DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Response received 06/26/2026 for 18702187. Claims 1-11, 13-14, and 22-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendments, the objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the objection to claims 2, 11, and 17 has been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the 112(a) rejection of claims 12 and 17-21 have been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-14 and 16-21 have been withdrawn.
In view of Applicant's amendments, the 101 rejection of claims 14 and 16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the newly cited Denise reference being used in the current 103 rejection.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of Applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., where "all search results" are displayed [pg. 13:6]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, the claim recites "all second query results" but does not require the second query results include all of the plurality of results matched with the question.
Claims 13 and 14 recite similar limitations to those recited in claim 1 and remain rejected upon a similar basis as claim 1 as stated above.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-10, 13-14, and 22-27 are rejected at least based on their dependence from independent claims 1 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, 13-14, 22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varian (US 20140019868 A1) in view of Denise (US 20140379694 A1).
As to claim 1, Varian discloses an interactive method, comprising:
receiving query information, wherein the query information comprises description information of a question [Fig. 2B, para 0034, 0038, receive search query including text requesting content (read: question, note broadest reasonable interpretation of question includes a phrase to find information)];
determining a query result corresponding to the query information, wherein the query result comprises a plurality of results matched with the question, and any two results among the plurality of results are independent of each other [para 0035-0036, identify content items (read: query result) satisfying search request including plurality of content items (read: results) for submitted search query, where content items include at least different (read: independent) advertisement and search result];
receiving a browsing request for a first query result among the query result [Figs. 2B-2C, para 0039, 0045-0046, receive selection (read: browsing request) of content item (read: first query result) from content items to fetch page],
displaying content information of the first query result [Fig. 2C, para 0046, display page of selected content item] and
displaying a jump identifier, wherein the jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result having a positional relationship with the first query result among the query result [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0048-0050, display interface with controls (read: jump identifier), where selecting control navigates (read: jump) to page for content item (read: second query result) in order (read: preset positional relationship) of content items including current content item]; and
… wherein each second query result is used to jump to a corresponding page [para 0049-0050, selecting control for content item navigates to page of content item].
However, Varian does not specifically disclose displaying all second query results on a jump button corresponding to the jump identifier.
Denise discloses displaying all second query results on a jump button corresponding to the jump identifier [Fig. 3, para 0016-0017, search identifier (read: jump button) identifying search session expands to display list of search results (read: second query results)].
Varian and Denise are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the jump identifier as disclosed by Varian with displaying all second query results on a jump button corresponding to the jump identifier as disclosed by Denise with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to enhance search result user experience [Denise, para 0015].
As to claim 2, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1,
wherein the jump identifier comprises at least one of a first jump identifier or a second jump identifier [Fig. 2C, para 0048-0050, interface includes previous and next controls];
the first jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result which is located before the first query result and has a positional relationship with the first query result among the plurality of results [Fig. 2C, para 0048-0050, select previous control to present page for content item (read: second query result) previous ordered in ordered content items including current content item]; and
the second jump identifier is used to jump to a page corresponding to a second query result which is located after the first query result and has a positional relationship with the first query result among the plurality of results [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0048-0050, select next control to present page for content item (read: second query result) next ordered in ordered content items including current content item].
As to claim 4, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises:
displaying a jump window at a bottom of a display page of the content information [Fig. 2C, para 0047, 0054, display interface including controls (read: jump window) at edge of page for current content item, note displayed edge falls under broadest reasonable interpretation of bottom in relation to a southern edge of display screen]; and
displaying first information of the second query result in the jump window, wherein the first information is used to represent a second key content of the second query result, the second key content is not completely identical to a first key content of the first query result … [Fig. 2C, para 0050-0051, interface includes textual control (read: first information) indicating ordered position (read: second key content) of ordered content item and different from page (read: first key content) of current content item].
However, Varian does not specifically disclose wherein the first information comprises at least one of title information, at least part of abstract information or information source.
Denise discloses wherein the first information comprises at least one of title information [Fig. 3, para 0042, search results include search result title, note strikethrough indicates non-selected alternatives],
Varian and Denise are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of web search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the target information as disclosed by Varian with target information comprising at least one of title information, abstract information, and information source as disclosed by Denise with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian as described above to enhance search result user experience [Denise, para 0015].
