DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5-11, the oxygen content is given in mol%, however, the examples in the specification are given in at% and there appears to be no teachings in the specification to define the relationship between mol% and at%. The examiner assumes these units are equivalent and interchangeable. Clarification and/or confirmation of this is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vautard (WO 2019/132866) in view of Mehlem (WO 2011/123406).
Regarding claims 1-4, Vautard teaches a rubber composition ([0002]) comprising:
an elastomer such as polybutadiene ([0037}) or styrene butadiene copolymers ([0041])
a reduced graphene oxide (Abstract)
and a crosslinking system ([0045])
Vautard teaches that the elastomers can be functionalized ([0036]), however fails to teach the tin-functionalization.
Mehlem teaches a rubber composition (Abstract) which has tin functionalized diene rubbers (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the elastomers of Vautard have the tin functionalization as taught by Mehlem. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of improving tread wear and reduced rolling resistance (Mehlem, [0014]).
Regarding claims 5-14, Vautard teaches that the reduced graphene oxide has a surface area of at least 700 m2/g and an oxygen content of no more that 6 % (Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Vautard teaches that the styrene-butadiene rubber is obtained by solvent polymerization ([0036]).
Regarding claim 17, Vautard teaches a tire made from the rubber composition of claim 1 ([0005]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vautard (WO 2019/132866) in view of Mehlem (WO 2011/123406) and Halasa et al (US 2010/0206443).
The discussion regarding Vautard and Mehlem in paragraph 5 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 15, Vautard fails to teach the number average molecular weight.
Halasa teaches a styrene-butadiene rubber ([0015]) with a number average molecular weight of 100,000 to 475,000 ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention have the SBR of Vautard have the molecular weight as taught by Halasa. One would have been motivated to use an appropriate SBR rubber for use in tire applications with good wear resistance and low rolling resistance (Halasa, [0010]).
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764