ETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 17th, 2024, is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The current application claims benefit of provisional application 63/271,903, filed on October 26th, 2021. Examiner acknowledges the applicant’s claim for priority.
Status of Claims
In the response dated July 7th, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 8, 10, 12, and 15. Claims 7 and 9 are canceled. Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In response to the argument put forward in the amendment, Examiner will address them in the order they were presented.
Regarding page 6, Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claim 12’s objection is withdrawn.
Regarding page 6-7, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the claims are directed towards a technical solution to a technical problem. Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and MPEP 2106.05(a) indicate that a practical application may be present where the claimed invention provides a technical solution to a technical problem. See, e.g., DDR Holdings, LLC. v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1259 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (finding that claiming a website that retained the “look and feel” of a host webpage provided a technological solution to the problem of retention of website visitors by utilizing a website descriptor that emulated the “look and feel” of the host webpage, where the problem arose out of the internet and was thus a technical problem). Here, the Examiner cannot find, nor has the Applicant identified, any technological problem that was caused by the technological environment to which the claims are confined.
Regarding page 8, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but the amendments require a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. Applicant argues that Iyer does not teach selecting a channel for monitoring a waveform feature based on identification of the waveform feature. Iyer teaches selecting one of the different processing channels for monitoring a particular waveform feature based on an identification of the particular waveform feature in the different physiological signals. ([0117] “processing circuitry 120 may receive detected cardiac event signals corresponding to the occurrence of detected R-waves and P-waves in the respective chambers of heart. Indications of detected R-waves and P-waves may be used for detecting ventricular and/or atrial tachyarrhythmia episodes, e.g., ventricular or atrial fibrillation episodes. Some detection channels may be configured to detect cardiac events, such as P-waves or R-waves” and [0118] “Sensing circuitry 122 may also include switching circuitry to select which of the available electrodes 132 (or electrode polarities) are used to sense the heart activity… Sensing circuitry 122 may also pass one or more digitized EGM signals to processing circuitry 120 for analysis, e.g., for use in cardiac rhythm discrimination”). Examiner concludes that Iyer teaches the written claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “processing module” in claims 1 and 15 and all dependent claims thereof.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses that processing module is formed by electronic circuitry in [0057].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture. However, it will be shown in the following steps, that claims 1-15 are nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 states:
An implantable medical device for sensing physiological signals, comprising:
an arrangement of at least a first electrode pole, a second electrode pole and a third electrode pole, said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole being configured to sense physiological signals; and
a processing module for processing physiological signals received via said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole;
wherein the processing module is configured to process different physiological signals received by different pairs of electrode poles of the arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole and to assess a cardiac function based on the processing
wherein the processing module is configured to process the different physiological signals in different processing channels;
wherein the processing module is configured to select one of the different processing channels for monitoring a particular waveform feature based on an identification of the particular waveform feature in the different physiological signals.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes because each bolded component can practically be performed by the human mind or with pen and paper. Other than reciting generic computer terms like a processing module and implantable medical device, nothing in the claims precludes the bold-font portions from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “processing module” language, “process different physiological signals received by different pairs of electrode poles of the arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole and to assess a cardiac function based on the processing” in the context of this claim encompasses a mental process of the healthcare provider determining the patient’s quality of cardiac signaling to address any irregularities. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Thus:
“process different physiological signals received by different pairs of electrode poles of the arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole and to assess a cardiac function based on the processing
… process the different physiological signals in different processing channels;
… select one of the different processing channels for monitoring a particular waveform feature based on an identification of the particular waveform feature in the different physiological signals.”
as drafted, could lay out the mental process of a clinician understanding the various cardiac signals of a patient with the intent to diagnose a patient. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, these steps include mental processes as an abstract idea.
