DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: There are twenty-two instances of the term “spay-off” used in the specification which is a typographical error, see for example on page 3, lines 28 and 30. All twenty-two terms should be changed to --spray-off--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. Claim 39 recites in lines 2 and 3, “a bell cup according to one of the preceding claims” and then further recites in line 7, therein the bell cup is designed according to claim 1. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, since claims 40-54 depend from claim 39, claims 39-54 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 25, lines 4 and 5, the phrase “to clamp the bell cup firmly on the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer with an axial clamping force” is indefinite, since from Figure 2, and the Specification on page 16, lines 10-15, it appears that it is both the axial clamping force FAXIAL and the normal clamping force FSPANN or just the normal clamping force FSPANN that clamps the bell cup firmly on the hollow shaft.
In claim 30, lines 2 and 3 the phrase “spay-off” lacks antecedent basis and appears to be a typographical error. The phrase should be changed to --spray-off--.
In claim 31, line 11, the phrase “the outer” lacks antecedent basis and is indefinite since it is not clear what “the outer” is referring to. It is suggested that language such as --the outer boundary wall-- is used to clearly define the invention.
In claim 31, lines 11 and 12, the sentence “Boundary wall of the outer rinsing chamber flows in the proximal direction” is indefinite, is not clearly written and appears to be incomplete. It also seems that since the word “Boundary” is capitalized, that a new limitation was intended to be listed.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-29 and 33-38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-26 and 28-33 of copending Application No. 18/701,345. In regard to claim 24, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a bell cup for a rotary atomizer for spraying coating agent, comprising a spray-off body with an annular circumferential spray-off edge for spraying off the coating agent, an outer circumferential surface leading to the spray-off edge of the bell cup, a hub part for mounting the bell cup on a rotatable hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer, and a fastening arrangement for fastening of the bell cup to the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer, an outer rinsing chamber for rinsing the outer circumferential surface of the bell cup with a rinsing agent, and at least one outer rinsing channel for supplying the rinsing agent, the outer rinsing channel starting from a rinsing agent supply in the interior of the bell cup and opening into the outer rinsing chamber at its outlet opening. Claim 24 is broader in scope than claims 21 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/701,345, and is therefore, encompassed in claims 21 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 25, see claim 21 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 26, see claim 22 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 27, see claim 23 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 28, see claim 24 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 29, see claims 25 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 33, see claim 28 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 34, see claim 29 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 35, see claim 30 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 36, see claim 31 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
As to claim 37, see claim 32 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.-38
As to claim 38, see claim 33 of copending Application No. 18/701,345.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24, 29, 31(as best understood), 33, 34 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8,851,397 B1(van der Steur et al).
As to claim 24, van der Steur et al ‘397 discloses a bell cup 11 for a rotary atomizer for spraying a coating agent comprising: a spray-off body 12/44 with an annular circumferential spray-off edge 13 for spraying off the coating agent, an outer circumferential surface 14 leading to the spray-off edge of the bell cup, a hub part 16 for mounting the bell cup on a rotatable hollow shaft 15 of the rotary atomizer, and a threaded fastening arrangement for fastening of the bell cup to the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer, see col. 5, lines 50-54, an outer rinsing chamber 52 for rinsing the outer circumferential surface of the bell cup with a rinsing agent, see col. 8, lines 20-28, and at least one outer rinsing channel 54/56 for supplying the rinsing agent, the outer rinsing channel starting from a rinsing agent supply in the interior of the bell cup and opening into the outer rinsing chamber at its outlet opening at 58. See col. 1, line 13 through col. 9, line 4 and Figures 1-7.
As to claim 29, see Figure 6 and col. 5, lines 38-43.
As to claim 31(as best understood), see Figures 6 and 7 and col. 8, line 4-46.
As to claim 33, see Figures 6 and 7 and col. 8, lines 4-46.
As to claim 34, see Figure 6, wherein the rinsing agent flow emerging from the outlet opening at 54 of the outer rinsing channel 56 into the outer rinsing chamber 58 is aligned essentially parallel to the axis of rotation of the bell cup.
As to claim 36, see Figure 6, wherein the rinsing agent flow emerging from the outlet opening at 54 of the outer rinsing channel 56 into the outer rinsing chamber 58 is inclined inwards.
As to claim 37, see col. 5, lines 46-47.
As to claim 38, see col. 5, lines 38-43.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,851,397 B1(van der Steur et al) in view of US 7,080,796 B2(Tomiita).
As to claim 30, van der Steur et al ‘397 discloses that the hub part is mechanically connected to the spray-off body through welding, see col. 5, lines 38-43, except for through laser beam welding. Tomiita ‘796 discloses using laser beam welding to join two metal elements together in a nozzle. See col. 4, lines 33-35. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mechanically connect the hub part to the spray-off body through laser beam welding in the apparatus of van der Steur et al ‘397, as taught by Tomiita ‘796, since van der Steur et al ‘397 already teaches welding the hub part to the spray-off body, see col. 5, lines 38-43, and since laser beam welding is an effective welding technique since it uses a focused laser beam as the source of heat to join the pieces together.
Claims 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,851,397 B1(van der Steur et al).
As to claim 32, van der Steur et al ‘397 discloses wherein the fastening arrangement is designed such that the center of mass of the bell cup has an axial distance from the front end of the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer, except for an axial distance that is in the range of less than 5 cm. See Figure 6. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an axial distance from the front end of the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer that is less than 5cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. In addition, the apparatus of van der Steur et al ‘397 would perform equally as well with an axial distance from the front end of the hollow shaft of the rotary atomizer that is less than 5cm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 7,861,945 B2(Yasuda et al) discloses a rotary atomizer with a cleaning operation.
STEVEN J. GANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN J GANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752