DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/10/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859), and in view of OKAI (US 2019/0151058).
Regarding claim 1, VUGTS discloses an electric toothbrush comprising
a housing (the “housing” was considered to generally be the electric toothbrush) and an end cover (10, Fig.3),
said end cover having an end wall (110, Fig.3) and a side wall (122, Fig.3), said end wall being substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig.4, the end wall 110 of the end cover 10 was considered to be perpendicular to the longitudinal axis), said the side wall extending from the end wall along a direction of said longitudinal axis (as seen in Fig.4, the side wall 122 extends from the end wall 110 along the longitudinal axis),
wherein said electric toothbrush further comprises an end cover light-emitting device, which comprises
a light source (50a, 124a, Figs.4-5) arranged on a circuit board (not shown; para[0053]) close to said end cover; and
a light transmission portion (122, 124, 110, Figs.3 and 5) including at least a part of said side wall and at least a part of a peripheral portion (110, Fig.3), wherein a light incident portion of said light transmission portion is located at at least a part of said side wall (as seen in Figs.3 and 5A, the “light incident portion” is located at the side wall 122), a light emission portion of said light transmission portion is located at at least a part of the peripheral portion of the side wall (as seen in Figs.3 and 7, the “light emission portion” is located at the peripheral portion 110), and said light transmission portion is made of a first material that is light-transmissive,
wherein said side wall includes a reflecting surface for transmitting light rays to the light emission portion (as seen in Figs.3 and 5, the side wall 122 was considered to include a reflecting surface by total internal reflection for transmitting light rays to the light emission portion 110), and an angle of said reflecting surface relative to incident light rays is set to reflect said light source toward said light emission portion (as seen in Figs.3 and 5, the side wall 122 was considered to reflect light by total internal reflection).
VUGTS fails to disclose an opening being formed at an end portion of said housing in a longitudinal axis, said end cover is fitted into the opening, said the side wall being inserted into said opening, said end wall and said side wall are integrally formed, and a light source inside said housing.
However, OKAI discloses an opening (108, Fig.11) formed at an end portion of a housing (100, Fig.13) in a longitudinal axis, and an end cover (210, Fig.11) is fitted into the opening (Fig.13).
Therefore, in view of OKAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a housing as taught by OKAI to the electric toothbrush of VUGTS in order to house the internal components of the electric toothbrush. As a result, the side wall of the end cover would have been inserted into said opening, and the light source would have been inside said housing.
Regarding “said end wall and said side wall are integrally formed”, as seen para[0052] of VUGTS, the side wall 122 is coupled to the end wall 110. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the end wall and the side wall can be integrally formed as one piece. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrally form the end wall and the side wall to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to consolidate the number of pieces of the end cover.
Regarding claim 2, VUGTS further discloses wherein said light source (50a, 124a, Figs.4-5) includes an LED light source (para[0053]).
Regarding claim 4, VUGTS further discloses wherein said end wall further includes a central portion surrounded by said peripheral portion, wherein a light guide surface is formed between the central portion and the peripheral portion of the end wall (as seen in Fig.7, the end cover was considered to generally include a central portion surrounded by the peripheral portion 110, and the end cover was considered to generally include a light guide surface between the central portion and the peripheral portion 110).
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to explicitly disclose said central portion is made of a second material that is non-light transmissive, and said light guide surface is inclined relative to the longitudinal axis.
However, OKAI further discloses a central portion (215, Fig.12) surrounded by a peripheral portion (211, Fig.12), a portion of the central portion is made of a second material that is not transparent (as seen in Fig.6 and para[0062], a portion of the central portion 215 is made of non-transparent material), a light guide surface is formed between the central portion and the peripheral portion (as seen in Fig.12, the end cover 210 was considered to generally include a light guide surface between the central portion 215 and the peripheral portion 211), and the light guide surface is inclined relative to the longitudinal axis.
Therefore, in view of OKAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-transparent material as taught by OKAI to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to provide transparent and non-transparent portions to provide a desired visual.
Therefore, in view of OKAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an incline as taught by OKAI to the light guide surface of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to reflect light.
Regarding “said central portion is made of a second material that is non-light transmissive”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a portion can be selected and an opacity of a material can also be selected to provide different opacities (e.g. opaque, translucent, or transparent) for a desired visual or image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a central portion is made of a second material that is non-light transmissive to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to provide a desired visual.
Regarding claim 7, VUGTS further discloses wherein said side wall includes a reflecting surface for transmitting light rays to the light emission portion (as seen in Figs.3 and 5, the side wall 122 was considered to include a reflecting surface by total internal reflection for transmitting light rays to the light emission portion 110).
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of the reflecting surface is covered with a non-light-transmissive material.
However, OKAI discloses a portion of an end cover is made of a second material that is not transparent (as seen in Fig.6 and para[0062], a portion of the end cover 211 is made of non-transparent material).
Therefore, in view of OKAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-transparent material as taught by OKAI to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to provide transparent and non-transparent portions to provide a desired visual.
Regarding “a non-light transmissive material”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized an opacity of a material can be selected to provide different opacities (e.g. opaque, translucent, or transparent) for a desired visual or image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a central portion is made of a second material that is non-light transmissive to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to provide a desired visual.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859) modified by OKAI (US 2019/0151058), and in view of DUBUC (US 2018/0286295).
Regarding claim 3, VUGTS further discloses wherein said light source (50a, 124a, Figs.4-5) includes a first LED light source (para[0053]).
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to discloses a second LED light source, and said first LED light source and said second LED light source are respectively installed on two opposite surfaces of said circuit board.
