DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restriction
1. The Applicant elected Invention I, claims 1 – 15, without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BAYESTEH et al. (US 2021/0286045).
Regarding claim 1, BAYESTEH teaches that an apparatus for wireless communication at a radio frequency (RF) sensing node (Fig. 2A, 2B). BAYESTEH teaches that a memory, at least one transceiver, and at least one processor communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to: transmit an RF sensing signal in a first time duration of a symbol in an RF sensing session (Fig. 8 and pages 19, paragraphs 233 – pages 20, paragraphs 242, where teaches a basic sensing symbol may be defined as the inverse of the sensing SCS, this is to get the required time granularity for ON/OFF pattern, and this way, the duration of all the ON and OFF periods (corresponding to active and passive phases) can be represented by multiples of the defined basic sensing symbol, and “ON” in Sensing Subcycle 1 corresponds to “a first time duration”, and “Baseline Communications Symbol” corresponds to “a symbol in an RF sensing session), and monitor for a reflected RS sensing signal in a second time duration of the symbol that does not overlap with the first time duration (Fig. 8 and pages 19, paragraphs 233 – pages 20, paragraphs 242, where teaches a basic sensing symbol may be defined as the inverse of the sensing SCS, this is to get the required time granularity for ON/OFF pattern, and this way, the duration of all the ON and OFF periods (corresponding to active and passive phases) can be represented by multiples of the defined basic sensing symbol, and “OFF” in “Sensing Subcycle 1” corresponds to a second time duration), the symbol including a cyclic prefix (CP) that does not overlap with the first time duration and the second time duration (Fig. 3, 4, pages 10, paragraphs 117 – 118, and pages 21, paragraphs 261 – pages 22, paragraphs 268, where teaches the air interface may also include the numerology component defining a number of air interface configuration parameters, such as the sub-carrier spacing, CP length, symbol length, guard band/subcarriers, and as subcarrier spacing configurations, may be scalable in the sense that subcarrier spacings of different numerologies are multiples of each other, and when a multi-carrier waveform, such as CP-OFDM, is used for communications/sensing, the parameters of the signal design including the CP length may be designed or selected according to the requirement of the communications/sensing performance).
Regarding claim 2, BAYESTEH teaches that the at least one processor is further configured to refrain from transmitting any signals during the second time duration (Fig. 8 and pages 19, paragraphs 233 – pages 20, paragraphs 242).
Regarding claim 3, BAYESTEH teaches that the second time duration includes a set of zero paddings (Fig. 3, 4 and pages 21, paragraphs 267 – pages 22, paragraphs 276).
Regarding claim 4, BAYESTEH teaches that the RF sensing signal corresponds to an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) waveform (Fig. 3, 4, pages 10, paragraphs 117 – 119, and pages 21, paragraphs 261 – pages 22, paragraphs 268).
Regarding claim 5, BAYESTEH teaches that the RF sensing node is a base station or a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 4 and pages 11, paragraphs 138 – pages 12, paragraphs 145).
Regarding claim 7, BAYESTEH teaches that the first time duration is shorter than the second time duration (Fig. 8 and pages 19, paragraphs 233 – pages 20, paragraphs 242).
Regarding claim 8, BAYESTEH teaches that the second time duration is longer than the first time duration plus the CP (Fig. 8 and pages 19, paragraphs 233 – pages 20, paragraphs 242).
Regarding claim 9, BAYESTEH teaches that the RF sensing session is based on a mono-static sensing (Fig. 4 and pages 12, paragraphs 142 – 145).
Regarding claim 10, BAYESTEH teaches that the symbol is a sensing symbol of a slot that includes one or more sensing symbols and one or more communication symbols (Fig. 3C, pages 10, paragraphs 112 - 118, and pages 20, paragraphs 248 – 250).
Regarding claim 11, BAYESTEH teaches that the one or more sensing symbols have a different subcarrier spacing (SCS) than the one or more communication symbols (Fig. 3C, pages 10, paragraphs 112 - 118, and pages 19, paragraphs 223 – pages 20, paragraphs 248).
Regarding claim 12, BAYESTEH teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, BAYESTEH teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 15, BAYESTEH teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 10 and 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose “the CP has a length (Tcy) that is greater than or equal to a time delay difference (To) between a first range cell of a tracking zone and a last range cell of the tracking zone, and the time delay difference (To) is calculated based on:To= 2(M - 1)R/c = (M - 1)/B, where c is a speed of light, B is a bandwidth of the RF sensing signal, M is a number of range cells in the tracking zone, and R is a range solution obtained based on R = c/(2B)” as specified the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Demessie et al. (US 2012/0140793) Spectrum Sensor for Cognitive Wireless Communication and Method for Cognitive Wireless Communication.
Information regarding...Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system... at 866-217-9197 (toll-free)."
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
J.L
August 4, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649