Independent claim 15 covers similar steps of sensing physiological signals and processing these signals and assesses a cardiac function based on the received signals. These claims fall under the same category of an abstract idea and follow the same rationale as claim 1.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claim 14, reciting particular aspects of how “wherein the processing module is configured to assess said cardiac function based on a comparison of at least two of the different physiological signals” may be performed in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components).
Dependent claims 3, 5, and 13 add additional elements to their parent claims which will be further inspected in the following steps for a practical application to their abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception of “Mental Processes” or “Organizing Human Activity” is not integrated into a practical application. Independent claim 1’s apparatus recites additional elements such as an implantable medical device, a processing module, and electrode poles. Independence claims 15’s method includes the generic components and additional elements listed above. The implantable medical device, processing module, and electrode poles will be analyzed further for conventionality. In particular, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements:
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of “said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole being configured to sense physiological signals” amounts to mere data gathering, recitation of “a processing module for processing physiological signals received via said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole” amounts to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as “An implantable medical device for sensing physiological signals, comprising: an arrangement of at least a first electrode pole, a second electrode pole and a third electrode pole,”, see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. For instance, dependent claim 13 adds an additional element of a housing to their parent claims. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The remaining dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10-12, and 14 do not recite additional elements or activity but further narrow or define the abstract idea embodied in the claims and hence also do not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of an implantable medical device. Burnes (US20040220635) demonstrates “The telemetry circuit 330 receives downlink telemetry from and sends uplink telemetry to an external programmer, as is conventional in implantable medical devices” in paragraph [0041] that an additional element was conventional long before the priority data of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional element, does not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of an electrode pole. Haefner et al. (US20040230243) demonstrates “the electrodes can alternatively be surface electrodes or conventional transvenous, epicardial, and/or endocardial electrodes or combinations of various types of electrodes” in paragraph [0093] that electrode poles were conventional long before the priority data of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional element, does not amount to significantly more. To elaborate: “a processing module for processing physiological signals received via said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole”, is equivalently, storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv);
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. These additional limitations amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of a housing. Larson et al. (US20030040781) demonstrates “In contrast to a conventional housing implementation, a shallow-drawn IMD housing of the present invention provides for a battery form factor of significantly reduced size” in paragraph [0060] that a housing for an IMD was conventional long before the priority data of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional element, does not amount to significantly more.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bardy et al. (US20210038105) in view of Iyer et al. (US20200001094).
Regarding claim 1, Bardy teaches an implantable medical device for sensing physiological signals, comprising: ([0082] “FIG. 15 is a diagram showing, by way of example, a subcutaneous P-wave centric ICM 212 for long term electrocardiographic monitoring”) an arrangement of at least a first electrode pole, a second electrode pole and a third electrode pole, said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole being configured to sense physiological signals; and ([0092] “Physically, the ICM 212 has four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219.”) a processing module for processing physiological signals received via said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole; ([0093] The four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219 are programmatically controlled by a microcontroller… The sensing circuitry can be programmed, either pre-implant or in situ, to use different combinations of the available ECG electrodes (and thereby changing electrode surface areas, shapes, and inter-electrode spacing), including pairing the two ventral ECG electrodes 216, 217, the two wraparound ECG electrodes 218, 219” where the electrode combinations [i.e., the arrangement of electrode poles] is processed through the processing module [i.e., the microcontroller]) wherein the processing module is configured to process different physiological signals received by different pairs of electrode poles of the arrangement [electron configurations] of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole and to assess a cardiac function [diagnostically relevant cardiac events] based on the