DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 04/17/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim 9 has been amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of CN20212289849.7 filed 11/24/2021 and PCT/CN2022/126905 filed 10/24/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2024, 11/07/2025, and 01/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Specification
The disclosure’s abstract is objected to because the abstract is longer than 150 words. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang (WO2021135847A1). As per claim 1, Tang discloses a laser packaging device, comprising: a base, comprising a light source mounting portion and a support portion (see at least paragraph 0079; wherein a base 12, a housing 14, an optical window 16, a collimating lens 17, and a laser component 18), wherein the light source mounting portion and the support portion are integrally provided and cooperate with the support portion to form an accommodating cavity (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the tube shell 14 is disposed on the base 12 and forms a receiving space 15. The tube shell 14 has a top wall 142 away from the base 12, and the top wall 142 is provided with a first metal layer 1421), and the support portion comprises a top surface and a bottom surface (see at least Figure 10; item 14); a laser light source assembly accommodated in the accommodating cavity, provided at the light source mounting portion, and configured to emit a laser (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein the laser assembly 18 is located within the containment space 15, and the laser emitted by the laser assembly 18 eventually exits through the light window 16); a lead wire passing through the support portion, wherein the support portion comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other, the first end of the lead wire is provided in the accommodating cavity and is electrically connected to the laser light source assembly, and the second end of the lead wire is provided on the bottom surface (see at least Figure 8 and paragraph 0079; wherein the base 52 is installed on the housing 54, and the circuit layer 59 is located inside the housing 54 and electrically connected to the laser component 58); and a light window configured to cover the top surface of the support portion to seal the accommodating cavity, wherein the laser is emitted through the light window (see at least Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0038; wherein the surface of the area of the light window 16 facing the housing 14 and corresponding to the housing 14 is provided with a second metal layer 161. The first metal layer 1421 and the second metal layer 161 are welded together with solder so that the light window 16 seals the housing space 15). As per claim 2, Tang discloses wherein the support portion further comprises a side surface connected to the top surface and the bottom surface, and the side surface is flush with a part of an outer surface of the light window (see at least paragraph 0046; wherein a second metal layer 161 is provided on a portion of the surface of the light window 16 facing the tube shell 14. The outer edge of the second metal layer 161 can be flush with the outer edge of the light window 16, and the inner edge of the second metal layer 161 can be flush with the inner edge of the light window 16, so as to increase the welding area between the second metal layer 161 and the first metal layer 1421, thereby increasing the connection strength between the light window 16 and the tube shell 14). As per claim 3, Tang discloses wherein the light source mounting portion comprises an inner surface provided between the top surface and the bottom surface of the support portion, the laser light source assembly is provided on the inner surface, and wherein the support portion further comprises a step surface provided below the top surface and above the inner surface, and a first end of the lead wire is provided on the step surface (see at least Figure 8). As per claim 4, Tang discloses wherein the laser light source assembly comprises a laser chip and a reflector, the laser chip is electrically connected to a first end of the lead wire and comprises two light emission sources, each of the light emission sources is configured to emit the laser, and the laser is reflected to the light window through the reflector (see at least paragraph 0052-0053; wherein the laser assembly 18 includes a laser chip module 182 and a reflector 184, both of which are housed within a housing space. The laser chip module 182 is used to emit laser light. In this embodiment, the laser chip module 182 includes a heat sink and a laser chip, wherein the laser chip is disposed on the surface of the heat sink and the heat sink is used to dissipate heat from the laser chip. In other embodiments, the laser chip module includes a heat sink and multiple laser chips, that is, multiple laser chips are disposed on the surface of the heat sink and share a heat sink for heat dissipation. The reflector 184 is used to reflect the laser into the light-transmitting area of the light window 16. In this embodiment, the reflector 184 includes a reflective surface opposite to the light output port of the laser chip module, and the reflective surface forms a 45° angle with the plane where the base is located). As per claim 5, Tang discloses comprising a plurality of laser light source assemblies, wherein the plurality of laser light source assemblies are provided at intervals (see at least Figure 8). As per claim 8, Tang discloses wherein the base is made of ceramic material (see at least paragraph 0080; wherein the base 52 can be made of copper to improve the heat dissipation performance of the laser packaging structure 50, and the shell 54 can be made of alumina ceramic to reduce production costs). As per claim 9, Tang discloses wherein the laser packaging device further comprises a collimating lens, and the collimating lens is provided on a side of the light window away from the base (see at least Figure 8). As per claim 10, Tang discloses wherein the collimating lens comprises a lens body and a plurality of collimating units, the lens body is connected to the light window, the plurality of collimating units are provided on the lens body, the laser packaging device comprises a plurality of laser light source assemblies, and each of the plurality of laser light source assemblies corresponds to one of the plurality of collimating units (see at least Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (WO2021135847A1) in view of Lam et al. (USPGPub 2011/0293279). As per claim 6, Tang does not explicitly mention wherein the base comprises a length direction and a width direction, the plurality of laser light source assemblies are provided at intervals along the length direction of the base, a laser chip and a reflector of each of the laser light source assemblies are provided along the width direction of the base, and one laser chip is provided between every two adjacent reflectors along the length direction of the base. However Lam does disclose: wherein the base comprises a length direction and a width direction, the plurality of laser light source assemblies are provided at intervals along the length direction of the base, a laser chip and a reflector of each of the laser light source assemblies are provided along the width direction of the base, and one laser chip is provided between every two adjacent reflectors along the length direction of the base (see at least paragraph 0005; wherein each tunable laser includes a tunable sampled Bragg grating reflector responsive to an electrical control signal to produce tunable reflectivity peaks within a tunable spectral range, a second grating reflector that is spaced from the sampled Bragg grating reflector to form an optical resonator with the sampled Bragg grating reflector and produces reflectivity peaks at different second grating reflector resonance wavelengths within the tunable spectral range of the tunable sampled Bragg grating reflector, and a gain section between the tunable sampled Bragg grating reflector and the second grating reflector). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Lam with the teachings as in Tang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide low power operation, spatial and cost efficiency, improved system reliability, and operational simplicity, see Lam paragraph 0003. As per claim 7, Lam discloses wherein a laser chip of each of the laser light source assemblies is staggered from a reflector of an adjacent laser light source assembly along the width direction of the base, to increase a spacing between two adjacent laser chips in the width direction of the base (see at least paragraph 0046; wherein the sampling periods of the front and rear reflectors may be chosen to have a slight mismatch to produce two reflectivity-versus-wavelength spectra with slightly different periodicities as shown in FIG. 5. In this situation, only one of reflection peaks in each of the two spectra may be aligned with the other, for example, the alignment as marked in FIG. 5. Thus the wavelength of the SG-DBR laser 400 may be controlled by altering the alignment of the reflectivity peaks from the rear reflector and the front reflector. In this way, a wide tuning range for the laser wavelength may be achieved).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662