DETAILED ACTION
Status of 18/702,119
Claims 1-2 and 44-61 are currently pending.
Priority
Instant application 18/702,119, filed 4/17/2024, claims priority as follows:
Receipt of the foreign priority application is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from the IDS submitted on 4/17/2024 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Objection to Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because Figure 4 is not able to be interpreted as it is pixelated and illegible. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable codes. Specifically, there are embedded hyperlinks on pages 29, 30, and 44 of the instant specification, totaling three hyperlinks. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable codes; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-2 and 44-58, drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polypeptide, an aliphatic acid of Formula I, and a compound of Formula II, without traverse in the reply filed 9/21/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the following composition:
In the same reply, is also acknowledged.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with MPEP § 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non- elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be examined again. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. In the event prior art is found during further examination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final.
The elected species was searched and prior art was identified. See the 102 rejection below. The full scope of the claims has not yet been searched in accordance with Markush search practice. Claims 1-2, 44-45, 47, 50, and 52-58 read on the elected species. Claims 46, 48, 49, 51, and 59-61 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species and/or group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 44-45, and 52-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites instances of parentheses by “(e.g., Cl)” and “(e.g., OCH3)”. The phrases within the parentheses are indefinite because they are exemplary language and it is not clear if the contents of the parentheses are required, or just examples of what is required. Dependent claims 2, 44-45, and 52-58 do not resolve this issue by fully defining the compounds. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites, “e.g.”, which is also considered exemplary language. It is not clear if the limitations following “e.g.” are required, or just examples of what is required. Dependent claims 2, 44-45, and 52-58 do not resolve this issue by fully defining the compounds. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 44 recites a product and process in the same claim by the oral administration step to a human subject, which then delivers therapeutically effective amount of the polypeptide to a human subject. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as to whether direct infringement occurs when one has the composition, or whether a patient population is also required in the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(p)(II). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 52-54 recite the term, “about”, which is considered a relative term and renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2, 44-45, 47, 50, 52-54, and 57-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The courts have stated that, “To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention.” Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed.”). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement “by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention.” Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Further, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co. the court stated that, “A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials.” Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) (“In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus …”) Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the Application. These include level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus is sufficient. See MPEP § 2163. While all of the factors have been considered, a sufficient amount for a prima facie case are discussed below.
In the instant case, the claims of the instant application embrace a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polypeptide, an aliphatic acid of Formula I, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a compound of Formula II, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. Particularly, the limitation ”polypeptide” invokes the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection. Even a cursory calculation of the number of polypeptides embraced, and thus compositions, in the instant claims would result in an exceptionally large number.
The genus of polypeptides is defined in the instant disclosure on pages 6-9:
,
and includes broad subclasses like antibiotics, antifungals, growth hormones and analogs, interferons, interleukins, pancreatic enzymes, and immunoglobulins, and “analogs” of classes of compounds, of which the scope is not defined. In fact, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “polypeptide” includes any chain of at least two amino acids with no upper limit. The Applicants fail to describe the full scope of polypeptides, and it is unclear where the possession of the association lies. Though polypeptides are known in the art, the description is not adequate to allow one skilled in the art to ascertain that Applicant is in possession of the knowledge of the entire scope of the genus.
A review of the prior art at the time of filing identifies Zizzari (Zizzari, A. T. et. al. Drug Discovery Today. 2021, 26, 1097-1105), which is drawn to overcoming the poor pharmacokinetic properties of current oral peptide delivery by various strategies (title, abstract). Specifically, Zizzari teaches various examples of orally administered insulin (page 1098, Table 1), and several different polypeptides marketed or undergoing clinical trials for different treatments (page 1102, Table 3) in oral formulations. However, Zizzari does not define the broad scope of the term “polypeptide” nor teach the full scope of polypeptides able to be delivered by oral administration successfully, and if they would have the desired biological effect. Zizzari provides no indication that would point one of ordinary skill to the full scope of polypeptides of the genus much less the scope of polypeptides that are able to be successfully delivered orally. Applicant has not demonstrated the possession of the knowledge of which cancers would or would not have this function.