processing. ([0093] “The four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219 are programmatically controlled by a microcontroller through onboard firmware programming to enable a physician to choose from several different electrode configurations”; [0046] “A full ECG consists of a stream of alphabetically-labeled waveforms 10” and [0076] “When operated standalone, the monitor recorder 142 senses and records the patient's ECG data 166” where the ECG data comprises different physiological signals; see also [0018] “In a further embodiment, diagnostically relevant cardiac events can be identified as the temporal point of reference.”) wherein the processing module is configured to process the different physiological signals in different processing channels; ([0093] “The sensing circuitry can be programmed, either pre-implant or in situ, to use different combinations of the available ECG electrodes (and thereby changing electrode surface areas, shapes, and inter-electrode spacing), including pairing the two ventral ECG electrodes 216, 217, the two wraparound ECG electrodes 218, 219, or one ventral ECG electrode 216, 217 with one wraparound ECG electrode 218, 219 located on the opposite end of the housing 215.” Where programmed to contain different combinations of electrodes comprises processing different physiological channels in different processing channels)
Regarding claim 1, Bardy does not explicitly teach, as taught by Iyer wherein the processing module is configured to select one of the different processing channels for monitoring a particular waveform feature based on an identification of the particular waveform feature in the different physiological signals. ([0117] “processing circuitry 120 may receive detected cardiac event signals corresponding to the occurrence of detected R-waves and P-waves in the respective chambers of heart. Indications of detected R-waves and P-waves may be used for detecting ventricular and/or atrial tachyarrhythmia episodes, e.g., ventricular or atrial fibrillation episodes. Some detection channels may be configured to detect cardiac events, such as P-waves or R-waves” and [0118] “Sensing circuitry 122 may also include switching circuitry to select which of the available electrodes 132 (or electrode polarities) are used to sense the heart activity… Sensing circuitry 122 may also pass one or more digitized EGM signals to processing circuitry 120 for analysis, e.g., for use in cardiac rhythm discrimination”)
Similar to Bardy, Iyer is a system that incorporates “implantable loop recorders… associated with leads that position electrodes or sensors at a desired location, or may be leadless with electrodes integrated into the device housing … to wirelessly transmit data either to another device implanted in the patient or to another instrument” [0005]. Iyer’s publication was a prime teaching resource for improvements in Bardy’s device lifespan, as Iyer indicates “issues related to the implanted medical device may result in a need for a more energy consuming device configuration, which can further shorten the mission life of the implanted device” in paragraph [0028]. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bardy with the teachings of Iyer, with a reasonable expectation of success, by explicitly processing electrode leads signal along different circuitry to distinguish heart rhythms. This would have reduced the noise of any ventricle signal, increasing the accuracy of a heart arrythmia diagnosis.
Regarding claim 2, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the arrangement contains more than three electrode poles ([0092] “Physically, the ICM 212 has four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219.”)
Regarding claim 3, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the processing module is configured to identify a waveform feature in at least one of the different physiological signals ([0046] “A full ECG consists of a stream of alphabetically-labeled waveforms 10” and [0076] “When operated standalone, the monitor recorder 142 senses and records the patient's ECG data 166” where the ECG data comprises the labeled waveforms)
Regarding claim 4, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Bardy also teaches wherein the waveform feature is a P-wave feature. ([0095] “physician can thus choose to pair the two inner ventral ECG electrodes 222, 223 by themselves to allow for minimal electrode-to-electrode spacing, or with the other ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219 to vary electrode surface areas, shapes, and inter-electrode spacing even further to explore optimal configurations to acquire the P-wave.”)
Regarding claim 5, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy does not explicitly teach, as taught by Iyer, wherein the processing module is configured to identify a timing relation [pacing] between a right ventricular action potential activity and a left ventricular action potential activity based on the different physiological signals ([0040] “Ventricular lead 22 includes electrodes (not labeled in FIG. 1) positioned on the lead in the patient's right ventricle (RV) for sensing ventricular EGM signals and pacing in the RV… other examples may include one or more additional leads, such as a coronary sinus lead extending into the right atrium, through the coronary sinus and into a cardiac vein to position electrodes along the left ventricle (LV) for sensing LV EGM signals and delivering pacing pulses to the LV” where LV and RV EGM signals comprise different physiological signals) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bardy with the teachings of Iyer, with a reasonable expectation of success, by explicitly directing electrode leads to each chamber of the heart. This would have reduced the noise of any ventricle signal, increasing the accuracy of a heart arrythmia diagnosis.