As to claim 5, Varian discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the determining the query result corresponding to the query information comprises:
acquiring initial query results of the query information, wherein the initial query results correspond to at least one category [para 0035-0036, identify content items (read: initial query results) satisfying search request submitted search query relevant to search keyword (read: category)]; and
filtering the initial query results of the at least one category based on a content similarity [para 0036-0038, determine subset of identified content items relevant to search keyword based on relevance], and
determining a filtered result of initial query results of each category as a query result of the category [para 0037-0038, determine initial resource of identified content items relevant to search keyword and present resource as search result for search query];
wherein the displaying the first information of the second query result in the jump window comprises: displaying the first information of the second query result in a category to which the first query result belongs [Fig. 2C, para 0050-0051, 0054, display interface including textual control indicating ordered content item with textual control (read: category) indicating content item and ordered content item retrieved from initial search results] or other categories in the jump window.
As to claim 9, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation for the jump identifier [para 0050-0051, determine user interaction (read: triggering operation) with control]; and
determining a page jump link corresponding to the jump identifier [para 0025-0027, 0039-0040, 0044, identify resource locator (read: page jump link) for content item presented after selecting control], and
jumping to a page corresponding to the page jump link [Figs. 2C-2D, para 0039-0040, 0050, navigate to page for content item identified by resource locator].
As to claim 10, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the query result corresponding to the query information comprises:
determining a query keyword in the query information, wherein the query keyword comprises a keyword associated with the question in the query information [para 0034-0035, identify keyword related to search query including text requesting content];
querying initial query results matched with the query keyword in a network resource [para 0034-0037, identify resource content items in search system (read: network resource) relevant to identified keyword]; and
filtering the initial query results based on a result relevance between the initial query results to obtain the query result [Fig. 2B, para 0037-0038, determine subset (read: filter) of content items in association with most relevant score to initial resource content item].
As to claim 13, Varian and Denise, combined at least for the reasons above, Varian discloses a computer device, comprising a processor, a memory and a bus, wherein the memory stores machine-readable instructions executable by the processor, the processor communicates with the memory through the bus when the computer device is running, and the processor, when executing the machine-readable instructions [para 0067-0069, 0073-0074, system includes memory storing prosecuting instructions executed by processor interconnected using bus], is caused to: perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 14, Varian and Denise, combined at least for the reasons above, Varian discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, executes an interactive method [para 0067-0069, 0073-0074, memory stores prosecuting instructions executed by processor], and the interactive method comprises: limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claims 22, 24, and 25, Varian and Denise, combined at least for the reasons above, discloses the computer device according to claim 13 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 2, 4, and 5, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 3, 6-7, 23, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varian and Denise as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20240220536 A1).
As to claim 3, Varian discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises:
determining a first display position in a display page of the content information, wherein the first display position comprises a position located in an area … of the display page [para 0055-0056, include position in interface displaying page]; and
displaying a floating jump button at the first display position, wherein the floating jump button is used to indicate a positional relationship between the first query result and the second query result among the plurality of results [para 0055-0056, interface includes displayed position status element (read: floating jump button) indicating position of currently presented page corresponding to ordered page in group of content items].
However, Varian, and Denise do not specifically disclose an area below a central axis of the display page.
Wang discloses an area below a central axis of the display page [Figs. 3-4, para 0118-0119, 0132, display popover area at bottom of search page].
Varian, Denise, and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first display position comprising a position located in an area as disclosed by Varian and Denise with an area below a central axis as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian and Denise as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 6, Varian discloses the method according to claim 3.
However, Varian and Denise do not specifically disclose wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises: displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of the display page in a case where it is detected that a web page corresponding to the first query result displayed in the display page has slid to the bottom of the display page.
Wang discloses wherein the displaying the jump identifier comprises: displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of the display page in a case where it is detected that a web page corresponding to the first query result displayed in the display page has slid to the bottom of the display page [Figs. 5, 7a-7b, para 0129, 0137, display popover including target key information (read: jump identifier) when user scrolls to bottom of display page (read: web page) of search results including search result].
