DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I drawn to a liquid composition in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 15 and 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 July 2026.
Applicant’s election of retinyl palmitate as the species of component a), vitamin D3 as the species of component b), tocopherol acetate as the species of component c), vitamin K1 as the species of component d), glycerin as the species of component e), MCT oil as the species of component f), phosphatidyl choline as the species of component h), β-carotene as the species of component i), and a species of composition further comprising zinc bisglycinate in the reply filed on 17 July 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-14 and 16 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 3-4 recite the composition of claim 1, wherein the total amount of components a) to d) is in the range of 0.2 to 20% by weight. However, claim 1 recites the total amount of components of a) to d) is at least 0.3% by weight. As such, claims 3-4 fail to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which they depend.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For examination purposes, claims 3-4 are interpreted as reciting the total amount of components a) to d) in the range of 0.3 to 20% by weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shade et al. (US 10,722,465 cited on Applicant’s IDS filed 6 March 2025) in view of Blanke et al. (US 2010/0183770 cited on Applicant’s IDS filed 6 March 2025).
The instant claims are drawn to a liquid composition comprising:
0.001 to 0.4% by weight vitamin A;
0.00005 to 0.3% by weight vitamin D3 (Applicant’s elected species);
0.1 to 19% by weight vitamin E;
0.001 to 0.4% by weight vitamin K1 (Applicant’s elected species);
40 to 95% by weight of at least one water miscible polyol, more specifically glycerin (Applicant’s elected species);
1 to 40% by weight of at least one edible triglyceride, more specifically MCT oils (Applicant’s elected species);
3 to 30% by weight water;
0.5 to 10% by weight of a phospholipid composition, more specifically phosphatidylcholine (Applicant’s elected species); and
0.01 to 10% by weight β-carotene (Applicant’s elected species),
wherein the total amount of components a) to d) is in the range of 0.3 to 20% by weight, wherein the liquid composition is translucent. As thus summarized, the instant invention reads on claims 1-7 and 13.
Shade et al. teach transparent liquid compositions of vitamins (Abstract), further teaching in Examples 1 and 2 (Cols. 8-9) a composition comprising:
0.062% vitamin A;
0.019% vitamin D3;
1.77% vitamin E;
0.0014% vitamin K1;
60.98% glycerin;
citrus oil;
water;
phosphatidylcholine; and
0.010% β-carotene,
wherein the total amounts of components a) to d) is 1.85%.
As such, Shade et al. teach a liquid composition comprising 0.001 to 0.4% by weight vitamin A; 0.00005 to 0.3% by weight vitamin D3; 0.1 to 19% by weight vitamin E; 0.001 to 0.4% by weight vitamin K1; 40 to 95% by weight glycerin; and 0.01 to 10% by weight β-carotene, wherein the total amount of components a) to d) is in the range of 0.3 to 20% by weight, wherein the liquid composition is translucent.
The composition of Shade et al. differs from the instantly claimed invention in the following ways:
the composition of Shade et al. does not comprise MCT oil;
Shade et al. are silent as to the amount of the edible triglyceride in the composition;
Shade et al. are silent as to the amount of water in the composition; and
Shade et al. are silent as to the amount of phosphatidylcholine in the composition.
Yet, as to 1: Shade et al. further teach the oil component of the composition being selected from citrus oil and MCT oil (Col. 6 lines 15-18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Shade et al. to include MCT oil. It would have been obvious to substitute one oil taught to be suitable for use in the vitamin compositions for another to obtain the predictable result of a vitamin composition, with a reasonable expectation of success.
And, as to 2-4: Shade et al. further teach the emulsifiers(TGPS and phosphatidylcholine) and oil being added to provide the desired physical structures in the nanoemulsion (Col. 8 lines 66-67; col. 9 lines 5-20), additionally teaching that the desired physical structures within the nanoemulsion lead to improved oral delivery (Col. 6 lines 23-33), indicating to one of ordinary skill in the art that the concentrations of the oil and phosphatidylcholine are result effective variables, determining the physical structure of the nanoemulsion, and thus the oral delivery efficacy.
