DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama et al. (US 2017/0250013), hereinafter “Ishiyama.”
Regarding claims 1-3, Ishiyama teaches an R-T-B based permanent magnet comprising, in mass%, an R content of 29.5-37.0%, a Co content of 0.3-4.0%, a B content of 0.71-0.86%, an Al content of 0.03-0.6%, a Cu content of 0.05-1.5%, a Ga content of 0.40-1.80%, a Zr content of 0.4-1.8%, a C content of 0.13-0.34%, and 1.0% or less or 0.1% or less of heavy rare earth element(s) (Abstract, [0046]-[0065]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed chemical composition ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, Ishiyama does not explicitly teach wherein the R-T-B based permanent magnet satisfies HcJH ≥ 600 and BrL + (HcJH/3) ≥ 1565. However, Ishiyama teaches an R-T-B based permanent magnet with an overlapping chemical composition, as discussed above regarding claims 1-3, and further teaches a process of manufacturing the magnet comprising the steps of an alloy preparing step for preparing a raw material alloy, a pulverization steps for pulverizing the raw material alloy, a pressing step for pulverizing the raw material powder, a sintering step for sintering a green compact to obtain an R-T-B based sintered magnet, an aging treatment step for performing an aging treatment to the R-T-B based sintered magnet, a cooling step for cooling the R-T-B based sintered magnet, a machining step of machining the R-T-B based sintered magnet, a grain boundary diffusion step of diffusion heavy rare earth elements to the grain boundaries of the R-T-B based sintered magnet, and a surface treatment step of surface treating the R-T-B based sintered magnet ([0073]-[0101]), which is substantially similar to the method described in paragraph [0031] of the instant specification.
Thus, as Ishiyama teaches an R-T-B based permanent magnet with an overlapping chemical composition and a substantially similar process of manufacture, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the R-T-B based permanent magnet of Ishiyama to have wherein the R-T-B based permanent magnet satisfies HcJH ≥ 600 and BrL + (HcJH/3) ≥ 1565. In the case where “the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” See MPEP §2112.01.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/702,173 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application disclose an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that are identical to or overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 9,997,284 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 9,997,284 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,672,546 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,672,546 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,943,717 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,943,717 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,784,028 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,784,028 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1 and 3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,529,473 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,529,473 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,398,327 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,398,327 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Claims 1-3 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,387,024 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,387,024 B2 discloses an R-T-B based permanent magnet with a chemical composition with ranges that overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734