Claim Objections
Claims 8-14 recite a “computer-implemented of…” The examiner suggests the following amendment: “computer-implemented method of…” to fix the apparent typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degenhard et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0110915), in view of Romaszko et al. (“Vision-as-Inverse-Graphics: Obtaining a Rich 3D Explanation of a Scene from a Single Image”, Proceedings of the IEEE International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2017, pp. 851-859).
Regarding claim 1, Degenhard discloses a computer-implemented method of rendering hair, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a computing system, a captured image of a hair swatch (Par. 134: “The camera 150 is configured to obtain an image of a plurality of real fibers 160 and to communicate this image to the processor 120 of the computer 130”, par. 135: “In the example of FIGS. 1 and 2, the fibers in question comprise human hair”, and par. 144: “In step 221, the camera 150 captures an image of the hair fibers 160 wrapped around the material holder 165”);
using(Par. 144: “In step 222, the processor 120 processes the image to determine an initial set of estimated fiber parameters”);
using, by the computing system, a non-differentiable renderer to generate a rendered image based on the set of estimated hair parameters (Par. 144: “The method then follows an “analysis by synthesis” approach. In step 223, the processor 120 simulates, using the computational model and the initial estimated fiber parameters, how light would interact with a plurality of fibers having those initial estimated parameters”, and par. 153: “The interactions of light with the fibers may be simulated and the synthetic image rendered using a Monte Carlo path tracing algorithm”. Note that claim 4 of the present application further clarifies that the non-differentiable renderer includes a path tracing renderer) and a set of scene parameters (Par. 202: “In a sequence of images of hair fibers, at least one (or a combination of any two or more) of the following may vary: the position or orientation of the head; the positions or shapes of fibers on the head; the position or orientation of a light source; and the position or orientation of a virtual camera, in the simulation”); and
providing, by the computing system, the rendered image for display on a display device (Par. 95: “The further synthetic image showing the fibers with the adjusted parameters is preferably displayed to the user on a display screen”),
wherein the set of estimated hair parameters include at least one of: one or more dye color values; a dye concentration value; a melanin concentration value; and a eumelanin/pheomelanin ratio value (Par. 16: “The modification of the first set of fiber parameters may represent or approximate a physical modification of the real fibers—for example, a treatment applied to the real fibers, such as a chemical treatment. The chemical treatment may comprise at least one of (or any combination of two or more of): a pigment, structural color, dye, polymeric dye, optical effect and bleaching”, and par. 87: “each set of parameters comprises at least one color parameter related to a color of the respective plurality of fibers”).
Degenhard does not explicitly disclose using an inverse graphics renderer to determine the set of estimated hair parameters. However, it should be noted that Degenhard discloses using an “analysis by synthesis” approach (See par. 144 again).
In the same field of computer graphics, Romaszko teaches an inverse graphics approach to the problem of scene understanding, wherein object parameters (e.g. shape, appearance, and pose) and scene parameters (e.g. camera parameters and lighting) are obtained via a vision-as-inverse-graphics (VIG) or analysis-by-synthesis framework (See the abstract and section 1. Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the analysis-by-synthesis of Degenhard with the inverse graphics renderer taught by Romaszko. The motivation would have been to produce a compact and interpretable representation of a scene in terms of an arbitrary number of objects (Romaszko, 3rd paragraph of section 1. Introduction).
Regarding claim 2, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the set of estimated hair parameters include at least one heterogeneity hair parameter (Degenhard, par. 36: “Alternatively or in addition, it can model variations in optical properties (such as color or lightness) along the length of individual hairs, for some or all of the hairs—for example, a differently colored root, at an end of the hair fiber nearest to the scalp”).
Regarding claim 3, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the inverse graphics encoder includes at least one of a fully convolutional neural network and a transformer network (Romaszko, page 855, section Core details of the networks: “Our main recognition networks are based on VGG-16 network and were optimized on a validation dataset. The networks use all 13 convolutional layers of VGG for 128 × 128 input, but without the last two max-pooling layers in order to be more spatially accurate, resulting in an output of size 512 × 16 × 16. We then train three convolutional layers with 50 filters each of a size 512/50/50 × 6 × 6”).
Regarding claim 4, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the non-differentiable renderer includes at least one of a ray tracing renderer, a path tracing renderer, a ray casting renderer, and a light transport renderer (Degenhard, par. 153: “The interactions of light with the fibers may be simulated and the synthetic image rendered using a Monte Carlo path tracing algorithm”).
Regarding claim 5, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the set of scene parameters indicate at least one of a camera position and a hairstyle (Degenhard, par. 202: “multiple synthetic images can be generated from respective different viewpoints (that is, positions and orientations of a virtual camera, in the simulation)”).
Regarding claim 6, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the hairstyle is a straight hairstyle (Degenhard, par. 23: “This can provide a type of “analysis-by-synthesis” approach to measuring the fiber parameters of real fibers. The parameters are derived iteratively, by simulating how light would interact with fibers assuming that they had the currently estimated parameters, and comparing the results of the simulation with the appearance of the real fibers. The parameters are then updated, and the simulation and comparison are performed again, to see if the new parameters match the real fibers better or worse. After several iterations, this approach can converge to a set of parameters that accurately models the real fibers”. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the appearance of the real fibers would include curly hair and straight hair in order to simulate a variety of hairstyles).
