the second media file, and a mapping relationship between the second media file and the edited file information of the second media file. Doing so would allow the user to more efficiently modify, save, and organize multiple media files at the same time instead of having to manually save each individual media file.
Regarding claim 28, Miura teaches the method according to claim 16.
In another embodiment, Miura teaches wherein the first user operation further instructs to save a second media file, and the method further comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, a second window for the second media file, wherein the second window provides a manner of editing file information of the second media file;
obtaining, by the electronic device, edited file information of the second media file; and
saving, by the electronic device, the second media file, edited file information of the second media file, and a mapping relationship between the second media file and the edited file information of the second media file (FIG. 7 and [0083]: a second window as seen in S42-S47 is displayed. A file information of a second media file is obtained. A second media file may be saved along with the edited file information and the mapping relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miura’s first embodiment by incorporating the teachings of Miura’s second embodiment so as to include wherein the first user operation further instructs to save a second media file, and the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a second window for the second media file, wherein the second window provides a manner of editing file information of the second media file; obtaining, by the electronic device, edited file information of the second media file; and saving, by the electronic device, the second media file, edited file information of the second media file, and a mapping relationship between the second media file and the edited file information of the second media file. Doing so would allow the user to more efficiently modify, save, and organize multiple media files at the same time instead of having to manually save each individual media file. Moreover, a second window may have a different layout that can accommodate multiple media files more effectively to allow the user to more efficiently browse an increased number of media files for organization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 8724004 B2: tag editing of images
US 8028249 B2: grouping large multimedia object collections using organizational metaphors and metadata
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171