Status of the Claims
Per Applicant’s amendment to the claims, submitted on 08/13/2026, claim 1 is amended, and claims 6-15, 42-44, and 56-60 are canceled. Currently, claims 1-5, 16-41, and 45-55 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/078187 filed on 10/17/2022, and claims priority to provisional application 63/256,850 filed on 10/18/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 and 08/12/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
In reply to the restriction requirement, Applicant has elected the following invention:
Group I, Claims 1-39 and 40-44, drawn to a compound of Formula I and compositions comprising said compound.
Applicant has further elected the following species in response to the Species Election:
A single compound of 11SS, 4-(3-(((1S,3S)-3-aminocyclohexyl)methyl)amino)-1-(4- methoxyphenyl)-1Hpyrazol-5-yl)-2-fluorobenzonitile,
A single disease to be treated: Sickle cell disease.
Applicant’s elected species read on claims 1-5, 16-41, and 45-55.
Per the Restriction Requirement, the examined claims will be restricted to claims 1-5 and 16-41. Per the Species Election, the examined claims will be limited to claims 1-5 and 16-41. Claims and 45-55 are withdrawn from consideration. The elected compound appears to be free of the art, however the withdrawn claims will not be rejoined, as all the examined claims are not in condition for allowance.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 objected to because of the following informalities: Grammar. The instant claim recites “wherein R1 optionally substituted with one R6”. The claim should read “wherein R1 is optionally substituted with one R6” (underlined for emphasis). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 21, 24, and 34-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or incorporating the limitations of said claims into parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (KR20190040783 A) in view of Richardson (EXPERT OPINION ON DRUG DISCOVERY 2021, VOL. 16, NO. 11, 1261–1286).
Claim 1 recites a compound of Formula I:
Bae teaches compounds as LSD1 (i.e., KDMA1) inhibitors, methods of making such compounds, and methods of use of said compounds for treating LSD1 related diseases. Of particular relevance to the instant claims is the following compound (specification [0175]):
The above compound meets the following limitations of a compound of Formula I:
R1 is aryl substituted with R7, wherein R7 is alkyl
R2 and R3 come together to form a heterocycloalkyl ring substituted with R8, wherein R8 is NH2
The above compound meets all limitations of a compound of Formula I save for the corresponding R4 moiety. The corresponding R4 moiety of the compound of Bae is an aryl group substituted by a single cyano group, while R4 of the instant claim is an aryl group substituted by a cyano group and a fluorine:
Formula I
Compound of Bae
While Bae does not explicitly teach a compound of Formula I, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Bae to develop a compound of the instant claim because Richardson teaches fluorination of lead compounds in drug discovery, and there would be a reasonable expectation that a fluorinated analog of the compound of Bae would be effective in treating LSD1 related diseases.
Richardson provides a general overview of fluorination as a technique for use in the practice of drug discovery. Richardson indicates that fluorination of lead compounds carry potential benefits such as reductions in in vivo metabolization, blockade of reactive positions, increase in half life, and increase in bioavailability (page 1261)1. Richardson further indicates that fluorine is commonly used as an isosteric replacement for hydrogen due to its van der Waal’s radius (page 1263)2. Furthermore, Richardson indicates that fluorination may be used to modulate interactions with target proteins, stabilize ligands by altering conformation, and to improve the pharmacokinetic profile of lead compounds (page 1263)3.
Given the teachings of both Bae and Richardson, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to modify the compound of Bae by the process of fluorination. There would have been a reasonable expectation that fluorinating the compound of Bae would result in a compound being bioisosteric with the original lead compound and having any of the advantages described by Richardson. Furthermore, as the teachings of Bae are directed to the treatment of LSD1 (KDMA1) related diseases, one of ordinary skill in the art would further reasonably expect success in treating such diseases with said fluorinated compound.
Claim 2 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein the compound is of Formula (IIa) or (IIb):
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate at least a compound of Formula (IIa).
Claim 3 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R5 is selected from H, F, and Cl.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate a compound of Formula (I) wherein R5 is H.
Claim 4 further limits the compound of claim 3 wherein R5 is selected from H and Cl.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate a compound of Formula (I) wherein R5 is H.
Claim further limits the compound of claim 3 wherein R5 is H.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate a compound of Formula (I) wherein R5 is H.
Claim 16 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein the compound has a structure of Formula (IIIa) or (IIIb):
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate a compound of Formula (IIIa).
