DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received 04/17/2024 for 18702187. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2024 was filed before the mailing date of a first action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "acquiring initial query results of the query information, wherein the initial query results correspond to at least one category; and filtering the initial query results of the at least one category based on a content similarity, and determining a filtered result of initial query results of each category as a query result of the category; wherein the displaying the target information of the second query result in the target jump window comprises: displaying the target information of the second query result in a category to which the first query result belongs or other categories in the target jump window" (claims 5, 20); "displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of the display page in a case where it is detected that a web page corresponding to the first query result displayed in the display page has slid to the bottom of the display page" (claims 6, 21); "acquiring a field content of a display field of the jump identifier, wherein the field content is used for indicating whether the jump identifier meets a display condition for displaying on the display page; and displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of a display page of the content information in a case where it is determined that the jump identifier meets the display condition based on the field content" (claim 8); "filtering the initial query results based on a result relevance between the initial query results to obtain the query result" (claim 10); "determining a result similarity between any two initial query results based on key information of the any two initial query results; and performing de-duplication processing on initial query results with the result similarity being greater than a preset threshold, and obtaining the query result after the de-duplication processing" (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 11, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claims 2, 11, and 17 recite the term "and/or" which includes selective claim language, thus the term "or" is being selected to more clearly delineate the claim scope for purposes of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "receiving unit, configured to receive", "determining unit, configured to determine", "displaying unit, configured to receive" in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described below with respect to claim 12, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of receiving query information, determining a query result, receiving a browsing request, and displaying content information and a jump identifier. The specification does not demonstrate that Applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail, per the 112(b) discussion above, such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claims 17-21 are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement for failing to remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 12.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term "not related" which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "not related" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears unclear how Applicant is defining "not related," given any results of a plurality of results would be related to each other as being produced from the same search query.
Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 12, claim limitations "a receiving unit, configured to receive []; a determining unit, configured to determine []; a displaying unit, configured to receive [], display [], and display []" invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification states the claimed function of receiving, determining, and displaying are performed by "functions [] realized in the form of software functional units". There is no disclose of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the receiving, determining, and displaying. The use of the terms "receiving", "determining", and "displaying" are not adequate structure for performing the receiving, determining, and displaying because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the terms "receiving", "determining", and "displaying" refer to data processing and can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which "receiving", "determining", and "displaying" structure(s) perform(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Independent claims 12, 13, 14, and 16 recite or incorporate the term "not related" as similarly recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Dependent claims 2-11 and 17-21 are rejected as being indefinite for failing to remedy the deficiencies of parent claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 14 is directed to a "computer-readable storage medium". Applicant has provided evidence that Applicant intends the term "computer-readable storage medium" to include non-statutory matter. Applicant describes a computer-readable storage medium as including open ended language and thus it is reasonable to interpret it to include all possible media, including non-statutory media ["the storage medium can be a volatile or nonvolatile computer-readable storage medium", 00190]. The word "storage" is insufficient to convey only statutory embodiments to one of ordinary skill in the art absent an explicit and deliberate limiting definition or clear differentiation between storage media and transitory media in the disclosure.
As such, the claim(s) is/are drawn to a form of energy. Energy is not one of the four categories of invention and therefore this/these claim(s) is/are not statutory. Energy is not a series of steps or acts and thus is not a process. Energy is not a physical article or object and as such is not a machine or manufacture. Energy is not a combination of substances and therefore not a composition of matter. Applicants are advised to insert the phrase "non-transitory" prior to "computer-readable storage medium" to make the claim statutory and overcome rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 16 is directed to a computer program. The specification discloses that such a computer program may be implemented using software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware ("computer program product, which carries a program code, and the program code includes instructions" [00191], "the above computer program product can be realized by hardware, software or their combination" [00193]). The claimed "program" is non-structural per se, and the claim reasonably reads on the corresponding software portion of the disclosure.
The hardware components ("processor" [00192]) are not positively claimed, thus a reasonable interpretation in light of the specification leads to the conclusion that the claim as a whole is directed to entirely a software embodiment, which does not fall within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., it is directed to a program per se). Applicants are advised to amend into the claim the hardware components required to make the claim statutory and overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Varian (US 20140019868 A1).