Claims 15, 19 and 20 recite similar limitations as respective claims 1, 3 and 4, but are directed to a system comprising a camera and a hair-rendering computing system. Since Degenhard also teaches such a system (See Fig. 1), these claims could be rejected under the same rationales set forth in the rejection of their respective claims.
Regarding claim 16, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the camera system includes:
a camera (Fig. 1 of Degenhard shows a camera 150); and
at least one lighting source arranged to illuminate the hair swatch (Degenhard, par. 138: “The optical characteristics of the hair fibers are described by the fiber parameters and the light illuminating the fibers on the head is determined from the light source parameters”).
Regarding claim 17, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the system of claim 16, further comprising:
a surface holder configured to hold the hair swatch at a fixed location in relation to the camera and the at least one lighting source (Degenhard, par. 140: “FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary apparatus for measuring the optical properties of a sample of fibers, such as the hair fibers 160 in FIG. 1. The apparatus comprises a material holder 165 comprising a curvilinear surface; a collimated light source 170; and the camera 150”).
Regarding claim 18, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the surface holder has a flat surface or a curved surface (Degenhard discloses in par. 140 that the material holder could have a curvilinear surface).
Claim(s) 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degenhard, in view of Romaszko, and further in view of Öztireli et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0065434).
Regarding claim 7, Degenhard in view of Romaszko teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the inverse graphics encoder is trained by performing actions comprising:
determining a set of hair parameters (Degenhard, par. 22: “obtaining an image of the plurality of real fibers; processing the image to determine a set of estimated fiber parameters”);
generating a rendered (Degenhard, par. 22: “simulating, using the model and the estimated fiber parameters, how light would interact with fibers with the estimated parameters”. See also pars. 144 and 153 of Degenhard cited in the rejection of claim 1);
determining estimated hair parameters based on the rendered (Degenhard, par. 22: “computing an error metric comparing the result of the simulation with the content of the image; updating the estimated parameters, based on the error metric”); and
optimizing the (Degenhard, par. 22: “iterating the steps of simulating, computing, and updating, until the estimated fiber parameters converge to stable values; and determining the first set of fiber parameters based on the converged estimated fiber parameters”).
Additionally, Romaszko teaches using the rendered image as a training image; (See section 4. Experimental setup. When combined with Degenhard, object parameters would include hair parameters). Romaszko also teaches using an inverse graphics encoder to determine estimated object parameters, as explained in the rejection of claim 1.
Degenhard in view of Romaszko, however, does not teach optimizing the inverse graphics encoder based on a gradient of a loss function.
In the same field of inverse rendering, Öztireli teaches this limitation (See pars. 44-46).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Degenhard by optimizing the inverse graphics encoder based on a gradient of a loss function, as taught by Öztireli. The motivation would have been to provide a more effective technique for determining attributes associated with 3D scenes based on 2D images (Öztireli, par. 8).
Claim 8 could be rejected using the same rationale set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein determining the set of hair parameters includes randomly sampling values for the set of hair parameters (Degenhard, par. 157: “In step 241, the parallel calculations are initialized by the processor 120. This comprises dividing the simulation task between the first processor 120a and the second processor 120b. In particular, the processor 120 generates a first seed for the first processor 120a and a second different seed for the second processor 120b. Each seed will be used by the respective processor in a random number generator that generates samples according to the Monte Carlo path-tracing algorithm. Because the seeds are different, each processor 120a, 120b will generate a different set of samples. Each sample traces the path of a ray of light from a light source to a pixel in the synthetic image, via one or more interactions with the plurality of fibers (in the virtual world being simulated)”).
Regarding claim 10, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein determining the set of hair parameters includes selecting hair parameters from a uniform distribution for each hair parameter (Romaszko, section 4. Experimental setup, first paragraph: "Object colours are sampled uniformly in RGB space").
Regarding claim 11, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein optimizing the inverse graphics encoder includes repeating the actions of determining the set of hair parameters, generating the rendered training image, determining the estimated hair parameters, and determining the gradient of the loss function for multiple sets of hair parameters (Öztireli, pars. 44-46).
Regarding claim 12, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein optimizing the inverse graphics encoder includes using an Adam optimizer (Romaszko, page 855, section Core details of the networks: "Networks are trained by SGD with Adam optimisation algorithm").
Regarding claim 13, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein the inverse graphics encoder includes at least one of a fully convolutional neural network and a transformer network (See the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Degenhard in view of Romaszko and Öztireli teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising:
obtaining, by the computing system, a captured image of a hair swatch; using, by the computing system, the trained inverse graphics encoder to determine a set of estimated hair parameters based on the captured image; and using, by the computing system, the non-differentiable renderer to generate a rendered image based on the set of estimated hair parameters and a set of scene parameters (See the rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
/PHONG X NGUYEN/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617