Claim(s) 17-20 and 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujisawa (AU 2004200420 A1) in view of Richardson.
Claim 17 recites the compound of claim 1 wherein R2 is H.
Fujisawa teaches compounds having COX inhibiting activity and methods of use of said compounds in treating COX mediated diseases (page 59)4. Of particular relevance to the instant claims is the following compound 3-Amino-5-(4-cyanophenyl)-I-(6-methoxy-3-pyridyl)-1H-pyrazole (page 21), represented by the following structure:
The above compound meets the following limitations of a compound of Formula I:
R1 is aryl substituted with R7, wherein R7 is alkoxy
R2 and R3 are each H
The above compound meets all limitations of a compound of Formula I save for the corresponding R4 moiety. The corresponding R4 moiety of the compound of Bae is an aryl group substituted by a single cyano group, while R4 of the instant claim is an aryl group substituted by a cyano group and a fluorine:
Formula I
Compound of Fujisawa
Richardson provides a general overview of fluorination as a technique for use in the practice of drug discovery. Richardson indicates that fluorination of lead compounds carry potential benefits such as reductions in in vivo metabolization, blockade of reactive positions, increase in half life, and increase in bioavailability (page 1261)5. Richardson further indicates that fluorine is commonly used as an isosteric replacement for hydrogen due to its van der Waal’s radius (page 1263)6. Furthermore, Richardson indicates that fluorination may be used to modulate interactions with target proteins, stabilize ligands by altering conformation, and to improve the pharmacokinetic profile of lead compounds (page 1263)7.
Given the teachings of Fujisawa and Richardson, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious to modify the compound of Fujisawa by the process of fluorination. There would have been a reasonable expectation that fluorinating the compound of Fujisawa would result in a compound being bioisosteric with the original lead compound and having any of the advantages described by Richardson. Furthermore, as the teachings of Fujisawa are directed to the treatment of diseases mediated by COX, one of ordinary skill in the art would further reasonably expect success in treating such diseases with said fluorinated compound.
Claim 18 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R3 is chosen from is chosen from H, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, aryl, heteroaryl, (cycloalkyl)C₁.₆alkyl, (heterocycloalky1)C1-6alkyl, (aryl)C₁₋₆alkyl, and (heteroaryl)C₁.₆alkyl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R8.
The combined teachings of Fujisawa and Richardson obviate a compound of Formula I wherein R3 is H.
Claim 19 further limits the compound of claim 18 wherein R 3 is chosen from H, cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, aryl, heteroaryl, (cycloalkyl)methyl, (heterocycloalkyl)methyl, (aryl)methyl, and (heteroaryl)methyl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R⁸.
The combined teachings of Fujisawa and Richardson obviate a compound of Formula I wherein R3 is H.
Claim 20 further limits the compound of claim 19 wherein R 3 is chosen from H, C₃-₁₀cycloalkyl, 4- to 10-membered heterocycloalkyl, C6-10aryl, 5-to 10-membered heteroaryl, (C₃-₁₀cycloalkyl)methyl, (4- to 10-membered heterocycloalkyl)methyl, (C₆.₁₀aryl)methyl, and (5- to 10-membered heteroaryl)methyl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R⁸.
The combined teachings of Fujisawa and Richardson obviate a compound of Formula I wherein R3 is H.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 25-33, and 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae in view of Richardson.
Claim 22 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein each R8 is independently chosen from -NHR¹¹ and NHC(=NH)NHR¹¹.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R8 is NH2.
Claim 23 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R11 is hydrogen.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R8 is NHR11, and further wherein R11 is H.
Claim 25 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R2 and R3, together with the intervening nitrogen, combine to form heterocycloalkyl chosen from pyrrolidinyl, piperidinyl, azepanyl, octahydroquinolinyl, octahydro-1H-pyrrolo[3,2-c]pyridin-5-yl,2,6- diazaspiro[3,4]octan-6-yl, 2,7-diazaspiro[4,4]nonan-2-yl, 1,8- diazaspiro[4,5]decan-8-yl, 2,7-diazaspiro[4,5]decan-7-yl,3,9- diazaspiro[5.5]undecan-3-yl, 9-oxa-3,7-diazabicyclo[3.3.1]nonan-3-yl, and (3aR, 8aS)-decahydropyrrolo[3,4-d]azepin-6-yl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R8.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R3 and R4 form a piperidinyl ring substituted with a single R8.
