DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/07/2026.
Priority
Copies of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received in this National Stage application from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
Three (3) information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 04/17/2024, 09/11/2024, and 08/07/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the transitional term "comprising" is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03(I). In this case, the claimed aluminum casting alloy may include additional, unrecited elements in the chemical composition and the microstructure may contain additional, unrecited elements aside from the claimed intermetallic compound and aluminum matrix.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “phase-changed from a β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound without containing Mn” is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. In this case, the instant claims are drawn to a product and prior art with an α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a crystal structure will read on the claimed “α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure has a crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase, and phase-changed from a β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound without containing Mn” regardless of the method of manufacturing the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the aluminum casting alloy does not contain manganese (Mn), cobalt (Co), chromium (Cr) or molybdenum (Mo) as an additive for neutralizing the β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound”. The limitation “does not contain manganese (Mn), cobalt (Co), chromium (Cr) or molybdenum (Mo)” is interpreted as excluding all of the listed elements. See MPEP 2173.05(h). In other words, the claimed alloy cannot contain Mn, Co, Cr, and Mo. If this interpretation is incorrect, Applicant should specify the correct interpretation of this limitation in response to this Office action and indicate where such interpretation finds support in the specification as originally filed.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “wherein the aluminum casting alloy does not contain manganese (Mn), cobalt (Co), chromium (Cr) or molybdenum (Mo) as an additive for neutralizing the β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound” is a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. In this case, the instant claims are drawn to a product excluding Mn, Co, Cr, or Mo, and any prior art excluding said elements will be interpreted as reading on the instant claim regardless of the motivation for excluding said elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "aluminum casting alloy with high strength, high elongation and high thermal conductivity" in lines 1-2. The term “high” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The instant specification recites “alloys according to embodiments of the present invention can achieve a yield strength of 100 MPa to 140 MPa, a maximum tensile strength of 180 MPa to 220 MPa, an elongation of 2.5% to 8.5% and a thermal conductivity of 160 W/mK to 190 W/mK” ([111]). As presently claimed, it is unclear what type of strength (e.g. yield strength, tensile strength, compressive strength, and/or impact strength) and what objective amounts of strength, elongation, and thermal conductivity are required to meet the claimed “with high strength, high elongation and high thermal conductivity”.
Claims 2-5 depend on claim 1, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure has a crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase, and phase-changed from a β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound without containing Mn”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the claimed “crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase” (emphasis added) refers to α-AlFeSi crystal structure having the same atomic positions, lattice parameters, angles, and/or elements included as the crystal structure of α-AlMnSi. It is further unclear how the crystal structure is the same as α-AlMnSi when the claim recites “without containing Mn”, which is an element included in the crystal structure of α-AlMnSi.
Claims 3-4 depend on claim 2, do not resolve the aforementioned issues, and are thereby also indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the term “maximum tensile strength”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear whether “maximum tensile strength” (emphasis added) refers to a maximum value of various tensile strengths, to a “maximum tensile strength” in a certain area of the claimed alloy, or a different interpretation. Figures 15, 19, and 23 of the instant invention denote an “ultimate tensile strength” in the Y-axis, which is a well-known term in the metallurgical arts. Clarification is requested as to whether the term “maximum tensile strength” is intended to refer to an “ultimate tensile strength”, or if it denotes a different property.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure has a crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase, and phase-changed from a β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound without containing Mn”. Claim 1, on which claim 2 depends, recites “wherein α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure is comprised in an aluminum matrix”. Since claim 1 already requires an α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure and the phase-changed limitation is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation (see Claim Interpretation section in this Office action), claim 2 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Microstructure and mechanical behaviour of Al9Si alloy with different Fe contents” of Malavazi in view of “Metallographic observations of β-AlFeSi phase and its role in porosity formation in Al–7% Si alloys” of Khalifa (as cited in prior Office action).
Regarding claims 1-5, Malavazi teaches an Al9Si alloy with different Fe contents (Title, Al9Si alloy reads on claimed aluminum alloy). Malavazi teaches chill casting alloys (“Experimental Procedure” section, reads on claimed aluminum casting alloy).
Regarding the composition of claims 1 and 3, Malavazi teaches a composition lying within the claimed ranges with the exception of Mg, as shown in List 1 below. The composition of Malavazi comprises Si, Fe, and Al, and does not explicitly include Mn, Co, Cr, or Mo, as shown in List 1 below.
