DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkenljung (WO 2020035499) in view of Ito et al. (JP2004168528) and Smith et al. (WO2017172320).
With respect to claim 1, Arkenlijung teaches a roll of cleaning fabric (13) configured to clean cylinders included in a printing system, the roll (12) comprising:
a bobbin (14); and
a cleaning fabric (13) wound onto the bobbin (14) and, the cleaning fabric (12) being impregnated with a cleaning composition (Abstract, Page 10, Line 19-25, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 23-30, Page 18, Lines 20-27, Page 26, Claim 1), wherein the cleaning composition comprises water in a concentration (Page 3, Lines 4-12).
However, Arkenljung does not explicitly disclose wherein the bobbin is coated with a water repellent coating, the water concentration lower than 40 wt% and the cleaning composition is a micro-emulsion. Ito et al. teaches a water repellent coating of a bobbin (Paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the bobbin taught by Arkenljung to provide a water repellent coating as taught by Ito et al. for the purpose of providing a protective layer against water.
Ito et al. does not explicitly disclose the water concentration is between 5 and 50 wt% and the cleaning composition is a micro-emulsion. Smith et al. teaches a cleaning process comprising a cleaning composition that is a micro-emulsion the water concentration is the water concentration lower than 40 wt% (Paragraphs 0035, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the cleaning composition taught by Arkenljung to provide a cleaning composition with a micro-emulsion with water concentration lower than 40 wt% as taught by Smith et al. for the purpose of providing an efficient, cost effective composition that improves productivity.
With respect to claim 2, Klier et al. teaches the water in the concentration of between 5 to 20 wt% (Paragraph 0035).
With respect to claim 3, Klier et al. teaches the cleaning composition further comprises a glycol ether (Paragraph 0026), a polyethylene glycol (PEG) ester, preferably a polyethylene glycol fatty acid ester, an ethoxylated amine, an ethoxylated alcohol (Paragraphs 0004, 0011), or a combination thereof.
With respect to claim 4, Arkenljung teaches the bobbin (14) is made from a paper material (Page 12, Lines 15-18).
With respect to claim 5, Arkenljung teaches wherein the bobbin is hollow and coated with the water repellent coating on both an external surface and an internal surface (Paragraph 0041).
With respect to claim 8, Arkenljung teaches the roll (12) is packed in a sealing bag (15).
With respect to claim 9, Ito et al. teaches wherein the water repellent coating comprises a combination of water (Paragraph 0016), a polyethylene emulsion, preferably a high density polyethylene emulsion (Paragraph 0016), and a styrene acrylic emulsion.
With respect to claim 10, Arkenljung teaches a method of forming a roll (12) the method comprising the steps of: winding the cleaning fabric (13) impregnated with the cleaning composition (Abstract, Page 10, Line 19-25, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 23-30, Page 18, Lines 20-27, Page 26, Claim 1) that comprises the water (Page 13, Lines 23-30).
However, Arkenljung is silent with respect to applying a water repellent coating to the bobbin and the water concentration of lower than 40 wt% around the bobbin. Smith et al. teaches a cleaning process comprising a cleaning composition that is a micro-emulsion the water concentration is the water concentration lower than 40 wt% (Paragraphs 0035, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the cleaning composition taught by Arkenljung to provide a cleaning composition with a micro-emulsion with water concentration lower than 40 wt% as taught by Smith et al. for the purpose of providing an efficient, cost effective composition that improves productivity.
Ito et al. teaches a water repellent coating of a bobbin (Paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the bobbin taught by Arkenljung to provide a water repellent coating as taught by Ito et al. for the purpose of providing a protective layer against water.
With respect to claim 12, Arkenljung teaches packaging the roll (12) in a sealing bag (15, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 3-4, Page 18, Line 29-Page 30, Line 3).
With respect to claim 19, Arkenljung teaches the step of packaging the roll (12) in the sealing bag comprises sealing the sealing bag with heat sealing to obtain vacuum in the sealing bag (15, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 3-4, Page 18, Line 29-Page 30, Line 3).
