DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Online Beam Learning with Interference Nulling for Milimeter Wave Mimo Systems,2022, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Fredj et al. (Distributed Beamforming Techniques for Cell-Free Wireless Networks Using Deep Reinforcement Learning , IEEE, 2021 hereinafter Fredj).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for designing an interference-aware beam pattern, the method comprising (abstract):
measuring one or more channels for one or more interfering signals from one or more interference directions (section 2, system model wherein hk represents channels from interfering transmitters, the received signal includes the desired signal, interference from other transmitters and noise);
; and
communicating over the one or more channels using the one or more interference-aware beams (section 2, wherein the beamforming vector is applied at the antenna array to communicate with the desired receiver ) Zhang does not disclose using reinforcement learning to shape one or more interference-aware beams to reduce interference in one or more directions based on the one or more interfering signals. Fredj discloses using reinforcement learning to shape one or more interference-aware beams to reduce interference in one or more directions based on the one or more interfering signals (abstract, section 3, wherein the deep reinforcement learning is used s) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the reinforcement learning in order to improve adaptive beamforming under interference conditions.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the measuring further comprises measuring, by a base station, a power level of a received signal from a target user equipment of a target user and measuring an interference power level of one or more undesired transmitters (section 2, system model, wherein the received signal includes the desired signal power and interference power from other transmitters).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein measuring, by the base station, the power level of the received signal from the target user equipment of the target user further comprises measuring a power of an interference plus a noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting and measuring a power of a signal plus the interference plus the noise level signal of the target user equipment using a same beam produced by the target user equipment (section 2, received signal model includes noise and signal interference).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein the power of the interference plus the noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting is obtained from a zero power reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment (section 2, baseline/noise/interference modeling and reference signal).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture.Fredj discloses wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture (section 3, wherein the DRL algorithms including DDPG and and D4PG are actor-critic DRL methods). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network. Fredj discloses the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network (section 3, wherein the DDPG and D4PG are neural network implementations). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses a beam pattern design system, comprising:
a measurement module configured to measure interference on a channel (section 2, channel/interference measurement model) ;and
a beamforming control module configured to apply the beam pattern to communicate with a user device (section 2, beamforming vector applied at antenna array). Zhang does not disclose a learning module configured to use reinforcement learning to learn a beam pattern which reduces interference on the channel. Fredj discloses a learning module configured to use reinforcement learning to learn a beam pattern which reduces interference on the channel (section 3, DRL based beamforming optimization). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the reinforcement learning in order to improve adaptive beamforming under interference conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the measurement module is configured to measure, by a base station, a power level of a received signal from a target user equipment of a target user and measuring an interference power level of one or more undesired transmitters (section 2, system model, wherein the received signal includes the desired signal power and interference power from other transmitters).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the base station measures the power level of the received signal from the target user equipment of the target user by measuring a power of an interference plus a noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting and measuring a power of a signal plus the interference plus the noise level signal of the target user equipment using a same beam produced by the target user equipment (section 2, received signal model includes noise and signal interference).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses , wherein the power of the interference plus the noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting is obtained from a zero power reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment section 2, baseline/noise/interference modeling and reference signal).
Regarding claim 11 Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture. Fredj discloses wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture (section 3, actor-critic DRL framework for beamforming optimization). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network. Fredj discloses the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network (section 3, neural network architecture). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Chiang (US 2018/0375206 A1, hereinafter Chiang).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a radio frequency (RF) device comprising (abstract , section 2) . and use reinforcement learning to design a beam pattern or beam codebook that reduces the self-interference and optimizes a performance parameter of the RF device (section 2). Zhang does not disclose an RF transmitter; an RF receiver co-located with the RF transmitter; and control circuitry configured to: measure self-interference between the RF transmitter and the RF receiver. Chiang discloses an RF transmitter; an RF receiver co-located with the RF transmitter; and control circuitry configured to: measure self-interference between the RF transmitter and the RF receiver (¶[0031]-¶[0038], figure 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the RF device architecture into the reinforcement-learning based beam pattern and codebook design of Zhang to provide an RF device capable of sensing interference conditions and adaptively controlling RF transmission performance.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the performance parameter comprises a power for a desired user (section 2, system model, wherein the received signal includes the desired signal power and interference power from other transmitters).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang disclose wherein the measure further comprises measuring, by a base station, a power level of a received signal from a target user equipment of a target user and measuring an interference power level of one or more undesired transmitters section 2, system model, wherein the received signal includes the desired signal power and interference power from other transmitters).
.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein measuring, by the base station, the power level of the received signal from the target user equipment of the target user further comprises measuring a power of an interference plus a noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting and measuring a power of a signal plus the interference plus the noise level signal of the target user equipment using a same beam produced by the target user equipment (section 2, system model, wherein the received signal includes the desired signal power and interference power from other transmitters).
.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the power of the interference plus the noise level signal when the target user equipment is not transmitting is obtained from a zero power reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment (section 2, baseline/noise/interference modeling and reference signal).
-
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture. Luong discloses wherein the reinforcement learning comprises an actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture (section 3, actor-critic DRL framework for beamforming optimization). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network. Luong discloses the actor-critic-based deep reinforcement learning architecture comprises a fully connected (FC) feed-forward neural network (section 3, neural network architecture). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the proposed modification of the actor-critic DRL framework in order to improve convergence and policy optimization efficiency in beamforming design.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412