Claim 26 further limits the compound of claim 25 wherein R² and R³, together with the intervening nitrogen, combine to form heterocycloalkyl chosen from pyrrolidinyl, piperidinyl, azepanyl, and octahydroquinolinyl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R8.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R3 and R4 form a piperidinyl ring substituted with a single R8.
Claim 27 further limits the compound of claim 25 wherein R2 and R3 combine to form one of the following:
Bae teaches the following compound 4-[3-(4-Amino-1-piperidinyl)-1-(4-methylphenyl)-1H-pyrazol-5-yl]benzonitrile (page 7), represented by the following structure:
Similarly to the previous compound cited in the rejection of claim 1, the above claim meets all limitations save for the fluorine on the corresponding R4 moiety. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound of the instant claim for the same reason as stated in claim 1. Namely, that the fluorination of the above compound would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, the above compound in view of Richardson would obviate a compound wherein R3 is selected from any of the following:
Claim 28 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R1 is chosen from (C₃.₇)cycloalky1, 4- to 7-membered heterocycloalkyl, (C₆-₁₀)aryl, and 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl, any of which is optionally substituted with one R⁶ and one or more R⁷, wherein R6 is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R1 is C6 aryl substituted with an R7, wherein R7 is alkyl.
Claim 29 further limits the compound of claim 28 wherein R¹ is chosen from (C₆-₁₀)aryl and 5- to 10-membered heteroaryl, either of which is optionally substituted with one R6 and one or more R⁷, wherein R6 is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R1 is C6 aryl substituted with an R7, wherein R7 is alkyl.
Claim 30 further limits the compound of claim 29 wherein R1 is chosen from:
Wherein each of the above is optionally substituted with one R6 and one or more R⁷, wherein R6 is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R1 is
substituted with R7, wherein R7 is alkyl.
Claim 31 further limits the compound of claim 30 wherein R1 is phenyl and is optionally substituted with one R⁶ and one or more R⁷, wherein R⁶ is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R1 is phenyl substituted with R7, wherein R7 is alkyl.
Claim 32 further limits the compound of claim 31 wherein R1 is
As the substitutions are optional, the combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound of the instant claim wherein R1 is
, and R7 is alkyl
Claim 33 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R6 is chosen from cycloalkyl, heterocycloalkyl, aryl, and heteroaryl, any of which is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰.
Bae teaches the following compound 4-[3-[(3R)-3-Amino-1-piperidinyl]-1-(4-cyclopropylphenyl)-1H-pyrazol-5-yl]benzonitrile (page 7) represented by the following structure:
The above structure has a corresponding R6 moiety which is cycloalkyl. As iterated previously in the rejection of claim 1 the combined teachings of Bae and Richardson would obviate a fluorinated compound of the above, and such fluorination would be obvious for the same reasons as previously provided.
Claim 36 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein each R10 is chosen from cyano, hydroxy, alkyl, hydroxyalkyl, and alkoxy.
As the instant claim is dependent upon the substitution of an optional R6 group, the previously indicated obvious fluorinated compounds of Bae in view of Richardson would obviate the instant claim as no corresponding R6 group is present.
Claim 37 further limits the compound of claim 36 wherein R⁷ is chosen from methyl, isopropyl, F, Cl, -CH2CH2OH, -OCH₂CH₂OH, methoxy, ethoxy, isopropoxy, and (1,3-difluoropropan-2-yl)oxy.
The instant claim is dependent upon the substitution of an optional R6 group. Accordingly, the instant claim is obvious for the same reasons as claim 36.
Claim 38 further limits the compound of claim 1 wherein R⁷ is chosen from methyl, isopropyl, F, Cl, -CH2CH2OH, -OCH₂CH₂OH, methoxy, ethoxy, isopropoxy, and (1,3-difluoropropan-2-yl)oxy.
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein R7 is methyl.
Claim 39 further limits he compound of claim 1 wherein R¹ optionally substituted with one R⁶ and one or more R⁷ wherein R6 is optionally substituted with one or more R¹⁰ is chosen from
The combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate a compound wherein is substituted by a single R7, wherein R7 is methyl.
Claim 40 recites a compound chosen from the list of recited compounds.