With respect to claim 20, Arkenljung teaches the roll (12) is vacuum packed in the sealing bag (15, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 3-4, Page 18, Line 29-Page 30, Line 3).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkenljung (WO 2020035499) in view of Ito et al. (JP2004168528) and Smith et al. (WO2017172320) and further in view of Koyaizu (JP2014213194).
With respect to claim 13, Arkenljung, as modified, teaches a method of cleaning cylinders included in a printing system using the roll (Abstract, 12) according to claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: mounting the container (20) enclosing the roll (12) in a washing unit (Page 6, Lines 4-7, Page 19, Lines 7-9); and cleaning at least one printing cylinder (2-5) of the printing system with the washing unit (Page 1, Lines 5-9, Page 2, Lines 14-24, Page, Lines 23-30, Page 14, Lines14-17, Page 19, Lines 11-18, Line 29-Page 20, Line 3).
Arkenljung does not explicitly disclose placing the roll in a container comprising a slit extending along the container and feeding a cleaning fabric of the roll through the slit of the container. Koyaizu teaches placing the roll (10) in a container (20) comprising a slit (16) extending along the container (20, Figure 2, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023) and feeding a cleaning fabric of the roll (10) through the slit (16) of the container (20, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the invention taught by Arkenljung, as modified, to provide the steps of placing the roll in a container and feeding a roll through a slit as taught by Koyaizu for the purpose of ensuring the cleaning cloth is securely mounted on a roll and in a container.
With respect to claim 14, Arkenljung teaches a step of removing the roll (12) from a sealing bag (15) before placing the roll (12) in the container (20, Page 12, Line 27-Page 13, Line 4).
Claims 15-17, 21, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkenljung (WO 2020035499) in view of Klier et al. (EP 0692021) and Koyaizu (JP2014213194).
With respect to claim 15, Arkenljung teaches a kit comprising; (i) a roll (12) of cleaning fabric (13) configured to clean cylinders included in a printing system, and ii) a container (20) and wherein the cleaning fabric (13) is impregnated with a cleaning composition comprising water (Abstract, Page 10, Line 19-25, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 23-30, Page 18, Lines 20-27, Page 26, Claim 1).
However, Arkenljung does not explicitly disclose the water concentration between 5 and 50 wt%, the cleaning composition is a micro-emulsion and a container that has a slit that extends along the container and that is configured to receive the cleaning fabric of the roll.
Klier et al. teaches a cleaning process comprising a cleaning composition that is a micro-emulsion the water concentration is between 5 and 50 wt% (Paragraphs 0003, 0004, 0009).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the cleaning composition taught by Arkenljung to provide a cleaning composition with a micro-emulsion with water concentration is between 5 and 50 wt% as taught by Klier et al. for the purpose of providing a composition that effectively removes oil or grease.
Klier et al. does not explicitly disclose a container that has a slit that extends along the container and that is configured to receive the cleaning fabric of the roll.
Koyaizu teaches a container (20) comprising that has a slit (16) that extends along the container (20, Figure 2, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023) and is configured to receive cleaning fabric of the roll (10, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Arkenljung to provide a slit that extends along a container as taught by Koyaizu for the purpose of ensuring the cleaning cloth is securely mounted on a roll and in a container.
With respect to claim 16, Arkenljung teaches the container (20) further comprises mounting openings (openings of core 14 on both ends of the roll 12) for mounting the roll (12) and container (20) in a washing unit (10, Page 6, Lines 4-7, Page 19, Lines 7-9).
With respect to claim 17, Arkenljung teaches the bobbin (14) is either made from one of i) a paper material coated with a water repellent coating, (ii) a plastic material (Page 2, Lines 12-16); and (iii) a metallic material (Page 2, Lines 12-16).
With respect to claim 21, Arkenljung teaches the claimed invention with the exception of a slit that is configured to allow feeding of the cleaning fabric through the slit when the roll and the container is mounted in a washing unit.