List 1
Instant claims (wt%)
Malavazi 0.4wt%-Fe (wt%)
Si
6.5-11.5
8.76 ± 0.07
Mg
0.2-0.4
-
Fe
0.32-0.85
0.45 ± 0.01 (Broader disclosure of 0.4 wt% in “Experimental Procedure”)
Mn, Co, Cr, or Mo
“Does not contain” (claim 3)
Other: 0.18
Al
Remainder (“and inevitable impurities”)
90.61 ± 0.09
α-AlFeSi
Cubic crystal structure (claims 1,2)
“Same as an α-AlMnSi phase” (claim 2)
Al: 74.9-86.7 at%
Fe: 6.9-14.3 at%
Si: 6.2-11.3 at%
Fig. 3 shows α-Al8Fe2Si in microstructure
Yield strength
100-140 MPa
81 ± 3 MPa (Fig. 9)
Maximum tensile strength
180-220 MPa
187 ± 5 MPa (Fig. 9)
Elongation
2.5-8.5%
7 ± 3% (Fig. 9)
Thermal conductivity
160-190 W/mK
-
Malavazi therefore reads on the limitation an aluminum casting alloy with high strength, high elongation and high thermal conductivity, comprising: 6.5% by weight or more and 11.5 % by weight or less of silicon (Si); 0.32 % by weight or more and 0.85% by weight or less of iron (Fe); and a remainder comprising aluminum (Al) and inevitable impurities of claim 1 and wherein the aluminum casting alloy does not contain manganese (Mn), cobalt (Co), chromium (Cr) or molybdenum (Mo) as an additive for neutralizing the β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound of claim 3.
Regarding the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound of claims 1 and 2, Malavazi teaches the presence of α-Al8Fe2Si (Chinese script morphology) in Al9Si alloys (“Microstructural characterisation of Al9Si alloys with Fe addition” section, Fig. 3; α-Al8Fe2Si (Chinese script morphology) reads on claimed α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure since one of ordinary skill in the art understands Chinese script morphology is a cubic crystal structure).
Malavazi therefore reads on the limitation wherein α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure is comprised in an aluminum matrix of claim 1 and wherein the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure has a crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase, and phase-changed from a β-Al5FeSi intermetallic compound without containing Mn of claim 2.
Regarding the properties of claim 5, Malavazi teaches a tensile strength and elongation overlapping with the claimed invention. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Malavazi therefore reads on the limitation wherein the aluminum casting alloy has a maximum tensile strength of 180 MPa to 220 MPa, an elongation of 2.5% to 8.5% of claim 5.
However, Malavazi does not explicitly disclose 0.2 % by weight or more and 0.4 % by weight or less of magnesium (Mg) of claim 1, wherein the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound has a composition as follows: Al: 74.9 to 86.7 at.%, Fe: 6.9 to 14.3 at.%, Si: 6.2 to 11.3 at. % of claim 4, and wherein the aluminum casting alloy has a yield strength of 100 MPa to 140 MPa and a thermal conductivity of 160 W/mK to 190 W/mK of claim 5.
Regarding the Mg content of claim 1, Malavazi teaches adding Mg to improve toughness and corrosion resistance (“Introduction” section, paragraph 3), but does not explicitly disclose Mg amounts. It would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of Mg used in Al-Si alloys. Khalifa teaches metallographic observations for Al-Si alloys (Title) and is similarly concerned with Al alloys containing Si, Fe, and Al, and an α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound. Khalifa teaches up to 0.3 wt% Mg levels are added for the formation of intermetallics (“Materials and experimental” section). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the alloy of Malavazi, and adjusting and varying the Mg content, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Khalifa, to improve toughness and corrosion resistance, as taught by Malavazi, and form intermetallic compounds, as taught by Khalifa. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Modified Malavazi therefore reads on the limitation 0.2 % by weight or more and 0.4 % by weight or less of magnesium (Mg) of claim 1.
Regarding the α-AlFeSi composition of claim 4, yield strength of claim 5 and thermal conductivity of claim 5, Malavazi teaches the yield strength for example 0.4wt%-Fe is 81 ± 3 MPa as shown in List 1 above, which is below the claimed range. However, one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the addition of Mg to the composition of Malavazi, as taught by Khalifa, will impact the resulting alloy properties.
Since the alloy of modified Malavazi has a chemical composition, α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound, tensile strength, and elongation lying within or overlapping with the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the alloy of modified Malavazi to possess the claimed α-AlFeSi composition, yield strength, and thermal conductivity.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (both have α-AlFeSi intermetallic compounds with a cubic crystal structure), and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes (both alloys are cast). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the alloy of modified Malavazi to possess the claimed α-AlFeSi composition, yield strength, and thermal conductivity since the alloy of modified Malavazi has identical or substantially identical composition and structure.
Modified Malavazi therefore reads on the limitation wherein the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound has a composition as follows: Al: 74.9 to 86.7 at.%, Fe: 6.9 to 14.3 at.%, Si: 6.2 to 11.3 at. % of claim 4, and wherein the aluminum casting alloy has a yield strength of 100 MPa to 140 MPa and a thermal conductivity of 160 W/mK to 190 W/mK of claim 5.
