DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/8/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The IDS of 7/8/2024 includes the foreign document JP 2020-64825. It appears a bona fide attempt was made to provide a copy of the JP document, however, the document received by the Office only has chemical structures present and is missing the text of the document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because these claims are directed to a use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21, 23, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26-27 are indefinite because they recite a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how the use is actually practiced.
Claim 26 recites “more particularly”. The phrase "more particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 16-20 recites the limitation "the monomer units a)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 16-18 depend from claim 15 which states “a) one or more monomer units”. It is suggested that the claims be amended to recite “the one or more monomer units a).”
Claim 21 recites “the monomer units b)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear whether this is intended to refer to the vinyl acetate units and optional monomer units or just the optional monomer units.
Claim 23 recites “the aqueous dispersions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiraguri, Journal of Polymer Science Part C: Polymer Letters, Volume 27, Issue 1, Jan 1989, pg. 1-4.
Hiraguri teaches a process where compound (1)
is polymerized with vinyl acetate using di-tert-butyl peroxide (pg. 1-4) which gives radical ring opening polymerization (abstract). Compound (I) meets claimed formula (II) when X1 and X2 are O, R3-R4 are H, and R1 and R2 are phenyl groups.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 22, 24 are allowed.
Claims 16-21, 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 recites a copolymer containing a monomer unit of formula I
and vinyl acetate units. Claims 16-24, 26-27 depend from claim 15 and thus contain the same allowable subject matter.
Relevant prior art includes Kenyon (US 2,415,638), Radcliffe (US 2,445,733), Toda (JP 2020-064825), Dietrich, Journal of Polymer Science: Part A-1, Vol. 6, pg. 2255-2264 (1968), Hiraguri, Journal of Polymer Science: Part C: Polymer Letters, Vol. 27, 1-4 (1989), Ishikawa, Journal of Polymer Science: Part A: Polymer Chemistry, Vol. 48, 4344-4350 (2010), Miyagawa, Macromol. Chem. Phys. 2001, 202, 1602-1605, and Park, Journal of Polymer Science: Part A: Polymer Chemistry, Vol. 31, 1141-1145 (1993).
Kenyon teaches the polymerization of 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane derivatives including a radical polymerization with methacrylic acid (col. 2). Kenyon teaches the copolymerization of 2-methyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane with vinyl acetate and methacrylic acid where no catalyst is used (col. 4). Kenyon does not teach that the structure of the polymerization has the structure (I)
required by claim 1.
Radcliffe teaches the polymerization of 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane derivatives with cationic catalysts (col. 4) and with acrylonitrile with peroxide (col. 5). Radcliffe fails to teach polymerization with vinyl acetate and Radcliffe fails to teach the structure (I)
required by claim 1.
Toda teaches polymers having the formula (2)
formed by reacting 4-methylene-1,3,-dioxolane with vinyl acetate (¶ 163-164). This falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Toda does does not teach that the structure of the polymerization has the structure (I)
.
Dietrich teaches the polymerization of methyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane to give a polymer having the structure
. Dietrich falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Dietrich fails to teach vinyl acetate comonomer.
Hiraguri teaches the copolymerization 2,2-diphenyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane with vinyl acetate to give the structure
. This falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Hiraguri does not teach the structure (I)
.
Ishikawa teaches the polymerization 2,2-diphenyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane to give the structure
. This falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Ishikawa does not teach the structure (I)
.
Miyagawa teaches the polymerization 2,2-diphenyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane with vinyl acetate (Table 1) to give the structure
. This falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Miyagawa does not teach the structure (I)
.
Park teaches the polymerization of isopropenyl-4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane (abstract) which when polymerized gives the structure
. Park falls outside the scope of claim 1 because Park fails to teach vinyl acetate comonomer.
It is clear from the prior art that merely performing radical polymerization on a 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolane is not sufficient to ensure the claimed structure is present.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764