Koyaizu teaches a slit (16) that is configured to allow feeding a cleaning fabric (12) through the slit (16) when the roll (10) and the container (20) is mounted in a washing unit (20, Figure 2, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Arkenljung to provide a slit that is configured to allow feeding a cleaning fabric through the slit when the roll and the container is mounted in a washing unit as taught by Koyaizu for the purpose of ensuring the cleaning cloth is securely mounted on a roll and in a container.
With respect to claim 26, Arkenljung teaches the cleaning fabric (13) is wound around the bobbin (14) with the bobbin (14, Abstract, Page 10, Line 19-25, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 23-30, Page 18, Lines 20-27, Page 26, Claim 1), however does not explicitly disclose the bobbin disposed in an interior of the container with a portion of the cleaning fabric being threaded through the slit and out of the container when the container with the roll is mounted in a washing unit.
Koyaizu teaches the bobbin (14) disposed in an interior of the container (20) with a portion of the cleaning fabric (10) being threaded through the slit (16) and out of the container with the roll is mounted in a washing unit (20, Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023, Figures 4, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Arkenljung to provide the bobbin disposed in an interior of the container with a portion of the cleaning fabric being threaded through the slit as taught by Koyaizu for the purpose of ensuring the cleaning cloth is securely mounted on a roll and in a container.
With respect to claim 27, Koyaizu teaches the cleaning fabric (12) is threaded through the slit (16) and out of the container (20) onto a collecting roll (14) when the container (20) with the roll (14) is mounted in a washing unit (Paragraphs 0016, 0022, 0023, Figures 4, 6).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkenljung (WO 2020035499) in view of Klier et al. (EP 0692021) and Koyaizu (JP2014213194) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Smith et al. (WO2017172320).
With respect to claim 23, Arkenljung, as modified, teaches a kit comprising; (i) a roll (12) of cleaning fabric (13) configured to clean cylinders included in a printing system, and ii) a container (20) and wherein the cleaning fabric (13) is impregnated with a cleaning composition comprising water (Abstract, Page 10, Line 19-25, Page 12, Lines 21-25, Page 13, Lines 23-30, Page 18, Lines 20-27, Page 26, Claim 1).
However, Arkenljung does not explicitly disclose the water concentration lower than 40 wt%, the cleaning composition is a micro-emulsion.
Smith et al. teaches a cleaning process comprising a cleaning composition that is a micro-emulsion the water concentration is the water concentration lower than 40 wt% (Paragraphs 0035, 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the cleaning composition taught by Arkenljung, as modified, to provide a cleaning composition with a micro-emulsion with water concentration lower than 40 wt% as taught by Smith et al. for the purpose of providing an efficient, cost effective composition that improves productivity.
With respect to claim 24, Smith et al. teaches the cleaning composition comprises water in a concentration of lower than 40%wt (Paragraphs 0035, 0036).
With respect to claim 25, Smith et al. teaches the cleaning composition comprises water in a concentration of between 5 and 20%wt (Paragraphs 0035, 0036).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkenljung (WO 2020035499) in view of Klier et al. (EP 0692021) and Koyaizu (JP2014213194) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Xie et al. (CN118873037),
With respect to claim 22, Arkenljung, as modified, teaches the claimed invention including a container (20), a roll (10) and a cleaning fabric (12), however Arkenljung does not explicitly disclose a container encases the roll in a manner so as to prevent evaporation of the cleaning composition from the cleaning fabric when the container containing the roll is mounted in a washing unit.
Xie et al. teaches a container (10) encases a roll (20) in a manner so as to prevent evaporation of a cleaning composition when when the container containing the roll is mounted in a washing unit (Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to further modify the invention taught by Arkenljung, as modified, to provide a container that encases a roll as taught by Xie et al. for the purpose of ensuring the roll continues to provide a cleaning composition thereby preventing drying out of the cleaning roll.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-17, 19 and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852