Blanke et al. also teach emulsions for the delivery of vitamins A, D3, E, and K (Par. [0001]) including an edible triglyceride oil (Pars. [0028-29]) in an amount of about 40 to 60% by weight (Par. [0037]); and an emulsifier comprising a caseinate (Abstract) in an amount of 2.5 to 4.5% by weight (Par. [0035]), indicating to one of ordinary skill in the art suitable ranges for the oil and emulsifier in the composition of Shade et al. to be further optimized.
And, as discussed by MPEP 2144.05, “[g]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical” (see also In re Aller (220 F.2d 454)): “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation…” Indeed, as further discussed by the court, “[s]uch experimentation is no more than the application of the expected skill of the [ordinarily skilled artisan] and failure to perform such experiments would, in our opinion, show a want of the expected skill”; see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2005): “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages” and “[o]nly if the ‘results of optimizing a variable’ are ‘unexpectedly good’ can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range” (quoting In re Antonie (559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977))).
In the instant case, the concentrations of MCT oil and phosphatidylcholine are clearly result-effective variables, determining the physical structure of the nanoemulsion. Accordingly, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal concentrations of MCT oil and phosphatidylcholine in order to best achieve the desired results.
Shade et al. further teach the composition comprising approximately 1.25 mL of ethanol and 1.6 mL of glycerin (Col. 8 lines 63-64), as calculated by examiner, and adding water until a total volume of 5mL (Col. 9 lines 1-2).
As water is added to bring the composition to a fixed volume, optimization of the amount of oil in the composition would necessarily result in the optimization of the amount of water in the composition.
Based on all of the foregoing, claims 1-7 and 13 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Applicant’s elected species are drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the vitamin A ester is retinyl palmitate and the vitamin E ester is tocopherol acetate.
Shade et al. do not teach retinyl palmitate or tocopherol acetate. However, Blanke et al. teach the vitamin A and vitamin E forms preferably being retinyl palmitate and tocopherol acetate (Par. [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Shade et al. to include retinyl palmitate and tocopherol acetate as taught by Blanke et al. It would have been obvious to substitute forms of vitamins A and E taught to be suitable for oral administration for each other to obtain the predictable result of an oral composition including vitamin A and vitamin E, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, Applicant’s elected species are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein components a), b), c), d), and i) are essentially present in dissolved form.
Shade et al. further teach vitamin A (Col. 1 line 24), vitamin D3 (Col. 1 line 34), vitamin E (Col. 1 line 43), vitamin K1 (Col. 1 line 62), and β-carotene (Col. 1 lines 66-67) as being oil soluble, additionally teaching these vitamins being combined with the oil (Col. 9 lines 18-19), indicating that the components a), b), c), d), and i) are essentially present in dissolved form.
As such, claim 8 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 12 is drawn to the composition of claim 1, wherein the weight ratio of the phosphatidylcholine to the triglyceride is in the range of 1:20 to 1:1.
Routine optimization of the amount of phosphatidylcholine and MCT oil would necessarily result in the optimization of the ratio between phosphatidylcholine and MCT oil. Further, the amounts of oil and emulsifier taught by Blanke et al. correspond to a phosphatidylcholine to MCT oil weight ratio of 1:24 to 1:8.9, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As such, claim 12 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 14 is drawn to the composition of claim 1 which has at least one of the following features:
the weight ratio of component f) to the total weight of components a), b), c), d), and i) is in the range of 1:1 to 100:1;
the phospholipid composition contains phosphatidylcholine in an amount of at least 45% by weight, based on the total weight of the phospholipid composition;
the liquid composition is characterized in that a dilution of the liquid composition in deionized water at 25°C and at a concentration of 1% by weight forms droplets having a Z average particle diameter of at most 500 nm; and
the liquid composition additionally contains a water-soluble organic antioxidant.
