DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-7 and 19 in the reply filed on 5/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. (US 2018/0304573) in view of Henderson (US 2016/0186309).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, and 19, Tokunaga teaches a multilayer barrier film (Tokunaga para 32) that may be formed into packaging (Tokunaga para 3) with an exemplary embodiment of 5 layers (Tokunaga para 32), which may be considered ‘alternately laminated’ as the barrier layer (item 12) is sandwiched between biodegradable resin layers (10a, b) (Tokunaga para 32, 36, 41), where the biodegradable resin layers form the first resin layers and may be any one of polylactic acid (Tokunaga abs), polycaprolactone, polyhydroxyalkanoate, polyglycolic acid, and/or polybutylene succinate (Tokunaga para 38). Tokunaga further teaches that the barrier material may be a polyvinyl alcohol, including PVOH copolymers (Tokunaga para 42, 43).
Tokunaga is silent with respect to the second-a resin layer (i.e. barrier/PVOH layer) being butenediol vinyl alcohol copolymer, and thus that the degree of saponification of the BVOH is 30% or more, that the oxygen permeability is 30 cc/m2∙atm∙day or less, and that that the haze is 10% or less.
Tokunaga and Henderson are related in the field of multilayer packagings utilizing polyvinyl alcohol copolymers as an oxygen barrier layer. Henderson teaches the use of 80-97.9% saponified butenediol vinyl alcohol (BVOH) (Henderson para 68) due to its improved oxygen barrier performance over PVOH and EVOH (Henderson para 69) with an oxygen transmission rate of about 0.0023 cc/m2∙atm∙day at 20 °C (Henderson para 69, 70, Table 1) and a haze of 30% or less to achieve transparency in the visible range (Henderson para 75). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize BVOH as the oxygen barrier layer in Tokunaga as taught by Henderson because this would improve the oxygen barrier behavior of Tokunaga compared to PVOH or EVOH, as shown by the substantial reduction in oxygen transmittance and low haze.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the degree of saponification, oxygen transmission rate, and haze taught by Tokunaga in view of Henderson overlaps with the instantly claimed values of the degree of saponification, oxygen transmission rate, and haze and are therefore considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Tokunaga in view of Henderson teaches a multilayer barrier film as above for claim 1. Tokunaga further teaches that the thickness of each of the two exterior layers (“first resin layers”) should at least 10% the total thickness of the film to inhibit rupture and breakage (Tokunaga para 37). One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the thickness relationship taught by Tokunaga overlaps with the instantly claimed thickness relationship and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 6/27/26