However, DUBUC discloses a first LED light source (104, Fig.2B), a second LED light source (104, Fig.2B), the first LED light source and the second LED light source are respectively installed on two opposite surfaces of a circuit board (102, Fig.2B).
Therefore, in view of DUBUC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second LED light source are installed on two opposite surfaces of a circuit board as taught by DUBUC to the light source of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to consolidate the number of circuit boards by using the front and back of the circuit board.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859) modified by OKAI (US 2019/0151058), and in view of NAKAYAMA (US 2018/0297512).
Regarding claim 5, VUGTS further discloses wherein said light incident portion further includes an incident surface (as seen in Figs.3 and 5A, the “incident surface” is located at the end surface of the side wall 122) located at an end surface of said side wall, wherein said LED light source (50b, 122a, Figs.4-5) is arranged relative to said incident surface so that an incident angle of light rays emitted from said LED light source on the incident surface is between 0 and 10 degrees (as seen in Fig.5, the LED light source 20b, 122a was considered to be arranged such that some of the light rays on the incident surface is between 0-10 degrees).
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to disclose said incident surface includes a spherical surface with the LED light source as the center of sphere.
However, NAKAYAMA discloses an incident surface (34A, Fig.2) includes a spherical surface with a LED light source (28, Fig.2) as the center of sphere (as seen in para[0030], the incident surface 34A is a spherical surface).
Therefore, in view of NAKAYAMA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a spherical surface as taught by NAKAYAMA to the incident surface of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to receive light into the end cover.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859) modified by OKAI (US 2019/0151058), and in view of GROSDIDIER (US 2016/0195230).
Regarding claim 6, VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to disclose wherein each of the reflecting surface forms an interface between an optically dense substance and an optically rarer substance, said optically dense substance is said first material forming said light transmission portion, and said reflecting surface is configured relative to light rays from said light source and an incident angle of the light rays emitted by said light source relative to the reflecting surface is greater than a total reflection angle of said reflecting surface, a gap is formed between said reflecting surface and an inner surface of a segment of the housing surrounding the reflecting surface, and said optically rarer substance includes air filled in the gap.
However, GROSDIDIER discloses a side wall (11, Fig.1) includes a reflecting surface (11E, Fig.1) for transmitting light rays to a light emission portion (11D, Fig.1), each of the reflecting surface forms an interface between an optically dense substance (“optically dense substance” was considered to be the material of the side wall 11) and an optically rarer substance (“optically rarer substance” was interpreted to be air), the optically dense substance is a first material forming a light transmission portion (11, Fig.1), the reflecting surface is configured relative to light rays from a light source (9, Fig.1) and an incident angle of the light rays emitted by the light source relative to the reflecting surface is greater than a total reflection angle of the reflecting surface (as seen in para[0010]-para[0013], the light rays of the light source are totally reflected from the reflecting surface 11E), a gap is formed between the reflecting surface and an inner surface of a segment of a housing (3, Fig.1) surrounding the reflecting surface, and the optically rarer substance includes air filled in the gap (as seen in Fig.1, the optically rarer substance of air was considered to fill the gap between the reflecting surface 11E and the housing 3).
Therefore, in view of GROSDIDIER, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reflecting surface and a gap is formed between the reflecting surface and a housing as taught by GROSDIDIER to the side wall of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to provide an interface for totally reflecting light within the side wall.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859) modified by OKAI (US 2019/0151058), and in view of LUO (US 2017/0360539).
Regarding claim 8, VUGTS modified by OKAI as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein said peripheral portion of said end cover is inserted into said opening and surrounded by said housing.
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to disclose said housing includes a light-transmissive portion surrounding said peripheral portion.
However, LUO discloses a housing (1, Fig.1) includes a light-transmissive portion surrounding a peripheral portion (13, Fig.3a; as seen in para[0050], the housing 1 can be made of a light transmission material).
Therefore, in view of LUO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light-transmissive portion as taught by LUO to the housing of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to illuminate portions of the housing.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUGTS (US 2020/0329859) modified by OKAI (US 2019/0151058), and in view of SOKOL (US 2014/0259474).
Regarding claim 9, VUGTS modified by OKAI as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein said end cover is integrally formed from said the first material.
VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to disclose a coil bobbin located in said housing and adjacent to said end wall, and a flange of the coil bobbin adjacent to said end wall includes a reflecting surface.
However, SOKOL discloses a coil bobbin (128, Fig.8) located in a housing (116, Fig.8) and adjacent to an end wall of an end cover (118, Fig.8), and a flange of the coil bobbin adjacent to the end wall includes a reflecting surface (the coil bobbin 128 was considered to generally include a reflecting surface).
Therefore, in view of SOKOL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a coil bobbin as taught by SOKOL to the housing of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to charge the electric toothbrush.
Regarding claim 10, VUGTS modified by OKAI fails to disclose wherein a groove is formed in an outer surface of said side wall of said end cover, and a sealing ring is accommodated in said groove.
However, SOKOL discloses a groove is formed in an outer surface of a side wall of an end cover (118, Fig.8), and a sealing ring (135, Fig.8) is accommodated in the groove.
Therefore, in view of SOKOL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a groove and a sealing ring as taught by SOKOL to the end cover of VUGTS modified by OKAI in order to prevent water from infiltrating the handle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the presented claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to all of the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Comment
It is noted that the features of the applicant’s invention are recited in separate dependent claims. It is suggested to incorporate a combination of the features to the independent claim(s) in order for the claims to reflect the applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. The electric toothbrush and the end cover has been further defined and amended in the claims. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875