Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 17 April 2024 has been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: "TIPS" in line 2 should be --transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt (TIPS)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: remote read-out device in claim 1.
The limitation is thus interpreted according to the descriptions of page 5 and 6 of the instant specification of a device located outside of the patient’s body which wirelessly receives pressure from the pressure sensors and allows the pressure difference to be read without performing a surgery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20160022447 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an implant for determining a pressure difference inside a bodily lumen (Paragraph 0027—pressure-sensor-embedded-stent for performing in situ measurements of blood pressure inside a vessel and thus could provide advance notices of restenosis), comprising:
an implantable body (Fig. 5; paragraph 0012, 0027, 0029-- the stent wire), the implantable body comprising a first conductive element and a second conductive element, the first and second conductive elements being electrically insulated relative to each other (Fig. 5; paragraph 0040-- In some embodiments, the stent may be made from multiple wires… the wires, which are electrically insulated from one another),
first and second pressure sensors, the first and second pressure sensors being arranged for measuring a pressure occurring inside the body, the first and second pressure sensors being arranged at different locations (Fig. 5—multiple pressure sensor electrodes arranged at different locations along the helically wound coil; Paragraph 0029, 0040-- capacitive pressure sensors are built onto a cavity created on the stent wire… each wire includes two sensors…),
wherein the first pressure sensor is arranged for sending the pressure to a remote read-out device by means of being coupled to the first conductive element, with the first conductive element serving as an antenna (Paragraph 0012-- The 1 -component structure is realized by building a pressure sensor into the stent wire and utilizing the stent wire also as the signal radiation LC coupler and antenna; paragraph 0027-0029-- a pressure sensor- integrated stent where the pressure sensor acts as a capacitor and the stent coil behaves as an inductor for the resonance and simultaneously as an antenna to transmit the signal during resonance), and
wherein the second pressure sensor is arranged for sending the pressure to a remote read-out device by means of being coupled to the second conductive element, with the second conductive element serving as an antenna (Paragraph 0012, 0027-0029),
wherein the implantable body comprises a stent (Paragraph 0027-0029—a pressure-sensor-embedded-stent), wherein the stent is a wire stent comprising a section made of a helically wound wire, wherein the first conductive element and/or the second conductive element are part of the helically wound wire (Fig. 5; paragraph 0027-0029, 0040--the stent may be made from multiple wires),
wherein the first conductive element and the second conductive element are connected to each other by means of an insulating connector sheath (Paragraph 0040--the wires, which are electrically insulated from one another).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the implant according to claim 1. Kim additionally teaches wherein the first conductive element and/or the second conductive element are made of a single piece of wire (Figs. 1 and 5; paragraph 0012, 0027-0029, 0040-- 1 -component structure…a wire tube… In some embodiments, the stent may be made from multiple wires NOTE: with multiple wires, each wire is a conductive element and thus a single piece of wire.).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the implant according to claim 1. Kim additionally teaches wherein the stent further comprises a section made of a woven wire (Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraph 0040-- the stent may be made from multiple wires).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the implant according to claim 1. Kim additionally teaches the stent being self-expanding (Figs. 1 and 5; Paragraph 0027-0029-- a minimally-profiled "on-wire" pressure sensor that is embedded in the stent to prevent any difficulties during insertion surgery… stents with discrete components impose challenges when they are inserted through arbitrarily-shaped vessels which might require bending of the stent….A one-component stent has been reported which utilizes the subtle stiffness/mass changes of the stent as the indication of restenosis…Note: the improvements over existing stents demonstrate that this stent configuration must be capable of self-expanding after navigation through tortuous vessels and in order to change in stiffness in a measurable manner).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the implant according to claim 1. Kim additionally teaches wherein the first and the second pressure sensors are arranged at opposite longitudinal ends of the stent (Figs. 1 and 5, see positions of multiple pressure sensor electrodes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gleich (US 20200397320 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the implant of claim 1. However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the stent is at least partially covered with a covering material to form a stent graft.
Gleich, in the same field of endeavor of an implantable pressure sensor for being introduced into the circulatory system, teaches that such a device has uses in “coronary stents, stents in aneurisms (pressure monitoring can help detect endo-leaks), transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunts (TIPS), or stents used in peripheral vascular disease” (Paragraph 0112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the implant of Kim to be used with a stent which is at least partially covered with a covering material to form a stent graft as described by Gleich in order to predictably allow the implant to be used not only in the monitoring of restenosis (see Kim, paragraph 0027) but also in other instances of possible disease or device failure (see Paragraph 0111 of Gleich-- characterize pressure profiles in and around such devices to detect clogging or monitor disease progression) so that the implant may have a greater number of applications while having the same configuration and structure.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the implant of claim 1. However, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the stent graft is a TIPS stent graft.
Gleich, in the same field of endeavor of an implantable pressure sensor for being introduced into the circulatory system, teaches that such a device has uses in “coronary stents, stents in aneurisms (pressure monitoring can help detect endo-leaks), transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunts (TIPS), or stents used in peripheral vascular disease” (Paragraph 0112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the implant of Kim to be used wherein the stent graft is a TIPS stent graft as described by Gleich in order to predictably allow the implant to be used not only in the monitoring of restenosis (see Kim, paragraph 0027) but also in other instances of possible disease or device failure (see Paragraph 0111 of Gleich-- characterize pressure profiles in and around such devices to detect clogging or monitor disease progression) so that the implant may have a greater number of applications while having the same configuration and structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190269339 A1 to Najafi discloses an implant for determining two pressures within a bodily lumen which comprises an implantable housing body having a first conductive element and a second conductive element as well as first and second pressure sensors.
US 20220323012 A1 to Pool teaches an implanted cardiac shunt or stent device including a pressure sensor or plurality of pressure sensors and a conductive element formed as a coiled wire which serves as an antenna.
US 20160310077 A1 to Hunter teaches an implantable body comprising a first and second pressure sensor (Sensor module 10 including pressure sensors 14; paragraph 0095) and a conductive element (antenna 22) for determining a pressure across a lumen.
/ANNA ROBERTS/Examiner, Art Unit 3791