DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the submission filed on 4/17/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: the claims fall under statutory categories of processes and/or machines.
Step 2A Prong 1: the claims recite: obtaining a number of parts in inventory for a component, obtaining demand and priority data for component, obtaining number of available parts of component based on configuration master, demand data, and number of parts in inventory. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity, specifically fundamental economic behavior, including order fulfillment and inventory management.
Step 2A Prong 2: Said judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole, looking at the additional elements: a memory, program, process, and associated device, individually and in combination, merely use a computer or other machinery as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05f.) The claims use these machines in their ordinary capacity for the purpose of applying the abstract idea(s). Therefore, these limitations are invoking computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. Then, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Said claims recite additional elements as listed above, which are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as mentioned in Step 2A Prong 2, they use computers or other machinery to perform an abstract idea in such a way that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using computers or other machinery. Mere instructions to apply an exception using computers or other machinery cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2 and 15 recite obtaining demand and priority data for multiple components. Claims 3 and 16 recite adjusting allocation of parts quantities based on the configuration master, the demand data, and the number of parts in inventory, and obtaining a number of available supplies of the components from the adjusted parts allocation. Claims 4 and 17 recite the demand data includes number of order for component, and the part quantity’s allocation is adjusted based on the amount of orders and amount of parts in inventory.
Claims 5 and 18 recite demand including user selection of component and part allocation is based on part viewing/selection times, or viewing duration, and number of parts in inventory.
Claims 6 and 19 recite priority information is a model designation of “limited”, and part allocation for limited components is greater than other components.
Claims 7 and 20 recite priority includes promotion release date, and part allocation is greater for said priority starting from said date.
Claim 8 recites priority includes engraving support, and part allocation is greater for engravable components.
Claim 9 recites priority including best-selling status/top sales in a period, and part allocation is greater to the best-selling component.
Claim 10 recites priority including new product status, and allocation of parts is greater to the new component.
Claim 11 recites part quantity adjustment is made without using priority status, called demand mode, and said mode’s allocation is based on configuration master, demand, and number of parts in inventory, and priority mode is adjusting with priority information, based on configuration master, demand, priority and number of parts in inventory.
Claim 12 recites priority including a time when a priority should be used, and a priority usage period, and adjusting the part quantity in priority mode during said usage period, and in demand mode when not.
These claims recite said abstract idea and are not subject matter eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horne (US 7,058,587).
Claims 1, 13 and 14. Horne teaches an inventory management method to be implemented by an inventory management device including a memory storing a program and at least one processor to execute the program, the inventory management method comprising: (column 46 lines 56-67 showing computer embodiment)
obtaining, by the at least one processor, a number of parts in inventory that is a number in inventory for parts of a component constituting an object; (Column 8, Table 1, lines 25-30 showing on hand inventory of parts)
obtaining, by the at least one processor, demand information or demand and priority information of the object; and (column 8, Table 3, line 331 showing demand forecast on master schedule; column 19, lines 53-63 showing priority scheme)
obtaining, by the at least one processor, a number of available supplies of each of a plurality of the component based on a component configuration master indicating a correspondence relationship between the component and one or more of the parts, the demand information or demand and priority information, and the number of parts in inventory. (column 18, line 59 through column 19, line 6 showing configuration data of existing parts for components based on demand and existing inventory)
Claim 13 additionally: a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer of an inventory management device to execute processing. (column 46 lines 56-67 showing computer embodiment)
Claim 14 additionally: an inventory management device comprising a memory storing a program and a processor to execute the program. (column 46 lines 56-67 showing computer embodiment)
Claims 2 and 15. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor obtains demand information or demand and priority information for each of a plurality of the objects. (column 8, Table 3, line 331 showing demand forecast on master schedule; column 19, lines 53-63 showing priority scheme)
Claims 3 and 16. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor
adjusts a quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the component configuration master, the demand information or demand and priority information, and the number of parts in inventory, and (column 12, lines 8-28 showing allocation of parts based on demand and available inventory, and (in column 11, lines 38-62 showing component configuration) part requirements)
obtains a number of available supplies of each of a plurality of the components from the adjusted quantity of the parts allocated.
Claims 4 and 17. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1, wherein
the demand includes a number of orders for the object, and (column 4, lines 56-62 as demand in terms of orders)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the number of orders and the number of parts in inventory. (column 23, lines 4-36 showing allocation of parts based on order demand and available inventory)
Claims 5 and 18. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1, wherein
the demand includes a behavior history of a user with regard to the object, (column 5, lines 54-59 showing demand as sales data)
the behavior history includes the user's viewing or selection of the component constituting the object, and (column 5, lines 54-59 showing demand as sales data)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on at least any of a number of times viewed, a viewing duration, or a number of times selected and the number of the parts in inventory. (column 5 lines 30-40 showing inventory reservation for demand, which is based on sales data, corresponding to customer selection)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 10-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horne (US 7,058,587) in view of Hegemier (US 2011/0282476).
