DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are currently pending and prosecuted.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 April 2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paradise et al., US PG-Pub 2017/0266552, hereinafter Paradise.
Regarding Claim 1, Paradise teaches a method of controlling a remote competition of a game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0028], “FIG. 1 is a process flow diagram illustrating a process 100 enabling a tournament lobby and player access to event streaming.”), said method including:
providing (S120) a frontend to be displayed (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0070], “FIG. 5 is an example graphical user interface (GUI) 500 of an event streaming video control and display”);
instructing (S130) the game to initiate a match (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0045]-[0053], [0057]-[0062]);
determining (S140) a result of the match (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0054]-[0068], “intra-game score and final score reporting occurs according to the game's normal process”); and
controlling (S150) the remote competition (Figs. 1-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0046]-[0053], describing tournament mode; [0054]-[0068], describing how the peer-to-peer tournament is run).
Regarding Claim 2, Paradise teaches the method according to claim1, further including:
receiving (S110) a competition parameter set (101) (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0060]-[0062]);
wherein the controlling includes generating (S155) a match parameter set (102) for each of a plurality of matches according to the competition parameter set (101) (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0060]-[0062]), and performing the instructing (S130) according to the match parameter set (102) and determining (S140) for each of the matches (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0060]-[0062]).
Regarding Claim 3, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving (S121) player input via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059]).
Regarding Claim 4, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving (S135) a watch signal from the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0023]-[0025], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 5, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
providing(S145) competition controls via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059, [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 6, Paradise teaches a method of controlling a remote competition of a game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0028], “FIG. 1 is a process flow diagram illustrating a process 100 enabling a tournament lobby and player access to event streaming.”), said method comprising:
displaying (S220) a frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0070], “FIG. 5 is an example graphical user interface (GUI) 500 of an event streaming video control and display”);
initiating (S230) a match according to a match parameter set (102) (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0045]-[0053], [0057]-[0062]);
returning (S240) a result of the match (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0054]-[0068], “intra-game score and final score reporting occurs according to the game's normal process”); and
controlling (S250) the remote competition (Figs. 1-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0046]-[0053], describing tournament mode; [0054]-[0068], describing how the peer-to-peer tournament is run).
Regarding Claim 7, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising transmitting (S221) player input (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059]).
Regarding Claim 8, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising signaling (S235) a watch signal from the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0023]-[0025], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 9, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 6, further comprising displaying (S245) competition controls on the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059, [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 10, Paradise teaches [a] method of transmitting a remote competition of a game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0028], “FIG. 1 is a process flow diagram illustrating a process 100 enabling a tournament lobby and player access to event streaming.”), said method comprising:
capturing (S310) a video feed of the remote competition in the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0042]-[0047], [0066]-[0075]);
storing (S320) one of pictures or video snippets based on the video feed (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0069]-[0075]);
providing (S330) the pictures or snippets to a frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0069]-[0075]);
playing (S340) a video feed reconstructed from the pictures or video snippets in the front end (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0069]-[0075]);
generating (S350) a video stream based on the reconstructed video feed in the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0069]-[0075]); and
transmitting (S360) the video stream (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions, [0069]-[0075]).
Regarding Claim 11, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
receiving (S121) player input via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059]).
Regarding Claim 12, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 2 further comprising:
receiving (S135) a watch signal from the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0023]-[0025], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 13, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
providing (S145) competition controls via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059, [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 14, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 3 further comprising:
receiving (S135) a watch signal from the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0023]-[0025], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 15, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
providing (S145) competition controls via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059], [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 16, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
providing (S145) competition controls via the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059], [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 17, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising signaling (S235) a watch signal from the game (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0023]-[0025], [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding Claim 18, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 7, further comprising displaying (S245) competition controls on the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059], [0069]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 19, Paradise teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising displaying (S245) competition controls on the frontend (Figs. 1-3 and 5-7, and corresponding descriptions; [0055]-[0059], [0069]-[0072]).
Conclusion
/Stephen T. Reed/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627