Of the compounds of the instant claim, the combined teachings of Bae and Richardson obviate at least the following compound:
As iterated in the rejection of claim 1, the teachings of Bae in view of Richardson obviate fluorinated analogs of the compounds of Bae. In particular the above compound recited in the instant claim is a fluorinated analog of the following compound:
Accordingly, the instant claim is obvious for the same reasons as iterated in the claim 1 rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
The individual compound species of claim 41 appear to be free of the art. No other claims are in condition for allowance. However, certain claims appear to contain allowable subject matter. More specifically, claims 21, 24, and 34-35 appear to contain subject matter not taught or suggested by the prior art. The prior art does not appear to teach or suggest the moieties of R3 provided by claims 21 and 24, and likewise for claims 34-35 wherein R6 is present and substituted upon R1. While the aforementioned claims contain allowable subject matter, the claims are objected to as being dependent upon a previously rejected parent claim (see claim objections).
Conclusion
Claims 1-5, 16-20, 22-23, 25-33, and 36-40 are rejected.
Claims 21, 24, 32, and 34-35 are objected to.
/ERIC TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629
1 “With this purpose in mind, the initial rationale for introducing fluorine was to both reduce in vivo metabolism as well as block potentially reactive positions with fluorine as we will see considered to be an isostere of hydrogen [16]. Size-wise, fluorine is closer to a hydroxyl group (Van der Waals radii ;F = 1.47 Å, OH = 1.4 Å, H = 1.2 Å) [17], and thus replacement of either oxygen or hydrogen with fluorine is often tolerated by biological targets [18], and has been utilized to increase drug half-life and exposure in humans. In addition to its size, the electronegativity of fluorine (Pauling Electronegativity ;F = 3.98, Cl = 3.16, O = 3.44, H = 2.2) influences key properties such as lipophilicity and pKa, and these effects can be exploited to improve solubility and bioavailability [19–21],while binding affinity can be impacted by a range of interactions that fluorine is capable of making with neighboring groups”
2 “The unique properties of fluorine have long been recognized within drug discovery and given that it typically does not resemble those of the other halogens, it is often employed as an isosteric replacement for hydrogen [72]. Although, often stated to be sterically analogous to hydrogen, from its van der Waal’s radius, fluorine is intermediate in size between a hydrogen and the oxygen of a hydroxyl group, and as such direct substitution does not induce significant changes from a steric perspective”
3 “However, being the most electro-negative element, the incorporation of fluorine has important consequences not only from an electronic perspective defining molecular interactions with the protein of interest, but also in stabilizing the ligand into the desired active conformation. This electronegativity of fluorine also impacts the pKa of proximal functional groups, and this element has often been utilized for example to modulate the basicity of nitrogen atoms in order to improve the pharmacokinetic profile of a lead series”
4 “The object compound (I) and pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, therefore, are useful for treating and/or preventing COX mediated diseases, inflammatory conditions, various pains, collagen diseases, autoimmune diseases, various immunological diseases, thrombosis, cancer and neurodegenerative diseases in human beings or animals by using administered systemically or topically”
5 “With this purpose in mind, the initial rationale for introducing fluorine was to both reduce in vivo metabolism as well as block potentially reactive positions with fluorine as we will see considered to be an isostere of hydrogen [16]. Size-wise, fluorine is closer to a hydroxyl group (Van der Waals radii ;F = 1.47 Å, OH = 1.4 Å, H = 1.2 Å) [17], and thus replacement of either oxygen or hydrogen with fluorine is often tolerated by biological targets [18], and has been utilized to increase drug half-life and exposure in humans. In addition to its size, the electronegativity of fluorine (Pauling Electronegativity ;F = 3.98, Cl = 3.16, O = 3.44, H = 2.2) influences key properties such as lipophilicity and pKa, and these effects can be exploited to improve solubility and bioavailability [19–21],while binding affinity can be impacted by a range of interactions that fluorine is capable of making with neighboring groups”
6 “The unique properties of fluorine have long been recognized within drug discovery and given that it typically does not resemble those of the other halogens, it is often employed as an isosteric replacement for hydrogen [72]. Although, often stated to be sterically analogous to hydrogen, from its van der Waal’s radius, fluorine is intermediate in size between a hydrogen and the oxygen of a hydroxyl group, and as such direct substitution does not induce significant changes from a steric perspective”
7 “However, being the most electro-negative element, the incorporation of fluorine has important consequences not only from an electronic perspective defining molecular interactions with the protein of interest, but also in stabilizing the ligand into the desired active conformation. This electronegativity of fluorine also impacts the pKa of proximal functional groups, and this element has often been utilized for example to modulate the basicity of nitrogen atoms in order to improve the pharmacokinetic profile of a lead series”