DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 filed April 17, 2024 are pending and are hereby examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claim 8 is directed to a transitory signal (i.e. computer readable medium) as it recites “a computer program” rather than a "non-transitory storage medium . . . .” Transitory signals are defined according to the "Microsoft Press Dictionary Definition" or "IEEE Definition". According to MPEP § 2106, however, there are four categories of invention: process, machine, article of manufacture or composition of matter. Therefore, as "transitory signals" are neither a category of invention nor a subset of one of the categories it does not represent patent eligible subject matter. In re Nuijten, Docket no. 2006-1371 (Fed. Cir. Sept. 20, 2007)(slip. op. at 18).
5. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
6. Step 1 Statutory Category: Claims 1-6 are directed to a method, claim 7 is directed to a system, all of which are statutory. Claims 1-7 are statutory classes of invention, however claim 8 is not statutory (as addressed above).
7. Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited: Nevertheless, independent claims 1, 7, and 8 recite an abstract idea of data processing using certification information.
The independent claims 1, 7, and 8 recite the following limitations which fall under commercial or legal interactions:
…
certification data receiving processing of receiving certification data related to a reduction amount of greenhouse gas from…;
deposit receiving processing of receiving a deposit signal indicating deposit property deposited from… separately from the certification data, the deposit signal being transmitted in association with the certification data;
communication processing of transmitting a storage request of the certification data and deposit processing necessary for the storage request to the…;
recording processing of receiving information of a purchaser of the certification data and recording the information of the purchaser in association with the certification data;
amortization processing of storing, in the… amortization information indicating amortization of the certification data in association with the certification data when receiving an amortization command of the certification data; and
deposit reimbursement processing of reimbursing the deposit property associated with the certification data to the… when the amortization information is stored.
8. According to the MPEP, "Commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. Clearly, data processing using certification information falls under sales activities, therefore commercial or legal interactions. If the claim limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a commercial or legal interaction, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
9. Step 2A – Prong 2: Practical Application: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole merely recites data processing using certification information with generally recited computer elements such as a computer, recorder terminal, distributed database, and network, which in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, and are merely invoked as tools for data processing using certification information. Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computing environment is not a practical application of the abstract idea, and does not take the claim out of the Commercial or Legal Interactions subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
10. Step 2B – Inventive Concept: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a computer, recorder terminal, distributed database, and network to perform these steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered individually and as an ordered combination as there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. The claims are not patent eligible.
11. Regarding dependent claims 2-3 and 6, although these claims recite a generally recited distributed database, these claim merely narrow the abstract idea of data processing using certification information, and these claims neither integrate into a practical application nor contain additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
12. Regarding dependent claim 4, although this claim recites a generally recited recorder terminal, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of data processing using certification information, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
13. Regarding dependent claim 5, although this claim recites a generally recited recorder terminal and distributed database, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of data processing using certification information, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
14. Therefore, the limitations of the claims, when viewed individually and in ordered combination, are directed to ineligible subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
21. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “certification data receiving unit”, “deposit receiving unit”, “communication processing unit”, “recording unit”, “amortization unit”, and “deposit reimbursement unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
27. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooner (US 2020/0027096) in view of Conner (US 2021/0314143).
28. Re Claims 1, 7, 8: Cooner discloses comprising:
by a computer connected to a recorder terminal and a distributed database through a network, executing (see [01542] blockchain technical trading architecture, [1556] cloud-computer based environment):
certification data receiving processing of receiving certification data related to a reduction amount of greenhouse gas from the recorder terminal (see [0375] ISO-1064-3 standard based certification);
deposit receiving processing of receiving a deposit signal indicating deposit property deposited from the recorder terminal separately from the certification data, the deposit signal being transmitted in association with the certification data (see [1079] buffer account, [1223] buffer pool);
communication processing of transmitting a storage request of the certification data and deposit processing necessary for the storage request to the distributed database (see [1082] online registry system to record issuance);
recording processing of receiving information of a purchaser of the certification data and recording the information of the purchaser in association with the certification data (see [1082] online registry system to record issuance);
amortization processing of storing, in the distributed database, amortization information indicating amortization of the certification data in association with the certification data when receiving an amortization command of the certification data (see [1082] online registry system to record issuance).
However, Cooner fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Conner teaches:
deposit reimbursement processing of reimbursing the deposit property associated with the certification data to the recorder terminal when the amortization information is stored (see [0157] deposits).
From the teaching of Conner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Cooner’s use of IOT technology in energy management systems for generating carbon credits with Conner’s teaching of deposit reimbursement processing in order for “… trading carbon credits using a cryptocurrency market platform (see Conner Abstract).”
29. Re Claim 2: Cooner discloses comprising referring to the distributed database and not recording the certification data when the same data as the received certification data is recorded in the recording processing (see [1317-1320] policies to prevent double issuance).
30. Re Claim 3: Cooner discloses comprising referring to the distributed database and not changing the certification data when the amortization information is associated with the certification data in the recording processing (see [0925, 0933] recording documents and validation/verification of evidence).
31. Re Claim 4: Cooner discloses wherein the certification data includes information on an amount of the greenhouse gas, and the amortization command includes information on the amount to be amortized and information on the purchaser who holds the amount, in the amortization processing, a part of the certification data is amortized on the basis of the amount included in the amortization command, and in the deposit reimbursement processing, when all the amount included in the certification data are amortized, the deposit property associated with the certification data is reimbursed to the recorder terminal (see [01095] unit of exchange, quantity, and report, [1081-1082] online registry system).
32. Re Claim 5: Cooner discloses comprising:
further executing code issuing processing of issuing a code associated with the certification data and transmitting the code to the recorder terminal;
receiving an input of the code in the amortization processing, and storing the amortization information in the distributed database only when the code matches the code associated with the certification data included in the amortization command (see [0182] transactions tracked on ACR, [1318] reductions do not reside currently one more than one registry).
33. Re Claim 6: Cooner discloses comprising storing a transfer history of the certification data in the distributed database in the recording processing (see [1081, 1082] transfer history).
Examiner Notes
34. The Examiner suggests incorporating dependent claims 2-5 together into the independent claims. The Examiner suggests clarifying the following terms: amortization, certification data, what exactly a deposit is (of what exactly), a storage request (of what exactly), deposit property.
35. Finally, the Examiner suggests incorporating more hardware from the Specification and any unique arrangements of hardware, unique hardware, or unique ways the hardware is communicating. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, is suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Conclusion
36. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Krichene (A model of the indirect losses from negative shocks in production and finance, NPL) is found to be the most pertinent NPL prior art.
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627