DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
an autonomous driving device unit in claim 1
a server unit in claim 1
a travel body unit in claim 2
an image capturing unit in claim 2
a thermographic sensor unit in claim 2
a user-specific information analysis unit in claim 2
a surrounding senor unit in claim 2
a content feedback request unit in claim 2
a display unit in claim 2
a search means setting unit in claim 5
an Internet content information providing unit in claim 5
an intranet content information providing unit in claim 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 with an earliest effective filing date of 10/22/21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hendricks et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0041976 published on 2/14/13).
With respect to claim 1, the Hendricks reference teaches a system for providing user-customized information using an autonomous driving device, the system comprising:
an autonomous driving device unit configured to recognize at least one user (a user is recognized by the robot [paragraph 23]), analyze specific information of the recognized user (body language, facial cues, speech patterns, and speech tone are used to determine a user’s interest level [paragraph 23]), recognize and analyze surrounding information of the user (the robot can capture and evaluate the environmental conditions [paragraphs 17, 20, 21, and 33]), define situation information necessary for the user on the basis of the specific information and the surrounding information (user analytics, user feedback, environmental conditions, timing, location, etc. are used to determine a user’s interest level [paragraph 33]), receive customized content information according to the situation information (information about the user and the user’s environment is used to create customized content experiences [paragraph 17]) fed back through Internet and intranet searching (the robot connects through the internet or intranet [paragraph 30]), and provide the customized content information (customized content is displayed [paragraphs 20 and 36]); and
a server unit connected to the autonomous driving device unit through an Internet and an intranet and configured to extract the customized content information according to a search request from the autonomous driving device unit and feed back the customized content information to the autonomous driving device unit (the robot is connected to the internet and intranet [paragraph 30] to connect with various content sources to request for display to the user [paragraphs 1 & 35-36] which is customized for the user [paragraphs 20 and 36]).
With respect to claim 2, the Hendricks reference teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Additionally, the Hendricks reference teaches that the autonomous driving device unit comprises:
a travel body unit including at least one of an autonomous driving robot (the robot includes drive wheels for movement [paragraph 26] capable of autonomous navigation [paragraph 21]) and an autonomous driving drone;
an image capturing unit configured to capture an image of the user (the robot includes a camera and is capable of recognizing users through facial recognition [paragraphs 20 & 23]);
a thermographic sensor unit configured to measure a body temperature of the user using a thermal image (thermal images of the user are utilized [paragraph 31]);
a user-specific information analysis unit configured to recognize the user on the basis of image data acquired through the image capturing unit and thermographic data acquired through the thermographic sensor unit (the user is recognized using the image and thermal sensors [paragraphs 20, 23, and 31]) and analyze the specific information including the recognized user's sex, age group, language group, and abnormality or normality in the body temperature (various attributes of the user are analyzed [paragraphs 23, 31, and 34]);
a surrounding sensor unit configured to generate the surrounding information by measuring a temperature, a humidity, and an air pollution level of surroundings of the user (various environmental conditions are observed and analyzed by the robot [paragraphs 20 and 33]);
a content feedback request unit configured to extract the situation information which is predefined in connection with the specific information and the surrounding information (user analytics, user feedback, environmental conditions, timing, location, etc. are used to determine a user’s interest level [paragraph 33]), request the customized content information from the server unit on the basis of the extracted situation information (information about the user and the user’s environment is used to create customized content experiences [paragraph 17]), and receive the customized content information (customized content is displayed [paragraphs 20 and 36]); and
a display unit configured to graphically process the customized content information fed back from the server unit through the content feedback request unit and display the graphically-processed customized content information (customized content is displayed [paragraphs 20 and 36]).
With respect to claim 3, the Hendricks reference teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as described above. In addition, the Hendricks reference teaches that the display unit provides the customized content information through a touchscreen which supports a user interface, receives a search request for additional information for the customized content information through the user interface (the robot includes a touchscreen for the user to request and view content [paragraph 31]), transmits the search request for the additional information to the server unit, receives feedback information resulting from the search request for the additional information from the server unit (information about the user and the user’s environment is used to create customized content experiences [paragraph 17]), and displays the feedback information (customized content is displayed [paragraphs 20 and 36]).
With respect to claim 5, the Hendricks reference teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as described above. In addition, the Hendricks reference teaches a search means setting unit configured to receive a search request for the situation information from the autonomous driving device unit and set at least one of the Internet and the intranet as a means of searching for the situation information; an Internet content information providing unit configured to search the Internet for content related to the situation information, collect the content, and provide the collected data as the customized content information when the Internet is set as the search means by the search means setting unit; and an intranet content information providing unit configured to extract data which is prestored in connection with the situation information from the intranet and provide the data as the customized content information when the intranet is set as the search means by the search means setting unit (the robot can connect to the internet or an intranet to perform the request for content [paragraph 30]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 with an earliest effective filing date of 10/22/21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendricks et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0041976 published on 2/14/13) in view of Peterson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0300676 published on 10/18/18).
With respect to claim 4, the Hendricks reference teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as described above. It does not explicitly recite that the display unit generates and displays graphic code for the customized content information and the additional information, and when the graphic code is scanned through a user communication terminal, the server unit is connected to the user communication terminal and provides the customized content information and the additional information to the user communication terminal. The Peterson and Hendricks references teach that the display unit generates and displays graphic code for the customized content information and the additional information, and when the graphic code is scanned through a user communication terminal, the server unit is connected to the user communication terminal and provides the customized content information and the additional information to the user communication terminal (the robot and the user’s device can generate a QR code to identify the user [Peterson paragraph 45] to provide them customized content [Hendricks paragraph 17]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hendricks with the multiple logon methods of Peterson. Such a modification would have made the system more desirable to users by providing alternative logon methods in case one method was not functioning.
Conclusion
/KRIS E MACKES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153