Response to Applicant’s arguments
Applicant argues the amendments made better define the invention. Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged and found unpersuasive. The amendments to the claim read on the prior art of Backer et al (WO 2020/005516) in view of Willey et al (WO93/06202), as recited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Backer et al (WO 2020/005516), as cited in IDS filed, in view of Willey et al (WO93/06202).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-5, Backer et al teaches automatic dishwashing composition, comprising 50 to 85 wt% a builder, 0.75 to 7 wt% of the phosphonate, 1.5 to 7.5 wt% of the nonionic surfactant and 2 to 6 wt% of the dispersant polymer (see [0008]) Backer further teaches the dispersant polymer structural units of sulfonated monomer (see [0034]). The ranges of each component taught in the prior art overlap with the instantly claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
Baker et al does not teach the composition also comprising a poly(glutamic acid).
Willey et al teaches poly(glutamic acid) can be used in cleaning compositions as a dispersing, soil-suspending or anti-redeposition agent (see abstract). Willey et al teaches the effects occurs in compositions with non-ionic surfactants (bridge pages 1-2). Willey et also teaches the composition contains detergent builders such as phosphonates (page 15, 2nd paragraph). Wiley teaches the composition contains 0.1% to 4.95% by weight of a polymer of glutamic acid
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to make the claimed invention before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the following reasons. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add poly(glutamic acid) to the composition taught by Backer et al in order to make the composition have enhanced dispersing and soil suspending properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would achieve this predictable result because both Backer et al and Willey et al teach cleaning compositions with nonionic surfactants and phosponates. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 2, Baker et al teaches the builder is selected from the group consisting of carbonates, bicarbonates, citrates, silicates and mixtures thereof [0008].
Regarding claim 6, Baker et al teaches the composition contains 0 wt% of builders selected from the group consisting of nitrilotriacetic acid; ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid; diethylenetriaminepentaacetic acid; glycine-N,N-diacetic acid; methyl glycine-N,N-diacetic acid; 2-hydroxyethyliminodiacetic acid; glutamic acid-N,N-diacetic acid; 3-hydroxy-2,2’-iminodissuccinate (see [0040]).
Regarding claims 7-9, Baker et al teaches the composition further comprises an additive, wherein the additive is selected from the group consisting of a bleaching agent, a bleach activator, an enzyme, a filler and mixtures thereof (see [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Backer et al teaches a method of cleaning a plastic article in an automatic dishwashing machine, comprising: (A) selecting the automatic dishwashing composition (B) providing a plastic article; and, (C) applying the automatic dishwashing composition to the plastic article (see [0007-0008]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761