In addition to the lack of structure/function relationship established, there is also an insufficient representative number of examples. As described in MPEP § 2163, for a generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. The instant specification provides examples of polypeptides on pages 6-9 as stated above, but solely provides the polypeptide semaglutide as the lone species in the “results” section, indicating that the instant disclosure does not provide descriptive support for the genus of the claims. Applicant has not described the claimed genus polypeptides in a manner that would indicate they were in possession of the knowledge of the full scope of the genus, or even to describe what the genus is comprised of.
The description requirement of the patent statue requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.") Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 45, 47, 50, 52-53 and 55-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Novo Nordisk A/S (WO 2023/012263, herein after “Novo Nordisk”). The Examiner notes though the publication date of Novo Nordisk is 09 February 2023, the priority application EP 21189585.9 contains support for the disclosure, thus qualifying the publication as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection applies to the elected species.
Novo Nordisk discloses solid oral peptide formulations comprising a salt of N-(8-(1-hydroxybenzoyl)amino)caprylic acid and a further absorption enhancer (title, abstract). Specifically, Novo Nordisk discloses tablet compositions T4-S1 – T4-S9 and T4-G (page 81, Table 3.3):
comprising GLP-1 peptide 2, identified as semaglutide (page 79, lines 8-9), SNAC, and NaC10, identified as sodium caprate (page 77, line 5). For the sake of clarity, the Examiner notes capric acid is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of instant Formula I where R is an C9 aliphatic group and SNAC is a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Formula II:
When n is 0 and L1 is an unsubstituted C7 alkylene.
Regarding claim 2, Novo Nordisk teaches these compositions as formulated for oral administration (page 79, line 2).
With respect to claim 52, Novo Nordisk discloses multiple anticipatory weight ratios of capric acid to SNAC in the range of about 20:1 to about 1:20.
Regarding claim 57, the compositions of Novo Nordisk additionally comprise magnesium stearate, which is defined in the instant specification as a lubricant (page 21, para [0065]).
With respect to claim 58, the compositions of Novo Nordisk are formulated into tablets, which are solid dosage forms according to the instant specification (page 41, para [0112]) and administered orally (page 79, line 2). Thus, Novo Nordisk anticipates instant claims 1-2, 45, 47, 50, 52-53 and 55-58.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 45, 47, 50, and 52-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novo Nordisk A/S (WO 2023/012263, herein after “Novo Nordisk”). The Examiner notes though the publication date of Novo Nordisk is 09 February 2023, the priority application EP 21189585.9 contains support for the disclosure, thus qualifying the publication as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection applies to the elected species.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Novo Nordisk teaches as disclosed above, and at least those teachings are incorporated herein.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Regarding claim 54, the reference Novo Nordisk fails to teach an anticipatory embodiment with an amount of the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Formula II in a dose of about 200 mg to about 400 mg.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
The level of ordinary skill in the art is represented by an artisan who has sufficient background in the development of compositions for the oral delivery of polypeptides. An artisan possess the technical knowledge necessary to make adjustments to the compositions to enhance their effectiveness. Said artisan has also reviewed the problems in the art as regards to use of said oral delivery of polypeptides and understands the solutions that are widely known in the art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
With respect to claim 54, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the mass of the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Formula II, SNAC, recited in the instant claims because it is considered well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the mass of individual ingredients of the formulation to provide optimal compositions. The concentration of each individual ingredient in the formulation is a result effective parameter that will affect the physical properties of the final composition. The amount of the pharmaceutically acceptable salt of Formula II, SNAC, in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Moreover, the mass of SNAC, disclosed by Novo Nordisk above, provides a range of workable conditions and it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal ratio of SNAC to best achieve the desired result. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the composition and the criticality of the claimed amounts, the determination of the optimum workable range(s) given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. See MPEP § 2144.05 [R-2](II) (A) and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) “[W]here the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 44-45, 47, 50, and 52-58 are rejected. Claims 46, 48-49, 51, and 59-61 are withdrawn.
/K.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621