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Metallographic observations of β-AlFeSi phase and its role in porosity formation in Al–7% Si alloys” of Khalifa (as cited in prior Office action) in view of “Formation of the Fe-containing intermetallic compounds during solidification of Al-5Mg-2Si-0.7 Mn-1.1 Fe alloy” of Que (as cited in prior Office action).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Khalifa teaches the effect of alloy composition on the stability of β-AlFeSi phase in Al-7%Si alloys (Abstract, Al-7% Si alloys read on claimed aluminum casting alloy since the “Introduction” and “Materials and experimental” sections mention these alloys are cast).
List 2
Instant claims (wt%)
Khalifa (wt%)
Si
6.5-11.5
6.5
Mg
0.2-0.4
0.25
Fe
0.32-0.85
0.8
Mn: 0.03
Cu: 0.06
Al
Remainder (“and inevitable impurities”)
Balance
Khalifa teaches a 356 alloy with 6.5 wt% Si, 0.8 wt% Fe, 0.25 wt% Mg, 0.06 wt% Cu, 0.03 wt% Mn, and a balance of Al has a microstructure showing α-AlFeSi phase formation in an aluminum matrix (Table 1 in “Materials and experimental” section for base composition of 356 alloy and Figure 1a for microstructure with α-AlFeSi, composition of Khalifa summarized in List 2 above). The composition of Khalifa lies within the claimed ranges.
Khalifa therefore reads on the limitation an aluminum casting alloy with high strength, high elongation and high thermal conductivity, comprising:6.5 % by weight or more and 11.5 % by weight or less of silicon (Si); 0.2 % by weight or more and 0.4 % by weight or less of magnesium (Mg); 0.32 % by weight or more and 0.85 % by weight or less of iron (Fe); and a remainder comprising aluminum (Al) and inevitable impurities of claim 1 and wherein α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure is comprised in an aluminum matrix of claim 1.
Additionally, or alternatively, Khalifa further teaches the effects of adding 0-2.2 wt% Fe (see Figure 2). In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
However, Khalifa does not explicitly disclose α-AlFeSi with a cubic crystal structure of claim 1 and wherein the aluminum casting alloy has a yield strength of 100 MPa to 140 MPa, a maximum tensile strength of 180 MPa to 220 MPa, an elongation of 2.5% to 8.5%, and a thermal conductivity of 160 W/mK to 190 W/mK of claim 5.
Regarding the crystal structure of α-AlFeSi of claim 1, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for the crystal structure of α-AlFeSi intermetallic compounds in aluminum alloys. Que teaches the formation of the Fe-containing intermetallic compounds during solidification of Al-5Mg-2Si-0.7 Mn-1.1 Fe alloy (Title). Que and Khalifa are considered analogous art since they are similarly concerned with aluminum alloys containing Al, Mg, Si, Mn, and Fe, and both comprise intermetallic compounds. Que teaches the primary intermetallic compound formed in Al alloys is the BCC α-Al15(Fe,Mn)3Si2 phase or α-AlFeSi for short (Abstract, 1. Introduction, one of ordinary skill in the art understands α-AlFeSi is a cubic crystal structure since BCC means body-centered cubic). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the α-AlFeSi of Khalifa has a body-centered cubic (bcc) crystal structure, as taught by Que.
Khalifa in view of Que therefore reads on the limitation wherein α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure is comprised in an aluminum matrix of claim 1 and wherein the α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure has a crystal structure same as an α-AlMnSi phase of claim 2.
Regarding the properties of claim 5, Khalifa teaches an aluminum alloy with a chemical composition lying within or overlapping with the claimed ranges and a microstructure comprising α-AlFeSi with a cubic crystal structure, as described above.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (both comprise α-AlFeSi with a cubic crystal structure), and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes (both are cast aluminum alloys). Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the alloy of Khalifa to possess the claimed yield strength, maximum tensile strength, elongation, and thermal conductivity since the alloy of Khalifa has identical or substantially identical composition and structure.
Khalifa in view of Que therefore reads on the limitation wherein the aluminum casting alloy has a yield strength of 100 MPa to 140 MPa, a maximum tensile strength of 180 MPa to 220 MPa, an elongation of 2.5% to 8.5%, and a thermal conductivity of 160 W/mK to 190 W/mK of claim 5.
Khalifa in view of Que therefore reads on all the limitations of claims 1-2 and 5.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0032179 A1 of Li teaches advanced cast aluminum alloys (Title) and is considered pertinent to claim 1. Li teaches a high fatigue strength aluminum alloy comprising, in wt. %: Cu between 3.0-3.5%; Fe between 0-1.3%; Mg between 0.24-0.35%; Mn between 0-0.8%; Si between 6.5-12.0%; Sr between 0-0.025%; Ti between 0.05-0.2%; V between 0.20-0.35%; Zn between 0-3.0%; Zr between 0.2-0.4%; maximum 0.5% other elements; and balance Al (claim 1). The composition of Li overlaps with the claimed invention. However, Li does not explicitly disclose α-AlFeSi intermetallic compound with a cubic crystal structure.
Conclusion
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733