Regarding claim 6, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the processing module [“sensing circuitry”] is configured to determine at least one of a P-wave timing (P-wave “frequency” [0046] and [0082]), a P-wave level (P-wave “amplitude” [0082]), a QRS waveform length ([0074] “QRS interval”), in at least one of the different physiological signals.
Regarding claim 8, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the processing module is configured to perform, in at least one of the different processing channels at least one of an amplification, an analog-to-digital conversion and a filtering. ([0099] “ECG monitoring and other functions performed by the ICM 212 are provided through a micro controlled architecture… The microcontroller 281 has flexible energy management modes and includes a direct memory access controller and built-in analog-to-digital and digital-to-analog converters (ADC and DAC, respectively).” see also [0108] “The ECG front end circuit 283 is organized into a passive input filter stage, a unity gain voltage follower stage, a passive high pass filtering stage, a voltage amplification and active filtering stage, and an anti-aliasing passive filter stage, plus a reference generator.”)
Regarding claim 10, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 7. Bardy does not explicitly teach, as taught by Iyer wherein the processing module is configured to synchronously process said first signal in said first processing channel and said second signal in said second processing channel. ([[0115] “Sensing circuitry 122 in IMD 15 as shown in FIG. 6 may monitor signals from a selected two or more of electrodes 132 in order to monitor electrical activity of heart, impedance, or some other electrical phenomenon.”) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bardy with the teachings of Iyer, with a reasonable expectation of success, by explicitly processing electrode signals from multiple electrodes simultaneously to distinguish heart rhythms. This would have increased the speed of processing cardiac signals, increasing the accuracy of a heart arrythmia diagnosis.
Regarding claim 11, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the electrode poles are arranged aligned along a longitudinal axis ([0089] “The ECG electrodes of the ICM 212 are placed primarily in a north-to-south orientation along the sternum 203” comprises aligning along a longitudinal axis)
Regarding claim 12, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Bardy also teaches: wherein the first electrode pole and the second electrode pole define a first signal reception vector there between pointing along the longitudinal axis, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole define a second signal reception vector therebetween pointing along the longitudinal axis, and the first electrode pole and the third electrode pole define a third signal reception vector therebetween pointing along the longitudinal axis ([0093] “The sensing circuitry can be programmed, either pre-implant or in situ, to use different combinations of the available ECG electrodes (and thereby changing electrode surface areas, shapes, and inter-electrode spacing), including pairing the two ventral ECG electrodes 216, 217, the two wraparound ECG electrodes 218, 219, or one ventral ECG electrode 216, 217 with one wraparound ECG electrode 218, 219 located on the opposite end of the housing 215.”; see also [0089] where the orientation of electrodes collects physiological signals along the longitudinal axis)
Regarding claim 13, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches comprising a housing, wherein the first electrode pole is arranged at a first end of the housing, the second electrode pole is arranged at a second end of the housing opposite the first end, and the third electrode pole is arranged at a location in between said first end and said second end. ([0090] “the ICM 212 is constructed with a hermetically sealed implantable housing 215 with at least one ECG electrode forming a superior pole on the proximal end 213 and at least one ECG electrode forming an inferior pole on the distal end 214.” See also [0092] Physically, the ICM 212 has four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219. There could also be additional ECG electrodes, as discussed infra. The ECG electrodes include two ventral (or dorsal) ECG electrodes 218, 219 and two wraparound ECG electrodes 216, 217.” Where the wrap around electrodes is contained in between the end electrodes)
Regarding claim 14, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Bardy also teaches wherein the processing module is configured to assess said cardiac function based on a comparison of at least two of the different physiological signals ([0018] “In a further embodiment, diagnostically relevant cardiac events can be identified as the temporal point of reference.” and [0086] “Nevertheless, both the P-wave and the R-wave are required for the physician to make a proper rhythm diagnosis from the dozens of arrhythmias that can occur.” Where cardiac assessment occurs via two physiological signals)