Claims 6 and 19. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. It does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes information on whether or not the object is a limited model, and (para. 90 showing demand allocation for limited edition products)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the priority object to be greater than the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting an object other than the limited model. (para. 94 showing shift of parts from standard model to special edition model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Claims 7 and 20. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. It does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes information on whether or not the object is a released product to be released on a promotion release date, and (para. 90 showing promotional products)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the released product to be greater than the quantity of the parts allocated to the component constituting an object other than the released product during a predetermined period starting from the promotion release date. (para. 94 showing limited run of products during a time period and shifting demand for said run)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Claim 10. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. It does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes information on whether or not the object is a new product, and (para. 94 showing limited run products based on new items)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the new product to be greater than the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting an object other than the new product. (para. 94 showing limited run of products during a time period and shifting demand for said run)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Claim 12. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. It does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes a priority usage time that is a time when a priority should be used, and (para. 94 showing priority demand time periods)
the at least one processor
determines whether or not the object has entered a priority usage period including the priority usage time included in the priority information, (para. 94 showing reflected production based on priority period)
when determining that the object has entered the priority usage period, adjusts the quantity of the parts in the priority mode to adjust the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the component configuration master, the demand, the priority, and the number of parts in inventory, and (para. 94 showing allocation of parts to priority product, said allocation based on product design, quantity ordered, and available parts to be shifted)
when determining that there is no object that has entered the priority usage period, adjusts the quantity of the parts in the demand mode to adjust the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the component configuration master, the demand, and the number of parts in inventory. (para. 93 showing “in box” models as the standard product that is not priority, said model allocated parts based on product design, demand, and available parts. See para. 6 regarding part in inventory and demand for said product.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment for specific items. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Claim 11. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. It does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein the at least one processor
determines whether to adjust the quantity of the parts in a demand mode in which the adjustment is made without using the priority information or in a priority mode in which the adjustment is made using the priority information, (paragraphs 93-94 showing in box models and alternatively customized products being allocated parts)
when determining to use the demand mode, adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the component configuration master, the demand, and the number of parts in inventory, and (para. 93 showing “in box” models as the standard product that is not priority, said model allocated parts based on product design, demand, and available parts. See para. 6 regarding part in inventory and demand for said product.)
when determining to use the priority mode, adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the object based on the component configuration master, the demand, the priority, and the number of parts in inventory. (para. 94 showing allocation of parts to priority product, said allocation based on product design, quantity ordered, and available parts to be shifted)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment for specific items. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horne in view of Hegemier, and in further view of Baker (US 2008/0245695).
Claim 8. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. Horne does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes information on whether or not the object is an customizable product capable of supporting a customization service, and (para. 293 showing said custom products in priority including pattern stitching)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the customized product to be greater in a given period of time than the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting an object other than the customized product. (para. 94 showing shift of parts from standard model to special edition model)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Horne as modified by Hegemier does not teach, but Baker teaches: customizing a product using engraving. (para. 30)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation and priority shifting for customized products in Horne as modified by Hegemier, with the known technique of engraving in Baker, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for accommodation of additional product types. See para. 30 of Baker for multiple types of customizations.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horne in view of Hegemier, and in further view of Yesh (US 2021/0240202).
Claim 9. Horne teaches the inventory management method according to claim 1. Horne does not, but Hegemier teaches wherein
the priority information includes information on whether or not the object is a popular trend, and (para. 88 showing adjusting for demand of trending products)
the at least one processor adjusts the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting the trending product to be greater in a given period of time than the quantity of the parts to be allocated to the component constituting an object other than the trending product. (para. 94 showing allocation of parts to priority product, said allocation based on product design, quantity ordered, and available parts to be shifted)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation in Horne, with the known technique of priority shifting in Hegemier because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing faster order fulfillment. (Hegemier para. 94.)
Horne as modified by Hegemier does not teach, but Yesh teaches: identifying a best- selling product with top sales in a certain past sales period. (Paras. 61-62 showing shifting demand to top-selling products)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of part allocation and priority shifting for customized products in Horne as modified by Hegemier, with the known technique of identifying a top selling product, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for accommodation of specific demand types. See para. 61 of Yesh.
Conclusion
/AARON TUTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627