As to A), optimization of the amount of MCT oil in the composition would necessarily result in the optimization of the weight ratio of the MCT oil to components a), b), c), d), and i). Further, based on the suitable oil amount taught by Blanke et al. and the amount of components a), b), c), d), and i), the ratio of MCT oil to vitamins ranges from 21.5:1 to 32.3:1 as calculated by examiner, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As to B), Shade et al. further teach utilizing a combination of phospholipids comprising at least 30% phosphatidylcholine by weight (Claim 27), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
As to C), Shade et al. further teach the emulsions having a maximum particle size of 100 nm (Col. 6 lines 23-33), overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
And, as to D), Shade et al. further teach in Example 1 the composition comprising vitamin C (Col 8 line 56) i.e., a water-soluble organic antioxidant.
As such, claim 14 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 16 is drawn to formulation comprising the composition according to claim 1 and a carrier or vehicle, which is a formulation for oral administration.
Shade et al. further teach the composition for delivery orally (Col. 4 lines 11-14) and the composition additionally comprising a flavoring (Col. 8 lines 32-34).
Blanke et al. teach using the supplement composition for fortification of a product such as milk or juice (Par. [0007]), reading on a carrier.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Shade et al. by utilizing it to fortify a product such as milk or juice. It would have been obvious to combine the known oral supplement composition with the known use of oral supplement compositions for fortifying products to yield the predictable result of a palatable composition for oral delivery of vitamins, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claim 16 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shade et al. and Blanke et al. as applied to claims 1-8, 12-14, and 16 above, and further in view of Higdon et al. (“Zinc”, Linus Pauling Institute, 2019) and Gandia et al. (Int J Vitam Nutr Res, 2007, Vol. 77, 243-248).
The teachings of Shade et al. and Blanke et al. have been set forth above.
Claims 9-10 are drawn to the composition of claim 1, further comprising zinc bisglycinate (Applicant’s elected species).
Shade et al. and Blanke et al. do not teach the composition comprising a zinc compound.
Higdon et al. teach that the bioavailability of vitamin B9 is dependent on zing (“Folate” on pg. 5), further teaching that zinc is required for a protein necessary for transporting vitamin A in the blood, and zinc deficiency being associated with a decreased release of vitamin A from the liver (“Vitamin A” on pg. 6).
Gandia et al. teach forms of zinc to be delivered orally, including zinc bisglycinate (Title). Gandia et al. further teach zinc bisglycinate being a safe and well tolerated form of zinc with excellent bioavailability (Pg. 247 right column last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Shade et al. to include zinc bisglycinate as taught by Gandia et al. It would have been obvious to combine the known oral supplement composition with the known use of zinc bisglycinate as an oral supplement to yield the predictable result of an oral supplement with improved bioavailability of vitamin B9 and vitamin A, with a reasonable expectation of success.
As such, claims 9-10 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claim 11 is drawn to the composition of claim 9, wherein the concentration of the zinc salt is in the range of 0.01 to 0.2% by weight based on the total weight of the liquid composition and calculated as elemental zinc.
Gandia et al. further teach 7.5mg of zinc bisglycinate as a suitable amount of zinc bisglycinate for a single dose (Pg. 244 right column second paragraph), corresponding to 2.3 mg of elemental zinc as calculated by examiner.
Shade et al. further teach the composition of examples 1-2 as being the amounts of a single dose of the oral supplement (Example 3 in col. 9). Inclusion of 7.5 mg of zinc bisglycinate in the composition of Shade et al. results in a composition comprising 0.07% by weight based on the total weight of the liquid composition and calculated as elemental zinc, overlapping with the instantly claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include zinc bisglycinate in the composition of Shade et al. in the amount of 7.5 mg as taught by Gandia et al. It would have been obvious to combine the known supplement composition with the known amount of zinc suitable for a single dose to yield the predictable result of a supplement composition with a suitable dose of zinc.
As such, claim 11 is rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/PAUL HOERNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/CRAIG D RICCI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611