Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krell (US 2014/0255704) in view of Jungkuist et al (US 2011/0072961).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 Krell teaches a transparent composite panes (laminated sheets) for safety (security) applications (Krell para 1) comprising one or more monocrystalline magnesium aluminate spinel layers, a laminated glass layer, and a polymer (plastic) layer (Krell para 33-36) (reads on both first block (A) and second block (B)), which provides for a high individual laminate protective effect, high transparency, and high quality (Krell para 12, 14, 18, 28).
Krell is silent to the transparent laminated composite panes being utilized in a compartmentalized construction which comprises a first ‘block’ (pane) separated from a second block (pane) by a gas-filled compartment.
Krell and Jungkuist are related in the field of transparent panes for protective applications. Jungkuist teaches a pair of transparent laminates which may be glass or other transparent materials (Jungkuist para 27) spaced apart to form an air gap between (Jungkuist para 28) to form spaced transparent armor (Junkuist para 1-4). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the transparent composite panes of Krell as both of the transparent laminates (and thus Block A and Block B) in the spaced armor of Junkuist because the laminate of Krell provides the benefits of high transparency, high quality, and high protective effect for the transparent laminate layers.
Regarding claim 3, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 1. Krell further teaches that the transparent ceramic may be a single plate or a series of plates arranged as a mosaic (Krell para 31, 34, 37, 38).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 3. Krell further teaches that the ceramic series of plates may be joined by an adhesion promoting joining means that matches the refractive index of the transparent ceramic (Krell para 22, 36, 37).
Regarding claim 5, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 1. Krell teaches that the transparent ceramic layer does not show any coloration issues until >10 mm thickness (Krell para 42) and provides examples of thickness 4.4 mm (Krell para 51), providing a functional range of about 4.4 mm to about 10 mm. This overlaps with the claimed range of 5-15 mm. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the thickness taught by Krell in view of Junkist overlaps with the instantly claimed thickness and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 1. As both Block A and Block B would be the same, one or both blocks would have the ceramic directly or indirectly contacting the gas-filled region.
Regarding claim 7, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 1. Krell further teaches the layers may be joined by an adhesion promoting means (Krell para 22).
Regarding claim 10, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 1. Krell teaches that it may be used in panes or windows in the civilian and military sectors (Krell para 28).
Regarding claim 11, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet as above for claim 10. Krell further teaches the use in vehicles, flying objects and/or personal protection (Krell para 29).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, Krell in view of Junkuist teaches a transparent laminated sheet used in protection applications as above for claim 10. It would be expected for the same materials with the claimed two-pane and gap structure, at the same thickness (such as that provided within Krell, see claim 5) to provide the same function of protecting from a projectile with a tungsten carbide core.
Conclusion
/LAURA B FIGG/Examiner, Art Unit 1781 3/25/26