DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group 1 in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima et al. US 20190078173 A.
Regarding Claim 1, Takashima et al. teaches at [0014], a steel sheet having a composition “in mass %, C: 0.05 to 0.11%, Si: 0.60% or less, Mn: 1.50 to 2.10%, P: 0.05% or less, S: 0.005% or less, Al: 0.01 to 0.10%, N: 0.010% or less, Ti: 0.005 to 0.07%, Nb: 0.01 to 0.10%,” Cr: 0.50% or less [0068] and the balance Fe and unavoidable impurities. Takashima et al. teaches at [0014] the sheet comprises a microstructure containing 75 to 95% in area fraction of ferrite (meeting the limitation for a soft phase), and 3 to 15% of martensite (meeting the limitation for a hard phase). These values overlap the values instantly claimed, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 2, Takashima et al. teaches the microstructure of its steel sheet contains 10% or less of uncrystallized ferrite by volume (including zero), and 75 to 95% recrystallized ferrite [0076], overlapping the instantly claimed ranges of 5% or less and 60% or more respectively, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 3, Takashima et al. teaches the microstructure of its steel sheet contains 3 to 15% of martensite (meeting the limitation for hard phase) and trace bainite [0079], meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 4, Takashima et al. teaches at [0080] the aspect ratio of the martensite (meeting the limitation for hard phase) is “4.0 or less, preferably 3.5 or less,” overlapping the instantly claimed range of 1.2 or less, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 4, Takashima et al. teaches its steel sheet has a tensile strength of 590 MPa or more (Abstract), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 590 MPa or more, and an elongation of 28% or more [0042], overlapping the instantly claimed range of 18% or more, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KR 20160078570 A teaches a steel sheet composition overlapping the instantly claimed elemental composition.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733