Varian, Denise, and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify displaying the jump identifier as disclosed by Varian and Denise with a jump identifier at a bottom of a display page as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian and Denise as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claim 7, Varian discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the target jump window comprises an operation identifier for controlling a display state of the target jump window [Fig. 2C, para 0054, display interface including control (read: operation identifier) to change page present with displayed interface], and the method further comprises:
controlling the jump window … in response to a triggering operation for the operation identifier [Figs. 2B-2C, para 0054, selecting (read: triggering operation) control returns currently displayed page to presenting initial search results page]; and
… switching a display state of the operation identifier to a first state … [Fig. 2B, para 0054, present initial search results page without interface controls].
However, Varian and Denise do not specifically disclose controlling the jump window to be folded down to the bottom of the display page; hiding the first information displayed in the jump window, and wherein the operation identifier in the first state is used for triggering to restore the jump window to a unfold state on a display interface.
Wang discloses:
controlling the jump window to be folded down to the bottom of the display page in response to a triggering operation for the operation identifier [Figs. 10-11, para 0148-0149, collapse (read: fold down) popover (read: target jump window) after triggering target button (read: operation identifier), where Figure 11 shows popover identifier at bottom of displayed search page]; and
hiding the first information displayed in the jump window [Figs. 3, 10-11, para 0118, 0147-0148, collapse displayed popover including structured text information], and
switching a display state of the operation identifier to a first state, wherein the operation identifier in the first state is used for triggering to restore the jump window to a unfold state on a display interface [Figs. 3, 10-11, para 0118, 0147-0149, display popover as only identifier (read: preset state) and trigger popover identifier to display expanded popover to before collapse on displayed search page].
Varian, Denise, and Wang are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of search systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the jump window, first information displayed in the target jump window, and operation identifier as disclosed by Varian and Denise with controlling the jump window to be folded down, hiding the first information displayed in the jump window, and the operation identifier used to restore the jump window to an unfold state as disclosed by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Varian and Denise as described above to view results as needed and improve search efficiency [Wang, para 0151].
As to claims 23, 26, and 27, Varian, Denise, and Wang, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the computer device according to claim 13 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claims 3, 6, and 7, respectively, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art references of record are noted per the rejections above and per the section below.
Jamil et al. (US 20090234811 A1) generally discloses concurrently displaying a search result overview with an individual search result page.
Shi (CN 109299212 A) generally discloses displaying query results information based on sliding up a window from the bottom of a screen.
After reviewing the art and performing an updated search, no combination of prior art reads on the dependent claims as a whole. Specifically, the newly added limitations in combination with the remainder of the dependent claims as a whole are novel and non-obvious over the prior art. In addition, no reference uncovered would have provided a basis of evidence for asserting a motivation, nor one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made, knowing the teaching of the prior arts of record would have combined them to arrive at the present invention as recited in the context of the dependent claims as a whole.
Regarding the dependent claims, the prior art of record broadly discloses search result interfaces. Moreover, the prior art of record allows retrieving query results matching description information of a question, browsing between query results, and displaying query results on a jump button corresponding to a jump identifier.
However, the prior art of record does not explicitly teach the more intertwined nature of the current claims after the most recent amendment. The display field of the jump identifier is specifically being claimed and display of the jump identifier at a bottom of a display page based on a display condition in addition to the specific processing performed on initial query results are not taught by the prior art, specifically, acquiring a field content of a display field of the jump identifier, wherein the field content is used for indicating whether the jump identifier meets a display condition for displaying on the display page; and displaying the jump identifier at a bottom of a display page of the content information in a case where it is determined that the jump identifier meets the display condition based on the field content; determining a result similarity between any two initial query results based on key information of the any two initial query results; and performing de-duplication processing on initial query results with the result similarity being greater than a threshold, and obtaining the query result after the de-duplication processing. Allowing such display and processing with such a specific field content and de-duplication for a specific type of jump identifier and initial query results are not taught by the previously cited art.
Moreover, the specific display positions and de-duplication of the initial query results associated therewith fully integrate any type of high level mental evaluations and data output into a practical application. Therefore, it is for at least these reasons that the claim language, in the specific order recited, defines patentability over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172