DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this instant, it is unclear what constitutes the “heat-transfer accelerator” as recited in both claims 7 and 10, respectively. For examination purposes, the Examiner in reading the claims in light of the specification, thereby interpret limitation recited to mean or express: the combine portions of the first and second extensions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJII et al (English Translated Japanese Pub No.: 2009078246 A), hereinafter referred to as FUJII et al ‘246, in view of NAGATA et al (English Translated WO Pub No.: 2020012549 A1), hereinafter referred to as NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al (English Translated Chinese Pub No.: 111366027 A), hereinafter referred to as LIANG et al ‘027.
Regarding claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 disclose a dehumidifying apparatus comprising: a housing (1) {see ¶¶ [0060-0064]}; an air inlet (3) provided in the housing {see ¶¶ [0060-0064]}; an air outlet (4) provided in the housing {see Figs. 1 and 9: ¶¶ [0003] and [0060-0064]}; a blower (106) provided in the housing { see Figs. 1 and 9: ¶¶ [0003] and [0060-0064]}; and an evaporator (104) provided on an air passage (105) that connects the air inlet and the air outlet, and configured to cool and dehumidify air that is sent into the housing by the blower {see Figs. 1 and 9: ¶¶ [0003] and [0060-0064]}.
However, FUJII et al ‘246 fail to disclose the limitations of wherein the evaporator includes a plurality of flat tubes having flow passages through which refrigerant flows, a pair of headers connected to an upper end and a lower end of each of the flat tubes, a first extension portion connected to a windward side of one of the flat tubes, and having long sides extending in the up-down direction along of the flat tube, and a distance between any adjacent two of the flat tubes is less than or equal to 2.8 mm and greater than or equal to 2.0 mm.
NAGATA et al ‘549 teach: the concept of the evaporator includes a pair of headers (21, 22) connected to an upper end and a lower end of each of the flat tubes (30), a first extension portion (31) connected to a windward side (30a) of one of the flat tubes, and having long sides extending in the up-down direction along of the flat tube {as shown in Figs. 1-4: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}, and a distance (33) between any adjacent two of the flat tubes {see Page 3/13, ¶ 7}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify FUJII et al ‘246 evaporator by the evaporator of NAGATA et al ‘549 so as to include the use of evaporator that includes a pair of headers connected to an upper end and a lower end of each of the flat tubes, a first extension portion connected to a windward side of one of the flat tubes, and having long sides extending in the up-down direction along of the flat tube, and a distance between any adjacent two of the flat tubes, in order to facilitate improve drainage performance of the heat exchanger so that the heat performance of the heat exchanger can be improve {NAGATA et al ‘549 – Page 5/13, ¶ 6}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the FUJII et al ‘246 in view of NAGATA et al ‘549 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
LIANG et al ‘027 teach: the concept of the distance (H) between any adjacent two of the flat tubes is less than or equal to 2.8 mm and greater than or equal to 2.0 mm {see Fig. 2: Page 7/10, ¶6}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 evaporator by the evaporator of LIANG et al ‘027 so as to include the distance between any adjacent two of the flat tubes that is less than or equal to 2.8 mm and greater than or equal to 2.0 mm, in order to facilitate improve anti-frosting effect of the fins {LIANG et al ‘027 – Page 7/10, ¶6}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549, in view of LIANG et al ‘027 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 teach the limitation of further comprising a second extension portion (32) connected to a leeward side of the flat tube, and extending in the up-down direction along the flat tube {as shown in Figs. 1-4: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 2, FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 teach the limitation of wherein a width (L1) of the first extension portion and a width (L2) of the second extension portion are smaller than a width (Lp) of the flat tube {as shown in Figs. 1-4: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 2, FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 teach the limitation of wherein in a depth direction (Lp) of the evaporator, the first extension portion (31) is longer than the second extension portion (32) {as shown in Figs. 1-4: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 teach the limitation of wherein a diameter of the header (22) connected to the lower end of the flat tube is smaller than a distance (L1) from a windward end of the first extension portion (L2) to a leeward end of the flat tube in a depth direction of the evaporator {as shown in Fig. 3: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 2, FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 teach the limitation of wherein a diameter of the header (22) connected to the lower end of the flat tube is smaller than a distance from a windward end (31) of the first extension portion to a leeward end (32) of the second extension portion in a depth direction (Lp) of the evaporator {as shown in Figs. 1-2: Page 2/13 through Page 5/13}.