As to claim 1, Varian discloses an interactive method, comprising:
receiving query information, wherein the query information comprises description information of a question to be queried [Fig. 2B, para 0034, 0038, receive search query including text requesting content (read: question, note broadest reasonable interpretation of question includes a phrase to find information)];
determining a query result corresponding to the query information, wherein the query result comprises a plurality of results matched with the question to be queried, and any two results among the plurality of results are not related to each other [para 0035-0036, identify content items (read: query result) satisfying search request including plurality of content items (read: results) for submitted search query, where content items include at least different (read: not related) advertisement and search result];
receiving a browsing request for a first query result among the query result [Figs. 2B-2C, para 0039, 0045-0046, receive selection (read: browsing request) of content item (read: first query result) from content items to fetch page],
displaying content information of the first query result [Fig. 2C, para 0046, display page of selected content item] and
displaying a jump identifier, wherein the jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result having a preset positional relationship with the first query result among the query result [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0048-0050, display interface with controls (read: jump identifier), where selecting control navigates (read: jump) to page for content item (read: second query result) in order (read: preset positional relationship) of content items including current content item].
As to claim 2, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the jump identifier comprises a first jump identifier and/or a second jump identifier [Fig. 2C, para 0048-0050, interface includes previous and next controls];
the first jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result which is located before the first query result and has a preset positional relationship with the first query result among the plurality of results [Fig. 2C, para 0048-0050, select previous control to present page for content item (read: second query result) previous ordered in ordered content items including current content item]; and
the second jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result which is located after the first query result and has a preset positional relationship with the first query result among the plurality of results [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0048-0050, select next control to present page for content item (read: second query result) next ordered in ordered content items including current content item].
As to claim 9, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation for the jump identifier [para 0050-0051, determine user interaction (read: triggering operation) with control]; and
determining a page jump link corresponding to the jump identifier [para 0025-0027, 0039-0040, 0044, identify resource locator (read: page jump link) for content item presented after selecting control], and jumping to a page corresponding to the page jump link [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0039-0040, 0050, navigate to page for content item identified by resource locator].
As to claim 10, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the query result corresponding to the query information comprises:
determining a query keyword in the query information, wherein the query keyword comprises a keyword associated with the question to be queried in the query information [para 0034-0035, identify keyword related to search query including text requesting content];
querying initial query results matched with the query keyword in a network resource [para 0034-0037, identify resource content items in search system (read: network resource) relevant to identified keyword]; and
filtering the initial query results based on a result relevance between the initial query results to obtain the query result [Fig. 2B, para 0037-0038, determine subset (read: filter) of content items in association with most relevant score to initial resource content item].
As to claim 12, Varian discloses an interactive apparatus, comprising: a receiving unit, a determining unit, and a displaying unit configured [para 0073-0076, system includes input device, output display device, and processor executing processing instructions] to perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 13, Varian discloses a computer device, comprising a processor, a memory and a bus, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, the processor communicates with the memory through the bus when the computer device is running, and when the machine-readable instructions are executed by the processor, the interactive method according to claim 1 is executed [para 0067-0069, 0073-0074, system includes memory storing prosecuting instructions executed by processor interconnected using bus, see claim 1].
As to claim 14, Varian discloses a computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, executes an interactive method [para 0067-0069, 0073-0074, memory stores prosecuting instructions executed by processor], and the interactive method comprises: limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 16, Varian discloses a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, executes the interactive method according to claim 1 [para 0067-0069, 0073, processor executes instructions, see claim 1].
As to claim 17, Varian discloses the interactive apparatus according to claim 12 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varian as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20240220536 A1).
As to claim 3, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises:
determining a first display position in a display page of the content information, wherein the first display position comprises a position located in an area … of the display page [para 0055-0056, include position in interface displaying page]; and
displaying a floating jump button at the first display position, wherein the floating jump button is used to indicate a positional relationship between the first query result and the second query result among the plurality of results [para 0055-0056, interface includes displayed position status element (read: floating jump button) indicating position of currently presented page corresponding to ordered page in group of content items].
However, Varian does not specifically disclose an area below a central axis of the display page.
Wang discloses an area below a central axis of the display page [Figs. 3-4, para 0118-0119, 0132, display popover area at bottom of search page].
