Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, and 13is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawatani et al (EP2626233B1, hereinafter Kawatani).
Regarding claim 1, Kawatani discloses a battery pack (Kawatani, Fig.18D, 19 – battery pack) including a groove extending (Kawatani, Fig.18D, 60 – engagement recess) into an outer circumferential surface thereof and a locking member (Kawatani, Fig.18D, 713 – link part) movably mounted in the groove; and a battery pack mounting part (Kawatani, Fig.18D, 29 – terminal base) having a mounting space defined therein, in which the battery pack is accommodated, and an inclined protrusion (Kawatani, Fig.18D, 66E – stopper) locked to the locking member so that a position of the battery pack disposed in the mounting space is detachably fixed.
Regarding claim 2, Kawatani discloses the replaceable battery module is configured such that when a force is applied in a mounting direction to mount the battery pack in the mounting space, the locking member passes by the inclined protrusion after contacting the inclined protrusion, and the locking member is locked to the inclined protrusion after passing by the inclined protrusion (Kawatani, Figs.18A-D).
Regarding claim 3, Kawatani discloses the battery pack has a wing part (Kawatani, Fig.11, 711 and 712 – ribs) extending along the mounting direction of the battery pack and defining a boundary of the groove, and the locking mechanism is connected to the wing part.
Regarding claim 4, Kawatani discloses the wing part is spaced apart from a bottom surface of the groove and defines a sidewall of the groove (Kawatani, Fig.11, 711 and 712 – ribs).
Regarding claim 13, Kawatani discloses an electric vehicle comprising the replaceable battery module (Kawatani, [0001]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 - 7 and 11 - 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawatani et al (EP2626233B1, hereinafter Kawatani) in view of JPH01145177U, hereinafter JP.
Regarding claim 5, Kawatani discloses all of claim 3 as shown above. Kawatani does not disclose a locking member comprising a first end connected to the wing and a second end having a hook shaped head that is movable. JP discloses a battery pack and mount with the battery pack having two wing locking structures with hook shaped heads (JP, Figs 5 and 8, 43 and 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the locking member of Kawatani with the locking member of JP because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 5 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses the hook head part pressed by the protrusion to move when passing by and the hook head part configured to be released from the force pressed by the protrusion when completing passage (JP, Figs 5 and 8, 43 – 44 and 36 – 37).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 5 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses two parts of the hook head part having different thicknesses along the mounting direction of the battery (JP, Figs 5 and 8 , 43 – 44, indents on the members).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses the locking member being made of an elastic material. Kawatani also discloses the locking member having a region that bends when external force is applied (JP, Figs 5 and 8, 43 and 44). In subsequent figures the locking members go from not attached to the protrusions to attached to them. Since the part of the locking member closest to the protrusions is not configured to latch to the protrusion the locking member must bend when being pushed in the mounting direction (JP, Figs 5 and 8 , 43 – 44 and 36 – 37) , when the indent on the locking member meets the protrusion the locking member snaps back into place. This action of bending (deforming) and snapping back into place is inherent of elastic materials.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses the locking member having a region that bends when external force is applied (JP, Figs 5 and 8, 43 and 44). In subsequent figures the locking members go from not attached to the protrusions to attached to them. Since the part of the locking member closest to the protrusions is not configured to latch to the protrusion the locking member must bend when being pushed in the mounting direction (JP, Figs 5 and 8 , 43 – 44 and 36 – 37) , when the indent on the locking member meets the protrusion the locking member snaps back into place.
Claim(s) 8 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawatani et al (EP2626233B1, hereinafter Kawatani) in view of JPH01145177U, hereinafter JP as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Picavet (US20090044997A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kawatani and JP disclose all of claim 7 as shown above. They do not disclose the inclined protrusions having different inclined parts with thicknesses that increase and decrease along the mounting direction of the battery pack. Picavet discloses a fixing device for a battery with lugs (Picavet, Fig.3, 21) that lock the battery in place, these lugs have different thicknesses depending on the direction in the mounting direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the inclined protrusions of modified Kawatani with the lugs of Picavet because the substituted component was known, their functions were known in the art, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known component for another and that the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 8 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses when the battery pack is mounted, the interreference part pass by the inclined protrusion while sliding along the protrusion (Picavet, Figs.11-13, see parts 21 and 14b).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kawatani discloses all of claim 7 as shown above. Modified Kawatani also discloses when the battery pack is mounted in the mounting space is separated from the battery pack mounting part and the locking fixing part passes by the protrusion while sliding along it (Picavet, Figs.11-13, see parts 21 and 14b).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawatani et al (EP2626233B1, hereinafter Kawatani) in view Goodwyn (US20210091439A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kawatani discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Kawatani does not disclose the use of this replaceable battery module in a battery swap station. Kawatani does disclose that the module is detachable form the vehicle (Kawatani, [0007]). Goodwyn discloses that Battey swapping solutions benefit the electric vehicle industry by reducing initial purchase cost and eliminating battery range problems for consumers (Goodwyn, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the detachable battery module of Kawatani with the battery exchange station of Goodwyn to reduce initial purchase cost and eliminate battery range problems for consumers.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA P BISTANY-RIEBMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752