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 further disclose comprising a condenser (102) provided downstream of the evaporator on the air passage (105) connecting the air inlet (3) and the air outlet (4) and configured to heat the air that is cooled and dehumidified by the evaporator, wherein the condenser includes a refrigerant pipe (A-D) through which the refrigerant flows {see Figs. 1 and 9: ¶¶ [0003] and [0060-0064]}; and FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 further teach the limitations of a heat-transfer accelerator (31/32) connected to the refrigerant pipe (10) and configured to accelerate heat exchange between a fluid (Air) passing through the condenser (13) and a fluid (R410A) flowing through the refrigerant pipe, and a distance between an upper end of the header connected to the upper end of the flat tube and a lower end of the header connected to the lower end of the flat tube is less than or equal to a length of the heat-transfer accelerator of the condenser in the up-down direction {see embodiment 1 Fig. Page 2/13 and embodiment 4 Fig. Page 9/13}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 disclose the dehumidifying apparatus further comprising a condenser (102) provided downstream of the evaporator (104) on the air passage (105) connecting the air inlet (3) and the air outlet (4) and configured to heat the air that is cooled and dehumidified by the evaporator, wherein the condenser includes a refrigerant pipe (A) through which the refrigerant flows {see Figs. 1 and 9: ¶¶ [0003] and [0060-0064]}, and FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 further teach the limitations of a heat-transfer accelerator (31/32) connected to the refrigerant pipe (10) and configured to accelerate heat exchange between a fluid (Air) passing through the condenser (13) and a fluid (R410A) flowing through the refrigerant pipe, and a length of the evaporator in a depth direction is smaller than a length of the heat-transfer accelerator of the condenser in the depth direction {see embodiment 1 Fig. Page 2/13 and embodiment 4 Fig. Page 9/13}; and FUJII et al ‘246 as modified by NAGATA et al ‘549 in view of LIANG et al ‘027 further teach the dehumidifying apparatus of wherein a distance between any adjacent two of the flat tubes is smaller than or equal to 2.2 mm {see Page 7/10, ¶6}.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Taras et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2010/0012305 A1), hereinafter referred to as Taras et al ‘305.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of FUJII et al ‘246, NAGATA et al ‘549 and LIANG et al ‘027 disclose and teach the dehumidifying apparatus of claim 1, FUJII et al ‘246 further disclose the limitations of comprising: a water storage tank (107) provided below the evaporator {as shown in Fig 9; ¶¶ [0003] and [0063]}.
However, FUJII et al ‘246 fail to disclose the limitation of a water conduit configured to receive water that drops from the evaporator and guide the water to the water storage tank, wherein at least part of the header connected to the lower end of the flat tube is provided inside the water conduit.
Taras et al. ‘305 teach: the concept of a water conduit (59) configured to receive water that drops from the evaporator (10) and guide the water to the water storage tank (45), wherein at least part (106) of the header (30) connected to the lower end of the flat tube (40) is provided inside the water conduit {as shown in Figs. 1-2 and 5: ¶ [0027]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify FUJII et al ‘246 in view of Taras et al. ‘305 to include the use of a water conduit configured to receive water that drops from the evaporator and guide the water to the water storage tank, wherein at least part of the header connected to the lower end of the flat tube is provided inside the water conduit, in order to facilitate drainage of condensate by proving a downwardly extending surface along which condensate will flow to the fin nest low and eventually drain from the lower most fin into the condensate drain pan {Taras et al. ‘305 – ¶ [0027]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the FUJII et al ‘246 in view of Taras et al. ‘305 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 2008/0029242 A1 to Ben-Salha et al.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/11/2025