Varian and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first display position comprising a position located in an area as disclosed by Varian with an area below a central axis as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 4, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises:
displaying a target jump window at a bottom of a display page of the content information [Fig. 2C, para 0047, 0054, display interface including controls (read: target jump window) at edge of page for current content item, note displayed edge falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of bottom in relation to a southern edge of display screen]; and
displaying target information of the second query result in the target jump window, wherein the target information is used to represent a second key content of the second query result, the second key content is not completely identical to a first key content of the first query result [Fig. 2C, para 0050-0051, interface includes textual control (read: target information) indicating ordered position (read: second key content) of ordered content item and different from page (read: first key content) of current content item].
However, Varian does not specifically disclose the target information comprises at least one of title information, at least part of abstract information and information source.
Wang discloses the target information comprises at least one of title information [Fig. 7a, para 0133, 0137, display popover including structured information (read: target information) of a cooking step dimension (read: title information), note strikethrough indicates non-selected alternatives],
Varian and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the target information as disclosed by Varian with target information comprising at least one of title information, abstract information, and information source as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 5, Varian discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the query result corresponding to the query information comprises:
acquiring initial query results of the query information, wherein the initial query results correspond to at least one category [para 0035-0036, identify content items (read: initial query results) satisfying search request submitted search query relevant to search keyword (read: category)]; and
filtering the initial query results of the at least one category based on a content similarity [para 0036-0038, determine subset of identified content items relevant to search keyword based on relevance], and
determining a filtered result of initial query results of each category as a query result of the category [para 0037-0038, determine initial resource of identified content items relevant to search keyword and present resource as search result for search query];
wherein the displaying the target information of the second query result in the target jump window comprises: displaying the target information of the second query result in a category to which the first query result belongs [Fig. 2C, para 0050-0051, 0054, display interface including textual control indicating ordered content item with textual control (read: category) indicating content item and ordered content item retrieved from initial search results] or other categories in the target jump window.
As to claim 6, Varian discloses the method according to claim 3.
However, Varian does not specifically disclose wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises: displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of the display page in a case where it is detected that a web page corresponding to the first query result displayed in the display page has slid to the bottom of the display page.
Wang discloses wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises: displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of the display page in a case where it is detected that a web page corresponding to the first query result displayed in the display page has slid to the bottom of the display page [Figs. 5, 7a-7b, para 0129, 0137, display popover including target key information (read: jump identifier) when user scrolls to bottom of display page (read: web page) of search results including search result].
Varian and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displaying the jump identifier as disclosed by Varian with a jump identifier at a bottom of a display page as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 7, Varian discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the target jump window comprises an operation identifier for controlling a display state of the target jump window [Fig. 2C, para 0054, display interface including control (read: operation identifier) to change page present with displayed interface], and the method further comprises:
controlling the target jump window … in response to a triggering operation for the operation identifier [Figs. 2B-2C, para 0054, selecting (read: triggering operation) control returns currently displayed page to presenting initial search results page]; and
… switching a display state of the operation identifier to a preset state … [Fig. 2B, para 0054, present initial search results page without interface controls].
However, Varian does not specifically disclose controlling the target jump window to be folded down to a bottom of the display page in response to a triggering operation for the operation identifier; and hiding the target information displayed in the target jump window, and wherein the operation identifier in the preset state is used for triggering to restore the target jump window to a unfold state on a display interface.
Wang discloses:
controlling the target jump window to be folded down to a bottom of the display page in response to a triggering operation for the operation identifier [Figs. 10-11, para 0148-0149, collapse (read: fold down) popover (read: target jump window) after triggering target button (read: operation identifier), where Figure 11 shows popover identifier at bottom of displayed search page]; and
hiding the target information displayed in the target jump window [Figs. 3, 10-11, para 0118, 0147-0148, collapse displayed popover including structured text information], and
switching a display state of the operation identifier to a preset state, wherein the operation identifier in the preset state is used for triggering to restore the target jump window to a unfold state on a display interface [Figs. 3, 10-11, para 0118, 0147-0149, display popover as only identifier (read: preset state) and trigger popover identifier to display expanded popover to before collapse on displayed search page].
Varian and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the target jump window, target information displayed in the target jump window, and operation identifier as disclosed by Varian with controlling the target jump window to be folded down, hiding the target information displayed in the target jump window, and the operation identifier used to restore the target jump window to an unfold state as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 18-21, Varian and Wang, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the interactive apparatus according to claim 12 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 3-6, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jamil et al. (US 20090234811 A1) generally discloses concurrently displaying a search result overview with an individual search result page.
Shi (CN 109299212 A) generally discloses displaying query results information based on sliding up a window from the bottom of a screen.
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172