Regarding claim 15, Bardy- Iyer as a combination teaches a method for operating an implantable medical device for sensing physiological signals, comprising: ([0002] This application relates in general to electrocardiographic monitoring and, in particular, to a system and method for event-centered display of subcutaneous cardiac monitoring data”) sensing physiological signals [record an ECG] using an arrangement of at least a first electrode pole, a second electrode pole and a third electrode pole, the first electrode pole; ([0089] “Moreover, the sternal midline implantation location in the parasternal region 211 allows the ICM's electrodes to record an ECG of optimal signal quality” and [0092] “Physically, the ICM 212 has four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219.”) and processing, using a processing module, signals received via said arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole, wherein the processing module processes different physiological signals received by different pairs of electrode poles of the arrangement of at least the first electrode pole, the second electrode pole and the third electrode pole and assesses a cardiac function [diagnostically relevant cardiac events] based on the processing. ([0093] “The four ECG electrodes 216, 217, 218, 219 are programmatically controlled by a microcontroller through onboard firmware programming to enable a physician to choose from several different electrode configurations”; [0046] “A full ECG consists of a stream of alphabetically-labeled waveforms 10” and [0076] “When operated standalone, the monitor recorder 142 senses and records the patient's ECG data 166” where the ECG data comprises different physiological signals; see also [0018] “In a further embodiment, diagnostically relevant cardiac events can be identified as the temporal point of reference.”) wherein the processing module is configured to process the different physiological signals in different processing channels; ([0093] “The sensing circuitry can be programmed, either pre-implant or in situ, to use different combinations of the available ECG electrodes (and thereby changing electrode surface areas, shapes, and inter-electrode spacing), including pairing the two ventral ECG electrodes 216, 217, the two wraparound ECG electrodes 218, 219, or one ventral ECG electrode 216, 217 with one wraparound ECG electrode 218, 219 located on the opposite end of the housing 215.” Where programmed to contain different combinations of electrodes comprises processing different physiological channels in different processing channels)
Regarding claim 1, Bardy does not explicitly teach, as taught by Iyer wherein the processing module is configured to select one of the different processing channels for monitoring a particular waveform feature based on an identification of the particular waveform feature in the different physiological signals. ([0117] “processing circuitry 120 may receive detected cardiac event signals corresponding to the occurrence of detected R-waves and P-waves in the respective chambers of heart. Indications of detected R-waves and P-waves may be used for detecting ventricular and/or atrial tachyarrhythmia episodes, e.g., ventricular or atrial fibrillation episodes. Some detection channels may be configured to detect cardiac events, such as P-waves or R-waves” and [0118] “Sensing circuitry 122 may also include switching circuitry to select which of the available electrodes 132 (or electrode polarities) are used to sense the heart activity… Sensing circuitry 122 may also pass one or more digitized EGM signals to processing circuitry 120 for analysis, e.g., for use in cardiac rhythm discrimination”)It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bardy with the teachings of Iyer, with a reasonable expectation of success, by explicitly processing electrode leads signal along different circuitry to distinguish heart rhythms. This would have reduced the noise of any ventricle signal, increasing the accuracy of a heart arrythmia diagnosis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure can be found on PTO-892 of the prior office action.
Cao et al. (US20160144190) places sensing functions in an extracardiac device where atrial P-waves can be better detected, then use that device to command an intracardiac pacemaker to pace the ventricle. The sensing device generates a trigger signal only after sensing a relevant cardiac event, and the pacemaker uses that trigger to schedule pacing.
Greenhut et al. (Pat. 9168380) discloses an implantable sensing device outside the cardiovascular system that acquires cardiac signals and identifies P-waves, preferably from a cranial-caudal ECG vector with relatively strong atrial signal content.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792